180 Pages « < 174 175 176 177 178 > » Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

Jchew57
post Oct 13 2023, 02:47 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 12 2023, 10:09 PM)
i only hobbist photog and only take out camera when i go oversea trip. my last camera SC actually is 5k lmao over 10 yearss  tongue.gif

i cannot advise you anything since i also noob, but i can tell my choices for camera and hopes this can clear your thought... i formerly use nikon since study uni, so i get used with the UI and handling of nikon.
that time was using D70s... then D800 because the first FF camera and 36mp really can lasts really long for crop photo if you shoot trash in frame, until other camera catch up and your big MP camera actually consider blur and not sharp that time, now i downgrade technically to 24mp nikon z6ii with IBIS for my shaky hands, and better ISO performance. lens also downgrade since i buy package kit lens....

was using 24-70mm F/2.8G the one of the king lens all the time, now use 28-120mm f/4 S since i don't really need bokeh so much on TRIP PHOTOGHRAPHY.... landscape only need bokeh for what  tongue.gif

phone use google pixel 5 because i like how the AI handle the colours better than other android phone, the downside is no better , sharper zoom but i don't need that , walk in front can zoom already.
samsung colour accuracy in low light is crap lol (i think, since i am outdated)
Thanks for the advice, its like an endless rabbit hole.

I checked A6400 then top up a bit get A6600, then top up a bit from A6600 get A6700.. endless rabbit hole lol.

so now, I'm thorn whether to straight jump to A6700 for future proofing.

Agito666
post Oct 13 2023, 03:05 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 13 2023, 02:47 PM)

I checked A6400 then top up a bit get A6600, then top up a bit  from A6600 get A6700.. endless rabbit hole lol.

i roughly check the body, seems like built in stabilizer actually good... at least for me since i don't use flash to take photo, all use ISO for boost up brightness... so a steady hand is a must.
another improvement normally is ISO i guess... other aspect i not sure ... especially each the price differences hmm.gif
Loseeker
post Oct 14 2023, 11:22 AM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 12 2023, 09:57 PM)
okay, i just check the A6600 and A7iii is almost double even after the trade in. My only option is A6400 with Sigma 18-50mm, also another 5 years camera.  How is the Sony 6400?. compared to R50 other then lens selection.

i really like my R50, its very user friend and up-to-date features but the RF lens selection is just...disappointing.
Yes, canon camera are usually very beginner friendly. If you really want to stick to Canon R50, there is a way to do so without costing you a bomb. that is to use adapters and buy old EF lenses. Any camera you buy that was produced in the last 5 years are really good. If the photo is no good, the problems is the user, not the camera.

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 13 2023, 02:47 PM)

I checked A6400 then top up a bit get A6600, then top up a bit  from A6600 get A6700.. endless rabbit hole lol.

That's the beginners mentality, always want future proofing. Just get what you can comfortably affort and invest the rest in getting good lenses. Even A6000 is still good despite it's age. There's a saying in photography world, you date the body but marry the lenses. Because we always change camera bodies but once you got good lenses, they stays.

If I were you, I will get the cheapest body, play with it and get familiar with using a dedicated camera first. Get your feet wet and know your stuff, only then you can decide later if you need those features that comes with latest camera. The A6400 is really best value for money camera body in my opinion.

And lastly, forget about future proofing, it is one of the most useless concept to apply to photography gears. Future proofing only make sense when you are buying computer/laptop because with new operating system, your hardware might not be fast enough to support it. As for the camera you purchase today, it won't suddenly slow down or stop working just because there are new camera came to the market.

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Oct 14 2023, 01:47 PM
Jchew57
post Oct 16 2023, 10:25 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Oct 14 2023, 11:22 AM)
Yes, canon camera are usually very beginner friendly. If you really want to stick to Canon R50, there is a way to do so without costing you a bomb. that is to use adapters and buy old EF lenses. Any camera you buy that was produced in the last 5 years are really good. If the photo is no good, the problems is the user, not the camera.
  That's the beginners mentality, always want future proofing. Just get what you can comfortably affort and invest the rest in getting good lenses. Even A6000 is still good  despite it's age. There's a saying in photography world, you date the body but marry the lenses. Because we always change camera bodies but once you got good lenses, they stays.
If I were you, I will get the cheapest body, play with it and get familiar with using a dedicated camera first. Get your feet wet and know your stuff, only then you can decide later if you need those features that comes with latest camera. The A6400 is really best value for money camera body in my opinion.

