161 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com

jenkomeng
post Jan 3 2013, 10:38 PM

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 3 2013, 06:42 PM)
The delay is normal. Mine was delayed 2 working days after the promised date. Btw I found 2 new things about the car (at least new to me). As you approach the car with the key in your pocket, the cabin lights up. The other thing is the chassis number is on the lower left hand corner of your windscreen -neat. Wonder what other cars do that.
Hehehe...maybe I'm so excited lor drool.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 10:44 pm
QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jan 3 2013, 06:55 PM)
where's your car bro ?
still with SA..waiting for K1 from naza HQ before proceed on JPJ registration..perhaps tomorrow...

This post has been edited by jenkomeng: Jan 3 2013, 10:44 PM
cybermaster98
post Jan 3 2013, 11:36 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 3 2013, 06:42 PM)
The delay is normal. Mine was delayed 2 working days after the promised date. Btw I found 2 new things about the car (at least new to me). As you approach the car with the key in your pocket, the cabin lights up. The other thing is the chassis number is on the lower left hand corner of your windscreen -neat. Wonder what other cars do that.
Another thing ull find is that there is a warning displayed when your windscreen wiper washer fluid is low. brows.gif

Also, try pushing your sunroof button UP instead of forward or backward and see what happens. brows.gif
hotwind
post Jan 4 2013, 08:28 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 3 2013, 11:36 PM)
Another thing ull find is that there is a warning displayed when your windscreen wiper washer fluid is low.  brows.gif

Also, try pushing your sunroof button UP instead of forward or backward and see what happens.  brows.gif
My other cars don't have the low wiper fluid warning! I did press the sunroof button UP and both linen panels slid away from each other followed by the glass roof tilted up! I love those easter eggs!! biggrin.gif
apamm
post Jan 4 2013, 08:53 AM

Hi K5 owners, good morning & Happy New Year..

There will be an unofficial TT tonite:
Date: 4/1/2013
Time: 9.30pm onwards
PIC: Ahmad Farid

For those staying in Klang, Shah Alam, Subang, PJ.. can join us, "SS Night Fun Drive" from R&R USJ to Medan Satay Kajang
Waiting Point: R&R USJ
Time: 9.30pm
ETA: 10.10pm
Direction : https://maps.google.com.my/maps?saddr=Unkno...&via=1&t=m&z=12
shah mad
post Jan 4 2013, 05:18 PM

Hi Guys, how to use cruise control? Seem not working for me. After i press the button the car is slowing down if i don't hit the paddle. Anyone? Need some help here...
funnybone
post Jan 4 2013, 05:25 PM

1,040 posts

QUOTE(shah mad @ Jan 4 2013, 05:18 PM)
Hi Guys, how to use cruise control? Seem not working for me. After i press the button the car is slowing down if i don't hit the paddle. Anyone? Need some help here...
I just used it last week.
1) Run at the speed you want, then activate cruise control
2) Then push the knob to "Set" (on the steering, right)
3) You're on cruise control. Then you can use the same button and push to "+" to increase speed

Enjoy brows.gif

This post has been edited by funnybone: Jan 4 2013, 05:29 PM
shah mad
post Jan 4 2013, 05:31 PM

QUOTE(funnybone @ Jan 4 2013, 05:25 PM)
I just used it last week.
1) Run at the speed you want, then activate cruise control
2) The push the knob to "Set" (on the steering, right)
3) You're on cruise control. Then you can use the same button and push to "+" to increase speed

Enjoy brows.gif
I tried a few times but it seem not working for me. Do we have to maintain the speed limit to a certain time then press the button or do we need to drive at certain limit?
funnybone
post Jan 4 2013, 05:39 PM

1,040 posts

QUOTE(shah mad @ Jan 4 2013, 05:31 PM)
I tried a few times but it seem not working for me. Do we have to maintain the speed limit to a certain time then press the button or do we need to drive at certain limit?
Really? Don't think you need to maintain the speed at a certain time. Well I was driving at 110km/h. Then I activate the cruise control (make sure a light of an icon comes up at your display panel). Then I put the knob to "Set". Then its done. Can lift my feet away from the accelerator pedal.
If still doesn't work, better check it out.

This post has been edited by funnybone: Jan 4 2013, 05:40 PM
shah mad
post Jan 4 2013, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(funnybone @ Jan 4 2013, 05:39 PM)
Really? Don't think you need to maintain the speed at a certain time. Well I was driving at 110km/h. Then I activate the cruise control (make sure a light of an icon comes up at your display panel). Then I  put the knob to "Set". Then its done. Can lift my feet away from the accelerator pedal.
If still doesn't work, better check it out.

