Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

Matchy
post May 23 2024, 08:30 AM

1,327 posts

Between DJI osmo pocket 3 and insta360 x3, which one more suitable for travel vlog? (Not really vlogging, but on capturing the footage for memories)

The x3 no need to worry about missed framing, but video quality the pocket 3 is better.
TWBrain24
post Nov 15 2024, 12:10 PM

24 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : mirrorless (used)
Budget: <RM2000
Your Location: Selangor
Preferable brand : I'm open to any brand
Type of photography u want to do : scenery (I like taking pictures of the clouds) , travelling, family photos
Any specific models in mind? : olympus omd em10 mark ii (I like the retro look )
Any specific features u want? : I like using the viewfinder, while browsing notice that some mirrorless does not have viewfinder I want one that HAVE it.

Now that I have steady income, would like to get back to one of my interest and buy my own camera. I have taken picture for small school events before and borrow the school dslr. But while surveying at a shop, the seller recommend to buy mirrorless instead of dslr. They also say Nikon is harder to get parts in Malaysia? (is this true?) and recommend Canon or Sony instead.
Went googling (some links below) for best mirrorless in 2024
- https://www.techradar.com/news/best-mirrorless-camera
- https://www.digitalcameraworld.com/buying-g...rrorless-camera
- https://www.pcmag.com/picks/the-best-slr-an...s-for-beginners

I try survey some used ones based on the links in shopee and find the olympus omd em10 mark ii for RM 1300+ (body only) from japan. Question is :
- what lens is suitable for it?
- is olympus parts easy to get and repair in case anything happen?
- should I survey more? if yes, any specific model I should look for?
john72
post Nov 20 2024, 08:32 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(TWBrain24 @ Nov 15 2024, 12:10 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  mirrorless (used)
Budget: <RM2000
Your Location: Selangor
Preferable brand :  I'm open to any brand
Type of photography u want to do :  scenery (I like taking pictures of the clouds) , travelling, family photos
Any specific models in mind? :  olympus omd em10 mark ii (I like the retro look )
Any specific features u want? :  I like using the viewfinder, while browsing notice that some mirrorless does not have viewfinder I want one that HAVE it.

Now that I have steady income, would like to get back to one of my interest and buy my own camera. I have taken picture for small school events before and borrow the school dslr. But while surveying at a shop, the seller recommend to buy mirrorless instead of dslr. They also say Nikon is harder to get parts in Malaysia? (is this true?) and recommend Canon or Sony instead.
Went googling (some links below) for best mirrorless in 2024
- https://www.techradar.com/news/best-mirrorless-camera 
- https://www.digitalcameraworld.com/buying-g...rrorless-camera
- https://www.pcmag.com/picks/the-best-slr-an...s-for-beginners

I try survey some used ones based on the links in shopee and find the olympus omd em10 mark ii for RM 1300+ (body only) from japan. Question is :
- what lens is suitable for it?
- is olympus parts easy to get and repair in case anything happen?
- should I survey more? if yes, any specific model I should look for?
just share a few links that i often use to survey used camera gears
https://www.kldslr.com/Used-List
https://www.ylcamera.com.my/product/categor...?sort=title-asc

and carousell

Dont really recommend micro 4/3 or olympus omd system. Dont really have much advantage over larger sensor camera.

It really depends on what is ur priority. For ur budget
good image quality but heavy= Used full frame DSLR from canon or nikon
less image quality but lighter = used APSC mirrorless from Sony, maybe canon (canon mirrorless lens are not budget friendly at all), etc.
TWBrain24
post Nov 24 2024, 11:53 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(john72 @ Nov 20 2024, 08:32 AM)
just share a few links that i often use to survey used camera gears
https://www.kldslr.com/Used-List
https://www.ylcamera.com.my/product/categor...?sort=title-asc

and carousell
Dont really recommend micro 4/3 or olympus omd system. Dont really have much advantage over larger sensor camera.

It really depends on what is ur priority. For ur budget
good image quality but heavy= Used full frame DSLR from canon or nikon
less image quality but lighter = used APSC mirrorless from Sony, maybe canon (canon mirrorless lens are not budget friendly at all), etc.
Thank you for the links! I will do more survey before buying one. Also will try to learn more about the camera sensor. I just thought since I'm still beginner I should start small and go from there. hence the micro 4/3. Since its lighter, thought I can make a habit of taking pictures anywhere and everywhere to learn while taking more pictures. But recently found out that the olympus battery are not really long lasting (based on more online article of course). So yea, I guess more survey and research to be done before I just went blindly and spent money without thinking sweat.gif
darosk
post Dec 11 2024, 12:12 PM

95 posts

Hi guys, I stepped out of photography hobby more than 10 years ago.

I have a different sort of question (if I'm posting in the wrong place, pls forgive 🙏🏼)

Back in those days I used to go to places like YL Pudu to test out different new models in my hands. Reason is I place more important on the feeling of the camera and handling with my own hands rather than spec sheet or what reviewer says (because reviewer hands and preferences are not the same as mine 😅).

