Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

Ultimaweapon
post Aug 23 2012, 08:48 PM

88 posts

Hi guys,

I need some advice here.
I applied my visa yesterday and supposed to collect tomorrow. Today I had to resubmit another letter of employment due to different than what was required. It's my first time applying for tourist visa for Japan and I was wondering the following issues:-
1. If visa refused, how long only can apply again?
2. If they do not call you, does it mean that it is ok?
3. What's the lowest amount of money in your acc to have been approved for visa?
4. What are actually the chances of a Malaysian being denied visa?
5. Re-submission of letter will extend collection date although is "chopped" there the collection date?
6. How would you know if visa denied? Will they call?

Ultimaweapon
post Aug 28 2012, 06:56 PM

88 posts

I've got another question here:-

Shinkansen from Saitama to Osaka.

Any advice on this?
Is there anywhere in Malaysia I get reserve / buy the tickets
to avoid not getting any seats? Is it always packed?

Ultimaweapon
post Aug 28 2012, 11:38 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Aug 28 2012, 11:20 PM)
There's no direct Shinkansen to Saitama so you'll be taking from Osaka to stations like Tokyo or Shinagawa then change train to Saitama. Use the links on the first page to find the train schedule and the stations where you need to change.
Jorudan's link is on the first page. Personally,I prefer to use Hyperdia. ( http://www.hyperdia.com/en/ )

I don't think there's ways to get the tickets in Malaysia (except for JR Rail Pass). It's not always packed so don't worry.
Just try to get your tickets when you arrive. You can buy them at any of the JR station's office.
Ah, soka ..so means that, from Saitama -> Tokyo -> Shinkansen -> Osaka?
Well, I was worried that the Shinkansen maybe packed and we may not be able
to reach Osaka on the planned date, but well, maybe just hope it will be a smooth transfer.

Thanks for suggesting Hyperdia, but I'm a little confused,
Is there any particular way to differentiate between rapid / local trains at the train station?
Oh by the way, how often would you see station names in english? I cant read chinese either blink.gif

Ultimaweapon
post Aug 29 2012, 01:40 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(garfield01 @ Aug 29 2012, 01:33 PM)
hi i will be in tokyo end of oct, arriving on aa at 11pm.  Think of taking the train to tokyo but read the last train is at 11pm.  Also read from the link on the 1st page there is late bus service provided at haneda airport but only to several stations.  Can anyone suggest a good budget hostel/hotel near any of these stations pls (within walking distance):

Shinagawa Railway Station
    Kita-Senju Railway Station
    Grand Pacific LE DAIBA
    Shibuya Mark City
    Haijima Office and Tachikawa Railway Station
    Omori Railway Station
    Kamata Railway Station (via Hinode Street)

I'm on a budget so i want to avoid taxis and high end hotels if possible. Thanks.

Don't want to sleep in the airport, been there done that and i swear never to do that again.
Are you arriving at Haneda?
Have you tried Haneda First Cabin?
Im not sure how is it but looks quite ok to me. Is about RM250+ per night.
First Cabin Website

Ultimaweapon
post Sep 3 2012, 04:33 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Sep 3 2012, 04:24 PM)
i wan ask, does restaurant/hawker in japan allow food sharing? is sharing food their culture?
say if 4 ppl go 1 ramen restaurant order 2 bowls n share, izzit impolite?

I think it won't be considered impolite but I don't see any reason to do so.
As stimix said, there're cheap foods in Japan. You've to be aware of some etiquette though.

Oh by the way, any Muslim here having experience of eating halal in Japan?
I'm not a Muslim but 3 person following me is, so need to find somewhere for their meals.
Ultimaweapon
post Sep 3 2012, 06:04 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 3 2012, 05:56 PM)
Haha.. u also notice that hor.. Surprisingly Tokyo lack of rubbish bins.. Damn difficult to find even inside shopping malls  biggrin.gif

The clear table culture mostly happening in Far East like Taiwan, Korea & Japan.. All of these countries are part of Japan so called commonwealth hehe.. U dun see this table clearing in M'sia or even Australia to my surprise..
Um...any other things i need to observe when I'm there?
So far, it seems like:-
1. No eating while walking
2. Clear own stuff after eating. (Clear to where?)

