125 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

butthead
post Aug 6 2012, 12:03 AM

593 posts

haha.. not everyone is rich like you ma.. FR0 almost RM3k ooohhh... although the C24 in full retail is also close to the same price.. but the "questionable" ones in BBS is a full RM1k cheaper... if you don't mind the lacking in support....
mrjgx
post Aug 6 2012, 12:38 AM

59 posts

If I wanna sell my almost virgin FR Comp..how much can I get? Hehe
stimix
post Aug 6 2012, 07:29 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Noob question.. Google FRO also dun have. what brand is that?? arrgggg
butthead
post Aug 6 2012, 09:12 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 6 2012, 12:38 AM)
If I wanna sell my almost virgin FR Comp..how much can I get? Hehe
you have to remember, almost "virgin" does not = "virgin"... i guess.. best part of RM300 to RM400 if you are lucky.. a new FR7 costs like RM700 nowadays?

you do have to remember this are OEM wheels... not actual fulcrum ones although made by fulcrum...

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 6 2012, 07:29 AM)
Noob question.. Google FRO also dun have. what brand is that?? arrgggg
haha.... sorry... our lousy acronyms... FR0 (zero) is for Fulcrum (brand) Racing Zero (model)

here's the link.. of course, there are many other wheels out there in the wild... but at least... there are 2 rich kids here owning this set of wheels which you can ask for opinions...

http://www.fulcrumwheels.com/en/collection...cts/racing-zero
shienchin
post Aug 6 2012, 09:17 AM

23 posts

One stupid question here: is it difficult to find and repair Polygon F300 parts in touring around places? Compare to F100?
butthead
post Aug 6 2012, 09:32 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(shienchin @ Aug 6 2012, 09:17 AM)
One stupid question here: is it difficult to find and repair Polygon F300 parts in touring around places? Compare to F100?
looking from both bike specs... both have conventional spoked wheels.. so, replacing the j-turn spokes shouldn't be a problem in case of spoke breakages... tubes and tires are very normal 700c variants... chain should be a very standard item in most bike shops (even the remote ones) as it is still 8 & 9 speeds...

in the case if you crash and kill the drivetrain... shimano derailleurs is compatible across the MTB range of the older generation... so, it shouldn't be a problem as well... bottom brackets are quite standard item external cups i guess...

so, it shouldn't be that big a worry between either... the biggest worry is always tires and wheels as that usually takes a beating... wheels less of a chance unless you crash into some epic potholes... worst case is to re-lace the wheel with a new rim or replace broken spokes... if you have some fancy straight pull or high profile wheelsets... then, you are possibly stuffed...
stimix
post Aug 6 2012, 09:39 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 6 2012, 09:12 AM)

haha.... sorry... our lousy acronyms... FR0 (zero) is for Fulcrum (brand) Racing Zero (model)

here's the link.. of course, there are many other wheels out there in the wild... but at least... there are 2 rich kids here owning this set of wheels which you can ask for opinions...

http://www.fulcrumwheels.com/en/collection...cts/racing-zero
Aha... OK.. Been eyeing Fulcrum 1-2 way too or worst nxt best Fulcrum r3.. Budget very low <RM1.5k haha blush.gif
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2012, 09:53 AM

10,912 posts

Last 2 days busy moving... foreveralone, pindah stuffs sendiri... no cycling, my group had some wonderful heaven hell ride... lucky got do short run on Sat, have 2 indo chicks, 1 KL chick, and 1 German guy together with others. haha...

my bikes are my 1st priority. moved them 1st.

wah... i heard my name being mentioned few times.. no wonder i keep sniffing past 2 days. i'm also burnt 2 Continential GP3000s tyres for my moving! Relocation of Unifi cost me RM300! vmad.gif

now only can online from office while waiting installation on Sat...

Desa Park City shall be my new playground... beware of speeding / turtle alike Giant TCR SL3 Gold color like Ah Long bike spinning around! laugh.gif

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 5 2012, 10:04 PM)
Vinn Ann, Din know you also Bike kaki liao.. Me just switched over to Road bike at last after years wth MTB.. Now my MTB given to my daughter haha..

