Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1
RegentCid
Sep 5 2012, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Sep 5 2012, 05:12 PM) Anyone knows how much is is roughly for airport transfer (taxi for 4 person) from Haneda airport to hotel? My hotel is in Shinagawa so it's actually only 15km from the airport. Checked online and the lowest is around 8,400 yen. I was told can get for RM200. Is this true? Btw, should book in advance or better to just get a taxi upon arrival at the airport. I'm reaching around 11pm+. Taxi fares typically start around 600-700 yen for the first two kilometers and increase by roughly 100 yen for every additional 500 meters traveled. The cost also increases when the taxi is not moving for a prolonged time. Late in the evening (typically 10pm to 5am), rates are raised by typically 20 percent.
munkeyflo
Sep 6 2012, 11:01 AM
Blooop bloop bloop
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 5 2012, 11:47 PM) Taxi fares typically start around 600-700 yen for the first two kilometers and increase by roughly 100 yen for every additional 500 meters traveled. The cost also increases when the taxi is not moving for a prolonged time. Late in the evening (typically 10pm to 5am), rates are raised by typically 20 percent. That means if we are caught in a jam then the cost will still increase. Thanks for the info. Have checked the Limousine Bus but their stops are no where near my hotel.
estcin
Sep 6 2012, 11:33 AM
For AirAsia flight reach there 11pm, I book hotel near Haneda for the night which provide shuttle bus, so no worry about transport.
Oblivionz
Sep 6 2012, 04:21 PM
ok guys, have a serious question about the weather in japan.
Since i'm going to Kansai area from 15 sept - 19 sept, i checked the weather forecast and those 4 days are raining.
I want to know if the rains there can affect outdoor sight seeing? Cause I'm planning to go to Kyoto and a lot of those places I want to visit are outdoors.
Shazzac
Sep 6 2012, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(Oblivionz @ Sep 6 2012, 04:21 PM) ok guys, have a serious question about the weather in japan. Since i'm going to Kansai area from 15 sept - 19 sept, i checked the weather forecast and those 4 days are raining. I want to know if the rains there can affect outdoor sight seeing? Cause I'm planning to go to Kyoto and a lot of those places I want to visit are outdoors. From experience, the rain is usually typhoon type of rain. And hard to predict, sometimes it rains for a long time, sometimes for a short period of time. Best if you bring disposable raincoat coz in this case umbrellas will be useless coz the rain is coming sideways. You'll be soaked before you know it.
TSstimix
Sep 6 2012, 05:01 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Sep 6 2012, 11:01 AM) That means if we are caught in a jam then the cost will still increase. Thanks for the info. Have checked the Limousine Bus but their stops are no where near my hotel. There are few limousine bus companies in Haneda. Which one you check? http://hnd-bus.com/route/shinagawa.html#timetablehttp://www.limousinebus.co.jp/en/bus_servi..._shinagawa.html Added on September 6, 2012, 5:04 pmQUOTE(Shazzac @ Sep 6 2012, 04:32 PM) From experience, the rain is usually typhoon type of rain. And hard to predict, sometimes it rains for a long time, sometimes for a short period of time. Best if you bring disposable raincoat coz in this case umbrellas will be useless coz the rain is coming sideways. You'll be soaked before you know it. Haha, There was one full day when I was there in Early Mar...Whole day from Morning till Night - raining none stop...darm  ..Lucky not typhoon like but more like long hour of light rain. The best part I notice, on that particular day, almost every shops offering raincoat & umbrella..so enterprising haha.. and almost all shops also provide free umbrella plastics This post has been edited by stimix: Sep 6 2012, 05:04 PM
munkeyflo
Sep 6 2012, 06:21 PM
Blooop bloop bloop
QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 6 2012, 05:01 PM) Thanks for the links, stimix. I checked the 2nd link cause I just google airport limousine and that was the first one that came up. That one was from Haneda airport to certain hotels. The other one in your links transfer from Haneda airport to Shinagawa station, if I understand correctly. My hotel is somewhere near Gotanda railway station (Toko hotel) so still quite a distance away from Shinagawa station. Still best to get a taxi from airport I guess? My dad wants an airport transfer that will stop us right infront of the hotel lol.
Human Nature
Sep 6 2012, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(estcin @ Sep 6 2012, 11:33 AM) For AirAsia flight reach there 11pm, I book hotel near Haneda for the night which provide shuttle bus, so no worry about transport. Hi, which hotel is that?
Ultimaweapon
Sep 6 2012, 09:09 PM

QUOTE(estcin @ Sep 6 2012, 11:33 AM) For AirAsia flight reach there 11pm, I book hotel near Haneda for the night which provide shuttle bus, so no worry about transport. I wonder if this is a bad idea? http://first-cabin.jp/en/cabins/No worries about transport etc. at all at any days. It's right there in the terminal.
tyhuang
Sep 7 2012, 10:27 AM