Anything else? Anything about food with bones / cores?
Proper placements of utensils? Is Itadakimasu really necessary?
Ultimaweapon
post Sep 6 2012, 09:09 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ Sep 6 2012, 11:33 AM)
For AirAsia flight reach there 11pm, I book hotel near Haneda for the night which provide shuttle bus, so no worry about transport.
I wonder if this is a bad idea?

http://first-cabin.jp/en/cabins/

No worries about transport etc. at all at any days.
It's right there in the terminal.
Ultimaweapon
post Sep 16 2012, 03:24 PM

88 posts

Hi guys,

I really need advice on this. I tried using the search function
but nothing turned out to be useful and doesn't answer my
questions so far.

I'm going Japan next week and it seems that phone rentals / prepaid sims
are too expensive with almost 40k yen charged deposit. (14k = RM500+, 40k = RM1k++)
I can't really afford that for my budget travel.

So, I was just wondering, if I get a prepaid card here,
will it still work in Japan since it's 3g network?
Which network has the best rates for roaming?

And how is it charged? 2g? 3g?

I'm using Galaxy Note by the way.
Will it work in Japan?

I need to make some local voice calls
and send international sms only.
Data plan not necessary.

Thanks. notworthy.gif
Ultimaweapon
post Sep 16 2012, 04:10 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(tyhuang @ Sep 16 2012, 03:48 PM)
My roaming works perfectly in japan..can call n sms..but data i off it..
Which network are you using?
What is the charges?
Does it matter if I did not apply 3g here, will it still work?
Ultimaweapon
post Sep 16 2012, 11:54 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Sep 16 2012, 10:51 PM)
IIRC it still works. im on old celcom package since forever. i think its 2G.
when i go to jp, it will roam on NTT and softbank on 3.5G.
i cant seem to remember whats the charges, but should be like rm2 per minit or something.
i didnt call long, just few mins per night just to update my parents im still alive, for 15days
Hmm...sounds ok.
I'll just buy another prepaid from here.
Don't want to use my current number there,
in case unknown persons call up and the roaming
charges will be shocking.gif icon_question.gif

Ultimaweapon
post Sep 18 2012, 04:38 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Sep 18 2012, 04:14 PM)
Hi guys,

Will be going to Japan next month.
Was wondering whether I can use my Samsung Galaxy S3 over there?

Would be great if someone can list out the compatible phone make/models.

Thanks!
You can check your phone capabilities at www.gsmarena.com.
As long as your phone, under the network 3g -> having 2100, you should be fine.
For your info:- Japan Coverage
As you can see, there's not GSM network but only 3g.

This post has been edited by Ultimaweapon: Sep 18 2012, 04:39 PM
Ultimaweapon
post Sep 19 2012, 08:56 AM

88 posts

Hey guys,

I just had to ask this out of curiosity.
With the dispute between China and Japan now, I wonder what is the chances of the
Japanese Kastam, denying the "Permission to Land" on the basis that you're Chinese
from Malaysia although having zero relations / ties with Mainland China or zero support for China?

It would definitely be shame to have obtained the visa
but yet denied entry into the country cry.gif

Coincidentally, I'm going to Japan this Sunday. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Ultimaweapon: Sep 19 2012, 08:58 AM
Ultimaweapon
post Sep 23 2012, 09:10 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 22 2012, 06:05 PM)
Oh my! reached 2.30 am..maybe just lepak and yhen head for the queue at fish market tongue.gif
Nope. He arrived "from Tokyo" not "at Tokyo",
unless the fish market you mean is the pasar pagi tongue.gif

Will be flying this afternoon. Excited now to go Japan. biggrin.gif
Ultimaweapon
post Sep 30 2012, 11:56 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 30 2012, 10:03 PM)
simple english with hand gestureĀ  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(dark_paladin @ Sep 30 2012, 11:15 PM)
Learn simple Japanese words and phrases..goes along way..maybe u
can download the lonely planet japanese phrases app...really helpful when i lost my densha kippu (train ticket) :-P
I just came back from Japan last Friday, and learning some Japanese words "might" help but,
Once they full force with the Japanese language, you'll be shocked at how much you actually know.
Sometimes they aren't much help with your limited vocabulary.