Just got a 2nd hand 2008 Merida road FLX 906 amd already upgraded to Ultegra groupset except the brake level still 105. Too bad wheelset is the heavy Mivac Aksium.

Seriously looking for bling-bling wheelset & compact carbon.scandium handlebar & stem liao... Wanna touch belpw 8Kg haha
you got daugther? When want to come Desa Park City ride together to test out ur Merida with your daughther.... rclxms.gif

btw, my dearest senior, your riding purpose is "Gaya 1st, spec 2nd, feel 3rd, and speed infinity place behind" right?

butthead
post Aug 6 2012, 09:54 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 6 2012, 09:39 AM)
Aha... OK.. Been eyeing Fulcrum 1-2 way too or worst nxt best Fulcrum r3.. Budget very low <RM1.5k haha  blush.gif
yeah... i was going to say FR1 (sked offend mr.jgx tongue.gif ) as well cause the FR0 does not offer much difference except for a lighter carbon hub shell and the use of USB ceramic bearings... the problem is that the price difference is not that huge... only around RM300-RM400 if i am not wrong...

the new FR3 (this years model) is also definitely not a bad choice from the view of weight alone... but you sacrifice certain things like stiffness of the FR1 and FR0.. and this is something which you can really feel if you are a pedal stomper...

i think even FR3 is not by any means cheap... around RM1.7k to RM1.8k...
stimix
post Aug 6 2012, 10:01 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 6 2012, 09:53 AM)
btw, my dearest senior, your riding purpose is "Gaya 1st, spec 2nd, feel 3rd, and speed infinity place behind" right?
At this age, more like going for value for money gaya-ing haha... Wanna go far but still lack of stamina...Switching from MTB to Road bike wth 2 purposes - going far & lighter bike rclxms.gif My previous best on MTB is riding from Puchong to Teluk Gong meeting that MTB guy - Chyu89 haha.. That also taken me 1/2 day + almost 1 hr waiting for that guy haha biggrin.gif

Added on August 6, 2012, 10:03 am
QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 6 2012, 09:54 AM)
yeah... i was going to say FR1 (sked offend mr.jgx tongue.gif ) as well cause the FR0 does not offer much difference except for a lighter carbon hub shell and the use of USB ceramic bearings... the problem is that the price difference is not that huge... only around RM300-RM400 if i am not wrong...

the new FR3 (this years model) is also definitely not a bad choice from the view of weight alone... but you sacrifice certain things like stiffness of the FR1 and FR0.. and this is something which you can really feel if you are a pedal stomper...

i think even FR3 is not by any means cheap... around RM1.7k to RM1.8k...
I my mind now= 2nd hand blush.gif :

1) Mavic Ksyium
2) Dura -ace wheel
3) Fulcrum 1-3

rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Aug 6 2012, 10:03 AM
butthead
post Aug 6 2012, 10:34 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 6 2012, 09:53 AM)
Last 2 days busy moving... foreveralone, pindah stuffs sendiri... no cycling, my group had some wonderful heaven hell ride... lucky got do short run on Sat, have 2 indo chicks, 1 KL chick, and 1 German guy together with others. haha...

my bikes are my 1st priority. moved them 1st.

wah... i heard my name being mentioned few times.. no wonder i keep sniffing past 2 days. i'm also burnt 2 Continential GP3000s tyres for my moving! Relocation of Unifi cost me RM300!  vmad.gif

now only can online from office while waiting installation on Sat...