And lastly, forget about future proofing, it is one of the most useless concept to apply to photography gears. Future proofing only make sense when you are buying computer/laptop because with new operating system, your hardware might not be fast enough to support it. As for the camera you purchase today, it won't suddenly slow down or stop working just because there are new camera came to the market.
I bought an a6400 with sigma 18-50mm f2.8. So far, very happy with it.

It’s compact… clean edges. Just that the Sony interface is definitely more “pening”

Below is a shot with a6400 with sigma 18-50mm.

This post has been edited by Jchew57: Oct 16 2023, 11:02 AM
Loseeker
post Oct 16 2023, 04:51 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 16 2023, 10:25 AM)
I bought an a6400 with sigma 18-50mm f2.8. So far, very  happy with it.
It’s compact… clean edges. Just that the Sony interface is definitely more “pening”

Below is a shot with a6400 with sigma 18-50mm.

Very nice bro ! That is one of the best combo for the price. Your color grading is very nice. Doesn't look like a beginner to me at all.
Jchew57
post Oct 18 2023, 04:23 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Oct 16 2023, 04:51 PM)
Very nice bro ! That is one of the best combo for the price. Your color grading is very nice. Doesn't look like a beginner to me at all.
tq tq, you are too kind. people on Reddit say otherwise lol.

Agito666
post Oct 18 2023, 04:41 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 18 2023, 04:23 PM)
huh what does they said, i also don't see anything bad, maybe crop a little so the center focus can take more spot there...maybe... laugh.gif
it still good shot i guess.
Loseeker
post Oct 18 2023, 06:48 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 18 2023, 04:23 PM)
Composition is a bit off for my liking, but the color tone is very nice.
throwawayacclmao
post Oct 19 2023, 12:35 AM

39 posts

I was recently considering to get a6400 to start learning..then i realized I have an old canon eos60d + 24-105mm lens lying around, gift from passed away relatives..
Been trying to learn the basic and so far its quite interesting.. I feel it produced nicer pic than my ip14 pro (but what do I know lol).

Is the lens I have good enough for travel photography? Mainly landscape/still humans portrait.
Or should I also consider EF 50mm 1.8 for easier portability?
Agito666
post Oct 19 2023, 12:37 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(throwawayacclmao @ Oct 19 2023, 12:35 AM)
I was recently considering to get a6400 to start learning..then i realized I have an old canon eos60d + 24-105mm lens lying around, gift from passed away relatives..
Been trying to learn the basic and so far its quite interesting.. I feel it produced nicer pic than my ip14 pro (but what do I know lol).

Is the lens I have good enough for travel photography? Mainly landscape/still humans portrait.
Or should I also consider EF 50mm 1.8 for easier portability?
just use it first until you feel the current lens not enough then you buy, now telling you buy sure you maybe regret later like my dad told me get 70-300 lens for bird shooting in the end i stick back 24-70 only

also normally older tech camera lose to ISO performance only, phone camera normally lose to bokeh due to smaller sensor without AI bokeh.

This post has been edited by Agito666: Oct 19 2023, 12:38 AM
jonlim
post Oct 19 2023, 04:12 PM

20 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Sony A7cii
Budget:
Your Location: UK/KL
Preferable brand : Sony mirrorless full frame
Type of photography u want to do : travel photography
Any specific models in mind? : Sony A7cii
Any specific features u want? : I just want to know if anyone has experienced buying a camera cheaper in KL and if they offer international warranty in UK? Anything I should be aware of because the price difference is significant.
Jchew57
post Oct 20 2023, 12:20 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Oct 18 2023, 06:48 PM)
Composition is a bit off for my liking, but the color tone is very nice.
thanks again for the kind words. I'm unsure if here is the right place to post since the other threads are inactive.

Anyways, what type of filter i can use for high-noon (12 pm - 3 pm) shooting? I did some research and some said that ND filters don't help during high-noon shooting while some said they can.

if yes, what is the recommended Stops for ND filter?. I'm thinking of getting variable ND filter (ND2 to ND400)

This post has been edited by Jchew57: Oct 20 2023, 12:21 PM
Jchew57
post Oct 20 2023, 12:20 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 18 2023, 04:41 PM)
huh what does they said, i also don't see anything bad, maybe crop a little so the center focus can take more spot there...maybe...  laugh.gif
it still good shot i guess.
thank you for your kind words. really appreciate it.
Lego Warfare
post Oct 20 2023, 12:45 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 20 2023, 12:20 PM)
Anyways, what type of filter i can use for high-noon (12 pm - 3 pm) shooting? I did some research and some said that ND filters don't help during high-noon shooting while some said they can.

if yes, what is the recommended Stops for ND filter?. I'm thinking of getting variable ND filter (ND2 to ND400)
That depends on what is your aim for using ND filters in high noon? To get the motion blur to smoothen water effect? Or just normal portraits under the sun using wide aperture to get bokeh?

