125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

minizian
post Aug 4 2012, 09:40 PM

1,074 posts

Sh1t, i type to palace instead of place. Shoe covers is to warm my leg cos i am quite sensitive to cold

First ride gone well smile.gif

butthead
post Aug 4 2012, 10:04 PM

593 posts

good thing you made it through.. i guess, your next ride would be a more confident one?

me thinks the avanti owner intentionally gotten the S60 to match his frame... such co-incidental that the frame has the same color scheme as the wheels...
shienchin
post Aug 4 2012, 10:05 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 4 2012, 05:08 PM)
the remedy for an itchy ass...

why is a shoe cover considered a protection?

you live in a palace? cool shit... buy some heaters bro...
rodalink has been very aggresive in the malaysian market... i know they recently introduced a carbon MTB hard tail with not too bad specs (can't actually call 10-s XT mix and some fox fork bad, but...) for a very cheap sub RM5k price tag... they event went to the point of doing a road show in midvalley last year...

it is possible that the F300 has reduced price to hit out at other bike brands... is the RM1.8k a discounted price they told you on the phone or MSRP? last year, i saw the F100 standing at RM1.8k MSRP in rodalink, price tag on the bike... never bothered to ask how much is it after discounts..

the BBS owner might have bought it before they slashed price, therefore.. [s]he is quite screwed now if selling it at that price...

lucky you checked...
Ooo cool!. It is not in a discount price. There will be a 5% discount for member though. nod.gif Well I think the BBS owner should revise his price since currently the market has mark down the price.
butthead
post Aug 4 2012, 10:12 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(shienchin @ Aug 4 2012, 10:05 PM)
Ooo cool!. It is not in a discount price. There will be a 5% discount for member though.  nod.gif  Well I think the BBS owner should revise his price since currently the market has mark down the price.
generally.. i think rodalink does not apply the member discount to bikes.. but they do take some percentage off the MSRP price tags... the tags are just for show purpose...

you think so? put yourself in his shoes and think whether if you would want to lose a couple hundred more because of a price drop from the manufacturer on new bike... he might hang on to it if he is not in a hurry to sell it off..

it's like you have a fairly new car you want to sell off and AFTA suddenly kicked into effect sending all new car prices crashing down and practically killing the second hand price of the car you trying to pawn off... bad news...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 4 2012, 10:16 PM
minizian
post Aug 4 2012, 10:23 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 4 2012, 10:04 PM)
good thing you made it through.. i guess, your next ride would be a more confident one?

me thinks the avanti owner intentionally gotten the S60 to match his frame... such co-incidental that the frame has the same color scheme as the wheels...
Yup, he don care about brand matching since that wheel is actually in a way is zipp wheel.

Yup i did get scared initially but soon i got the hang of it, did some crazy uphill and going downhill with my brake on. I wore my knee and ass padding throught the ride but ditch the elbow pad as its too restrictive.

Somewhat i feel like its nicer to ride outside than stuck to trainer. I guess i will ride to regain back my confidence before i head back to my training plan smile.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 4 2012, 10:26 PM
butthead
post Aug 4 2012, 10:27 PM

593 posts

that SRAM wheel is not a zipp wheel.. it might have the old hybrid toroidal shape... but it is not in any way made by Zipp as far as i looked up.. not even the hub and definitely not using the smooth rolling zipp swiss stainless steel bearings...

ride more and you will sooner or later get the hang of it... as i say... no one falls forever learning to walk.. you are bound to learn it from experience...
minizian
post Aug 4 2012, 10:32 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 4 2012, 10:27 PM)
that SRAM wheel is not a zipp wheel.. it might have the old hybrid toroidal shape... but it is not in any way made by Zipp as far as i looked up.. not even the hub and definitely not using the smooth rolling zipp swiss stainless steel bearings...

ride more and you will sooner or later get the hang of it... as i say... no one falls forever learning to walk.. you are bound to learn it from experience...
Yup, i agree as the price was only around 700 or 800 aud for the wheelset compared to 3k plus zipp 404.