These days where is a good real shop that I can go and handle/test many different models and brands of camera In KL/Selangor or nearby? I'm not fanboys of any particular brand - but after more than a decade I don't know how the feeling of all the new cameras would be, that's why I need to hold it for myself.

TIA
Loseeker
post Dec 11 2024, 07:54 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(darosk @ Dec 11 2024, 12:12 PM)
Hi guys, I stepped out of photography hobby more than 10 years ago.

I have a different sort of question (if I'm posting in the wrong place, pls forgive 🙏🏼)

Back in those days I used to go to places like YL Pudu to test out different new models in my hands. Reason is I place more important on the feeling of the camera and handling with my own hands rather than spec sheet or what reviewer says (because reviewer hands and preferences are not the same as mine 😅).

These days where is a good real shop that I can go and handle/test many different models and brands of camera In KL/Selangor or nearby? I'm not fanboys of any particular brand - but after more than a decade I don't know how the feeling of all the new cameras would be, that's why I need to hold it for myself.

TIA
One of the best place for you to try out is Berjaya Time square. There are plenty of shops that sells camera such as Altech, ecocamera trader, SCCc camera. You can even go to sungai wang, I think there are anothe few that are also quite trust worthy such as kengdim and camworld to try them out.

As for Acce camera.....you might want to be extremely careful if you decide to deal with them.
darosk
post Dec 12 2024, 01:44 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Dec 11 2024, 07:54 PM)
One of the best place for you to try out is Berjaya Time square. There are plenty of shops that sells camera such as Altech, ecocamera trader, SCCc camera. You can even go to sungai wang, I think there are anothe few that are also quite trust worthy such as kengdim and camworld to try them out.

As for Acce camera.....you might want to be extremely careful if you decide to deal with them.

OK thanks for the recommend. Conveniently they are all located quite nearby each other 👍
z800r
post Mar 26 2025, 01:20 PM

398 posts

Hi. What is the most affordable / good pick of full frame camera nowadays? Doesnt matter dslr or mirrorless.

Looking for full frame + either 17- 70 or 24-70 or 18-55 range lens f2.8 or f4 if possible. Budget below 8k

ridox_orimabu
post Apr 16 2025, 06:58 AM

Rightly Guided Leadership
1,872 posts

hey guys , im looking for compact cam for macro photography. Its indoor setting. Any good one to recommend? or dslr fits more? my budget is 2-3k

Thanks!
vimaa94
post May 5 2025, 01:00 PM

49 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Beginner friendly mirrorless camera
Budget: : RM5k-6k (including kitlens)
Your Location: Klang Valley
Preferable brand : Open to try out any brands, no specific brand preferences
Type of photography u want to do : Street, Nature, Travel, Urban Architecture, Abstract, Sunset/Sunrise
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon Z50 II has been on my radar due to favorable reviews. But im open to any other models with similar spec/price range.
Any specific features u want? : Nothing in particular but preferably compact & lightweight mirrorless camera would be ideal as i'm planning to use it for travel trips. Also easy compatibility with smartphone/laptop as i often share my content via social media.

Dear all, i've always had a soft spot passion for photography (not professional, just casual point & shoot). After years of using iPhone & Pixel phone as my primary device, finally i would like to venture into actual photography world & would into an proper camera, preferably mirrorless. This would be my first ever camera & im looking for a beginner friendly device that would allow me to learn the basics while being capable camera for long term before planning to make upgrade later, maybe after couple of years.

I randomly came across the recently launched Nikon Z50 II which seems just about the right size for travelling & reviews are not bad as well. Seeking some advise from sifu's here for guidance on my first ever camera. Truly appreciate any form of advice & I do apologize in advance if this post is inadequate, still a newbie but im ready to learn the trait. Thank you all! smile.gif

- Besides Nikon Z50 II, are there any other similar beginner friendly models that's worth a shoutout? Preferably in the similar bracket (price, availability, etc..). I'm open for other recommendations as well.
- If im going ahead with the Nikon Z50 II, shall i get both the kitlens (NIKKOR Z DX 16-50mm Lens & NIKKOR Z DX 50-250mm Lens). Alternatively, are there any other lens that is worth investing?
- Before getting the camera, are there any accessories/products that i should invest first in standby ? (lens storage, memory card, cleaner etc..)
- Any trusted & recommended retail stores in Klang Valley region ? Prefer to walk in store instead of buying online. Few of my colleagues recommended KLDSLR store but haven't surveyed yet.
- Are there any photography clubs for knowledge sharing or meetup sessions ? Would be keen to participate to gain more insight knowledge in photography and upskill myself on the hands-on experience.
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 27 2025, 07:07 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(vimaa94 @ May 5 2025, 01:00 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Beginner friendly mirrorless camera
Budget: : RM5k-6k (including kitlens)
Your Location:   Klang Valley
Preferable brand :  Open to try out any brands, no specific brand preferences
Type of photography u want to do :  Street, Nature, Travel, Urban Architecture, Abstract, Sunset/Sunrise
Any specific models in mind? :  Nikon Z50 II has been on my radar due to favorable reviews. But im open to any other models with similar spec/price range.
Any specific features u want? :  Nothing in particular but preferably compact & lightweight mirrorless camera would be ideal as i'm planning to use it for travel trips. Also easy compatibility with smartphone/laptop as i often share my content via social media.

