125 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

hianboy
post Aug 6 2012, 08:04 PM

364 posts

Haha~ i got this as my office's iMac wallpaper...

mrjgx
post Aug 6 2012, 11:13 PM

59 posts

i'm not rich ma..been saving money for quite sometime plus letting go some of my DLSR's stuff..bought quite a lot of item but left unused in a dry box so better trade them in while they still got price and buy cycling stuff tongue.gif

now don't feel like buying any cycling stuffs anymore..except eyeing for those eye candy jerseys and bibs.

my take on FR0...well i've ridden only a few wheelsets..the OEM FR Comp, dura ace c50 7850, and dura ace c24..I've yet to feel significant difference in terms of climbing but it sure balanced out my bike's frame stiffness feeling.

The most significant improvements are hard, sharp cornering where I can take it confidently at speed compare to previous FR Comp..and also the speed in freewheeling while decending fast.

Not to mention the obvious 'garang' sound and also the looooooks..mine is the dark label version. hehe. Not too much different with the 1-2 way fit, whereby the latter is a tad heavier.

FR1..hurm..not much of a price different..

the thick spokes is a blade type hence the aero as claimed (I think so)..plus it shaved off around 500g from my FR Comp so that's a huge reduction..I weighed my bike before and after.

Happy huntingggg~ it's painful. hahaha

edited: on the climbing part..it will not weigh you down when you are tired..every pedal push is a smooth rolling up the hill. yea I can feel this one. unless you have those sub 1300grams climbing wheelsets, then obviously you will immediately notice the lightness..in my case..so-so only mah...

Sexy beast...

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Aug 6 2012, 11:17 PM
TSvin_ann
post Aug 7 2012, 12:38 AM

10,912 posts

My 2 bikes in living hall. I can't believe my uncle asked me to put the bikes at balcony ! So put my bikes at balcony...

1 hour over, 2 hours and I can't falls sleep ! Dam! So I went to move my GiantTRCSL3 bike back inside! Now I put on my room ! Hope later can sleep well...
butthead
post Aug 7 2012, 09:25 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 6 2012, 07:15 PM)
10km-ish? 30mins ride ?

that's a bit short to be able to feel anything.. numb is ok.. pain is abit.. hmm do you play other sport other than cycling?
pain is a part of the game...

QUOTE(shienchin @ Aug 6 2012, 07:29 PM)
Thanks for more enlightenment. He also mentioned that thin wheels for road bike compare to MTb is easier to percha in very long distance. Is this correct or not?
in terms of puncture on road slicks... that is a given as 700c road slicks have thinner rubber and also a thinner kevlar casing... unless you are running knobbies... MTB road slicks are susceptible to punctures as well.. it just depends on what debris you hit...

as i mentioned, MTB will always be made tougher but at the expense of heavier weight which in turn require more effort to move the bike along..

QUOTE(hianboy @ Aug 6 2012, 08:04 PM)
Haha~ i got this as my office's iMac wallpaper...
t(sleep.gift)

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 6 2012, 11:13 PM)
i'm not rich ma..been saving money for quite sometime plus letting go some of my DLSR's stuff..bought quite a lot of item but left unused in a dry box so better trade them in while they still got price and buy cycling stuff tongue.gif

now don't feel like buying any cycling stuffs anymore..except eyeing for those eye candy jerseys and bibs.

Happy huntingggg~ it's painful. hahaha
woi... at least you got some unused thing to sell off in the first place... and that unused thing didn't fall from the sky ma... i got jack shit to sell to fund my corima mcc's....

garang sound... wait till you hear the chris king R45s... hahahhaa the price of the hub alone almost can tarpau your FR0

if rolf prima paired spoke wheels and lightweight were to have sex... this will be their offspring...
user posted imageSWWEEEEEETTTT!!!

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 6 2012, 11:13 PM)
unless you have those sub 1300grams climbing wheelsets, then obviously you will immediately notice the lightness
dun taruh poison la... affect people judgement tongue.gif
user posted image 303 firecrest tubular, 1200grams

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 7 2012, 12:38 AM)
My 2 bikes in living hall. I can't believe my uncle asked me to put the bikes at balcony ! So put my bikes at balcony...

1 hour over, 2 hours and I can't falls sleep ! Dam! So I went to move my GiantTRCSL3 bike back inside! Now I put on my room ! Hope later can sleep well...
balcony exposed to the weather and thieves...sumbat into store room or hang it in your room lar...

after kena stolen... bebola also kecut....

