105 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

General LEARNING JAPANESE!, LEARNING JAPANESE!!

SUSPVCpipe
post Jul 1 2008, 07:55 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Jul 1 2008, 12:50 PM)
you mean like "tashikani"?
nope.... it just "shika like kitaro said...

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Jul 1 2008, 03:22 PM)
shika (しか) , like dake (だけ) both express the English word "only" as in "I only have 1 dollar”

usage of shika implies a state of lacking, and is used in conjunction with a negative form, as opposed to dake which is more of a neutral state and is used with a positive verb
ok.... can u give 2~3 example n the meaning

QUOTE(Gamatatsu0207 @ Jul 1 2008, 08:18 PM)
Tashikani Shikamaru-san ha hito-mure no shika shika wo motteinai.

icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif

*P/S : please do correct me if I'm wrong...yorosiku!  notworthy.gif
what does that means?
shinmei88
post Jul 1 2008, 11:21 PM

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Jul 1 2008, 11:48 AM)
it nice to be here... haha... can u guys explain the proper use of shika (しか)。。。。im still cant get it..... tq
shika and dake have the same meaning ''only''
~dake ~ (shi)masu/ desu.
~shika ~(shi)masen.

(shika)= sukoshi (aru) , ~deke (aru)
1) amerikajin wa watashi hitori shika imasen.
2) watashi wa computer ga dekimasen. printer shika wakarimasen.
3)watashi wa kanji wo sukoshi shika shirimasen.
example of sentence..

watashi wa tenpura dake wo taberu.[i only eat tenpura]

watashi wa tenpura shika tabenai. [i only eat tenpura.]

hope the example can help u smile.gif

Added on July 2, 2008, 12:48 amok today i will complete the lv 2A text book..

today lesson will learn a various of sentence patterns...

in japanese language. there are 2 type of adjective which is '' i '' adjective and '' na '' adjective.
adjective will make the sentence word origins some changes example for ''na '' adjective
yuumei(famous) origin of word is yuumei but when the adjective + noun will become ''yuumeina hon''
the sentence pattern of i-adj and na-adj is different.

A sentence that has adjectives in the predicate is called an adjective sentence and a sentence that has a noun
in the predicate is a noun sentence.
________________________________________________________________________________________

Aい + N

あの たかい たてものは なんですか。
[what is that tall building?]

しんじゅく は おおきい としです。
[shinjuku is a big city.]

しんじゅくえき は おおきい えきいです。
[shinjuku station is a big station.]

おおきい えき。
[big station.]

ちさい えき。
[small station.]

ひろい いけが あります。
[there is a wide pond.]

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Aな + N

しんじゅくぎょえんは ゆめいな こうえんです。
[shinjuku park is a famous park.]

まいとし,きれいな はなが さきます。
[every year, beautiful flower bloom.]

ゆうめいな ほん。
[famous book.]

べんりな じしょ。
[convienient dictionary.]

しんせつな てんいん。
[kind shopper.]

この ほん は ゆうめいです。
[this book is famous.]

これは ゆうめいな ほんです。
[this is famous book.]

____________________________________________________________________________________

ここは おおきい しょてんです。
[this is a bog bookstore.]

たくさんの ほんが あります。
[there are many books.]

てんいんは しんせつです。
[shopper is kind.]

わたしは にほんごの じしょ を かいます。
[i buy a japanese dictionary.]

このじしょは べんりです。
[this dictionary is convienient.]

でも,すこし たかいです。
[but a little expensive.]

おおきい - い-A [big]
たくさん - N [many]
てんいん - N [shopper]
しんせつ (な) - な-A [kind]
すこし - ADVERB [a little]
たかい - A* [expensive]

* たかい has 2 meaning 1 is expensive another 1 is tall.

わたしは にほんごがっこうの せいとです。
[I am a japanese school's student.]

ときどき にほんごの ほんを よみます。
[sometimes i read japanese book]

これは あたらしい ほんです。
[this is a new book]

この ほんは むずかしいですが, おもしろい。
[this book is difficult but interesting.]

ときどき - AV [sometimes]
あたらしい -A [new]
むずかしい -A [difficult]
おもしろい -A [interesting]
せいと ーN [student]
___________________________________________________________________________________

the structure of a japanese sentence belongs to the 3 patterns ;

I. A verb sentence [ N は* V。]
* が can be used instead of は

II. A noun sentence  [ N は Nです。] 
III. An adjective sentence.[ N は Aです。]

_____________________________________________________________________________________

ok so complete this lv...fuuuu laugh.gif next lesson will be introdution of katakana sentence..
lets learn of ''japanese english'' its quite fun..

