General LEARNING JAPANESE!, LEARNING JAPANESE!!

SUSPVCpipe
post May 27 2007, 07:04 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ May 27 2007, 05:16 PM)
Q? about old post:
"Yabai" I know, but what's "uzai" ?  I'm still trying to get a handle on "teki 的 " appearing everywhere.

i saw they sub its as "sick" if not mistaken.. something like" u r sick! get a life!"... the word uzai.. correct me if im wrong... btw im new to japanese... blush.gif
SUSPVCpipe
post Jun 1 2007, 11:18 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Jun 1 2007, 06:20 PM)
For serious JLPT student, around 300 hours (100 classes), as I did before, that level 3 and 4 study time.

But how fast can you learn it depends on you.
so u had classes for ur japanese.... lucky for u biggrin.gif... err.. so how do learn kanji... do u hav to memorise everything.... coz its very hard for me
SUSPVCpipe
post Jun 8 2007, 04:26 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jun 7 2007, 11:33 PM)
猪(いのしし)は食べて行けません!
the only kanji that i can read there is tabete.... sad.gif ..,, yeah...
wonder how do u guys practice ur kanji...
coz what i do is to write the kanji character along
with the hiragana, and try to remember...
but still no good... too much strokes..
SUSPVCpipe
post Jun 9 2007, 02:24 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

err... is there no differences between chinese and kanji... i mean like the character and the meaning... like the word student, izzit the chinese character also similar with the kanji for the word student... just wondering smile.gif
SUSPVCpipe
post Sep 5 2007, 03:32 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

yes.. since u r the one that says "daisuki" to Choyster, u dun hav to add watashi.... coz it obvious edi smile.gif

This post has been edited by PVCpipe: Sep 5 2007, 03:50 AM
SUSPVCpipe
post Sep 10 2007, 09:23 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

i kinda always stumble on this word "mitai" in Jdorama/anime..ex:Baka mitai yo!.. translated as u look stupid!... from my limited jap/reading isnt the -tai suppose to be "i want" like tabetai="i want to eat that" or somethin similar .. hope u guys can explain, will appreciate smile.gif

SUSPVCpipe
post Sep 11 2007, 04:00 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Sep 10 2007, 10:36 PM)
'mitai' can mean "looks like" or "want to see".
naruhodo... thanks!

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Sep 11 2007, 04:25 AM)
ok, got it... desu pronouce as "des" right?

still self-learning the basics using senior's jap beginner book... sweat.gif
hav u tried tae kim japanese guide.... u should try it if u havent.. it helps me a lot anyway
www.guidetojapanese.org/start.html
SUSPVCpipe
post Sep 13 2007, 01:14 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Sep 12 2007, 01:46 PM)
thanks for the link... very easy guide... notworthy.gif

the author name reminds me of actor Kim Tae Hee.. sweat.gif
edited:

guys, 1 quick simple question, what is Gyakushuu? and what's the best english-japan online dictionary that has very wide resources?
www.csse.monash.edu.au/~jwb/wwwjdic.html ..... ive been using this one n i think its very good( i dunno if theres better online Jap dic other than this one)
i search through the dic n found gyakushuu=counterattack biggrin.gif
SUSPVCpipe
post Sep 19 2007, 11:59 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Sep 18 2007, 10:09 AM)
okay, this thread is kinda on the down. So, I would try to spice things up.

My question is "Do you speak Japanese like a girl?"

What I want you to do, is record your voice saying these three lines..

Line #1: "Iin janai?"
Line #2: "Jouzu desu ne?"
Line #3: "Dou kashira" or "Dou darou?"

I will give your recording to my Japanese friends, and they will tell you whether you speak Japanese like a girl or not.

Sounds Interesting?
QUOTE(mfa333 @ Sep 18 2007, 08:54 PM)
i think this is the meaning in my case... hmm.gif
http://linear.mv.com/cgi-bin/j-e/dosearch?...&FG=r&BG=b&S=26
1st of all can i know what are those line meaning? smile.gif
im not that good but its not bad to try biggrin.gif ....

1) its ok/good, isnt it?
2)you are good on that huh....
3)how izzit?...(hav no idea on this tongue.gif)

correct me if im wrong... smile.gif

This post has been edited by PVCpipe: Sep 19 2007, 12:01 PM
SUSPVCpipe
post Oct 24 2007, 03:33 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

im using the one that comes with xp smile.gif (ms IME )... and, i dont know if it has been posted here but for firefox user, u can try to use rikaichan extension...
this extension allow you to have the translation of highlighted Japanese word...
very good for me who suck at vocab/kanji smile.gif, if not accurate at least u get the idea what is written, errmmm the kanji 面倒臭い=bothersome,difficult isnt?(using rikaichan)