Also beware that Variable NDs usually have issues like vignetting, colour cast & cross polarization. This is more apparent in cheap variable NDs. And good ones e.g. NiSi are really expensive, at least RM1k+
other alternatives are Hoya & B+W which are 'cheaper' depending on the filter size

This post has been edited by Lego Warfare: Oct 20 2023, 01:02 PM
Jchew57
post Oct 20 2023, 02:18 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 20 2023, 12:45 PM)
That depends on what is your aim for using ND filters in high noon? To get the motion blur to smoothen water effect? Or just normal portraits under the sun using wide aperture to get bokeh?

Also beware that Variable NDs usually have issues like vignetting, colour cast & cross polarization. This is more apparent in cheap variable NDs. And good ones e.g. NiSi are really expensive, at least RM1k+
other alternatives are Hoya & B+W which are 'cheaper' depending on the filter size
Ah, forgot to mention. I would say street architecture with some mixture of street photography (people).

Thanks for the insight for cheap variable NDs. How about JJC variable ND filters?
Lego Warfare
post Oct 20 2023, 04:24 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 20 2023, 02:18 PM)
Ah, forgot to mention. I would say street architecture with some mixture of street photography (people).

Thanks for the insight for cheap variable NDs. How about JJC variable ND filters?
3 stops is enough for street photography, if you go landscape you'll go at least 6 stops.
JJC filters are ok, but no idea about their Variable NDs though since I only use fixed NDs.
Loseeker
post Oct 20 2023, 06:39 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 20 2023, 02:18 PM)

I haven't really use an variable ND filter before, but have been eyeing for one for quite awhile. As a matter of fact, it went to my shopee shopping cart for a few times but never pull the trigger. The one that is affordable and yet has good reputation is the K&F concept variable nd....but to be honest, due to what lego warfare said about the shortcoming,I'm not too keen about them and just use high speed sync instead.

By the way, are you sure you need ND filters? As you said you're doing architecture and street photoshoot, i would think CPL filter is more useful to you than the ND.... hmm.gif
Jchew57
post Oct 23 2023, 10:23 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Oct 20 2023, 06:39 PM)
I haven't really use an variable ND filter before, but have been eyeing for one for quite awhile. As a matter of fact, it went to my shopee shopping cart for a few times but never pull the trigger. The one that is affordable and yet has good reputation is the K&F concept variable nd....but to be honest, due to what lego warfare said about the shortcoming,I'm not too keen about them and just use high speed sync instead.

By the way, are you sure you need ND filters? As you said you're doing architecture and street photoshoot, i would think CPL filter is more useful to you than the ND.... hmm.gif
Actually, i noticed my shooting skill is not up to the level to use ND/CPL filters. i went to shoot a few during high noon and noticed my creativity and composition still need a lot of work. I doubt any filters can help me with that.

So, i might put it into the wishlist first.

Anyways, after getting 18-50mm F2.8 sigma, what do you recommend for the next lens? I'm beginning to focus on one genre such as street photography and sports (mountain bike)
Agito666
post Oct 23 2023, 10:32 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 23 2023, 10:23 AM)
Actually, i noticed my shooting skill is not up to the level to use ND/CPL filters. i went to shoot a few during high noon and noticed my creativity and composition still need a lot of work. I doubt any filters can help me with that.

Anyways, after getting 18-50mm F2.8 sigma, what do you recommend for the next lens? I'm beginning to focus on one genre such as street photography and sports (mountain bike)
i no use filter, UV all the way.... also i never shoot in that harsh moment XD but if trip and the place you will never visit there before, then you maybe need grab ND filter for better shoot or else like me...

PHOTOSHOP on RAW files haha tongue.gif
might able save picture a bit

you will need a viable zoom for sport for sure just i don't know which one, heard in nikon forum that you need long range zoom for F1 sepang stuff there, no need big aperture also can since that one you snap in noon.... mountain bike i really not sure what you need.

This post has been edited by Agito666: Oct 23 2023, 10:33 AM
Loseeker
post Oct 23 2023, 03:05 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Oct 23 2023, 10:23 AM)

The 18-50 f2.8 sigma is one of the best lens for street. Just one advice, try to restrict yourself to using 24mm or the 35mm focal length ONLY when you are doing street. If helps to train your photographic vision.

As for sport, you will need something telephoto. Depending on your budget, you may look at Tamron 70-180, Sony FE 70-200 F4, Sony FE 70-200 f2.8 GM.

180 Pages « < 174 175 176 177 178 > » Top

0.0420sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:02 AM