Btw, during the photoshoot i notice the top tube was slightly dinged perhaps due to my previous 2 crashed. Is it okay? I cant imagine i am on carbon bike for my previous 2 crash, sure the frame will be cracked. blink.gif
shienchin
post Aug 4 2012, 10:32 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 4 2012, 10:12 PM)
generally.. i think rodalink does not apply the member discount to bikes.. but they do take some percentage off the MSRP price tags... the tags are just for show purpose...

you think so? put yourself in his shoes and think whether if you would want to lose a couple hundred more because of a price drop from the manufacturer on  new bike... he might hang on to it if he is not in a hurry to sell it off..
I don't know man. The Rodalink dealer told me that they can give me discount only if member. And that's what they said. I am not quite sure.

Well.. It is his luck then. It is just my thought though not really advising him to lower down the price to half or something. I had experience situation like this as market price of the product got marked down. During that time of my situation, I am kinda forced to lower more. Well, if he can wait, why not. smile.gif

Not really into F300. Now I am waiting for Saturday to meet the owner of the F100. tongue.gif
mrjgx
post Aug 4 2012, 10:35 PM

59 posts

Haha I know the feelings...when I was wheel hunting few months back..luckily didn't forked out rm6k for a zipp 303 or 404...I just want that wheels for the looks..performance wise..better choose the tubular 303 which is sub 1300g...
Anyway just enjoy your ride bro..but you have to be consistent. Eventually your body adapts..and you become faster without any bike upgrades tongue.gif
minizian
post Aug 4 2012, 10:50 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 4 2012, 10:35 PM)
Haha I know the feelings...when I was wheel hunting few months back..luckily didn't forked out rm6k for a zipp 303 or 404...I just want that wheels for the looks..performance wise..better choose the tubular 303 which is sub 1300g...
Anyway just enjoy your ride bro..but you have to be consistent. Eventually your body adapts..and you become faster without any bike upgrades tongue.gif
I am trying not to upgrade till my body are better. Feel like wanna tapao the angmohs on the hills as i am mountain goat biggrin.gif
butthead
post Aug 5 2012, 02:56 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 4 2012, 10:32 PM)
Btw, during the photoshoot i notice the top tube was slightly dinged perhaps due to my previous 2 crashed. Is it okay? I cant imagine i am on carbon bike for my previous 2 crash, sure the frame will be cracked. blink.gif
a ding is no worry... a major dent would be somewhat catastrophic sometime down the road if not worrying... that is the benefits of an alloy frame smile.gif

at least, it lets you ride home still while mostly a carbon frame in a big shunt would have left you stranded on the road..

QUOTE(shienchin @ Aug 4 2012, 10:32 PM)
I don't know man. The Rodalink dealer told me that they can give me discount only if member. And that's what they said. I am not quite sure.

Well.. It is his luck then. It is just my thought though not really advising him to lower down the price to half or something. I had experience situation like this as market price of the product got marked down. During that time of my situation, I am kinda forced to lower more. Well, if he can wait, why not.  smile.gif

Not really into F300. Now I am waiting for Saturday to meet the owner of the F100.  tongue.gif
i think there are things they can't say on the phone... once you are there... i think they will mark it down a bit more with or without member discount.. the member card is a very easy to get thing... i got mine jus by purchasing some minor things... no less than RM300...

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 4 2012, 10:35 PM)
like vin_ann says... when racun kicks in... there is no logic or rational behind the action... the only thing can be done is pray hard the racun is not the most powerful kind tongue.gif

(usually will know if you kena racun or not 5-10 seconds after the credit card transaction goes through, kena kicked back into reality and realizing you did something stupid)

yeah... dun go into bike geekdom... it's a very torturous place to be in... jus ride and have fun...

stimix
post Aug 5 2012, 10:04 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Vinn Ann, Din know you also Bike kaki liao.. Me just switched over to Road bike at last after years wth MTB.. Now my MTB given to my daughter haha..

Just got a 2nd hand 2008 Merida road FLX 906 amd already upgraded to Ultegra groupset except the brake level still 105. Too bad wheelset is the heavy Mivac Aksium.

