7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

General LEARNING JAPANESE!, LEARNING JAPANESE!!

dopodplaya
post Jul 5 2006, 05:29 PM

2,280 posts

Casual Japanese Conversation

Since grammar is practically important to Japanese language student, I felt it is awkward to speak Japanese.

Hence, I am giving tips for a casual conversation with native Japanese speakers. Achtung! Do no talk like this to a person that new barely know or elderly smile.gif

i) Loose the general, pronoun like "watashi".
ii) Use gender specific pronoun like "boku", "ore" or "atashi"
iii) Exaggerate by replacing "desu ne" with "da zo-" "da ze"
iv) Loose the need for marker "ha", "ga", "wo" e.g. banana wo taberu becomes "banana taberu"...
v) Use nasal pronunciation e.g "sore desu ga" becomes "sore desu (n)ga"

Any other hints to to share?
dopodplaya
post Jul 6 2006, 04:40 PM

2,280 posts

from my experience with my Japanese girl friend, she called me X-kun, and I called her Y-chan... But chan can be use to describe younger sister/brother or pet name. kun is usually used by someone with higher status like teachers, bosses, doctors (addressing nurses or apprentices) to address someone lower than herself/himself.
dopodplaya
post Jul 22 2006, 03:56 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 22 2006, 01:57 PM)
is there any quick ways to learn and memorize the writings of hiragana and katakana?
Get a flash card (printed) or flash card program <google "JWPce" follow the link and search for Flash Card program on that page>.

dopodplaya
post Jul 26 2006, 06:49 PM

2,280 posts

My loose translation

Playing Instructions
In the gameplay, you are a salayman (company worker) worked for 4 years liao. You are tired of your work. You are thinking of quitting. But, there is a new OL joining your company. [Oooh... The type of girl you like!]

You have feelings for her. Your deparment head also has feelings for her! Today is the day I am going to give her the hottest kiss ever!.

[Yosh! Today is my  (the part i don't get)]

Left mouse button -> Choose, continous clicks will make your kiss level up!
Compete with your deparment head. If you lose to your deparment head, GAME OVER.

[Cannot translate after that]
What the link to that game please?

This post has been edited by dopodplaya: Jul 26 2006, 06:51 PM
dopodplaya
post Aug 5 2006, 11:37 AM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(Maverick_Neutron @ Aug 4 2006, 06:40 PM)
Seems like a very interesting game......guess what, i have a classmate that learned Japanese in a week. It seems that Japanese is very easy to learn if your fluent in Mandarin, that what my friend claims lah.....
Bu Dong Hua is an advantage when it comes to read a lot Kanji (in context of translation). But, Japanese is Japanese, and Mandarin is Mandarin.

dopodplaya
post Aug 8 2006, 04:52 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(FrustratedStreamyxUser @ Aug 8 2006, 03:24 PM)
Yap, i agree that with knowledge in chinese would help you in picking up kanji but doesn't apply to all case.

For example, in chinese 勉強 means by force, however in japanese(kanji) it means study..Correct me if i'm wrong...
Yes, Benkyou means "study" (noun not verb, add "suru" to make it a verb) in Japanese.

dopodplaya
post Aug 9 2006, 04:31 PM

2,280 posts

Shall we teach those 80 4kyuu Jouyou Kanji?
dopodplaya
post Aug 10 2006, 07:56 AM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 9 2006, 10:38 PM)
tht's not too bad actually.. while grade 2 having 8k kanji as minimum basic, even me with mandrin background will start to sob soon
Chinese proficiency level 2? or Japanese proficiency for foreigners level 2?
It is more than 1000 Jouyou Kanji for 2kyuu anyways.

This post has been edited by dopodplaya: Aug 10 2006, 07:59 AM
dopodplaya
post Aug 10 2006, 03:32 PM

2,280 posts

How about basic number, not just any kind of one two three.
We'll look more into the usage - numbering; date - seconds, minutes, days,weeks, months,year; counters; other meanings, onyomi and kunyomi and even some rare pronounciation.

dopodplaya
post Aug 13 2006, 12:53 AM

2,280 posts

Basic Lessons on Number, Commencing!

Let's start with the basic kun-yomi (the Japanese pronounciations)
For those who already learned Japanese or Chinese, observe the suprise later lessons.