Desa Park City shall be my new playground... beware of speeding / turtle alike Giant TCR SL3 Gold color like Ah Long bike spinning around!  laugh.gif
you got daugther? When want to come Desa Park City ride together to test out ur Merida with your daughther....  rclxms.gif

FAPING!!! is fun...

itu macam la unifi... fibre optics ma... veli "expensive one" (sarcastically)

wah.. show your fox tail at the mention of his daughter... dun pray pray you know with underage girls... nanti pepet kena rotan...

wat gaya 1st... gaya has always been 1st... a malaysian mentality... tak powaahhh pun mesti gaya.... or the term "the bike looks fast standing still" sweat.gif ... mind numbingly illogical rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 6 2012, 10:01 AM)
At this age, more like going for value for money gaya-ing haha... Wanna go far but still lack of stamina...Switching from MTB to Road bike wth 2 purposes - going far & lighter bike  rclxms.gif  My previous best on MTB is riding from Puchong to Teluk Gong meeting that MTB guy - Chyu89 haha.. That also taken me 1/2 day + almost 1 hr waiting for that guy haha  biggrin.gif

Added on August 6, 2012, 10:03 am
I my mind now= 2nd hand  blush.gif :

1) Mavic Ksyium
2) Dura -ace wheel
3) Fulcrum 1-3

rclxms.gif
tat chyu89's avatar looks sick... you not sked he turn you into human centipede ah... somemore you go far far see him... you missing also no one suspek..

serious shit mode, ON!!!...

Mavic Ksyrium.. especially the elite has been the benchmark for as long as possible.... the Ksyrium line i think has been around for the best part of 8 or 9 years through several iterations...

Elite is the best value for money as it has some very aggressively milled rims and some of the features that are not on the equippe...weight is not the lightest possible... but not too bad...

on the SL you gain aluminum spokes with quite a bit more $ and the SR part carbon spokes with aluminum nipples and more fancy hub...

not bad a set of wheels... and ample support with providing bike pro and khcycle still carries the mavic brand...

http://www.mavic.com/en/product/wheels/roa...s/Ksyrium-Elite
Sky.Live
post Aug 6 2012, 04:28 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Bike collecting dust, unwashed and unserviced since last week's ride...
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2012, 05:26 PM

10,912 posts

btw, is it safe to cycle from Kepong (beginning of LDP) to The Curve > Bandar Utama >Tropicana > Ara Damansara in early morning and evening during weekdays?

my distance is cut short after moving to Kepong from Setapak. Less worry but still worry. doh.gif

weekend i have no problem cycling the route above...

btw, how late cyclists cycling in DPC normally?

Gotta change some route go outdoor cycling instead of indoor RPM...
butthead
post Aug 6 2012, 05:54 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 6 2012, 04:28 PM)
Bike collecting dust, unwashed and unserviced since last week's ride...
it deserves some TLC

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 6 2012, 05:26 PM)
btw, is it safe to cycle from Kepong (beginning of LDP) to The Curve > Bandar Utama >Tropicana >  Ara Damansara in early morning and evening during weekdays?

my distance is cut short after moving to Kepong from Setapak. Less worry but still worry.  doh.gif 

weekend i have no problem cycling the route above...

btw, how late cyclists cycling in DPC normally?

Gotta change some route go outdoor cycling instead of indoor RPM...
i summarize in 1 word....LUCK

bad day... sueh to the max, kid on tricycle also run over you... good day... not even bird shit will hit you...

i count or not??? i stayed until 8+ before... fully dark at park city hill and some couples making out in the park... had to bike home to PJ some more...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 6 2012, 05:54 PM
shienchin
post Aug 6 2012, 06:06 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 6 2012, 09:32 AM)
looking from both bike specs... both have conventional spoked wheels.. so, replacing the j-turn spokes shouldn't be a problem in case of spoke breakages... tubes and tires are very normal 700c variants... chain should be a very standard item in most bike shops (even the remote ones) as it is still 8 & 9 speeds...

in the case if you crash and kill the drivetrain... shimano derailleurs is compatible across the MTB range of the older generation... so, it shouldn't be a problem as well... bottom brackets are quite standard item external cups i guess...

