All About Harddisk Thread V4

SnoWFisH
post Jan 26 2012, 11:57 AM

2,250 posts

Update from WD, pre-flood manufacturing capacity expected to be back in Sept end 2012.

http://www.tweaktown.com/pressrelease/6751...very/index.html

prices are going to be hovering around this range for quite some time more.

Realistic target : I have to change my initial predictions from August to end of the year...
SnoWFisH
post Feb 15 2012, 09:55 AM

2,250 posts

Brands don't really matter anymore actually. It really depends on your luck.

Anyway HDD Prices gone up this week in penang sweat.gif doh.gif
SnoWFisH
post Mar 6 2012, 01:48 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 6 2012, 11:57 AM)
Seagate probably now owns the Samsung factories which produces the Samsung HDDs. I do not know how Seagate is handling their ex-Samsung properties or their future plans. Although we could guess from how Seagate handled their previous acquisitions, like Maxtor.
It shouldn't be abnormally long. I suggest that you follow up with your seller, Samsung and Seagate to make sure that your HDD wasn't lost in a SNAFU. Please don't be surprised if Samsung simply redirects you to Seagate, as the buck should stop there.
It is probably because your operating system decided to turn off unused HDDs to save power. This happens if your Power Options (in the advanced configuration) is told that it may turn off your HDDs if they were idle for X amount of time. You can 'fix' this by increasing the amount of idle time or tell your power configuration to never turn off your HDDs. This feature can actually be useful if you have a lot of HDDs and you rarely use some of them.
From what I had read, Samsung service centres now don't entertain Samsung HDD RMAs. Was this information false?
Yes Samsung SC no longer accept RMA for their HDD. You have to send your hdd to seagate for RMA.
SnoWFisH
post Mar 7 2012, 03:27 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 7 2012, 12:37 PM)
If you're asking about reliability, I doubt that this event will significantly change it. And on the small chance that it does, we're not likely to see any changes for a couple of months at the least. Assuming that there is valuable technology to assimilate, it will take WD time to integrate Hitachi's technology.
So Toshiba will stop making 2.5" HDD and concentrate on making 3.5" HDD? I thought toshiba specialize in 2.5", this means they have to relearn the tech again? I think WD really got the bad side of the deal this time.

Gosh its a 2 step backwards just to accomodate those stupid union fairplay laws doh.gif . Why don't they go after Seagate as well, since Samsung was a much more major player compared to Hitachi. sweat.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Mar 7 2012, 03:28 PM
SnoWFisH
post Mar 7 2012, 04:35 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 7 2012, 03:56 PM)
With this exchange, all three will be somewhat equal in the HDD business. Toshiba will gain the ability to compete in the 3.5" market.
Perhaps it is because the Samsung acquisition was completed first. Or perhaps more money exchanged hands in the Samsung deal.
I guess maybe we could speculate what actually happened. Look at how EU is always aiming at Microsoft and Google, if they really want to come and kacau u they will haunt u to world's end.

Thing is, Toshiba will be a new player in the 3.5" business. Will you prefer a toshiba 3.5" HDD, or WD/Seagate hdd?

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Mar 7 2012, 04:36 PM
SnoWFisH
post Mar 19 2012, 04:26 PM

2,250 posts

My friend rma's his samsung external hard disk, and seagate returned a refurbished freeagent go flex to him.

The unit has a lot of scratches with chipped paint. Is this the normal services for Seagate? If it is then something is really wrong with their policy, they should be returning a new unit for the rma units if its unrepairable.

