♠ ♠ ♠Proton Prevé V5♠ ♠ ♠, ► Official Discussions for Proton Prevé
shareDARK
Apr 24 2012, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(dinwaja @ Apr 24 2012, 11:34 PM) i hope Preve can climb up genting with less struggle...can maintain better RPM...less than 2000RPM is really hard...very slow...like turtle...with turbo...i think it should be no problem... The only problem that i'm worried is if the uphill driving in mess traffic jammed. Is the cvt reliable?
Nightstalker1993
Apr 24 2012, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(shareDARK @ Apr 24 2012, 11:35 PM) Agree. Sounds troublesome when drive uphill. Must maintain rpm above 2k. Any cvt driver experience like this before? It's maintain speed above 10kmh if on an uphill coz the clutch isn't fully engaged if it's less than 10kmh. Think of the days when you used to drive a manual lol. And don't care what car, if you're climbing up genting, your rpm will definitely be above 2k anyway
FrostLance
Apr 24 2012, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(shareDARK @ Apr 24 2012, 11:38 PM) The only problem that i'm worried is if the uphill driving in mess traffic jammed. Is the cvt reliable? This i also wanna know. i can now accept the car quality as it is.. But now wanna know the FC and reliability. The initial tes drive car in terengganu punya CVT sudah caput and replaced already.
sp3d2
Apr 24 2012, 11:41 PM
will the car move in d mode without pressing the pedal? if yes, then how to stop it using hand brake in order not to open the clutch(make it remain close)?
This post has been edited by sp3d2: Apr 24 2012, 11:42 PM
dinwaja
Apr 24 2012, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 24 2012, 11:39 PM) It's maintain speed above 10kmh if on an uphill coz the clutch isn't fully engaged if it's less than 10kmh. Think of the days when you used to drive a manual lol. And don't care what car, if you're climbing up genting, your rpm will definitely be above 2k anyway for auto,certain corner@slope..to reach 2K take quite some time la...for manual,a bit easy la...
FrostLance
Apr 24 2012, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Apr 24 2012, 11:41 PM) will the car move in d mode without pressing the pedal? if not, then how to stop it using hand brake in order not to open the clutch(make it remain close? it'll move slowly..not as much as normal gearbox.. i dont know..i find this "feature" a bit of a hassle.
sp3d2
Apr 24 2012, 11:44 PM
if i stop the car using hand brake just for the sake to keep the cluth closed while even it is moving slowly in d mode, dont you think it is bad habit for ensuring reliability of the gear box?
WhitE LighteR
Apr 24 2012, 11:45 PM
hmm.. no point speculating guys... when the car come then we will know...
FrostLance
Apr 24 2012, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 24 2012, 11:45 PM) hmm.. no point speculating guys... when the car come then we will know... haha..waiting for ur car lor..im in no rush to get another 1 right now. I dont need a performance car for the wifey..just a plain car that can get from A to B safely and fuel efficient.
dares
Apr 24 2012, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(FrostLance @ Apr 24 2012, 11:37 PM) he tak sayang kereta wooo.. Does CVT heat more easily than conventional auto gearbox? Early gen Lancer GTs got tons of heating issues.. Added on April 24, 2012, 11:38 pmso whats the advantage of that.. CVT overheats easier than AT, yes. but most CVT drivetrains come with cooling systems. Anyway, for discussion sake, say your engine peak torque is at 4k rpm. In a ATand MT drivetrain, you cannot stay at peak torque because your RPM goes up and down as your speed increase while you traverse the gears. A CVT allows you to stay at 4k RPM as your speed increases, maximising acceleration and efficiency. This post has been edited by dares: Apr 24 2012, 11:52 PM
maverickng
Apr 24 2012, 11:49 PM

seen like cvt not easy to drive...i can learn no problem but my family  scare they dunno how to drive especialy my mom and dad they use to just jump in the car then start and go only This post has been edited by maverickng: Apr 24 2012, 11:51 PM
FrostLance
Apr 24 2012, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Apr 24 2012, 11:49 PM) CVT overheats easier than AT, yes. but most CVT drivetrains come with cooling systems. Anyway, for discussion sake, say your engine peak torque is at 4k rpm. In a ATand MT drivetrain, you cannot stay at peak torque because your RPM goes up and down as your speed increase while you traverse the gears. A CVT allows you to stay at 4k rpm with little regard to th speed, maximising acceleration and efficiency. early batch lancers dont have those cooler la. Thats the cause of heating issue. Proton solved this by putting coolers on the inspira. Glad to know that preves also have them.
spikey2506
Apr 24 2012, 11:56 PM
One can only wonder how much fun one can have with 205Nm paired with MT. Fuhhh..
dares
Apr 24 2012, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Apr 24 2012, 11:44 PM) if i stop the car using hand brake just for the sake to keep the cluth closed while even it is moving slowly in d mode, dont you think it is bad habit for ensuring reliability of the gear box? Just do like you would manual car Press brake to stop. When ready to move, pull handbrake, release footbrake. Wait for clutch to close, release handbrake while pressing throttle. Sounds like a lot, needs some getting used to, but it is worth it. Dun worry la, it is not that bad la... This post has been edited by dares: Apr 25 2012, 12:03 AM
K2002
Apr 24 2012, 11:59 PM

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Apr 24 2012, 11:56 PM) One can only wonder how much fun one can have with 205Nm paired with MT. Fuhhh.. not just manual 5 speed gear must be manual 7 speed gear. i dont mind stepping on clutches.
G K Lai
QUOTE(maverickng @ Apr 24 2012, 11:49 PM) seen like cvt not easy to drive...i can learn no problem but my family  scare they dunno how to drive especialy my mom and dad they use to just jump in the car then start and go only  Remember to tell them to be caution when crossing junction road... The car will not get immediate response and pickup to cross to the opposite road... ask them to be careful! When I test drove the car, that almost make me panic as the car crawl slowly in the middle of the junction while the car from the main road almost reach me~
ben3003
so u mean by cvt, u just need to rev to 4k rpm then don need press pedal, just wait speed go up, no more than that for maximum performance?
dinwaja
anyway,this coming monday i'm going to genting...hehe...
maverickng
Apr 25 2012, 12:02 AM

QUOTE(K2002 @ Apr 24 2012, 11:59 PM) not just manual 5 speed gear must be manual 7 speed gear. i dont mind stepping on clutches. fuuuuuuu...  Added on April 25, 2012, 12:04 amQUOTE(dinwaja @ Apr 24 2012, 11:59 PM) anyway,this coming monday i'm going to genting...hehe... drive preve to genting?then should feedback us how its doing(the cvt)and some tips This post has been edited by maverickng: Apr 25 2012, 12:04 AM
G K Lai
Apr 25 2012, 12:04 AM
Anyone actually tried Preve's car horn? (not the horny ok?  ) I remember when I test it, I need to press quite hard for it to make a sound! Not a big problem, but just not so good lar....