The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3

whateva2k
post Mar 1 2012, 09:11 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 1 2012, 08:52 AM)
the SAL 1650 is not sold as a separate lens yet currently.. it is bonded to an a77 body.. so if you somehow managed to get the lens on its own there will be no proper warranty from Sony Malaysia..
That's the problem. Sigh. I'm thinking of ordering from B&H online. Still considering whether to take the risk or not.

Another option is to get the SAL2875, but its a SAM lens, don't know if there will be focusing sound during video. I also take quite a lot of videos with my 5n.

stimix
post Mar 1 2012, 09:17 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

SAL1650 is probably just a bundle kit lens to A77 as what zstan said..Normally ppl dun go for kit lens wan wor...Furthermore not much diff from the 18-55 NEX kit lens kua??

Go-lah for the Bokehlicious 50mmF1.8 better kua esp u said wanna take your 2 yr old son, fast & faster focusing..NEX got this bokehlicious liao
whateva2k
post Mar 1 2012, 09:21 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(mavericksam @ Mar 1 2012, 09:07 AM)
LA-EA2 is HUGE!!! Totally took away the point of having a nex system... you probably better off with A77 & SAL1650 combo... Also LA-EA2 is not that cheap too... unless you have a CZ or G lens lying around, then yes, LA-EA2 seems like a good idea...
Yes LA-EA2 is huge, and it's even larger when SAL1650 is attached. Just look at the last picture from the dpreview forum link I posted earlier.

But that's the advantage of NEX system, I can go big or small depending on situation. Can't do that with A77.
zstan
post Mar 1 2012, 09:33 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Mar 1 2012, 09:11 AM)
That's the problem. Sigh. I'm thinking of ordering from B&H online. Still considering whether to take the risk or not.

Another option is to get the SAL2875, but its a SAM lens, don't know if there will be focusing sound during video. I also take quite a lot of videos with my 5n.
the current 18-55 can't serve you well? or you need the constant f2.8?

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 1 2012, 09:17 AM)
SAL1650 is probably just a bundle kit lens to A77 as what zstan said..Normally ppl dun go for kit lens wan wor...Furthermore not much diff from the 18-55 NEX kit lens kua??

Go-lah for the Bokehlicious 50mmF1.8 better kua esp u said wanna take your 2 yr old son, fast & faster focusing..NEX got this bokehlicious liao
errrr... the a77 kit lens is of course much more better than the NEX kit lens and is a world of difference... especially with the constant f2.8 aperture and super sonic motor AF engine.. but price also triple than nex kit lens la..

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Mar 1 2012, 09:21 AM)
Yes LA-EA2 is huge, and it's even larger when SAL1650 is attached. Just look at the last picture from the dpreview forum link I posted earlier.

But that's the advantage of NEX system, I can go big or small depending on situation. Can't do that with A77.
have you tried it on your hands before? or the LA-EA1 for that matter...i find it quite okay in my hands...
Ah hao
post Mar 1 2012, 09:44 AM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Mar 1 2012, 08:35 AM)
Check this out: http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/readflat...40294630&page=1

I'm really considering to invest in LA-EA2 + SAL1650 to go with my 5N.

Anyone think that this is not a good idea please voice out before I burn a big hole in my wallet!  tongue.gif

Why this setup because I take a lot of pictures of my 2 year old kid, indoor, so I really need faster focusing and faster lens.
i don't think LA-EA2 + SAL1650 is the lens for you wink.gif

if not mistaken i read somewhere online said that LA-EA2 with alpha lens still AF quite slowly unsure.gif
stimix
post Mar 1 2012, 10:14 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Agreed that A77 kit lens for sure much better-lah price also better for sure but why so susah getting an almost similar 16-55 range and not others? Sumore for potrait, fast focus & etc..easier getting one without adaptor and dedicated potrait lens wor? well my 2sen haha
QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 1 2012, 09:33 AM)
errrr... the a77 kit lens is of course  much more better than the NEX kit lens and is a world of difference... especially with the constant f2.8 aperture and super sonic motor AF engine.. but price also triple than nex kit lens la..
have you tried it on your hands before? or the LA-EA1 for that matter...i find it quite okay in my hands...
chiahau
post Mar 1 2012, 10:20 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(mavericksam @ Mar 1 2012, 09:07 AM)
LA-EA2 is HUGE!!! Totally took away the point of having a nex system... you probably better off with A77 & SAL1650 combo... Also LA-EA2 is not that cheap too... unless you have a CZ or G lens lying around, then yes, LA-EA2 seems like a good idea...
For me, the LA-EA2 is worth it if you want to increase the IQ of the camera, but decreasing its portability.