Seriously looking for bling-bling wheelset & compact carbon.scandium handlebar & stem liao... Wanna touch belpw 8Kg haha
butthead
post Aug 5 2012, 10:27 PM

593 posts

HWOAHhhh...vin_ann got some moderator friends... better shut my trap before kena permaban blink.gif

dropping an alu frame below 8 kilos might be a though thing to do unless you are mortal enemies with your wallet... wats the weight of your rig now? a good set of wheels like the FR0 might see a 400 gram drop at max from your aksium race.. and that is a RM3k investment easy..

carbonize your cockpit and maybe shave another 300+ grams away.. but another RM2k thinner on your wallet..

at the end of the day... you'll be better off selling yours and getting vin_ann's nobita bullying aluminum giant that is already around 8kilos in stock form and with 105 groupie... or some fancy carbon bike...
stimix
post Aug 5 2012, 10:40 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 5 2012, 10:27 PM)
HWOAHhhh...vin_ann got some moderator friends... better shut my trap before kena permaban  blink.gif

dropping an alu frame below 8 kilos might be a though thing to do unless you are mortal enemies with your wallet... wats the weight of your rig now? a good set of wheels like the FR0 might see a 400 gram drop at max from your aksium race.. and that is a RM3k investment easy..

carbonize your cockpit and maybe shave another 300+ grams away.. but another RM2k thinner on your wallet..

at the end of the day... you'll be better off selling yours and getting vin_ann's nobita bullying aluminum giant that is already around 8kilos in stock form and with 105 groupie... or some fancy carbon bike...
Hehe.. He even my ~ 10 -15 yrs Junior in TARC haha biggrin.gif Right now at 8.5KG, dropping 400gm wth wheelset upgrade for sure can get 8.1kg and another upgrade on handlebar & stem will probably get me 7.9kg liao haha

This post has been edited by stimix: Aug 5 2012, 10:58 PM
butthead
post Aug 5 2012, 10:52 PM

593 posts

WAT!!!! 10~15 years junior...

don't put your hopes so high about weight reduction...

i'll go with the wheels even if it costs more compared to a carbon cockpit.. at least you get improved spin up rate on wheel weight reduction and get punchier accelerations if you are that kind of rider..

for a more budget play...i guess the shimano C24s are a considerable option.. there are quite a number of those "questionable' C24s in BBS selling for less than RM2k.. some even around RM1.5k and they weigh as much as the FR0s...support for replacement spokes might be limited though...
stimix
post Aug 5 2012, 11:04 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah agreed last time I did the same by upgrading my MTB stock wheel to Amrican Classic and the diff really obvious but the $$$ too

So now still waiting for good oppotunity.. Saw a Dura-Ace wheel at 1.5Kg posted in BBS but that seller still din reply & dun even give his HP no...aigooo
butthead
post Aug 5 2012, 11:23 PM

593 posts

think those are the 2011 wheels.. the new range of 2012 products have dropped below 1500 grams.... but they also dropped the scandium rim option and stuck with carbon laminated rims.. have yet to see anyone selling them in malaysia yet..

one critical point to note for the shimano wheels is your weight... although never stating a rider weight limit... i think it is best not to attempt riding them if you weigh pass 80kilos... a gentle rider of 80-85 kilos is kinda borderline and if you are a brutish rider...the wheel might not live for very long before starting to break it's spokes which is hard to come by in the first place...

seen a couple of chunky dudes breaking the spokes cleanly of the hub.. not sure if it is a nipple or spoke durability problem.. but their straight pull design have had a lot of complaints over the years and they are quite lacking in spoke count front and rear to be convincingly durable....
stimix
post Aug 5 2012, 11:28 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wah din know shimano wheels so scary .. so much the opposite of Mavic Aksium minus the weight.. Damn wth this almost 2Kg wheelset
butthead
post Aug 5 2012, 11:39 PM

593 posts

lightweight and durability is often in opposite directions... that is why they are called race wheels smile.gif
mrjgx
post Aug 5 2012, 11:58 PM

59 posts

Just Get FR0 and be happy with it. Peace~ hehe

125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:28 PM