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 7 2012, 09:31 AM
TSvin_ann
post Aug 7 2012, 10:17 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 7 2012, 09:25 AM)

balcony exposed to the weather and thieves...sumbat into store room or hang it in your room lar...

after kena stolen... bebola also kecut....
that's why i realized i cant fall sleep... so took my bike into my room, bebola kecut is gone... back to normal pressure... sleep well... at 12:30am.. and can wake up without fail at 5:45am to go gym for TRX...

garang sound?

no wonder i keep hearing it when ride with group... i woundering why my Xero Wheel no sound 1...

i tried to pedal even harder... got a little bit of sound, but not as loud as others... rupa-nya uses mahal wheels...
butthead
post Aug 7 2012, 10:31 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 7 2012, 10:17 AM)
that's why i realized i cant fall sleep... so took my bike into my room, bebola kecut is gone... back to normal pressure... sleep well... at 12:30am.. and can wake up without fail at 5:45am to go gym for TRX...

garang sound?

no wonder i keep hearing it when ride with group... i woundering why my Xero Wheel no sound 1...

i tried to pedal even harder... got a little bit of sound, but not as loud as others... rupa-nya uses mahal wheels...
wah.. wat gym open at 5.45am ohh? got special happy hour service one is it...

my RM2 more sound solution.. open freehub, dig out all grease... throw sand in.. guarantee sound so damn garang you will jump off your bike...

no offense, but... it's crazy to buy sound with $$$ i like the days of shimano's silent clutch hubs (and we had to pay more for silent clutch hubs)... those were the fad back then... no sound = serenity... enjoy scenery and shit.. nowadays... all things terbalik adi... WTF world???

some annoyances (to me at least)

in order of price...

fulcrum

CK R45

the rest of the giler expensive hubs... tune, extralite and so on...

Added on August 7, 2012, 10:37 amactually... the analogy of the sound is not intentionally made... but rather depending on the amount of pawls and engagement points...

for example.. the conventional hubs have around 24 engagement points with 3 pawls... zipp and DT i think has something like 36 engagement points... chris king around 72 points simultaneous engagement with their proprietary ring drive... industry nine has 120 points but 9 point simultaneous engagement...

all this makes for some crazy sound at the expense of a thinning wallet...

oh yea.. i9 sound..

from their road range...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 7 2012, 10:37 AM
joonming
post Aug 7 2012, 10:40 AM

JM
540 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 7 2012, 12:38 AM)

i put my bike at balcony 1, new condo also have to put at balcony.
wife reject my proposal - convert the store to bike room. mad.gif

Today got new idea , 3rd bedroom make it to study + guest + bike room rclxm9.gif
butthead
post Aug 7 2012, 11:27 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Aug 7 2012, 10:40 AM)

Today got new idea , 3rd bedroom make it to study + guest + bike room  rclxm9.gif
i can already imagine the response of your wife...

Sky.Live
post Aug 7 2012, 11:30 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Anyone familiar where to look for bike in UK? feeling like buying a bike in UK
butthead
post Aug 7 2012, 11:48 AM

593 posts

never sit before aeroplane... online buy... count or not?

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/

frankly... buat susah la.. bringing back the bike will pose a problem.. might have to buy the expensive carry case there to transport the bike... then you end up with no more warranty when you bring it back...

save a couple hundred.. but risk losing a lot in the long term

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 7 2012, 11:50 AM
TSvin_ann
post Aug 7 2012, 11:52 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 7 2012, 10:31 AM)
wah.. wat gym open at 5.45am ohh? got special happy hour service one is it...

my RM2 more sound solution.. open freehub, dig out all grease... throw sand in.. guarantee sound so damn garang you will jump off your bike...

no offense, but... it's crazy to buy sound with $$$ i like the days of shimano's silent clutch hubs (and we had to pay more for silent clutch hubs)... those were the fad back then... no sound = serenity... enjoy scenery and shit.. nowadays... all things terbalik adi... WTF world???

from their road range...

Sorry. My error. I ter-ate the "wake up" at 5:45am to attend 7:00am TRX session.

Since yesterday, auditor showing her un-friendly garang face and attitude while requesting / chasing me for documents. now u know why i stressed up! mad.gif

QUOTE(joonming @ Aug 7 2012, 10:40 AM)

Today got new idea , 3rd bedroom make it to study + guest + bike room  rclxm9.gif
your condo 3rd bedroom must be huge man! you staying 1,700++ sq ft condo?

i'm now desperately looking for new place! I been looking for 1 since long time ago... yet nothing that suite me or makes me straight away want to book pay deposit !

Any ideal condo for Cyclist with budget around RM400k? off course the square feet need to be at least 931sq ft, my old place.

i thinks my new place is much smaller with 800sq ft i guess...
hianboy
post Aug 7 2012, 12:14 PM

364 posts

u can try try ask X2 at puchong geh...
butthead
post Aug 7 2012, 12:16 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 7 2012, 11:52 AM)
Sorry. My error. I ter-ate the "wake up" at 5:45am to attend 7:00am TRX session.

Since yesterday, auditor showing her un-friendly garang face and attitude while requesting / chasing me for documents. now u know why i stressed up!  mad.gif

i'm now desperately looking for new place! I been looking for 1 since long time ago... yet nothing that suite me or makes me straight away want to book pay deposit !