so, it shouldn't be that big a worry between either... the biggest worry is always tires and wheels as that usually takes a beating... wheels less of a chance unless you crash into some epic potholes... worst case is to re-lace the wheel with a new rim or replace broken spokes... if you have some fancy straight pull or high profile wheelsets... then, you are possibly stuffed...
Ic... Today I went to rodalink and the guy told me that f300 is not suitable for touring mainly due to the wheel which is thin like a road bike. He suggested me heist 1.0 with no suspension fork. What do u think? Any other brand of bike I can find hybrid with no suspension and wheel thickness between MTb and road?
butthead
post Aug 6 2012, 06:34 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(shienchin @ Aug 6 2012, 06:06 PM)
Ic... Today I went to rodalink and the guy told me that f300 is not suitable for touring mainly due to the wheel which is thin like a road bike. He suggested me heist 1.0 with no suspension fork. What do u think? Any other brand of bike I can find hybrid with no suspension and wheel thickness between MTb and road?
frankly, there are different camps of touring riders... some prefer MTB based hybrids and some road based hybrids... and none of them is 100% right...

in the real world.. there is no perfect bike and it totally depends on what or where you are riding to...

a road 700c wheel can be changed with a slightly wider 700 x 28c or 700 x 32c or even cyclo cross tyres to make it able to handle some rougher roads and more resilient to punctures... but that does not make the entire wheel structure stronger...

for example, if you are riding to places like altiplano in bolivia... no way, you are going to make it in a road based hybrid.. simply for 2 reasons... rough road conditions and endless uphills that will demand a gear so small a 25T cog will seem too heavy...

on the other hand.. if you plan to cycle tour to penang... it should be ok to ride a road based hybrid since most of the way will be paved roads...

in actual fact... an MTB is much more tougher than a road hybrid making it able to carry on heavy loads especially when you are gone for months...but MTB is also much heavier than a road hybrid making it very tough especially when the road heads up...

an MTB would also be easier to repair as MTB is kind of much more common nowadays...

if you look at examples like the velomads who had been on the road for several years trying to tour the entire globe... you'll see that they use MTBs but with some road parts like drop bars and such... primarily for reasons that they don't know what they will be facing on the road...they need a rough and rugged bike capable of handling everything...

it really depends on what you think... look at the long term... not short... this will be something you need to weigh yourself... are you a dedicated touring rider who will be away for months to ride cross continents... or jus a weekend away riding to some other states and back?

you might need to think of the percentage of time you spend touring vs casual riding since i assume you won't be getting 2 bikes for separate purposes...because you might want to convert your touring bike into your daily or weekend rider or vice versa and you don't want to regret getting the wrong bike for the long term.. some compromises have to be made in one way or another....

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 6 2012, 06:39 PM
minizian
post Aug 6 2012, 06:36 PM

1,074 posts

Had a rest day today. My leg feel abit painful after my previous 2 day 10km-ish ride. Is that okay? Is it sign my body will adapt to the changes?
Sky.Live
post Aug 6 2012, 07:15 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 6 2012, 06:36 PM)
Had a rest day today. My leg feel abit painful after my previous 2 day 10km-ish ride. Is that okay? Is it sign my body will adapt to the changes?
10km-ish? 30mins ride ?

that's a bit short to be able to feel anything.. numb is ok.. pain is abit.. hmm do you play other sport other than cycling?
shienchin
post Aug 6 2012, 07:29 PM

23 posts

Thanks for more enlightenment. He also mentioned that thin wheels for road bike compare to MTb is easier to percha in very long distance. Is this correct or not?
minizian
post Aug 6 2012, 07:46 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 6 2012, 07:15 PM)
10km-ish? 30mins ride ?

that's a bit short to be able to feel anything.. numb is ok.. pain is abit.. hmm do you play other sport other than cycling?
around 40/50 min ride (i stopped by road side to rest and have a drink, i cant drink and ride at the same time).. Avg speed around 20-23 km. I don play any other sports. This is my first real excercise after bumming around for many years @@ maybe that the factor. Oh ya, there a short but super steep hill that i will need to go tru on my way home. Its the only way home unless i use the busy but less hilly road (which i will not do it) Perhaps that cause all the pains?

Hopefully i can wake up early tomoro for a ride again. Trying to achieve 15/20km ride.

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 6 2012, 07:54 PM

125 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:10 AM