134 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V4

TSeverling
post Mar 5 2012, 12:19 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Mar 4 2012, 10:06 AM)
I haven't send my Seagate back yet. The data inside is valuable to me >.<

But my spinpoint is still in rma after so long. Any ways to check it? Thank you very much though
Seagate bought Samsung's HDD division a while back, so Samsung HDDs are now handled by Seagate. From the other's RMA experience with Samsung hardware recently, Seagate will return you a Seagate HDD.
anthonywcl
post Mar 5 2012, 10:50 AM

585 posts

fixed

This post has been edited by anthonywcl: Mar 5 2012, 02:51 PM
cybersans
post Mar 5 2012, 02:46 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 4 2012, 11:59 PM)
Looks like my 7200.11 is lucky. 4 years and still going strong
3/4 years "spinning time" or bought since 3/4 years ago but using time is less than a month? wink.gif
please show your S.M.A.R.T. screenshot or didn't happened tongue.gif
harryfoo
post Mar 5 2012, 03:24 PM

2,296 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 5 2012, 12:19 AM)
Seagate bought Samsung's HDD division a while back, so Samsung HDDs are now handled by Seagate. From the other's RMA experience with Samsung hardware recently, Seagate will return you a Seagate HDD.
So all the Samsung HDD is produce by Seagate's factory now?
super macgyver
post Mar 5 2012, 04:18 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 4 2012, 06:58 PM)
Guys, normally WD RMA takes how long?
usually took me around 5 to 7 week after i sent to lyp
xDarkKnightx
post Mar 5 2012, 07:12 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 5 2012, 12:19 AM)
I see. Thank you very much for the information.

How long do these bad sector RMA's usually take?
kenji88
post Mar 5 2012, 07:45 PM

113 posts

when i open my computer, and right click the d: drive the drive will delay 20-30 second.but i right the drive c: did't have delay problem..why?
sotong168
post Mar 5 2012, 11:42 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Mar 5 2012, 07:12 PM)
I see. Thank you very much for the information.

had rma-ed quite a numbers of hdd; samsung i claimed frm local samsung service centre whereas hitachi, wd, seagate i poslaju back, usually 7 - 10 days i get the replacement unit regardless of bad sectors or faulty pcb.

This post has been edited by sotong168: Mar 5 2012, 11:53 PM
TSeverling
post Mar 6 2012, 11:57 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 5 2012, 03:24 PM)
So all the Samsung HDD is produce by Seagate's factory now?
Seagate probably now owns the Samsung factories which produces the Samsung HDDs. I do not know how Seagate is handling their ex-Samsung properties or their future plans. Although we could guess from how Seagate handled their previous acquisitions, like Maxtor.

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Mar 5 2012, 07:12 PM)
It shouldn't be abnormally long. I suggest that you follow up with your seller, Samsung and Seagate to make sure that your HDD wasn't lost in a SNAFU. Please don't be surprised if Samsung simply redirects you to Seagate, as the buck should stop there.

QUOTE(kenji88 @ Mar 5 2012, 07:45 PM)
when i open my computer, and right click the d: drive the drive will delay 20-30 second.but i right the drive c: did't have delay problem..why?
It is probably because your operating system decided to turn off unused HDDs to save power. This happens if your Power Options (in the advanced configuration) is told that it may turn off your HDDs if they were idle for X amount of time. You can 'fix' this by increasing the amount of idle time or tell your power configuration to never turn off your HDDs. This feature can actually be useful if you have a lot of HDDs and you rarely use some of them.

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Mar 5 2012, 11:42 PM)
had rma-ed quite a numbers of hdd; samsung i claimed frm local samsung service centre whereas hitachi, wd, seagate i poslaju back, usually 7 - 10 days i get the replacement unit regardless of bad sectors or faulty pcb.
From what I had read, Samsung service centres now don't entertain Samsung HDD RMAs. Was this information false?
SnoWFisH
post Mar 6 2012, 01:48 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 6 2012, 11:57 AM)
Seagate probably now owns the Samsung factories which produces the Samsung HDDs. I do not know how Seagate is handling their ex-Samsung properties or their future plans. Although we could guess from how Seagate handled their previous acquisitions, like Maxtor.
It shouldn't be abnormally long. I suggest that you follow up with your seller, Samsung and Seagate to make sure that your HDD wasn't lost in a SNAFU. Please don't be surprised if Samsung simply redirects you to Seagate, as the buck should stop there.
It is probably because your operating system decided to turn off unused HDDs to save power. This happens if your Power Options (in the advanced configuration) is told that it may turn off your HDDs if they were idle for X amount of time. You can 'fix' this by increasing the amount of idle time or tell your power configuration to never turn off your HDDs. This feature can actually be useful if you have a lot of HDDs and you rarely use some of them.
From what I had read, Samsung service centres now don't entertain Samsung HDD RMAs. Was this information false?
Yes Samsung SC no longer accept RMA for their HDD. You have to send your hdd to seagate for RMA.
TendouSouji
post Mar 6 2012, 08:47 PM

371 posts

I just bought a hdd 3.5" 1. wanna ask u guys keep it power on when not in use or just switch off? I would like to know how ttake care of a hdd
dlwl
post Mar 6 2012, 10:50 PM