じゃ。お疲れ様です~

This post has been edited by shinmei88: Jul 2 2008, 12:48 AM
SUSPVCpipe
post Jul 2 2008, 12:54 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

i see.... its kinda tricky for me....so its like " i hate books but comics" feeling..... sonna kanji nee~ tsankyuu minna!

actually i notice the word here... keep bugging me since yesterday

This post has been edited by PVCpipe: Jul 2 2008, 12:59 AM
irienaoki
post Jul 2 2008, 01:12 AM

Janitor
3,428 posts

QUOTE(shinmei88 @ Jul 1 2008, 11:21 PM)
watashi wa tenpura dake wo taberu.[i only eat tenpura]

watashi wa tenpura shika tabenai. [i only eat tenpura.]

i only don't eat tenpura.
my english vr bad...

This post has been edited by irienaoki: Jul 2 2008, 01:14 AM
SUSPVCpipe
post Jul 2 2008, 01:18 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(irienaoki @ Jul 2 2008, 02:12 AM)
my english vr bad...
hmmm... hmm.gif hmm.gif so which one?

if shinmei88 right , the caption is like: "now, its only 5~6 people, else nil" which sounds logic to me.... correct my translation if im wrong

This post has been edited by PVCpipe: Jul 2 2008, 01:22 AM
ubsacc2004
post Jul 2 2008, 07:46 AM

No life without MUsic
1,860 posts

tenpura = tempura ?
my fren said tori is not means chicken.
is that correct ?
tks.
crazy25kid
post Jul 2 2008, 08:26 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(irienaoki @ Jul 2 2008, 01:12 AM)
my english vr bad...

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Jul 2 2008, 01:18 AM)
hmmm... hmm.gif  hmm.gif so which one?

if shinmei88 right , the caption is like: "now, its only 5~6 people, else nil" which sounds logic to me.... correct my translation if im wrong

I think shinmei is correct if I am not mistaken.
watashi wa tenpura shika tabenai = I dun eat except for tempura only.
shika is used to list out exceptions. It is followed by a negative verb most of the time (or is it all the time rclxub.gif rclxub.gif )

QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Jul 2 2008, 07:46 AM)
is that correct ?
tks.

tori actually means bird.

sai
post Jul 2 2008, 10:27 AM

囲碁の神
529 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Jun 29 2008, 08:51 AM)
rules of social standing apply. あに implies the listener is ”outside” the speaker's social circle, which is the typical/logical case here. You use it to refer to "my own elder brother" when talking to someone who is not your family. The usage of honorifics is dependent on the interaction between whether the listener is  目上or目下or of the same social standing, and whether the person is from within or without one's social circle.

e.g. when u address your boss or refer to him when talking to a colleague, lessay...中原部長(Dept Manager(buchou) Nakahara) he is a 目上and you address him thus (as "buchou"). When you speak of him to a customer or client (therefore, an outsider), you only refer to him by his name (Nakahara-san)

similarly, when you talk about your family, you refer to your elder brother as お兄さん within the family, but you refer to him as "兄" without the honorific when talking to an outsider.
oo, u got a point there...hehe, learnt something..

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Jul 2 2008, 01:18 AM)
hmmm... hmm.gif  hmm.gif so which one?

今は5~6人しか来ない "now just only 5~6 ppl came"
今は5~6人だけ来た "now only 5~6 ppl came"
wat crazy25kid is correct:
watashi wa tenpura shika tabenai = I dun eat except for tempura only.

QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Jul 2 2008, 07:46 AM)
tenpura = tempura ?
is that correct ?
tks.
chicken = niwatori

This post has been edited by sai: Jul 2 2008, 10:59 AM
irienaoki
post Jul 2 2008, 11:44 AM

Janitor
3,428 posts

im also konpius aledi...
huhuhu
zen zen wakanai.....
dopodplaya
post Jul 2 2008, 12:06 PM

2,280 posts

oh --- shika... it's called for an exception... dake is for exclusiveness.
sai
post Jul 2 2008, 12:18 PM

囲碁の神
529 posts

kore shika dekikai = i cant do anything except this
kore dake ga dekiru = i can only do this

This post has been edited by sai: Jul 2 2008, 12:26 PM
irienaoki
post Jul 2 2008, 12:22 PM

Janitor
3,428 posts

hohoho
thanxs2
now the twist aledi gone...
hahaha
SUSPVCpipe
post Jul 2 2008, 04:41 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

thats why i love this thread.... thanks everyone.... u guys hv been really helpful notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
and here the answer i got from other forum...

