Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.16

Agito666
post Jun 29 2012, 12:50 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jun 29 2012, 12:45 AM)
D60 is CCD  flex.gif
kantoi sweat.gif doh.gif tongue.gif

forget what is the advantange of Cmos and CCD

CCD is old tech and generate lesser noise right (compare same timeline tech with CMOS that time) hmm.gif
TS0168257061
post Jun 29 2012, 12:59 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

CCD perform very well under ISO400,
generally better than CMOS in paper terms
tryifelsecatch
post Jun 29 2012, 01:02 AM

474 posts

hey guys, hope it's ok to ask about nikon warranty question here.
so i got a sb600 which failed to fire flash although ready light on and battery fully charged. thanks
questions:

1. what might be the possible fault? battery fully charged, ready light on.
2. the warranty card is not fill with any date, so can i send in any camera shops and they can help to claim warranty? how's the charges looks like?
jchue73
post Jun 29 2012, 01:26 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jun 28 2012, 06:52 PM)
i got 3.5m retractable ruler, now just need to find 10m+ space for me to focus sweat.gif
Can roughly gauge what distance you are focusing. Just look at the focusing distance screen on the lens. Don't need to be exact.

QUOTE(amduser @ Jun 28 2012, 07:37 PM)
not really need focus to infinity, just sometime street photography is useful to get more area in focus so i can snap and run
If you're into street photography, get a wide angle like 24mm and set aperture f/8. Shoot any subject at distance roughly 2x your height assuming you're an average 5+ feet in height.

Note that 24mm lens on a DX body is not so wide. 35mm lens would be even harder for street on DX if you're into hyperfocal technique.

QUOTE(lpyycy @ Jun 28 2012, 10:59 PM)
do anyone use 24-70 f/2.8 here in DX?
Agito666.

I use it too on my D300 before getting FX body.

QUOTE(onscreen @ Jun 28 2012, 11:36 PM)
24-70mm = 42-105mm on DX so its not within the sweet spot as a general lens but more a portrait lens to me. Do note, buying the 24-70mm will need to have a wide angle lens to cover the wider part. A 12-24mm DX is a good option biggrin.gif If you need the sharpness, contrast, go for the 24-70mm its a future proof lens
Hey, is that a new 1.75x crop factor Nikon DX body you're using? tongue.gif

I think you meant 28-70mm = 42-105mm...
amduser
post Jun 29 2012, 03:21 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jun 29 2012, 01:26 AM)
Can roughly gauge what distance you are focusing. Just look at the focusing distance screen on the lens. Don't need to be exact.
If you're into street photography, get a wide angle like 24mm and set aperture f/8. Shoot any subject at distance roughly 2x your height assuming you're an average 5+ feet in height.

Note that 24mm lens on a DX body is not so wide. 35mm lens would be even harder for street on DX if you're into hyperfocal technique.
Agito666.

Hey, is that a new 1.75x crop factor Nikon DX body you're using?  tongue.gif

there is no focus distance on my lens

i dont always shoot street, only when i go out with my camera

i normally shoot half body for landscape and full body for portrait on my 35mm, framing isn't a big deal for me since i get used to the focal length already
tctham
post Jun 29 2012, 08:22 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jun 29 2012, 03:21 AM)
there is no focus distance on my lens

i dont always shoot street, only when i go out with my camera

i normally shoot half body for landscape and full body for portrait on my 35mm, framing isn't a big deal for me since i get used to the focal length already
prefocus with hands 1st? then let AF fine tune?
onscreen
post Jun 29 2012, 09:43 AM

Nomby
675 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jun 29 2012, 01:26 AM)

Hey, is that a new 1.75x crop factor Nikon DX body you're using?  tongue.gif

Oppps tongue.gif Ya, I got used to my 28-70 and refer to it many times. Bad habit! Thanks tho hehe.
Andy214
post Jun 29 2012, 09:53 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(lpyycy @ Jun 29 2012, 12:38 AM)
Dear All, thanks a lot for the advise  rclxms.gif

some misunderstanding with me, forgotten 24-70, the reading 24 is for FX format, not DX  doh.gif

will try survey for the tokina lens, meanwhile, i thinking keeping 18-105 will be great as spare smile.gif

really dont plan to take photography as life time career, maybe only part time only to cover the expenses spend on photography..

hahaa...meanwhile, will use 18-105 to practise up portrait shooting first  unsure.gif 

spam before zz....

All lens focal length are in 35mm format. If it's a DX lens, if you mount onto FX, you get vignetting since it cannot cover the full frame sensor area.

To put it simple, whatever the lens focal length, you need to multiply by the crop factor of the sensor on the body.
If you get a DX body, with crop factor of 1.5X, whatever lens you get, FX or DX, you still need to multiply the focal length by 1.5X
If you get a M4/3 with crop factor of 2X, whatever lens you get, you still need to multiply the focal length by 2X. (e.g. The standard lens for M4/3 is 14mm-42mm = 28mm-84mm, which falls within the standard zoom range).
A handphone camera lens could be 6mm or 8mm or smaller, multiply by it's crop factor, you usually get around 24mm~28mm focal length in 35mm format.

geekster129
post Jun 29 2012, 10:22 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

I think if use DX lens on an FX body, 2 possibilities, either will get vignetting or the body will auto crop the image into DX format (some camera body?).