Guys..im at japan now staying in horidome..i nesrly fainted looking at the price..i wana ask u if the hotel tab water can drink onot? Means in the toilet room lo...
illegaldragon87
Sep 7 2012, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(tyhuang @ Sep 7 2012, 10:27 AM) Guys..im at japan now staying in horidome..i nesrly fainted looking at the price..i wana ask u if the hotel tab water can drink onot? Means in the toilet room lo... i dare not to drink... jus purchase mineral water from nearby convenient store
PsyCHZZZ
Sep 7 2012, 01:55 PM

QUOTE(tyhuang @ Sep 7 2012, 10:27 AM) Guys..im at japan now staying in horidome..i nesrly fainted looking at the price..i wana ask u if the hotel tab water can drink onot? Means in the toilet room lo... It should be safe to drink but if you're concern about drinking directly from the tap, why not boil it first? There should be a water hotpot in the hotel room. Just boil it and let it cool overnight before filling up your bottles.
e-jump
Sep 7 2012, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(tyhuang @ Sep 7 2012, 10:27 AM) Guys..im at japan now staying in horidome..i nesrly fainted looking at the price..i wana ask u if the hotel tab water can drink onot? Means in the toilet room lo... chill bro. when u buy food, dont convert to RM, or u'll be easing 2 plate sushi only or a stick of dango. As long u can find food set circa 700yen that is cheap. n as phyzz said, boil the water, n refill ur bottle. thats what i always do. Go konbini (best if u can find 100yen shop) n stock ur food supplies. they come in handy when u miss ur dinner etc
RegentCid
Sep 7 2012, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(e-jump @ Sep 7 2012, 01:20 PM) chill bro. when u buy food, dont convert to RM, or u'll be easing 2 plate sushi only or a stick of dango. As long u can find food set circa 700yen that is cheap. n as phyzz said, boil the water, n refill ur bottle. thats what i always do. Go konbini (best if u can find 100yen shop) n stock ur food supplies. they come in handy when u miss ur dinner etc About food ...still can go even lower if go those fast food chain store such as noshinoya or sukiya. A bowl of beef don around 350 yen +1 This post has been edited by RegentCid: Sep 7 2012, 05:09 PM
TSstimix
Sep 7 2012, 05:17 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(tyhuang @ Sep 7 2012, 10:27 AM) Guys..im at japan now staying in horidome..i nesrly fainted looking at the price..i wana ask u if the hotel tab water can drink onot? Means in the toilet room lo... It is safe but funny taste haha. Anyway, I just brought my own empty bottle and ask the receptionist to fill up for me FOC. And in any Japanese restaurant, the drinks (Plain water) is free...wallop as much as you can haha. You ony buy one or two mineral bottle for 1st day and other days just refill that bottle b4 you out from the hotel  Added on September 7, 2012, 5:18 pmQUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 7 2012, 05:06 PM) About food ...still can go even lower if go those fast food chain store such as noshinoya or sukiya. A bowl of beef don around 350 yen +1 Special promo at Sukiya, you even can get as low as 220yen This post has been edited by stimix: Sep 7 2012, 05:18 PM
michaelyii1988
Sep 8 2012, 11:22 PM
roughly how much is 'reasonable' for transportation covering Osaka n Tokyo for a 10day trip? exclusing shinkansen and bus to tokyo. Going Kyoto,Nara,Hakone as well.. hmm.. i do a rough calculation i need to fork out around 15k yen. normal or something wrong?
munkeyflo
Sep 9 2012, 10:10 AM
Blooop bloop bloop
Anyone here rented a car and drove around Japan on their own? Would like to hear your experience. I'll be driving from Tokyo to Nagoya to Ise to Kyoto to Hakone then back to Tokyo airport. It seems toll cost a bomb over there.
RegentCid
Sep 9 2012, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Sep 9 2012, 09:10 AM) Anyone here rented a car and drove around Japan on their own? Would like to hear your experience. I'll be driving from Tokyo to Nagoya to Ise to Kyoto to Hakone then back to Tokyo airport. It seems toll cost a bomb over there.  Got international driving licence?
SUSnatzakaria
Sep 9 2012, 11:00 AM
Can anyone recommend me a decent family Hotel in Shinjuku area?
@secret@
Sep 9 2012, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(tyhuang @ Sep 7 2012, 10:27 AM) Guys..im at japan now staying in horidome..i nesrly fainted looking at the price..i wana ask u if the hotel tab water can drink onot? Means in the toilet room lo... indeed. I fainted already this March. luckily,i have got my aunt to pay for me. one bottle 5 ringgit up up!! If it's safe to drink,there should be a sign i guess