vios or city? both 2012 facelifed..which to buy?, budjet around 86k

mytaffeta
post Aug 1 2012, 06:57 AM

1,326 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Jul 31 2012, 10:58 PM)
yup, vios still 3 years warranty.. but city maintenance fees a bit higher compare vios, n their CVT gbx u need to really take a good care of it, use better oil from normal (if honda offer for it) cant use 3rd party gbx oil, could void warranty..

but maybe u can add at ur own (eg X-1R auto gbx oil, but that not for CVT, just example only)
auto gbx oil easy to add by ur self compare manual..
dude, NHC not using CVT GB ler.. so the earlier story u told us is true or not? ur fren 2011 city that having GB problem? im driving a 2010 city and 90% of time am using paddle shift.. i do follow city forum/thread and none i found having problem with the GB.. hmm.gif

Added on August 1, 2012, 7:02 am
QUOTE(mike5627 @ Jul 30 2012, 12:09 PM)
thanks for ur suggestion..i personally a salesman which will travel 2000km per month..is that H.City FC not as good as vios?
if most of time u'll be driving in town, vios is good for u; fc and suspension is good for town driving.. if interstate/long distance drive then city for u..

This post has been edited by mytaffeta: Aug 1 2012, 07:02 AM
TSmike5627
post Aug 1 2012, 09:03 AM

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Jul 31 2012, 02:57 PM)
dude, NHC not using CVT GB ler.. so the earlier story u told us is true or not? ur fren 2011 city that having GB problem? im driving a 2010 city and 90% of time am using paddle shift.. i do follow city forum/thread and none i found having problem with the GB..  hmm.gif

if most of time u'll be driving in town, vios is good for u; fc and suspension is good for town driving.. if interstate/long distance drive then city for u..
alright, thanks. biggrin.gif
amad108
post Aug 1 2012, 12:46 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Aug 1 2012, 06:57 AM)
dude, NHC not using CVT GB ler.. so the earlier story u told us is true or not? ur fren 2011 city that having GB problem? im driving a 2010 city and 90% of time am using paddle shift.. i do follow city forum/thread and none i found having problem with the GB..  hmm.gif

yup, totally true.. before this he use putra, so kinda a bit spirit driver (alwz change gear lol), when he change to city which got paddle shift he very happy with that, but after certain time his gbx produce some noisy sound, so he claim that problem with honda SC.. i can introduce u to him, but as i also rarely seen him (my old friend since terato.com if u know, that website which already close now)

Added on August 1, 2012, 12:49 pm
QUOTE(winterwish @ Aug 1 2012, 06:44 AM)
Yeah, I think they use back conventional gearbox since the CVT got many problem in Malaysia.. maybe the weather is hotter here or something.. haha. And seems like a lot of people still prefer the regular gearbox and not those CVT scooter thing.  tongue.gif

Paddle shift for syok2 only, but if use to up-shift early can save a bit more fuel I suppose.  biggrin.gif

Your friend year 2011 City sure got warranty right? Rarely a gearbox will fail that soon.
yup.. but his previous car was putra gsr, so u know la.. he even bring his honda city car to trackday lol..
i think conventional has higher durability, just add 1 gear more so good enough oredy.. summore its paddle shift more response compare CVT gbx..

Added on August 1, 2012, 12:52 pm
QUOTE(bryan5073 @ Jul 29 2012, 12:41 AM)
VIOS coz:
1. Vios is cheaper
2. All Toyota has better resale value
3. Toyota spare-parts cheaper whereas for Honda, even if one part rosak, you'd need to change the whole thing so it will costs more (from what I heard la)

BUT of coz the City looks much nicer la, and heard that City's engine not as noisy as the Vios's

SO it really depends on the buyer's preference!  nod.gif
i need to agree with engine noise for vios, its true.. rev more then 4k rpm sure can hear engine roar (but not nice engine roar la..huhu)

This post has been edited by amad108: Aug 1 2012, 12:52 PM
kiatzz
post Aug 1 2012, 02:17 PM

89 posts

Sorry TS borrow your thread for some input.

I was helping my brother look for car (Sedan) and would appreciate anyone here can give some comments.

Price range about the same 86k and in this category there are not many choices
(not say not many but so call well known and reliable i would say only few) i.e. Toyota, Honda.

I want to know which will you guys consider...

1. Vios J
2. Mazda 2
3. Feista
4. City S Spec (slightly over budge)

TQ.
Area51SE
post Aug 1 2012, 02:40 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(kiatzz @ Aug 1 2012, 02:17 PM)

I was helping my brother look for car (Sedan) and would appreciate anyone here can give some comments.

(not say not many but so call well known and reliable i would say only few) i.e. Toyota, Honda.

