126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Ivy Bridge Overclocking V1 | 3770K/3570K | Z77, Torture Your CPU, Post It Here!

stella_purple
post Apr 25 2012, 09:33 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(Rickz @ Apr 25 2012, 09:27 PM)
I got the H100 for free at work.
Don't look a gift horse into it's mouth, or however the saying goes tongue.gif

The H100 is very close to the performance of the Noctua though right?
Or is the difference that big?
if you own the H100 for free, just use it. there is only a little different performance of h100 compare to dh14. smile.gif

but if are consider for buying a h100, it is always better for you to get the dh14 or a custom water cooling kit which is almost the same price as h100 and better in term of cooling efficiency.

hope this can clear up your confuse.

This post has been edited by stella_purple: Apr 25 2012, 09:37 PM
OC4/3
post Apr 25 2012, 10:16 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Apr 24 2012, 08:37 AM)

Awesome thumbup.gif
Ivy Bridge does bring back the good time of Sub Zero overclocking thumbup.gif
TSowikh84
post Apr 26 2012, 07:29 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 20 2012, 12:47 AM)
XSPC RASA 750 RS240 + Arqtik DD TEC block

EK Supreme HF jetplate6
2x RX360 + 12x GT 1850rpm
D5 + EK Top
EK X2 250 res

doh.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

kelvin_hata
post Apr 26 2012, 08:25 AM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

wat the h*ll so hot!!!!

reporting error or ????
marsha1l
post Apr 26 2012, 08:31 AM

water-cooling PC enthusiast
1,041 posts

wow...thatt is hot.. shocking.gif
TSowikh84
post Apr 26 2012, 08:32 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Apr 26 2012, 08:25 AM)
wat the h*ll so hot!!!! 

reporting error or ????
I think so bro i look again at the AI reading it's only 40C. Something wrong with RealTemp and i will record with other temp monitoring soft later tonight smile.gif
kelvin_hata
post Apr 26 2012, 08:35 AM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

try hwinfo 64

me also kena shock la.. haha
TSowikh84
post Apr 26 2012, 09:07 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Apr 26 2012, 08:35 AM)
try hwinfo 64
me also kena shock la.. haha

LOL i also kena sudden shock in the morning. Took a chill pill trying to calm myself to ignore the readings as my fingers still feel cool when touching both the rads, CPU block, tubing as well as the res. there was no hot air dissipated out of the rads. So i found:

Ivy Bridge Temperatures Could Be Linked To TIM Inside Integrated Heatspreader: Report
PC enthusiasts with Ivy Bridge engineering samples, and reviewers at large have come to the consensus that Ivy Bridge is a slightly warmer chip than it should be. An investigation by Overclockers.com revealed a possible contributing factor to that. Upon carefully removing the integrated heatspreader (IHS) of an Ivy Bridge Core processor (that steel plate on top of the processor which makes contact with the cooler), the investigator found common thermal paste between the CPU die and the IHS, and along the sides of the die.
In comparison, Intel used flux-less solder to bind the IHS to the core on previous-generation Sandy Bridge Core processors. Attempting to remove IHS off a chip with flux-less solder won't end well, as it could rip the die off the package. On the other hand, the idea behind use of flux-less solder in CPU packages is to improve heat transfer between the die and the IHS. Using thermal paste to do the job results in slightly inferior heat transfer, but removing IHS is safer. One can be sure that making it safe for IHS removal couldn't have been the issue behind switching back to conventional thermal paste, as everything under the IHS isn't user-serviceable anyway, and off limits for them.

sam sam
post Apr 26 2012, 10:00 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 26 2012, 09:07 AM)
LOL i also kena sudden shock in the morning. Took a chill pill trying to calm myself to ignore the readings as my fingers still feel cool when touching both the rads, CPU block, tubing as well as the res. there was no hot air dissipated out of the rads. So i found:

Ivy Bridge Temperatures Could Be Linked To TIM Inside Integrated Heatspreader: Report
It is really hot was thinking of upgrading to this new chip. Looks like on hold for ivy.
I guess this would make all the top end coolers and water cooling more popular

