V3 already? I'm reporting in. Hehe. What else to buy..my bike's journey to perfection is complete!
Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes
Jul 30 2012, 06:28 PM
59 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
V3 already? I'm reporting in. Hehe. What else to buy..my bike's journey to perfection is complete!
Aug 1 2012, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 31 2012, 03:14 AM) i'm back... prepare to file for bankruptcy... Just saw this post! No way I'm getting all those stuffs...haha. I'm upgrading my lungs capacity and endurance let's start off with something a little lighter... a groupset change... as we know... electronic shifting is just a hype, so, mechanical we go...SRAM Red 2012 -> RM5.5k... i think ![]() throw out the calipers for a set of the ever cool and ultralight eebrakes -> RM2k ![]() swap the Red chain rings with the TDF winning osymetric "oval but not exactly oval" rings ![]() with all the crazy gear... how can you leave out the pit for cocksters (cockpit)... expect no less from the crazy germans and their composite products... ![]() ![]() if you don't mind the price and the occasional visit to the hospital for accidentally lodging your carbon seat post up your a~hole...all in the sake of lightweight ![]() if you prefer brand purity... ditch the eebrakes for an even cooler set of AX lightness calipers -> price? ball busting ![]() Added on July 31, 2012, 9:44 amall this and compromise shifting and braking performance with a set of lousy cables... NO WAY!!!... Nokon matched to Power Cordz...price? -> so cheap you won't bother asking ![]() ![]() and how in freakin heavens can we forget the things that enables us to roll around... Lightweight is so yesteryear and mass produced... Zipp, Corimas and Fulcrums are too common... a custom built set of Enve 1.25 laced to Dash ultra light hubs with white bladed spokes with full ceramic speed bearing upgrades from wheelbuilder.com -> expect no less than a ass whopping, brain blowing USD4k ![]() level...stuffs can go queue behind lor.. Added on August 1, 2012, 6:47 pmAnd interesting read on carbon wheels.. http://www.cyclingtips.com.au/2012/08/wher...arbon-wheelset/ This post has been edited by mrjgx: Aug 1 2012, 06:47 PM |
Aug 1 2012, 11:50 PM
dude..don't quickly jumpe and buy the fulcrum or whatever high end wheels available in the market. the difference is very marginal..
I agree if you would like to feel a difference in your bike upgrade, apart from a better carbon frame..wheels is the 2nd option. but trust me, it won't make you a better cyclist in terms of speed, or etc. you might gain extra 2-3kmh on your avg speed..but that's all. as from my experience, i don't find my climbing ability suddenly increase after changing to a much stiffer wheels (from FR Comp to FR0)..nor did I found it easier to climb with.once you upgrade, it is very marginal in terms of performance you expected to have before you purchase. just my 2 cents. |
Aug 2 2012, 10:37 PM
haha butthead...i can be as poisonous as you are..but to tell other fellow beginner like myself so that he could save a few thousands RM in exchange for a very minimal feeling is noble whatttt
I like FR0, that's a true fact. although my fastest speed decending Genting Sempah was only 70kmh is quite low compare to those other experienced cyclist out there, I know the wheels or whatever technology it has inside did helped me to achieved that speed. I swoop corners confidently..and freewheeling like a breeze...my friends are pedalling just to keep up with my freewheeling..that's true... but i'm not being poisonous here.. lol |
Aug 2 2012, 10:43 PM
Aug 2 2012, 11:18 PM
hahaha..wrong memory la bro. different hills..who's going up GS this sunday morning? gonna dust off my bike a bit la...hehe
Aug 3 2012, 08:10 PM
my ass itchy wanna ride...think 1 week plus already didnt cycle even on a trainer...there goes my fitness..down the drain..hv to restart again..so lazy
Aug 4 2012, 10:35 PM
Haha I know the feelings...when I was wheel hunting few months back..luckily didn't forked out rm6k for a zipp 303 or 404...I just want that wheels for the looks..performance wise..better choose the tubular 303 which is sub 1300g...