Oh nvm, just confirmed it is their policy that they will return refurbished units if u rma ur new units...In this case I'm really going to stay away from seagate... doh.gif

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Mar 19 2012, 05:23 PM
SnoWFisH
post Apr 20 2012, 10:53 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Apr 19 2012, 11:35 PM)
yah i know last year 1tb also can get 2xx too
any news
when Thailand flood finish no more floods like that
i want hdd price cheap normail so when Thailand good factory fixed
restore factory thailand fixed 100% so when
i am still waiting still no news
wait until next year lah laugh.gif everyone should give up hoping for pre flood prices this year. HDD manufacturers are stirll struggling to clear backlogs
SnoWFisH
post Apr 20 2012, 11:09 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Apr 20 2012, 11:01 AM)
I already forget the software name
but here is a thing

A laptop hdd,
it can't be read and asked to be reformated but still fail to do so even using cmd

is there any hope for this?
use ur hdd vendor utility to check the health of the hdd first...then prepare for RMA together with the failure code the program generated.
SnoWFisH
post Jun 20 2012, 12:08 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(Mac Man @ LYF @ Jun 19 2012, 03:48 PM)
icic, if they being bought by WD, means next time warranty will go back to WD, arrr... hate WD

tq for your answer
believe me u'll hate seagate's one even more, espec if u rma a samsung drive! doh.gif
SnoWFisH
post Jun 20 2012, 09:07 AM

2,250 posts

my colleague rma his samsung 640GB HDD (external).
Seagate took 3 weeks to return a refurbished one.
Which is full of scratches and got a few cracks on the case.

So he returned this one back to seagate, and seagate took another 2 weeks to return back to him.

the process is quite simple actually...u submit an online rma report...u get ur rma number...u pack ur hdd and post it to them with ur rma number attached...and wait...
SnoWFisH
post Jul 20 2012, 04:48 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Jul 20 2012, 03:18 PM)
Then we'll just have to poison them by making them experience the difference. The addiction to speed might be enough to get them to open their wallets. brows.gif
That's also why ppl just get SSD as their system drive for programs and OS. HDD for media storage,.
SnoWFisH
post Jul 31 2012, 03:52 PM

2,250 posts

Just checked WD website and seems like WD red is out, especially designed for NAS systems. any idea how is it priced?

Nvm just checked its around the price of rm 380-400. Wonder if its worth the extra 80 bucks compared to green hmm.gif

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Jul 31 2012, 04:08 PM
SnoWFisH
post Jul 31 2012, 04:45 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Jul 31 2012, 04:33 PM)
For NAS or RAID duties, it probably is worth it.
Yeah, time to go to the shop to ask for it. Just found it comes with 3 years warranty, 24/7 support and 1 million hours of MTBF. That would last me life time drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif . If available I'll just grab 2 units of 3TB and plonk it into my NAS...Hopefully the DNS 320 can support it...

The review makes it look too good... internal temp 31C under full load...oh mai shocking.gif

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Jul 31 2012, 04:47 PM
SnoWFisH
post Aug 1 2012, 02:39 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(tuxoonchook @ Aug 1 2012, 11:10 AM)
Good morning guys !

new in LYN forum here.

Would like to know what you guys think about Transcend Ext. HDD 1TB StoreJet 25H3P or 25M3 ? Reliable ?

Also comparison of Transcend and WD/Seagate Ext HDD ?

For RM 320, i can get same capacity of 1TB and USB 3.0 but Transcend has anti-shock (drop tested) whereas WD/Seagate does not have.

Pls help.

Thank you very much !
Well you shouldnt be moving around so much with your hdd still connected to ur PC...
Well, I dropped my freeagent go a couple of times so far still good....
SnoWFisH
post Aug 14 2012, 01:53 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Aug 13 2012, 09:20 PM)
can rekomen the brand ah?
btw...any1 got their hands on the WD Red?

hows the performance? this WD red target NAS storage user....how it compare to green?
My reds are coming end of the month, GGZ will call me to let me know when they arrive...

Thing is, do i need to use wdidle to change the idle parking time for WD red like what we had to do with the green drives?
SnoWFisH
post Aug 15 2012, 05:44 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 14 2012, 10:43 PM)
The Red is anytime better than the Green. For NAS usage, I'll avoid it like a plague.

Actually, I'm also in a dilemma. Initially looking at 3TB drives but I heard that there will be some incompatibility problems with the Microserver. So now looking at 2TB variants. For the same price, I can either get the Hitachi 2TB or the WD Red. I believe warranty wise both are the same. The only thing that is pulling me back is the Red is 5400rpm while the Hitachi is 7200rpm.
Not required. The Red is already built for NAS environment albeit only for home and small office/home office usage.
It used to be Hitachi but at the moment there's only Seagate and WD with very little involvement from Toshiba to carry on what's left off Hitachi. If you want Seagate's reliable line of drives, look at their Constellation series. For WD, it's their Black series or their RE4 series. Both are expensive but reliable.

