QUOTE(QiAnG @ Jan 25 2012, 12:56 PM)
Hello hello. I'm planning to upgrade into a Dslr and have currently a used d80 + 50 1.8 or new d3100 in mind as my budget is around 1.6k.
So wanna have an advice here from all sifu that is the larger pentaprism virwfinder, autofocus motor, dual dial of d80 worth it over the lack of live view and cmos sensor of the d3100?
I'm planning to venture more into high magnification macro photography. Thanks all!
Yes, D3100 lacks of a autofocus motor but if you can always get G lenses to pair with it in the future. Besides it has a much(?) better ISO performance, bigger MP count, FULL HD video recording,etc
If I were you I'd go with the latest tech, save up a bit and get a 50 f/1.8G or 35f/1.8G lens

You could also ask Nikonians in the dedicated thread for better answers though

QUOTE(elairvent @ Jan 25 2012, 05:44 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: RM2600 (with kitlens)
Your Location: Terengganu
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : HDR, landscape, wedding
Any specific models in mind? : Canon 600D or D90 or D5100
Any specific features u want? : user-friendly
having used 1000D before..easy to use..i like canon but i love nikon..

Just bear in mind that D5100 lacks a AF motor meaning you can only get Auto Focus by pairing it with only G lenses...
D5100 has newer tech compared to D90 which are better sensor, better metering(?), better ISO performance, flippy screen and perhaps a higher reso screen(?)
600D should perform similarly as the 2 Nikon models above...
Anyway, for weddings, you might want to allocate some funds for a flashgun which is crucial for indoor shots. Fast lenses are also recommended to get a quick AF lock..
p/s: D90 with kit lens for RM2.6k?
This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jan 25 2012, 10:07 PM