4,789 posts

I leave my PC on 24/7, only off occasionally. So far no problem with my HDDs wink.gif
blackamikaze
post Mar 6 2012, 11:01 PM

Trooper Rank: BIG HEAD SERGEANT
2,671 posts

QUOTE(TendouSouji @ Mar 6 2012, 08:47 PM)
I just bought a hdd 3.5" 1. wanna ask u guys keep it power on when not in use or just switch off? I would like to know how ttake care of a hdd
base on my experiences, there is no clear rules how to take care ur hardisks ... most of the time ur hardisk lifespan totally base on ur luck.
The usage hour usually give minimal impact on the lifespan of hardisks .. The only problem that u need to be aware is a sudden blackout that might cause bad sector.
TSeverling
post Mar 7 2012, 11:59 AM

3,591 posts

Looks like the HDD manufacturers have finally settled on Western Digital, Seagate and Toshiba. Hopefully it will remain positively stable.

Western Digital will be allowed to acquire Hitachi’s 2.5” and SSD businesses, but not the 3.5” business. Instead Western Digital will be selling that business to Toshiba – factories and all – along with granting licenses for the necessary patents, which would allow Toshiba to effectively continue in the 3.5” market from where Hitachi left off.  This would firmly establish Seagate, Western Digital, and Toshiba as the 3 major players in the hard drive business across all product segments.

[...]

Finally, it would appear that this is as far as the EU and FTC are willing to let the hard drive market contract, at least at this time. Their various rulings have made it clear that they will block any attempt at consolidating the market to two manufacturers, so the wave of acquisitions that started in 2009 should be at an end.
Western Digital To Sell Hitachi's 3.5” Hard Drive Business To Toshiba, Complete Hitachi Buyout
SUSlogit85
post Mar 7 2012, 12:18 PM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 7 2012, 11:59 AM)
Looks like the HDD manufacturers have finally settled on Western Digital, Seagate and Toshiba. Hopefully it will remain positively stable.

Western Digital To Sell Hitachi's 3.5” Hard Drive Business To Toshiba, Complete Hitachi Buyout
so WD Will be make stable right ???
when start begin for stable
TSeverling
post Mar 7 2012, 12:37 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Mar 7 2012, 12:18 PM)
so WD Will be make stable right ???
when start begin for stable
If you're asking about reliability, I doubt that this event will significantly change it. And on the small chance that it does, we're not likely to see any changes for a couple of months at the least. Assuming that there is valuable technology to assimilate, it will take WD time to integrate Hitachi's technology.
SnoWFisH
post Mar 7 2012, 03:27 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 7 2012, 12:37 PM)
If you're asking about reliability, I doubt that this event will significantly change it. And on the small chance that it does, we're not likely to see any changes for a couple of months at the least. Assuming that there is valuable technology to assimilate, it will take WD time to integrate Hitachi's technology.
So Toshiba will stop making 2.5" HDD and concentrate on making 3.5" HDD? I thought toshiba specialize in 2.5", this means they have to relearn the tech again? I think WD really got the bad side of the deal this time.

Gosh its a 2 step backwards just to accomodate those stupid union fairplay laws doh.gif . Why don't they go after Seagate as well, since Samsung was a much more major player compared to Hitachi. sweat.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Mar 7 2012, 03:28 PM
TSeverling
post Mar 7 2012, 03:56 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Mar 7 2012, 03:27 PM)
So Toshiba will stop making 2.5" HDD and concentrate on making 3.5" HDD? I thought toshiba specialize in 2.5", this means they have to relearn the tech again? I think WD really got the bad side of the deal this time.
This would firmly establish Seagate, Western Digital, and Toshiba as the 3 major players in the hard drive business across all product segments.

With this exchange, all three will be somewhat equal in the HDD business. Toshiba will gain the ability to compete in the 3.5" market.

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Mar 7 2012, 03:27 PM)
Gosh its a 2 step backwards just to accomodate those stupid union fairplay laws  doh.gif . Why don't they go after Seagate as well, since Samsung was a much more major player compared to Hitachi. sweat.gif  shakehead.gif
Perhaps it is because the Samsung acquisition was completed first. Or perhaps more money exchanged hands in the Samsung deal.
SnoWFisH
post Mar 7 2012, 04:35 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 7 2012, 03:56 PM)
With this exchange, all three will be somewhat equal in the HDD business. Toshiba will gain the ability to compete in the 3.5" market.
Perhaps it is because the Samsung acquisition was completed first. Or perhaps more money exchanged hands in the Samsung deal.
I guess maybe we could speculate what actually happened. Look at how EU is always aiming at Microsoft and Google, if they really want to come and kacau u they will haunt u to world's end.

Thing is, Toshiba will be a new player in the 3.5" business. Will you prefer a toshiba 3.5" HDD, or WD/Seagate hdd?

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Mar 7 2012, 04:36 PM
eremitic
post Mar 7 2012, 04:42 PM

259 posts

as long which one cheaper, then i take it...

found recently hdd had lower reliability,or just i bad luck...both hdd within 6 month offer me bad sector liao....(western digital 500GB(3.x%) and SAMSUNG F3 1TB(0% but show one red square in error test)

134 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0187sec    1.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:32 AM