Anyway just enjoy your ride bro..but you have to be consistent. Eventually your body adapts..and you become faster without any bike upgrades |
Aug 5 2012, 11:58 PM
Just Get FR0 and be happy with it. Peace~ hehe
Aug 6 2012, 12:38 AM
If I wanna sell my almost virgin FR Comp..how much can I get? Hehe
Aug 6 2012, 11:13 PM
i'm not rich ma..been saving money for quite sometime plus letting go some of my DLSR's stuff..bought quite a lot of item but left unused in a dry box so better trade them in while they still got price and buy cycling stuff
now don't feel like buying any cycling stuffs anymore..except eyeing for those eye candy jerseys and bibs. my take on FR0...well i've ridden only a few wheelsets..the OEM FR Comp, dura ace c50 7850, and dura ace c24..I've yet to feel significant difference in terms of climbing but it sure balanced out my bike's frame stiffness feeling. The most significant improvements are hard, sharp cornering where I can take it confidently at speed compare to previous FR Comp..and also the speed in freewheeling while decending fast. Not to mention the obvious 'garang' sound and also the looooooks..mine is the dark label version. hehe. Not too much different with the 1-2 way fit, whereby the latter is a tad heavier. FR1..hurm..not much of a price different.. the thick spokes is a blade type hence the aero as claimed (I think so)..plus it shaved off around 500g from my FR Comp so that's a huge reduction..I weighed my bike before and after. Happy huntingggg~ it's painful. hahaha edited: on the climbing part..it will not weigh you down when you are tired..every pedal push is a smooth rolling up the hill. yea I can feel this one. unless you have those sub 1300grams climbing wheelsets, then obviously you will immediately notice the lightness..in my case..so-so only mah... Sexy beast... ![]() This post has been edited by mrjgx: Aug 6 2012, 11:17 PM |
Aug 9 2012, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 8 2012, 09:39 PM) Did my first 20km today. Was riding well then suddenly my left leg cramp and i had to stop beside but then i lost my balance when stopping/unclip i fell down the wrong side, got stuck on the ground as all my muscle suddenly cramp and i cant move. Random ppl stop by to pull me up. nothing big deal apart from minor cut on my left elbow and muslce stiffen up and cramp. That was dangerous..what if you fell and there were cars behind you...scary lah...warm up properly before ride bro...Perhaps need some kind of warm up prior to riding? Manged to get home safely tho |
Aug 9 2012, 12:27 PM
Buy Merida...good brand hehe same as specialized one
Aug 10 2012, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 9 2012, 09:49 PM) ohhh.. ok... they say assumption is the mother of all fakups... now you know why What about FR0? Up down wheels..I guess it's a do it all type of wheels..heheh still.. give it a check and see... you dun wanna be overpaying... maybe the price in kuching and KL is different and that is the reality that you have to expect... RM1.8k would get a sora equiped new bike here in KL at least i would say... haha....can't believe the crap i wrote actually made sense to anyone, can't even understand it myself when i read it back... that's the blardy difference work does to you 7-8 hours later, brain turned into mash potatoes (waiting for the milk and lumps of butter to be poured on and stirred to creamy consistency, evidence that i am quite the hungry at this point in time of posting that i will gnaw on my own brain) 24mm and 31mm???... 7mm difference lar... a ruler will tell you that... jus kiddin.. as i say.. it all depends on what you ride more... flats or road going skywards? and choose your wheels accordingly.. that is why there are climbing wheels and aero wheels as differentiation... and a kind of wheels known as the "not up not down" category like the Zipp 303... not aero fully... but also not the lightest possible... and totally meant for the un-decided and fickle minded riders... or was designed by the bastards who are sick and tired of their mates always complaining of losing touch with the group due to bringing the wrong set of wheels to the wrong route... anyways... bike stuff is as confusing as women... i wish there is a instructional guide too... but there is jus none... and that is plain frustrating... ain't it hard enough to court girls... now we have to deal with life choices when choosing a damn hoop??? WTF!!! (ok... too dramatic... tone it down) if you find no clear directions.. jus go with actually.... measurement always exists... like the recent MTB 29" / 29ner fad... and then the 27"/650b or something like that... jus those asswipes using different measurement system to make shit sound more sophisticated... sheldon brown distilled quite most of his knowledge onto his site... he might be gone today.. but his knowledge new or outdated continues living in some server somewhere in "god knows where" http://www.sheldonbrown.com/ not the most techno junkie material... but... it'll do fine for now... |
Aug 13 2012, 06:21 PM
Feels like selling my bike..wanna buy the new Honda civic. Haha
Aug 16 2012, 12:19 PM
Oi who's on leave tomorrow? Any place u guys riding? Hehe
Aug 21 2012, 10:29 PM
Suddenly hands itchy wanna buy new bib shorts...saw some of the latest collection from pedalspot and the super sleek looking bib in black red color..however for its price ~rm450 I better get a pair of gp4000s..haihs...but I'm so tempted. It's been long since I last wanna buy cycling related stuffs..managed to control the unnecessary lusts. Lately I've been wanting a new super bright tail light (blinkers), and a big shorts with a nice set of jersey...zzz
Talking about Merida brand..i admit it is very very hard and rare for me to find another Merida owners during my weekend ride..they all only popped out everywhere like mushrooms when there are ride events, charity ride, etc. I don't know where all those Merida owners ride during weekend... But merida bike is good you know..I own one. The after sale service is quite good too so I'm happy with my purchased, although I didn't really like its brand name..sounds girlish and Spanish. For a beginner I would recommend either Merida or Giant bike. For around Rm5k - 10k difference, you can only eliminate a mere kgs only with those top of the line carbon bikes...Better shed your own body weight and keeps the wallet happy I forgot my bike's weight..hurm....Last I check was 8kg..change wheelsets it reduced to 7.5kg..then I weigh the bike without removing front and tail lights and all the sensors...should be around 7.2kg or less if I didn't wrong on the initial 8kg weight..hehe.. Owh btw, Anyone registered for the granfondo event yet? This post has been edited by mrjgx: Aug 21 2012, 10:44 PM |
Aug 22 2012, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Aug 21 2012, 11:50 PM) Did a Genting Sempah -> Bukit Tinggi Peak(Berjaya Hills) and back, estimated 800+ above sea level, total 40km. All i can say is the ascent is freaking nuts! hi bro...any route map for the ride? I want to try going further up sempah towards bkt tnggi as well...until today havent tried other routes apart from hulu langat area and sempah-janda baik..bored already... Descent though is one of the best i've experience! |
Aug 22 2012, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 10:25 AM) not a proper loop..but I have done bangi-lenggeng before..passed some broga routes..the whole loop not yet..my friends don;t wanna do the loop as it will take until afternoon to complete..we all have family at home waiting on weekend ride.. it ain't that cold there right? going up fraser might be my next target..i like cold2 place to ride. |
Aug 22 2012, 10:50 AM
| Change to: | 0.0538sec