So, if you want a powerful camera that is compact enough 4 you, then the LA-EA2 seemed to be a bad idea.

But if you don't mind, it sounds like a good idea.

Btw - ZSTAN stated an accurate point. 1650 ssm is not sold separately without the 77 kit.
stimix
post Mar 1 2012, 10:37 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

But if want that adapter, why not a SAL50mmF1,8? isn't this the one for potrait to catch the 2yr old boy? haha..I'm confused now..using a zoom lens for portrait?
zstan
post Mar 1 2012, 10:48 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 1 2012, 10:14 AM)
Agreed that A77 kit lens for sure much better-lah price also better for sure but why so susah getting an almost similar 16-55 range and not others? Sumore for potrait, fast focus & etc..easier getting one without adaptor and dedicated potrait lens wor? well my 2sen haha
QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 1 2012, 10:37 AM)
But if want that adapter, why not a SAL50mmF1,8? isn't this the one for potrait to catch the 2yr old boy? haha..I'm confused now..using a zoom lens for portrait?
Well, with a bigger aperture your IQ can be much better and bigger apertures... different people have different preferences la..

with a zoom you can get more more flexibility where as with a dedicated prime lens you can get a much bigger aperture.. but bear in terms of focusing speed.. the 1650 with adapter will definitely be much faster than the 50mm...
whateva2k
post Mar 1 2012, 11:06 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 1 2012, 09:17 AM)

SAL1650 has a very good review online, they said it actually has a quality level of Sony G lens, but because it's not built for their FF dslt, they didn't brand it as G lens.

I've never use a prime lens. I don't feel comfortable with the idea of not having the flexibility of adjustable focal length during composition. I also like F1.8. If only Sony has fast F1.8 zoom lens tongue.gif it will be damn expensive also.
stimix
post Mar 1 2012, 11:21 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah personal preferences.. I also like the flexibilty too for eg, I luv the bokehness of my recent purchased 50mmF1.4 antique minolta but that wan.wth 1.5X crop factor..everything auto zoom dy like the max of my 1855 kitlens haha.. Even taking a food also I need to go far-far till touching another customer at the back of me haha..

Anyway.. It will be a good selection esp those got the moos..to go for at least 3 lenses kua? - A flexi zoom , a good potrait (not the NEX pancake for sure haha), and a telephoto of atleast 18-200?
albnok
post Mar 1 2012, 11:29 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Ah hao: Nope if you read the DPReview forum link you'd know that the LA-EA2 is fast. I too will say the LA-EA2 is fast, just as fast as the A65, which has the same AF unit. Of course the LA-EA2 is not as fast as the A77 which has an improved AF unit.

whateva2k: The 35mm F1.8 is a very flexible focal length - if you've tried it, you'd realize it works well as it's right in the middle. Same goes for the Zeiss 24mm F1.8 E-mount - it gives 36mm on APS-C, which is the same as your camera phone's angle of view.
zstan
post Mar 1 2012, 11:38 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 1 2012, 11:21 AM)
Yeah personal preferences.. I also like the flexibilty too for eg, I luv the bokehness of my recent purchased 50mmF1.4 antique minolta but that wan.wth 1.5X crop factor..everything auto zoom dy like the max of my 1855 kitlens haha.. Even taking a food also I need to go far-far till touching another customer at the back of me haha..

Anyway.. It will be a good selection esp those got the moos..to go for at least 3 lenses kua? - A flexi zoom , a good potrait (not the NEX pancake for sure haha), and a telephoto of atleast 18-200?
18-200 is not a telezoom...it's an all rounder lens..

telezoom for NEX would be the 55-210..
stimix
post Mar 1 2012, 12:00 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah I think a 24mmF1.8 better bcos those 50MM having more than lifesize image furthermore wth NEX1.5X crop factor.. like what I experienced wth the ancient minolta 50mmF1.4 haha

QUOTE(albnok @ Mar 1 2012, 11:29 AM)
whateva2k: The 35mm F1.8 is a very flexible focal length - if you've tried it, you'd realize it works well as it's right in the middle. Same goes for the Zeiss 24mm F1.8 E-mount - it gives 36mm on APS-C, which is the same as your camera phone's angle of view.