Maybe i did'nt put the knob to set. I will try again...Thanks a lot bro funnybone...
jenkomeng
post Jan 5 2013, 12:00 AM

Yeah!! rclxm9.gif
Finally I got my "TO3I the Whitey" today..!
Really great experiences driving the new NU engine. feel the different compared to previous, but not too obvious.
I've been told by SA that the option to turn off other airbags except driver's, is only available in this new model...am I correct? Or the SA is just trying to impress me?..hahhaa

Overall review (just had 35km drive today), it is a great machine. Glad to see my kids smiling all the times..I make them surprise actually with this new 'baby'.
However, I need to quickly adapt the sensitiveness of the electric steering (almost out of track while taking corner after came out from the centre) and parking accuracy (looks like a new chap having a driving license tho!)...
hotwind
post Jan 5 2013, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(jenkomeng @ Jan 5 2013, 12:00 AM)
Yeah!! rclxm9.gif
Really great experiences driving the new NU engine. feel the different compared to previous, but not too obvious.
I've been told by SA that the option to turn off other airbags except driver's, is only available in this new model...am I correct? Or the SA is just trying to impress me?..hahhaa

Overall review (just had 35km drive today), it is a great machine. Glad to see my kids smiling all the times..I make them surprise actually with this new 'baby'.
However, I need to quickly adapt the sensitiveness of the electric steering (almost out of track while taking corner after came out from the centre) and parking accuracy (looks like a new chap having a driving license tho!)...
congratz..... thumbup.gif
What was the mileage when you took delivery of the car?

This post has been edited by hotwind: Jan 5 2013, 07:39 AM
cybermaster98
post Jan 5 2013, 08:15 AM

4,440 posts

Yeah!! rclxm9.gif

Congrats!

Be extra careful with your front overhang when parking. Thats your biggest blind spot. BUt ull find the rear camera makes parking in tight corners very easy. The camera is quite accurate and you can see the edge of your bumper in the display which makes distance calculation easier. Also keep in mind that the K5 is low especially at the rear. If ure carrying rear passengers, be extra slow when going over speed bumps or ull hit the undercarriage.

But ull find that driving stability especially during cornering to be very good thanks to the lower profile of the car and the 18 inch tyres. But i would strongly recommend you to trade in your 4 Nexen tyres for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assy 2 soonest possible. Just 1 month ago i experienced a total blowout of the tyre while driving on the NSE near Gopeng. Luckily the stability control engaged and helped me steer the car to safety. From what im told by some forumers and tyre 'experts', the blowout was due to a manufacturing defect despite having a puncture. But of course Naza Kia dont wanna admit to it. Goes to prove that the Nexen tyres arent good at all. It has reasonable wet and dry braking characteristics but its sidewall cannot withstand impact as well as other tyres. There is a good shop in Klang that accepts trade in's and can give you a good price for the Goodyear tyres(<900 each). You can check the K5 Fanclub Facebook page for more details. This tyre is rated better than even the Michelin Pilot Super Sport which costs about 500 more (each). Kia Korea actually discourages owners from changing the rims as they say the rims were specially designed to help with the overall stability of the car. Either way i think the rims are really great and suits the K5 really well.

I would also recommend that you use the sunroof occasionally to pick up any possible issues. Some of the Sportage owners have reported issues with the sunroof. Also check your allignment. This seems to be a problem with some K5 owners. Even with allignment done, u might find the car pulling slightly to the right or left. Also check that your steering is centre.

Any other questions ask away. biggrin.gif
jenkomeng
post Jan 5 2013, 10:16 AM

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 5 2013, 12:18 AM)
congratz..... thumbup.gif
What was the mileage when you took delivery of the car?
if I'm not mistaken, it's around 40+km..

Added on January 5, 2013, 10:23 am thumbup.gif
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2013, 08:15 AM)
Congrats!

Be extra careful with your front overhang when parking. Thats your biggest blind spot. BUt ull find the rear camera makes parking in tight corners very easy. The camera is quite accurate and you can see the edge of your bumper in the display which makes distance calculation easier. Also keep in mind that the K5 is low especially at the rear. If ure carrying rear passengers, be extra slow when going over speed bumps or ull hit the undercarriage.