Any ideal condo for Cyclist with budget around RM400k? off course the square feet need to be at least 931sq ft, my old place.

wahsai... sked me... 5.45am gym... the trainer sure like zombie li tat...

auditor is li tat la... your company hired her to come hand out some pain to you guys so it reminds you that life with your bosses is like a cruise ship... management strategies mah... didn't you read the book??? i feel in this world there is 2 jobs that kena a lot of cursing one... 1) income tax officer and 2)auditors...

not only they demand tons and tons of paperwork when people is telling everyone to go green and use less paper (sure they next time go toilet no toilet paper to use, karma)... they also drill into tons of bullshit asking idiotic questions...

i kena before.. totally got nothing to do with me or my dept.. not sure why that 1 line of item fall into the list of audited items... that case, seriously... dunno want to laugh or get mad.. and mind you, the auditor is auditing for asset sighting... pointed out this 1 line to me "renovation -> 200k" and asked me... "can you show me what is this"... i was like WTF in my mind... renovation la pundet... you not blind or illiterate is it? still demanded me to show it... so, apa boleh buat... just point around the floor and ceiling la... li tat the fella also satisfied...

friggin pointless exercise this is... why not go drill into something like that RM20k being masked as stationaries where the boss actually spent it buying double headed dildos jus for the fun of it???

RM400k... susah leh... condo somemore.. and in KL... mana ada la nowadays... condo's are either super luxury or super unaffordable... people wanna live the good life adi...

RM400k... apartment saje ade... i think the puchong side there after passing by the LDP toll and across the bridge... left side, masuk a bit near telekom there got some apartments... no lift, 4 or 5 floors... only selling RM120k... couple years ago.. only RM60k... i was like WTF... should have bought 1 and sell it now.. untung a couple of BMC Team Machine SLRs...

Sky.Live
post Aug 7 2012, 12:17 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 7 2012, 11:48 AM)
never sit before aeroplane... online buy... count or not?

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/

frankly... buat susah la..  bringing back the bike will pose a problem.. might have to buy the expensive carry case there to transport the bike... then you end up with no more warranty when you bring it back...

save a couple hundred.. but risk losing a lot in the long term
i wanna ride it there la, dont feel like courier my bike over..
butthead
post Aug 7 2012, 12:25 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 7 2012, 12:17 PM)
i wanna ride it there la, dont feel like courier my bike over..
u goin there for a very long time? i am sure there is a lot of bike shops there.. especially london since they promote cycling very heavily...
Sky.Live
post Aug 7 2012, 12:29 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 7 2012, 12:25 PM)
u goin there for a very long time? i am sure there is a lot of bike shops there.. especially london since they promote cycling very heavily...
my friend in london sent me a few links.. doesn't looks too cheap..

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/
www.evanscycles.com

joonming
post Aug 7 2012, 12:33 PM

JM
540 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 7 2012, 11:27 AM)
i can already imagine the response of your wife...

ok , rejected again vmad.gif on MSN just now.

Added on August 7, 2012, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 7 2012, 11:52 AM)

Since yesterday, auditor showing her un-friendly garang face and attitude while requesting / chasing me for documents. now u know why i stressed up!  mad.gif

Mine Cheras, 426k - 1472sq ft + corner unit, now new block is selling 500k brows.gif

This post has been edited by joonming: Aug 7 2012, 12:35 PM
miaopurr
post Aug 7 2012, 12:40 PM

587 posts

if given a choice, FR0 vs ksyrium SL. which one and why?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Aug 7 2012, 12:41 PM
butthead
post Aug 7 2012, 12:57 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 7 2012, 12:29 PM)
my friend in london sent me a few links.. doesn't looks too cheap..

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/
www.evanscycles.com
+ VAT mar... sure expensive one.. i think if you bring back... can claim VAT release at airport... but malaysia custom will give you some stick or not.. .that is another matter la...

QUOTE(joonming @ Aug 7 2012, 12:33 PM)
ok , rejected again  vmad.gif  on MSN just now.

Added on August 7, 2012, 12:35 pm

Mine Cheras, 426k - 1472sq ft + corner unit, now new block is selling 500k  brows.gif
told you so... get over it dude...

fuh... cheras adi 500k... no hope for our generation liao...

this is only wat we can afford...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 7 2012, 12:40 PM)
if given a choice, FR0 vs ksyrium SL. which one and why?
for me personally.. i always think of 2 problems which is availability and support (and because 1 consistently happens to all my wheels... so, i a bit paranoid)

FR0... 2 reasons... more accessible via my bike shop (price factor and also repair support)... and i dun need to worry because the bike shop i frequent more has parts for it... especially spokes... even the replacement ceramic bearings are murderous in price.. i think RM300++... for 1 wheel i think.,..

unless you are darn close to boon foo or KH cycle... i think Mavic can be a preferred choice.. either one won't be wrong...

no side considerations... Ksyrium SL (despite without ceramic bearings) i would say is more or less on par with FR0...

and Ksyrium Elite will definitely win over FR0 in terms of value for money despite not having ceramic bearings... it's the definitive do it all wheel...

if you put the choice as pure performance Ksyrium SR... Ksyrium SR wins hand down without considering side factors... i heard it is shit stiff in terms of power transfer... much more than the FR0... but i have never ridden or seen one in KL before.. before reaching that price level.. i guess most had gone to Cosmic Carbone...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 7 2012, 12:59 PM
hianboy
post Aug 7 2012, 01:05 PM

364 posts

125 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:27 PM