Added on April 26, 2012, 10:03 am[quote=owikh84,Apr 26 2012, 09:07 AM]

[/

This chip would make all the high end coolers very popular
Looks like it is not the heat dissipated but the bonding between the chip and heat sink is bad thus driving up the localized heat creating hot spots

This post has been edited by sam sam: Apr 26 2012, 10:03 AM
ainuddin
post Apr 26 2012, 12:09 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/pro...cket-guide.html

check point 2.1 intel shows that the chips memang use normal TIM inside the IHS, not solder.
rudolfjie
post Apr 26 2012, 02:35 PM

350 posts

recently read an article from Vr-Zone
http://vr-zone.com/articles/is-intel-cheap...dge-/15680.html

Looks like the problem of heat is bcos of the thermal paste.
Cut cost intel?? hmm.gif

Added on April 26, 2012, 2:37 pmSo fast you guys getting an ivy and clock kaw kaw drool.gif
Still filling up my piggy bank for this unsure.gif

This post has been edited by rudolfjie: Apr 26 2012, 02:37 PM
halllo81
post Apr 26 2012, 09:20 PM

181 posts

this new i read...seem like...ivy bridge need WC only can do higher clock
http://www.expreview.com/19285.html

TSowikh84
post Apr 26 2012, 10:20 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

RealTemp:
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 26 2012, 07:29 AM)
EK Supreme HF jetplate6
2x RX360 + 12x GT 1850rpm
D5 + EK Top
EK X2 250 res

doh.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

vs

hwinfo64:

Hantu641
post Apr 26 2012, 11:41 PM

150 posts

alamak..seeing the Thermal paste make my hand holding back tightly my wallet..
make its look cheaper than the SB..

kelvin_hata
post Apr 27 2012, 01:00 AM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 26 2012, 10:20 PM)
RealTemp:
vs

hwinfo64:

that y la... cos... hmmm... i serious terkejut after saw the result.. wukaka biggrin.gif

so which is the real 1... hahaha

here 3770k

This post has been edited by kelvin_hata: Apr 27 2012, 01:40 AM
TSowikh84
post Apr 27 2012, 06:59 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Apr 27 2012, 01:00 AM)
that y la... cos... hmmm... i serious terkejut after saw the result.. wukaka biggrin.gif

so which is the real 1... hahaha

here 3770k

hard to decide on the accuracy of these tools.
hwinfo affects GFlops while in the background.
GFlops should be 100ish, 85ish showed that it's underperformed. doh.gif

This post has been edited by owikh84: Apr 27 2012, 07:15 AM
kelvin_hata
post Apr 28 2012, 01:21 AM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

Asus P8P67 latest bios support new 22nm proc is release!!! Pls go download n update smile.gif
saturn85
post Apr 28 2012, 06:35 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 26 2012, 09:07 AM)
hmm, wonder why they using this method? unsure.gif
TSowikh84
post Apr 28 2012, 08:10 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.3v
Asus M5G BIOS 881
Team Xtreem 2600C10 2x4GB @ 2600MHz 10-12-12-28-1T 1.65v
Corsair AX1200
Sapphire HD5450 biggrin.gif
Intel X18-M G2 160GB SSD
WC gear: HF + D5 EK Top + EK X2 250 Res | 2x RX360 + 12x GT 1850
Dimastech EasyDual v2.5 Benchtable

dma0991
post Apr 28 2012, 11:26 AM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

Delidding won't help IB cool better. It is a problem with IB's power density. Tested here.

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 28 2012, 08:10 AM)
3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.3v
Asus M5G BIOS 881
Team Xtreem 2600C10 2x4GB @ 2600MHz 10-12-12-28-1T 1.65v
Corsair AX1200
Sapphire HD5450  biggrin.gif
Intel X18-M G2 160GB SSD
WC gear: HF + D5 EK Top + EK X2 250 Res | 2x RX360 + 12x GT 1850
Dimastech EasyDual v2.5 Benchtable

Your temps for 4.5GHz @ 1.3V is so high considering that you have a RX360 cooling it. hmm.gif

126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:03 PM