But ull find that driving stability especially during cornering to be very good thanks to the lower profile of the car and the 18 inch tyres. But i would strongly recommend you to trade in your 4 Nexen tyres for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assy 2 soonest possible. Just 1 month ago i experienced a total blowout of the tyre while driving on the NSE near Gopeng. Luckily the stability control engaged and helped me steer the car to safety. From what im told by some forumers and tyre 'experts', the blowout was due to a manufacturing defect despite having a puncture. But of course Naza Kia dont wanna admit to it. Goes to prove that the Nexen tyres arent good at all. It has reasonable wet and dry braking characteristics but its sidewall cannot withstand impact as well as other tyres. There is a good shop in Klang that accepts trade in's and can give you a good price for the Goodyear tyres(<900 each). You can check the K5 Fanclub Facebook page for more details. This tyre is rated better than even the Michelin Pilot Super Sport which costs about 500 more (each). Kia Korea actually discourages owners from changing the rims as they say the rims were specially designed to help with the overall stability of the car. Either way i think the rims are really great and suits the K5 really well.

I would also recommend that you use the sunroof occasionally to pick up any possible issues. Some of the Sportage owners have reported issues with the sunroof. Also check your allignment. This seems to be a problem with some K5 owners. Even with allignment done, u might find the car pulling slightly to the right or left. Also check that your steering is centre.

Any other questions ask away.  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
great info CM98..very usedul..thanx a lot.
does it practical to install front sensor? anyone did? how much does it cost?

This post has been edited by jenkomeng: Jan 5 2013, 10:23 AM
ckwong111
post Jan 5 2013, 10:32 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(jenkomeng @ Jan 5 2013, 10:16 AM)
if I'm not mistaken, it's around 40+km..

Added on January 5, 2013, 10:23 am thumbup.gif

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
great info CM98..very usedul..thanx a lot.
does it practical to install front sensor? anyone did? how much does it cost?
Like CM98 says, be careful of your front overhang when parking as the car is pretty long and you cannot see the front curb when parking. Front sensor installation is not so common with K5 owners but front camera is. Damage between RM 4xx to RM 6xx depending on camera type and location of the camera you want to install. Hope this help smile.gif
TSbUGG
post Jan 5 2013, 10:43 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 26 2012, 12:23 PM)
Optima fuel tank can be filled to 82L
I think u have to check with your regular petrol station. Definitely is not 82L.

Yesterday, my K5 show warning sign of petrol finishing "Distance to Empty is 50km" I remembered read your comment mentioning K5 tank is 82L. With my driving style, "AVG Fuel Economy" not more than 10L/100km, meaning rough estimation, at least I can still drive additional 50+100km "MINIMUM". So I actually drove the 50km and additional 31km and my car stalled. Luckyly it stalled 100m away from my house. I ran home, took my wife's car to buy 4L petrol. Fill up my K5 with the 4L petrol I bought. Is not easy to pour petrol into our K5, and I think I wasted about 1L of petrol. And after that, I quickly drove to petrol station, and I only manage to pump in 67L of petrol. So total together is about 70L.

So conclusion, K5 is 70L as stated in the brocure, and not 82L as u mention. Even though we force in, max another 2L....

Just to share my experience.
cybermaster98
post Jan 5 2013, 10:54 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(bUGG @ Jan 5 2013, 10:43 AM)
I think u have to check with your regular petrol station. Definitely is not 82L.

Yesterday, my K5 show warning sign of petrol finishing "Distance to Empty is 50km" I remembered read your comment mentioning K5 tank is 82L. With my driving style, "AVG Fuel Economy" not more than 10L/100km, meaning rough estimation, at least I can still drive additional 50+100km "MINIMUM". So I actually drove the 50km and additional 31km and my car stalled. Luckyly it stalled 100m away from my house. I ran home, took my wife's car to buy 4L petrol. Fill up my K5 with the 4L petrol I bought. Is not easy to pour petrol into our K5, and I think I wasted about 1L of petrol. And after that, I quickly drove to petrol station, and I only manage to pump in 67L of petrol. So total together is about 70L.

So conclusion, K5 is 70L as stated in the brocure, and not 82L as u mention. Even though we force in, max another 2L....

Just to share my experience.
Not really correct bro. You are using the DTE meter and Average readings to gauge the actual remaining fuel in the tank. The DTE meter gauges the remaining fuel based on the average fuel consumption not the actual distance covered.

I dont have a regular station. I drive alot. In the past 8 months of ownership, ive covered about 30,000km so you can imagine how much driving i do.