I think as a traveler, the main concerns are the hotel and asking for directions.
And also for the transport. As for hotels, the ones I encountered mostly speak
minimal understandable English so it's fine.

It's not necessarily to learn all but here are some of the
phrases that I find most helpful when I was there:-

Summimasen (Excuse me)
Ikura des ka? (How much is it?)
Sore wa (That)
Kore wa (This)
_____ doko des ka? (Where is _____?)
Watashi wa ______ eki no ikitai des (I want to go to _____ station) < Taxi
Kono ni doko des ka?
______ tsen wa doko des ka? (Where is the _____ line?) < Trains / Subway
______ ga arimasu ka? (Do you have _______?) < Shopping

And last but not least
Arigatou Gozaimasu! < Every other conversation.

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by Ultimaweapon: Sep 30 2012, 11:59 PM
Ultimaweapon
post Oct 9 2012, 10:15 AM

88 posts

Radiation Levels in Japan - Link
Radiation Levels in Kuala Lumpur - Link

Radiation levels in KL are even higher but I don't see anyone panicking about it?
Radiation is everywhere, but unless you're visiting Fukushima area, I wouldn't worry about it.
Ultimaweapon
post Oct 12 2012, 04:58 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Oct 12 2012, 03:44 PM)
well now..it's officially cancelled..my another member also cancel his trip. burn RM715(ticket) + RM100(passport)
wish can do that..but no budget..
no..everything already done for malaysia part..like visa, flight ticket..the missing part is when the mastermind withdraw from the trip last minute..
as he the one who need to arrange living, transport at japan..now these 2 days we need to carve to settle down the planning..
and unfortunately we're unable to make it done..so everybody need to cancel this trip.. will arrange for next time..surely next time.. haha
ohmy.gif Oh come on, at least go jalan-jalan there for one day also better than burn.
Are you arriving at Haneda Airport? If you are, I know First Cabin speaks English.

If you're arriving at Kansai Airport, go Sunny Stone Hotel.
Kansai Airport > Namba,
Namba > Midosuji Line > Nishinakajimaminamikata
Walk towards Family Mart Direction.
Hotel is at corner after T-section
after the 2nd Family Mart.
Sunny Stone Hotel staff speaks English and is helpful.

Find all you need at - www.booking.com
Booked many times with it, no fraud!

Don't worry about the subway / railway. It's super easy.
Plenty of English signs available. Even trains have
station name announcements in English.

Tickets, just pay and press how much is it depending on destinations.
Train stations have big maps on top of the ticket machines.
If you can read English, that's all you need!

With a map, just ask:-
Koko ni, doko des ka? (Where is this?)
Summimasen, watashi wa Sunny Stone Hoteru no ikitai desu.
(I want to go to Sunny Stone Hotel.)

Just go and explore, don't waste it!
Japan is single-traveler friendly!

I suggest you focus on stay places only now.
The rest don't care first. Can plan slowly later.
You book with booking.com, show them the email
and they will understand.

With so many sifus on this thread. What you not sure, just ask,
everyone will try their best to answer your questions and eliminate your doubts.

This post has been edited by Ultimaweapon: Oct 12 2012, 05:02 PM
Ultimaweapon
post Oct 14 2012, 01:23 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Oct 14 2012, 12:07 AM)
hi guys. can maggi mee cup go thru japan customs thru handcarry luggage?
Sure no problem. I brought a couple of
those to Japan 2-3 weeks back in my luggage.
But I don't see the point putting it in your hand carry though.
You're not gonna eat it on the plane are you?
Ultimaweapon
post Oct 15 2012, 01:31 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Oct 15 2012, 01:15 PM)
yes, the purpose of going umeda is the sky building's hanging garden/bridge

thanks, i take note of ur takoyaki store as recommended food biggrin.gif will try to eat that
i tot kuromon market is nearer to shinsekai? i checked google map last time

meanwhile, is 4-6pm a good time to visit kuromon market? what time they closed?