This post has been edited by geekster129: Jun 29 2012, 10:23 AM
Andy214
post Jun 29 2012, 10:33 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Jun 29 2012, 10:22 AM)
I think if use DX lens on an FX body, 2 possibilities, either will get vignetting or the body will auto crop the image into DX format (some camera body?).
Ah Yes, unless it's in DX mode.
For D800, the DX mode still gives almost 16MP; So D800 is like a good FX and DX body, lol
celciuz
post Jun 29 2012, 11:03 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 29 2012, 10:33 AM)
Ah Yes, unless it's in DX mode.
For D800, the DX mode still gives almost 16MP; So D800 is like a good FX and DX body, lol
Not bad for sports too. DX mode gives 16MP, 6fps with grip and almost full coverage for the AF points. Superb... *damn kena brainwashed by my friend at Super GT*
Everdying
post Jun 29 2012, 11:15 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

and D800 / D4 can use 3x TC on vr2 and still AF tongue.gif

Added on June 29, 2012, 11:18 amtho recently i've seen a couple ppl selling off their D800 to buy D3s instead...so guess they really miss the higher fps.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jun 29 2012, 11:18 AM
amduser
post Jun 29 2012, 11:18 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 29 2012, 11:03 AM)
Not bad for sports too. DX mode gives 16MP, 6fps with grip and almost full coverage for the AF points. Superb... *damn kena brainwashed by my friend at Super GT*
16mp still sufficient and still can crop a lot, if not for printing 16mp is very good because in the end upload to facebook will be resize to 2048 long edge laugh.gif

btw...i saw someone post about architecture photography copyrights infringement in one of my facebook group and the story goes like this

basically the person go to one of the bridge in The Curve there for a photoshoot, that's a famous spot for photoshoot because of the background and environment.

then a guard come and say they are infringing the architecture copyrights by taking photos of their properties while in the picture it does not really reveal the building design since it is more like some full body portraits

so question there, is the guard has the rights to stop us from taking photograph of that particular "structure"/place?

or maybe they got some other secret reason that stop us from taking photos in that section?

photoshoot in public places should not be a problem and it is not against any laws/rules unless stated or as long as the photoshoot session does not disturb anyone right?

and shopping mall should be consider as public place which mean we are allow to take photos since we are in public places and as long as we do not commercially distribute the photos?

i'm bad in laws, but i just want to know this basic laws to protect myself
Everdying
post Jun 29 2012, 11:23 AM

30,735 posts

the bridge? as in inside? then the guard has every right to stop since it is considered private property.
ongdennis
post Jun 29 2012, 11:24 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jun 29 2012, 11:18 AM)
16mp still sufficient and still can crop a lot, if not for printing 16mp is very good because in the end upload to facebook will be resize to 2048 long edge laugh.gif

btw...i saw someone post about architecture photography copyrights infringement in one of my facebook group and the story goes like this

basically the person go to one of the bridge in The Curve there for a photoshoot, that's a famous spot for photoshoot because of the background and environment.

then a guard come and say they are infringing the architecture copyrights by taking photos of their properties while in the picture it does not really reveal the building design since it is more like some full body portraits

so question there, is the guard has the rights to stop us from taking photograph of that particular "structure"/place?

or maybe they got some other secret reason that stop us from taking photos in that section?

photoshoot in public places should not be a problem and it is not against any laws/rules unless stated or as long as the photoshoot session does not disturb anyone right?

and shopping mall should be consider as public place which mean we are allow to take photos since we are in public places and as long as we do not commercially distribute the photos?

i'm bad in laws, but i just want to know this basic laws to protect myself
i also get warning before by the security guard when i take picture at the lobby of twin tower. but he still sound ok n tell me that if for personal use then is ok...
so many using compact camera n phone to snap around but they just ignore, because i hanging dslr then come n warning me >.<'''
celciuz
post Jun 29 2012, 11:28 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 29 2012, 11:15 AM)
and D800 / D4 can use 3x TC on vr2 and still AF tongue.gif

Added on June 29, 2012, 11:18 amtho recently i've seen a couple ppl selling off their D800 to buy D3s instead...so guess they really miss the higher fps.
3X TC? 1.3 and 1.7?

Yeah... f/8 focusing is impressive!
Calvin Seak
post Jun 29 2012, 11:29 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

What group is that? Share it with us ;D

Of course shopping malls are private property. Someone (or more usually, some company) owns the mall, and rents out stores. Most definitely not us the taxpayers pay for the malls lol!
amduser
post Jun 29 2012, 11:30 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 29 2012, 11:23 AM)
the bridge? as in inside? then the guard has every right to stop since it is considered private property.
what about right outside of the bridge? i'm not sure where is the location of the bridge leh, never went there before

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jun 29 2012, 11:24 AM)
i also get warning before by the security guard when i take picture at the lobby of twin tower. but he still sound ok n tell me that if for personal use then is ok...
so many using compact camera n phone to snap around but they just ignore, because i hanging dslr then come n warning me >.<'''
yeah...in suria KLCC they even put up a signboard throughout the shopping mall saying that no photographing of the places and distribute it

Everdying
post Jun 29 2012, 11:31 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 29 2012, 11:28 AM)
3X TC? 1.3 and 1.7?

Yeah... f/8 focusing is impressive!
i know kenko makes a 3x tc that works on vr2.
other brands got 3x tc also, just nikon dont think ever got tongue.gif
Calvin Seak
post Jun 29 2012, 11:33 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jun 29 2012, 11:30 AM)
what about right outside of the bridge? i'm not sure where is the location of the bridge leh, never went there before
yeah...in suria KLCC they even put up a signboard throughout the shopping mall saying that no photographing of the places and distribute it
As long as you're inside curve's space they have every right to stop you

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Jun 29 2012, 11:33 AM

126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:10 PM