Ive pumped fuel at numerous Shell stations between KL and Ipoh. My usual stations are at TTDI, just before Damansara tol, Tanjung Malim rest area, Tapah R&R, just off Simpang Pulai exit, along Ipoh - Lumut Highway near Lahat and Ipoh Garden near Wooleys. Total of 7 regular stations. On 3 separate occasions in the past 8 months ive managed to pump between 79-82L and all at different stations. But most of my pumps are between 74-77L with a certain distance to go before requiring a fill up.

In my experience, the fuel warning system is a 3 step process:

Step 1 - DTE goes black meaning less than 50km range remaining
Step 2 - Low fuel light warning comes on with 2 bars left
Step 3 - 2nd bar disappears and last bar starts blinking immediately.

After Step 3, ive managed to push the car another 20km before i needed to fill.

In comparing approx travelling speeds on highway vs the DTE readings:

1) At 110kmph, DTE dropped 50km but actual distance covered 100km
2) At 130kmph, DTE dropped 50km but actual distance covered 65km
3) At 140kmph, DTE drops were the same as the actual distance covered

So no, the fuel tank capacity is surely not 70L or anywhere close to it. Its well above that for sure. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 5 2013, 11:03 AM
TSbUGG
post Jan 5 2013, 01:10 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2013, 10:54 AM)
Not really correct bro. You are using the DTE meter and Average readings to gauge the actual remaining fuel in the tank. The DTE meter gauges the remaining fuel based on the average fuel consumption not the actual distance covered.

I dont have a regular station. I drive alot. In the past 8 months of ownership, ive covered about 30,000km so you can imagine how much driving i do.

Ive pumped fuel at numerous Shell stations between KL and Ipoh. My usual stations are at TTDI, just before Damansara tol, Tanjung Malim rest area, Tapah R&R, just off Simpang Pulai exit, along Ipoh - Lumut Highway near Lahat and Ipoh Garden near Wooleys. Total of 7 regular stations. On 3 separate occasions in the past 8 months ive managed to pump between 79-82L and all at different stations. But most of my pumps are between 74-77L with a certain distance to go before requiring a fill up.

In my experience, the fuel warning system is a 3 step process:

Step 1 - DTE goes black meaning less than 50km range remaining
Step 2 - Low fuel light warning comes on with 2 bars left
Step 3 - 2nd bar disappears and last bar starts blinking immediately.

After Step 3, ive managed to push the car another 20km before i needed to fill.

In comparing approx travelling speeds on highway vs the DTE readings:

1) At 110kmph, DTE dropped 50km but actual distance covered 100km
2) At 130kmph, DTE dropped 50km but actual distance covered 65km
3) At 140kmph, DTE drops were the same as the actual distance covered

So no, the fuel tank capacity is surely not 70L or anywhere close to it. Its well above that for sure.  biggrin.gif
Ok... put the DTE aside....
After empty my tank (and I really mean empty until my car stalled and cannot be started). With the refill I using bottle 3L + 67L(max) I pump at petrol station, Maximum is 70L +/-. So definately is not 82L as what u mention.

This post has been edited by bUGG: Jan 5 2013, 01:17 PM
cybermaster98
post Jan 5 2013, 01:22 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(bUGG @ Jan 5 2013, 01:10 PM)
Ok... put the DTE aside....
After empty my tank (and I really mean empty until my car stalled and cannot be started). With the refill I using bottle 3L + 67L(max) I pump at petrol station, Maximum is 70L +/-. So definately is not 82L as what u mention.
Did you pump until absolutely full (almost overflowing) or did you stop at the first click?
TSbUGG
post Jan 5 2013, 01:48 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2013, 01:22 PM)
Did you pump until absolutely full (almost overflowing) or did you stop at the first click?
2nd click... After the first click I waited for 5 second then only pump again... And car meter panel indicating full bar.
And 70L to 82L is 12L difference. Very big gap...
hotwind
post Jan 5 2013, 05:05 PM

Yeah!! rclxm9.gif

Yea, you can use your key to turn off the passenger airbag (important if you have a child restraint [seat] in the front passenger seat). The lock is located beside the glove compartment box (right angles to it).

Added on January 5, 2013, 5:30 pmAbout fuel tank capacity, I'm not a very technical person but if the tank is well above 70L, why would the manufacturer not state it as such? Surely for marketing purpose, it pays to promote a car with a bigger tank?
I also had an experience with one of the petrol stations mentioned by CM98, I strongly suspect the fueling mechanism is not as it should be and I've never been back there since. I think bUGG provided a good scenario for the tank capacity. He drove till the car stall and yet he can manage to put in only 70L. Anyway just my personal opinion.

This post has been edited by hotwind: Jan 5 2013, 08:11 PM

161 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:05 PM