今は5~6人しか来ない。
The usual translation of it would be "Now only 5 to 6 people come here."
Or more literally, so you see what it actually means: "Now no one comes here but 5 to 6 people." or "Now no one comes here except for 5 to 6 people."

dopodplaya
post Jul 2 2008, 04:50 PM

2,280 posts

ok some common words

暖かい - warm 熱い - hot
冷たい - cool 寒い - cold

This post has been edited by dopodplaya: Jul 2 2008, 05:05 PM
crazy25kid
post Jul 2 2008, 05:00 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Jul 2 2008, 04:50 PM)
ok some common words

暖かい - warm 厚い - hot
冷たい - cool 寒い - cold

hot should be 暑い
厚い is thick

dopodplaya
post Jul 2 2008, 05:04 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 2 2008, 05:00 PM)
hot should be 暑い
厚い is thick
sorry 熱い - hot - wrong Kanji...
crazy25kid
post Jul 2 2008, 05:05 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Jul 2 2008, 05:04 PM)
sorry 熱い - hot - wrong Kanji...

Japaneses sure are troublesome coming up with so many kanjis for a single word. laugh.gif laugh.gif

dopodplaya
post Jul 2 2008, 05:07 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 2 2008, 05:05 PM)
Japaneses sure are troublesome coming up with so many kanjis for a single word.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
I was too fast on the IME. my bad blush.gif
shen88
post Jul 3 2008, 02:31 AM

kanji make me headache

This post has been edited by shen88: Jul 3 2008, 02:34 AM
shinmei88
post Jul 3 2008, 02:35 AM

hi...today let me introduce the new japanese letter...katakana ..
usage of katakana in jaoanese is for translate foreign language and also to highlight some japanese
word and also for kanji reading..

lets start the lesson

LV A
_________________________________________________________________________________________

katakana

a k s t n h m y r w -
a- ア カ サ タ ナ ハ マ ヤ ラ ワ ン

i- イ キ シ チ ニ ヒ ミ    リ

u- ウ ク ス ツ ヌ フ ム ユ ル

e- エ ケ セ テ ネ へ メ   レ

o- オ コ ソ ト ノ ホ モ ヨ  ロ

____________________________________________________________________________________________

おちゃの じかんです。
[ocha no jikandesu]-its tea time

コ-ヒ- が あります。
[koohii ga arimasu]-there is a coffee

ケーキ も あります。
[keekii mo arimasu]-there is also a cake

あれは スプーンです。
[are wa supuun desu]-that(over there) is a spoon

これは フォークです。
[kore wa fookudesu]-this is a fork

わたしは ケーキを たべます。
[watashi wa keeki wo tabemasu]-i eat a cake

これは エプロンです。
[kore wa epurondesu]-this is an apron

ははが アイロンを かけます。
[haha ga airon wo kakemasu.]-my mother irons

アイロン [airon]-iron
ネクタイ [nekutai]-necktie
ブラウス [burausu]-blouse
エプロン [epuron]-apron
タオル [taoru]-towel

これは カップです。
[kore wa kappudesu]-this is a cup

わたしは コーヒーを のみます。
[watashi wa koohii wo nomimasu]-i drink a coffee

カーテン [kaaten]-curtain
ステーキ [suteeki]-steak
ケーキ [keeki]-cake
クッキー [kukkii]-cookie
コーヒー [koohii]-coffee

サラダが あります。
[sarada ga arimasu]-there is a salad

ステーキも あります。
[suteeki mo arimasu.]-there is also a steak

これは ソースです。
[korewa soosudesu]-this is a sauce

シャツ [syatsu] shirt
セーター [seetaa]-sweater]

ここは わたしの へやです。
[kokoha watashi no heyadesu]-here is my room

これは カーテンです。
[kore wa kaatendesu]-this is a curtain

あれは テーブルです。
[are wa teeburudesu.]-that(over there) is a table

ソファーが あります。
[sofaa ga arimasu]there is a sofa

ステレオも あります。
[sutereo mo arimasu]-there is also a stereo

わたしは テレビを みます。
[watashiwa terebi wo mimasu.]-i watch television

___________________________________________________________________________________________

for long vowel in katakana ''ー'' will be used instead of ’’アア イイ オウ’’
so as for koohii will be コーヒー instead of コウヒイ.

thats all for today smile.gif

105 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:02 AM