Dear all, i've always had a soft spot passion for photography (not professional, just casual point & shoot). After years of using iPhone & Pixel phone as my primary device, finally i would like to venture into actual photography world & would into an proper camera, preferably mirrorless. This would be my first ever camera & im looking for a beginner friendly device that would allow me to learn the basics while being capable camera for long term before planning to make upgrade later, maybe after couple of years.

I randomly came across the recently launched Nikon Z50 II which seems just about the right size for travelling & reviews are not bad as well. Seeking some advise from sifu's here for guidance on my first ever camera. Truly appreciate any form of advice & I do apologize in advance if this post is inadequate, still a newbie but im ready to learn the trait. Thank you all! smile.gif

- Besides Nikon Z50 II, are there any other similar beginner friendly models that's worth a shoutout? Preferably in the similar bracket (price, availability, etc..). I'm open for other recommendations as well.
- If im going ahead with the Nikon Z50 II, shall i get both the kitlens (NIKKOR Z DX 16-50mm Lens & NIKKOR Z DX 50-250mm Lens). Alternatively, are there any other lens that is worth investing?
- Before getting the camera, are there any accessories/products that i should invest first in standby ? (lens storage, memory card, cleaner etc..)
- Any trusted & recommended retail stores in Klang Valley region ? Prefer to walk in store instead of buying online. Few of my colleagues recommended KLDSLR store but haven't surveyed yet.
- Are there any photography clubs for knowledge sharing or meetup sessions ? Would be keen to participate to gain more insight knowledge in photography and upskill myself on the hands-on experience.
This sub-forum is kinda dead, if you need any recommendation, better go ask in Reddit.

Since you are writing so long but getting no response, I will try to help a bit.

1. Nikon Z50 II is a suitable choice based on your intended photography usage. Just that it doesn't have in-body image stabilization, it relies on lens image stabilization. Not a deal breaker for current image sensor tech since can raise ISO up.

2. You don't need both kit lenses to start. NIKKOR Z DX 50-250mm kit lens will be very low usage because small aperture.
- New Body + New 16-50mm kit lens
- New Body + Used 16-50mm kit lens

which option cheaper then go with which option.

For beginner, don't treat 16-50mm kit lens as a 3X zoom lens
you treat it as a small aperture multiple focal length prime lens
you can try shoot as many photo as you could by different focal length first before invest into the prime lens with focal length u liked most.
i recommend you try shooting with these focal lengths with the 16-50mm kit lens first
- 16mm (24mm equivalent)
- 18 or 19mm (around 28mm equivalent)
- 23 or 24mm (around 35mm equivalent)
- 27mm (around 40mm equivalent)
- 33 or 34mm (around 50mm equivalent)
- 50mm (75mm equivalent)
try only use 1 focal length for each photography session when practice.

then u can see from your album, which focal lengths you like most, by that time you know which prime lens to invest.

for normal point and shoot, i will recommend getting a fast prime

you could look from nikkor lens, or 3rd party lens like sigma, ttartisan, 7artisan, viltrox...etc.

3. Do you have any basic photography knowledge? Else that's quite a lot of thing to learn from the start.
the most basic 3 things i think every beginner should master first:
- the exposure trio: shutter speed, aperture, ISO
- autofocus and manual focus
- focal length (perspective, depth of field)

4. Accesories wise don't need to spend a lot, what you just need are:
- ziplock bag + desiccant are enough
- memory card buy those with HIGH WRITE SPEED. HIGH WRITE SPEED ya, not high read speed.
- uv or cpl filter if you don't like to use lens cap
- at least 1 extra battery

5. For meetup sessions maybe you can go look for fb group like FJM Street Photography Malaysia.
For portrait photography maybe can start to attend those public cosplay event first.

6. Any other model recommendation for mirrorless camera? Hard to recommend nowadays.
- Fujifilm? Most of their new models are way overpriced. If you manage to get good price, it's ok to consider their brand.
- Sony? If you consider full-frame camera then you can consider. I recommend you go to try to operate the camera in-store first, some ppl might not like its menu and handling logic.
- Canon? I would rather to choose Nikon, but that's just my personal opinion.
- Nikon? The Z50 II you mentioned is good for beginner already.

No camera is perfect, don't look around again after your purchase and keep shooting. Later you will realize why ppl stick to a brand for long time is just because of the particular lens(es) he/she likes.

Enjoy your photography journey.

0.0163sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:01 PM