Basic 0 to 10

Suprise no. 1
零 (Kanji, rarely used for number 0) or 〇 (a perfect circle) - zero, rei (rarely used)

一 - ichi (one)
二 - ni (two)
三 - san (three)
四- yon (four)
五- go (five)
六 - roku (six)
七 - nana (seven)
八 - hachi (eight)
九 - kyuu or kuu (nine)
十 - jyuu or ju (ten)

No suprising fact, do you know where the word Yakuza came from?
It's from the numbers 8-9-3 (in total 20, ya = 8, ku = 9, 3 = sa(za))

There is a traditional Japanese card game, where you need to win with 19 face instead of 21 (blackjack). 20 face meaning you are losing the game by one point. Isn't it a disgrace to lose just by one face? Later, Yakuza (8-9-3) is used to described dark, digraced and unfortunate society of Japan, the Yakuza.

Irregular kun-yomi for today - e.g. 三 three = sa or za.
The regular kun-yomi is san (さん).

Tips for today
Be careful, san could also mean (mountain) e.g. 藤山
Fujisan (regular - Fujiyama, Mount Fuji, not Mr. Fuji 藤さん, notice the kana).

For basic Japanese lessons, refer to the start of this thread.

This post has been edited by dopodplaya: Aug 13 2006, 01:13 AM
dopodplaya
post Aug 17 2006, 04:52 PM

2,280 posts

Actually rei is used pretty normally.
4 can also be pronounced shi
7 can also be pronounced sichi
no chinese background shouldnt deter u from studying japanese. i don't have one and got my 2nd level proficiency in 1.5 years. i've heard of other foreigners who got 1st level in the same amount of time. がんばって!!あきらめないでください

Thanks for the feedbacks. My post is rather a discussion not a teaching post. I just wonder if nobody replies.
Eh... I thought ichi, ni, san, yon, go....... is in Chinese (on yomi) reading itself?
Yes, ichi, ni, san are on-yomi and kun-yomi for ONE, TWO and THREE. However, "yon" is kun-yomi and "shi" is on-yomi, for FOUR. As for "nana" (SEVEN), the on-yomi is "sichi". "Rei" (on-yomi for "zero") usually refers to the jouyou kanji pronounciation, but for counting, "zero"; which has English origin is usually used for conversation/counting.

If there is any request, I'll post more information as soon as possible. Keep this thread alive, mmmkay.

Btw, on-yomi isn't Chinese at all. It does derived Chinese pronounciation, but it is actually Japanese, naturally tailored to suit Japanese tounge.

This post has been edited by dopodplaya: Aug 17 2006, 04:55 PM
dopodplaya
post Aug 28 2006, 02:28 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(FrustratedStreamyxUser @ Aug 28 2006, 11:29 AM)
Anyone taken JLPT test here?
Yes, shi-kyuu (1999) and san-kyuu (2000). Didn't take ni-kyuu, because I bailed out UM's Japanese Prepatory Program.

dopodplaya
post Oct 5 2006, 03:21 PM

2,280 posts

arigatou to Sky.Live. I freaking have no idea on how to continue at the moment but I hope to contribute more in the future.
dopodplaya
post Nov 24 2006, 10:55 AM

2,280 posts

Hey, any of you otaku here a member of JFKL library?
I am going to register myself as a member but I am wondering the benefits you guys gained from being a member of that library.

Tell me and elaborate some of your past experience if any.
dopodplaya
post Feb 15 2007, 03:00 PM

2,280 posts

kenka suru na- demo bokura wa tomo-tomo janai na no ne? iikara, hanase tsuzukero!
dopodplaya
post Mar 9 2007, 07:30 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(BraThief @ Mar 9 2007, 02:12 PM)
hajimemashite...
Oi hentai otoko, dozo~
dopodplaya
post Apr 21 2007, 10:46 AM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Apr 19 2007, 01:06 PM)

Added on April 19, 2007, 1:07 pm

Oh it's mr huh? Orochimaru sama. Hmm Mr Orochimaru?? Mr. Hokage? R u sure??
It's more to higher rank "Master/Lord" than a regular rank "Mr./Mrs.".
dopodplaya
post Apr 27 2007, 12:50 PM

2,280 posts

You will not dare call the Tenno as "-san" in public, right, since he is the Japanese EMPEROR and bears no family name, right, one11?
dopodplaya
post May 26 2007, 09:19 AM

2,280 posts

Jinmeiyo is the hardest subject for non-native (or even native) Japanese learners.

One hard example is Saionji 西園寺. For someone who have no idea how to pronounce this family name, they could put it as "Nishizonodera" or "Nishisonodera".

What do you think about that?
dopodplaya
post May 28 2007, 09:49 AM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ May 27 2007, 07:04 PM)
i saw they sub its as "sick" if not mistaken.. something like" u r sick! get a life!"... the word uzai.. correct me if im wrong... btw im new to japanese...  blush.gif
"Uzai" is actually the corruption of "urusai", related to "jama".

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0590sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:26 AM