But then again if you're looking at storing and keeping the hardisk locked away after one time use, any decent brand would be fine.
Hardisk would be fine for long term storage if you take into consideration the price per GB and the speed. Tape is expensive while still slow.

If the data is very important, make an exact copy of your backup in another hardisk and keep it somewhere else. From time to time, take the hardisk out and check the files at random to see if the hardisk is ok.
Do you know what is the idle time for red drives to park their heads? 300s?
SnoWFisH
post Aug 16 2012, 02:48 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 16 2012, 01:26 AM)
People are actually backing up their Blurays onto hardisk. What does that tell you?  biggrin.gif

Actually, the choice to use RE4 or Black depends on whether you use it with RAID or standalone. The RE4 is specifically for use with RAID array and if you're not going to use RAID, Black series is better. If you use the RE4 as a standalone drive, they have very short write recovery times (TLER = 7 seconds), which can result in data corruption if they not used with a write caching RAID controller. The short write recovery times also ensure that the drives would never get into a lock up for long time for the RAID controller to register an error and subsequently drop them out of the array.

Black series is RE4 with longer TLER (approx 180 seconds). Having said that, a lot od people use the Black series in RAID arrays and don't encounter problems.
Yeah, I'm aware that current geenration 5400 rpm drives are speedy. I'm actually using 8 x 2TB Samsung HD204UI and I love them because it's silent and they are as fast as (if not faster than) other 7200 rpm drives. The thing is I plan to go beyond 1Gb/s in the near future and it would be nice if the drives could cope. Having said that, I think the Red in a RAID array would still able to cope beyond Gigabit. Aiming for 300 to 400 MB/s transfer speeds in a RAID array.
Agreed. But I think it's not exactly 2 times the price. Black series is generally about 40% more expensive than Red. 5 years vs 3 years warranty makes the difference too.
Sorry. No idea. I'm guessing it's much shorter like the RE4 (TLER = 7 seconds).
7s is quite short...that's what that's causing high LLC for green HD...

maybe i'll still use wdidle to change the settings for Red drives then...
SnoWFisH
post Aug 17 2012, 10:07 AM

2,250 posts

GGZ contacted me, the WD red drive price for 2TB is RM410, they told me its selling like hot cakes so the price went up sad.gif
SnoWFisH
post Sep 3 2012, 10:11 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Aug 30 2012, 02:41 PM)
The Seagate HDD isn't designed for NAS usage.
The Toshiba HDD isn't designed for NAS usage.

If you want to buy a HDD for NAS, the WD Red is better. The WD Red also has better paper specifications than Toshiba's HDD.

Funnily enough, the WD Red is also superior to the WD Green in all respects, including power consumption, on paper. Maybe it is due to the platter technology used in the currently available models.
Well, in terms of performance Green should be still better. The reason why Red is better in power consumption, temperature, life time is due to NASware. Don't forget you are paying an extra RM50 on top of the Green drives, and most of the time the Red will spin at 5400 rpm (which contribute to lower power consumption as well)..

Lowest price i manage to find in Penang is RM379 at official WD outlets. For some reason, other distributors and computer shops are selling at a higher price. hmm.gif
SnoWFisH
post Sep 3 2012, 04:05 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Sep 3 2012, 11:28 AM)
RM379 is for what capacity? I just bought a WD red 3TB for RM549 at queensbay mall.
RM379 for 2TB.

RM549 for 3TB abt just right. Sigh, I'm still waiting for my stock to arrive at QBM. They only have 1TB stock left yesterday sad.gif.

everling : i thought Green spins variably, can hit 7200 rpm if needed. Yeah when they get updated with platters in Red they should perform better than red. but i dont expect them to get the same firmware as the ones in Red smile.gif

0.0220sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:07 PM