for shopping, i am staying near to shinsaibashi, there are alot things to see n shop there am i right?
i can read chinese words, hope tat helps me hehe

actually umeda sky building is requested by my frens
for me, i feel abit redundant cos i am going to tokyo few days after osaka visit and i plan to visit tokyo metropolitan government building in shinjuku and roppongi skydeck , will have a visit to skytree but not sure will go up or not (cos i read tripadvisor, to go up need to que 2 hours for ticket sweat.gif)

so if i going to visit other sky high building, should i skip umeda?

thanks all sifu
In your case, to me, the Umeda sky garden is quite redundant then.
I've been there 2 weeks ago and nothing spectacular compared to rest.
You have to pay to go up anyway, its about RM27 (700 yen).
Maybe 1-2 photo shots and then that's all to see.
My opinion that its better that your time and money is spent elsewhere instead.

Added on October 15, 2012, 1:35 pm
QUOTE(edmunz @ Oct 15 2012, 01:23 PM)
my manager is bringing alot sets of winter clothing.. but seeing the temperature thr.. i was not convince it is necessary.. how ah? should i bring 1 set or just buy the normal wool shirt..
QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Oct 15 2012, 01:30 PM)
personal preference
http://www.weather.com/weather/tenday/Osak...i+JAXX0329:1:JA

for the next 10 days lowest is 13c ( i guess 13c is at night)
Yeah. As Ah Wang mentioned, its really up to you.
For some old people, 25c is already very cold which I don't think
you're that old? It should just be minimally cooling, not cold until it send shivers.

Wearing a t-shirt is sufficient for me. It feels like Genting the whole day.
Do bring just a jacket, just in case it gets colder than expectations.

This post has been edited by Ultimaweapon: Oct 15 2012, 01:35 PM
Ultimaweapon
post Oct 15 2012, 04:15 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Oct 15 2012, 03:51 PM)
thanks for all the info notworthy.gif

actually i has limited time for osaka sad.gif
once i reach osaka from tokyo and check in hotel, it's already noon
after that i plan to go osaka castle, estimate 2 hours there
after visit osaka should be 4pm like tat dy

so from 4pm-7pm got time slot, tot of visit shinsekai/kuromon but macam too late right to visit kuromon dy since shops oso closing down

for night is dotonburi shinsaibashi n back hotel sleep tongue.gif
Which hotel in Osaka are you staying?
I thought the common check-in time is around 3pm?
By the time you settle-in, rest and transport, you would reach
Osaka-Castle around 4pm.
By 6pm, its already quite dark (like Malaysia 7.30pm)
due to the autumn season and nothing much else to see at Osaka Castle at 6pm in the dark.
Osaka Castle Musuem entrance closes at 5.30pm by the way, see if you can rush there in time.
It is a long walk from the station to the Castle, ~ 1 hours?
So, by 6.30pm, Shinsaibashi will look like a high-class pasar malam.

Just a friendly tip so that you won't make the same mistake I did.

Take the train to Temmabashi to reach Osaka Castle, don't look at the maps provided and think
the nearest trains stations are what you thought they are.
Nearly lost when going there, stopped at Umeda as it looks and near,
and due to the locals or me not understanding each other's language
even with a map as the map is in English.

This post has been edited by Ultimaweapon: Oct 15 2012, 04:17 PM
Ultimaweapon
post Oct 15 2012, 04:50 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Oct 15 2012, 04:30 PM)
oh i will be staying at Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi Osaka, near shinsaibashi station
yeah i know check in is 3pm
i will put luggage at counter and ask them to check in at 3pm
so i will try to leave like 130 or 2pm
they allow for that right?
If I remember correctly, yes they do allow for early check-in, but cant confirm.
If not, since you're staying near Shinsaibashi station, suggest that you leave
your bags at the hotel to decrease burden and walk around before the check-in time.

Leaving at 2pm from the hotel should be no problem.
You'll arrive at the Osaka Castle Museum with plenty of time to spare.

0.0515sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:56 PM