Added on March 1, 2012, 12:03 pmOh noted.. but qouting that bcos NEX only having 18-200 at the moment lor haha.. Anyway, I also bought another ancient MF 70-210mm liao ..But the review I read dun looks good sad.gif ..Atleast once that 70-210mm arrived..I'm almost complete liao rclxms.gif ...Later when boring on MF, and godd xtra $$, probably go for AF..wth better coating & sharper images kua hmm.gif
QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 1 2012, 11:38 AM)
18-200 is not a telezoom...it's an all rounder lens..

telezoom for NEX would be the 55-210..
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 1 2012, 12:03 PM
whateva2k
post Mar 1 2012, 12:08 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 1 2012, 09:33 AM)
P
Actually, first of all i want the PDAF from LA-EA2, my kid is always moving around, find it a bit difficult to get a focus quick enough with the current CDAF to capture the moment.

Which means now I need an A-mount lens.

And since my kid is always moving around, having a constant f2.8 would be an advantage indoor with low light where I can choose a faster shutter speed to avoid blurry image from my kid's movement.

Also I would prefer SSM worrying that SAM will have focusing sound during video shooting. I also take a a lot of videos of my kid.
RX-78-2
post Mar 1 2012, 12:09 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(Dreamworks @ Feb 29 2012, 07:57 PM)
You sure have a very huge collection of Konicas, struck by LBA? laugh.gif And I assume the 135mm f3.5 is good, coz you even bought 2! I'm still missing a macro atm, have anything in mind to recommend? A few sites did mention Konica Macro-Hexanon AR 55mm f3.5, but working distance seems rather near which may not be appropriate in some cases.

As for missing parcel, so far I haven't experience any even with the cheap First Class Mail. For more expensive and fragile items, I'll opt for Priority Mail which is faster and trackable.
RM100 is a pretty good price, especially including postage. Haiz, guess my timing not right... Always got "rivals" rebut-rebut with me.
ISO kinda high lor, ady can see some minor noise tongue.gif
First i got poisoned by Xenon9 from PhotoMalaysia on those classic MF lenses, and i buy the Schneider Kreuznach 50mm F2.8 from him.
Then I started looking for good fast prime lens which <RM500. Then I search online and knew that Konica Hexanon lenses is one of the good quality and affordable lenses for NEX. From there I start ebaying for 50/1.4 but no luck. Then look for 57/1.4 and 50/1.7 and the massive ebaying journey is started! rclxub.gif
Some duplicated lens are due to it come from a set of multiple lenses. but non of it are identical as older lens are more heavier and got its own uniqueness.
Now I also have 3 old film camera came along.... sweat.gif i scared to start playing it to fall into film camera poison.... sweat.gif
beside Konica Hexanon, i found Schneider Kreuznach lenses are solid, sharp and provide unique feeling too! wink.gif

I dare not try First Class mail anymore. It is extremely slow, not traceable and high rate of missing! I have once the item arrived after 60days!!! vmad.gif
Now I rather pay more for Express Mail international which is slightly expensive than priority mail but it is very fast and safe, handled by EMS/Poslaju. sometime the cost of shipping is taken big portion of the total cost but it is better than missing parcel and long waiting and guessing game! doh.gif

This post has been edited by RX-78-2: Mar 1 2012, 12:35 PM
zstan
post Mar 1 2012, 12:17 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Mar 1 2012, 12:08 PM)
Actually, first of all i want the PDAF from LA-EA2, my kid is always moving around, find it a bit difficult to get a focus quick enough with the current CDAF to capture the moment.

Which means now I need an A-mount lens.

And since my kid is always moving around, having a constant f2.8 would be an advantage indoor with low light where I can choose a faster shutter speed to avoid blurry image from my kid's movement.

Also I would prefer SSM worrying that SAM will have focusing sound during video shooting. I also take a a lot of videos of my kid.
well you could opt for the tamron 17-50... but it's a screw driven lens so maybe not suitable for video though..
RX-78-2
post Mar 1 2012, 12:26 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Mar 1 2012, 09:44 AM)
i don't think LA-EA2 + SAL1650 is the lens for you wink.gif

if not mistaken i read somewhere online said that LA-EA2 with alpha lens still AF quite slowly unsure.gif
Don't rely only on those online and hearsay info. better to test and feel it yourself.
I have tested myself together with one of the Sony workshop instructor and we found the SAL50F18 with LA-EA2 have very fast AF!
Ah hao
post Mar 1 2012, 12:40 PM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Mar 1 2012, 12:26 PM)
Don't rely only on those online and hearsay info. better to test and feel it yourself.
I have tested myself together with one of the Sony workshop instructor and we found the SAL50F18 with LA-EA2 have very fast AF!
no intended to buy, so lazy try it out sad.gif

Met the owl again

Old angle and same object = nothing new sweat.gif

Its family

Fail pic, super hard to MF shooting bird flying doh.gif
serewen
post Mar 1 2012, 01:02 PM

Upasaka