1. Vios J
2. Mazda 2
3. Feista

TQ.
Fiesta for Value for Money, J and City for Reliable ( Between both I would choose City). Finally, If I were you, I would go for Fiesta smile.gif Just my personal opinion
xin
post Aug 1 2012, 02:45 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

Ford Fiesta !!!!
kiatzz
post Aug 1 2012, 02:47 PM

89 posts

BTW why no go for Mazda? ---- just out of my curiosity...
keanutan
post Aug 1 2012, 05:18 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(mike5627 @ Jul 31 2012, 11:46 PM)
urs is hybrid car?

Added on July 31, 2012, 11:49 pm
O.o i seee...but i thought new city gear boxx change already?
yup 1 month old prius c .. FC super duper good .. previously permonth pump 3-4 times now is every 3 weeks ..
mytaffeta
post Aug 1 2012, 05:32 PM

1,326 posts

1. Vios J
2. Mazda 2
3. Feista

TQ.
fiesta the best of all 4! flex.gif
masz94
post Aug 1 2012, 06:02 PM

1. Vios J
2. Mazda 2
3. Feista

TQ.
I test drove all the cars u mentioned plus more, such as Swift etc....

The best is Fiesta... Handling, power, safety specs is just awesome....

But i'm opting the Fiesta Hatch, coz sexier.... brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
GothFebrio
post Aug 1 2012, 06:05 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

elantra
masz94
post Aug 1 2012, 06:10 PM

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Aug 1 2012, 06:05 PM)
elantra
Elantra is a good car, no doubt, but Fiesta has better handling...

I did consider Elantra too, but the 1.6 is not that powerful but the 1.8 is good....

But then, the 1.8 is just too expensive when compared with the cars listed... laugh.gif
kadajawi
post Aug 2 2012, 12:42 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Jul 30 2012, 08:36 PM)
I booked my Forte already. The sales can give 2-3k discount. I think this is worth to get. I cannot get the same spec from Vios and City.

City price increased from 86k to 90k. Not worth. Vios price very competitive. But you will know the car is totally empty feature compare with Forte.

I agreed Forte has less resale value and maybe spare part more expensive. The car just 2 yrs ++ in Malaysia. No one send for major spare part replacement. Not fair to say the spare part is expensive. Resale value is not high doesnt mean low quality. It could be demand low. We have to give time to Korean's Car. The reason City/Vios resale value high doesnt mean has good quality than Kia or Hyundai. Just the matter of time.

I trust Korean brand. You can see how sucessful they do well in Samsung LCD / LED TV.

In US and europe, you can find many Elantra and Forte. But you will not find City or Vios over there. This is good enough to judge which car you should buy.

If you just want to buy car for resale particularly in Malaysia only, then you should get Vios and City. But I would say this is follow trend only. Doesnt mean getting good, worth car if you think on resale value always. Anytime Korean Car can overtake Japanese car like Samsung beat Panasonic or Sony.
Forte? In Europe? Where? AFAIK they have the cee'd.

Vios is available as Yaris, and it is doing quite ok for a Japanese car (though since Japanese manufacturers aren't doing so well it's not saying much). The Jazz is available, and occasionally people buy it. However these cars are spec'ed totally differently, and the Yaris is in 3rd gen now, while our Vios is still based on the 2nd gen Yaris.

The Prius C is better spec'ed (in terms of safety, like 7 airbags etc.) than the Malaysian Forte. Personally I'd be getting the Prius C instead, although it probably feels a bit cheap. Anyway is it selling well? I hardly see one on the roads, sadly other Toyotas seem much more popular.

@kiatzz: Easy. Fiesta sedan. Best in terms of safety and value, and apart from that also said to be a good car.
Axel
post Aug 2 2012, 06:23 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Jul 30 2012, 12:41 PM)
vios has the best FC, go for vios for peace of mind. Afterall, the engine has been used and tested for many years coming from the previous generation vios. Wont go wrong with such stable engine, all vios old or new gen uses the same engine.
really?i thought since city has 5 gears so it should be better or at least on par with vios FC o.o
but even then,the difference in highway drive and city drive also small right?

personally,even i'd opt for a fiesta but i love the manual override and fiesta doesnt have it cry.gif
sitting inside the vios and city makes me feel a bit classy,even im thinking of either of these two...but not vios J though,kinda got tired of driving an actual manual tranny already whistling.gif
Jinster
post Aug 2 2012, 07:34 AM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

choose a car that doesn't change its make up while having the same inner stuff if u get what i mean -.-" and stay away from hybrid cars if u're in msia..u'll regret -.-" not all will regret though it depends on ur usage, hybrid usually can be used as a 3rd car..