SUSPVCpipe
post Nov 6 2007, 04:15 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(huikin @ Nov 5 2007, 08:00 PM)
well i m so blur..jz came to this thread n started to learn japanese from the very basic.to learn japanese rite..should pick up hiragana 1st or katakana?or kanji?any different btween hiragana and katakana?coz they seems the same to me..so if i wan to learn..learn which 1 1st?i read 1st few pages of the thread but no1 mention..
of course there r differences between hiragana, katakana(except for "he" char), well i started from hiragana 1st bcoz i think i can see many hiragana words like in japanese tv shows(although there r also kanji) or in some beginner japanese lessons, and there are also kanji words that come with furigana(izzit?... the small word they put on top of kanji to help wit the pronunciation, correct me k!), which usually hiragana(maybe bcoz the origin of the word, which is japanese word)..... but thats depends... some say hiragana more difficult to memorize same say katakana (for me katakana is more difficult tongue.gif ), try to make a table for those words, .... i cant tell more bout kanji coz i myself hv hard time memorizing them rclxub.gif... all this is base on my experience and thought biggrin.gif , sorry if it didnt help a lot tongue.gif
SUSPVCpipe
post Nov 6 2007, 02:50 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(huikin @ Nov 6 2007, 03:08 PM)
so u mean here have to learn both also?
interested in the language and be able to read, write, in japanese, you must know all 3 kana.... you can learn/memorize all 3 at once if u want, or u can concentrate on 1 kana 1st(for katakana n hiragana)....

but for me, its better to know hiragana 1st becoz, along the way u might also learn bout the grammar, the particles,which is written in hiragana(although many japanese beginner lessons comes in romanji),.... biggrin.gif... n many japanese words are written with the combination of kanji and hiragana...

This post has been edited by PVCpipe: Nov 6 2007, 05:00 PM
SUSPVCpipe
post Nov 19 2007, 03:06 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(huikin @ Nov 8 2007, 04:39 AM)
hmm..thanks..jz wonder y japanese got 3 types..mandarin jz got 1 type only.hmm make me confuse only @.@  rclxub.gif
u must go through their history.... tongue.gif

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Nov 12 2007, 10:41 PM)
Don't get worked up on trying to memorize Kanji. This is something non Chinese ed ppl have a hard time to deal with.  sweat.gif
do you hav any other way to work wit kanji? smile.gif
SUSPVCpipe
post Nov 23 2007, 01:22 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Nov 21 2007, 11:39 PM)
I have no idea. I was wondering if there is other ways to read kana without looking at every word. Would a stronger vocab makes reading easier?
i doubt thats going to work, bcoz i hav a chinese friend, can speak fluent chinese, but he cant read chinese tongue.gif

SUSPVCpipe
post Mar 27 2008, 12:40 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

iroppoi is sexy, isn't it...

im not sure though.... i thought iroppoi is one word....
SUSPVCpipe
post Jul 1 2008, 11:48 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

it nice to be here... haha... can u guys explain the proper use of shika (しか)。。。。im still cant get it..... tq
SUSPVCpipe
post Jul 1 2008, 07:55 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Jul 1 2008, 12:50 PM)
you mean like "tashikani"?
nope.... it just "shika like kitaro said...

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Jul 1 2008, 03:22 PM)
shika (しか) , like dake (だけ) both express the English word "only" as in "I only have 1 dollar”

usage of shika implies a state of lacking, and is used in conjunction with a negative form, as opposed to dake which is more of a neutral state and is used with a positive verb
ok.... can u give 2~3 example n the meaning

QUOTE(Gamatatsu0207 @ Jul 1 2008, 08:18 PM)
Tashikani Shikamaru-san ha hito-mure no shika shika wo motteinai.

icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif

*P/S : please do correct me if I'm wrong...yorosiku!  notworthy.gif
what does that means?
SUSPVCpipe
post Jul 2 2008, 12:54 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

i see.... its kinda tricky for me....so its like " i hate books but comics" feeling..... sonna kanji nee~ tsankyuu minna!

actually i notice the word here... keep bugging me since yesterday

This post has been edited by PVCpipe: Jul 2 2008, 12:59 AM
SUSPVCpipe
post Jul 2 2008, 01:18 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(irienaoki @ Jul 2 2008, 02:12 AM)
i only don't eat tenpura.
my english vr bad...
hmmm... hmm.gif hmm.gif so which one?

if shinmei88 right , the caption is like: "now, its only 5~6 people, else nil" which sounds logic to me.... correct my translation if im wrong

This post has been edited by PVCpipe: Jul 2 2008, 01:22 AM
SUSPVCpipe
post Jul 2 2008, 04:41 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

thats why i love this thread.... thanks everyone.... u guys hv been really helpful notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
and here the answer i got from other forum...

今は5~6人しか来ない。
The usual translation of it would be "Now only 5 to 6 people come here."
Or more literally, so you see what it actually means: "Now no one comes here but 5 to 6 people." or "Now no one comes here except for 5 to 6 people."

0.0241sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:48 PM