This post has been edited by Jinster: Aug 2 2012, 07:35 AM
bluehaven
post Aug 2 2012, 08:35 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(Jinster @ Aug 2 2012, 07:34 AM)
choose a car that doesn't change its make up while having the same inner stuff if u get what i mean -.-" and stay away from hybrid cars if u're in msia..u'll regret -.-" not all will regret though it depends on ur usage, hybrid usually can be used as a 3rd car..
can you elaborate more why regret if take hybrid cars? apart from the battery costing up to 7k to replace, they are reportedly the most fuel efficient so far? and add in the gov discount on hybrid into the equation..why would be the reasons to stay away from hybrid may i know.. hmm.gif

@mytaffeta: damn ur avatar, i blowed just to get it off my display haha laugh.gif

This post has been edited by bluehaven: Aug 2 2012, 08:43 AM
BabiDoll
post Aug 2 2012, 09:51 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(bryan5073 @ Jul 29 2012, 12:41 AM)
VIOS coz:
1. Vios is cheaper
2. All Toyota has better resale value
3. Toyota spare-parts cheaper whereas for Honda, even if one part rosak, you'd need to change the whole thing so it will costs more (from what I heard la)

BUT of coz the City looks much nicer la, and heard that City's engine not as noisy as the Vios's

SO it really depends on the buyer's preference!  nod.gif
agree
Toyota = resale value top
vios = spare parts easy to find and easy maintain plus cheap price with quality
Toyota = SC very good and Customer First
vios = engine noise actually is not loud as city. you park both car and turn off/on air con to compare. vios win.
vios = FC very good, city = FC super duper high..
omnimech
post Aug 2 2012, 09:53 AM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

If you buy the vios, you are a f***in idiot.

That car has been face lifted umpteen times.

Toyota is just milking the car for all it is worth.

The technology is borderline ancient.

The design is dated.

The suspension is shit.

The engine is even more shit.

GO ahead, buy the vios =.=

Added on August 2, 2012, 9:58 am
QUOTE(BabiDoll @ Aug 2 2012, 09:51 AM)
agree
Toyota = resale value top
vios = spare parts easy to find and easy maintain plus cheap price with quality
Toyota = SC very good and Customer First
vios = engine noise actually is not loud as city. you park both car and turn off/on air con to compare. vios win.
vios = FC very good, city = FC super duper high..
where on god's green earth do you get your bloody facts from.

You just comment for the sake of commenting ?

You are comparing a dated Toyota 10 yr old engine versus a relatively new 3 to 4 yr old engine from Honda.

And the best you can do is engine noise ?

Vios FC GOOD ? really ? City SUPER DUPER HIGH ? Really ?

I am lazy to even bother googling for the spec sheet. Go do it yourself.

Argh. Retard.

This post has been edited by omnimech: Aug 2 2012, 09:58 AM
BabiDoll
post Aug 2 2012, 10:03 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Aug 2 2012, 09:53 AM)
If you buy the vios, you are a f***in idiot.

That car has been face lifted umpteen times.

Toyota is just milking the car for all it is worth.

The technology is borderline ancient.

The design is dated.

The suspension is shit.

The engine is even more shit.

GO ahead, buy the vios =.=

Added on August 2, 2012, 9:58 am

where on god's green earth do you get your bloody facts from.

You just comment for the sake of commenting ?

You are comparing a dated Toyota 10 yr old engine versus a relatively new 3 to 4 yr old engine from Honda.

And the best you can do is engine noise ?

Vios FC GOOD ? really ? City SUPER DUPER HIGH ? Really ?

I am lazy to even bother googling for the spec sheet. Go do it yourself.

Argh. Retard.
Are you driving one City/Honda now..? why you looks so hot now...? doh.gif doh.gif
you are the one need do more research. use googling? omg.. you must got trolled by internet like how govt use media to troll kampungboy.
xin
post Aug 2 2012, 11:40 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(Axel @ Aug 2 2012, 06:23 AM)
really?i thought since city has 5 gears so it should be better or at least on par with vios FC o.o
but even then,the difference in highway drive and city drive also small right?

personally,even i'd opt for a fiesta but i love the manual override and fiesta doesnt have it  cry.gif
sitting inside the vios and city makes me feel a bit classy,even im thinking of either of these two...but not vios J though,kinda got tired of driving an actual manual tranny already  whistling.gif
Due to the gearbox ratio for City's gearbox, city driving at most would be only on par or worse than vios FC. If its on Highway driving then City shines at this part even overshot vios FC with a long league. So it is actually up to your own preference, since most people use it for City driving hence you can always hear ppl mentioning vios FC is better which is true in City driving.

If youre fancy some downshifting and upshifting with paddle shifting (higher spec) with normal D mode and sporty S mode, you can consider City since that's the fun factor there. Vios would go for conventional gated shift override but lacks the diff mode. So if you preference is locked to vios and ciy, then go test drive it and see which you prefer most. thumbup.gif

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:43 PM