127 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

TSFluidicSculpture
post Jan 21 2012, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 21 2012, 12:06 PM)
I see a lot salesman talk n bring other car down again...  Typical...  SD give training in such a way?
During my training we were able to compare several cars with the Elantra, specifically, Nissan Sylphy and Honda Civic. Out of the scale of 5, The average points difference between all 3 car was only 0.4 points, now if SD train us to bring down our competitor only, the gap would be significantly bigger. If something is better than the other and we said so, we merely brought our advantage up, not bring our competitor down.

Learn to stomach facts, don't just simply say we're bringing other people down just to compete.

The major problem comes when you undercut your competitors by too much. Take for example the Sonata, since it's priced a good 7-8k cheaper than the Camry/Accord, it now make the gap between d segment and c segment Hyundai narrower, and now everybody is sayiing Elantra being too expensive. I think I mentioned this before, if Elantra undercut the competitors too much, it'll be a problem for HSDM to price the Accent, the whole cycle continues. And I would like to remind everybody again, the cost of Elantra and Forte is different, despite being sister companies or sharing platform.

If anyone is still puzzled by why Elantra can't price the same way as Forte, assuming the Elantra is above 100k for the lowest spec, I would suggest you read back what I said before. Different business, different cost, different way of peddling their products.

I wonder how KIA is going to price their b-segment car if they launch one, at Proton killing price maybe? That is if the government approve that price. Price it too close and it'll kill the Forte, price it too low at Proton's price... wait, that is impposible.

Here's an interesting thing about CKD Hyundai. The parts came with Hyundai logo attached to it, they simply take it out and replace the Inokom badge on it, but seems like logo is a big fuss to many people here.

This post has been edited by FluidicSculpture: Jan 21 2012, 04:54 PM
caddilac
post Jan 21 2012, 04:48 PM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 21 2012, 04:03 PM)
The non t version also Cooper engine meh? 4 speed potong stim wor...

Added on January 21, 2012, 4:04 pmGenerally.. Ckd car are much cheaper compare to it cub sister...  Merc same, BMW same...  But maybe this Elantra no...  Coz award winning mah...  rclxms.gif
Yup the VTi is also from prince family and same as Mini Cooper

Added on January 21, 2012, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 21 2012, 04:42 PM)
Training in terms of comparison. If something is better than the other and we said so, did we bring down other people, or we brought our advantage up?

Learn to stomach facts, don't just simply say we're bringing other people down just to compete. I did say KIA make good cars, but Hyundai simply make better one.

The major problem comes when you undercut your competitors by too much. Take point for example the Sonata, since it's priced a good 7-8k cheaper than the Camry/Accord, it now makes the gap between d segment and c segment Hyundai narrower, and now everybody is sayiing Elantra being too expensive. I think I mentioned this before, if Elantra undercut the competitors too much, it'll be a problem for HSDM to price the Accent, the whole cycle continues.

I wonder how KIA is going to price their b-segment car, at Proton killing price maybe? That is if the government approve that price.
If Elantra can maintain the 7-8k gap with the Jap should be all right but then I think many people will compare the gap with another CKD Jap car which is the Mazda 3, especially the 2.0 is sold at only 120k while the 1.6 only 99k.
By the way I don't think Accent will have the pricing power as Elantra and Sonata because the powertrain of Accent is not ground-breaking at all compared to the two. 1.4 and 1.6 single CVVT with 4 speed automatic seems very common. So I don't think the Accent will be a big seller if it were selling at the same price as Vios and City.
Naza mentioned before that the Rio will be priced at the range of Forte EX between RM70-80k but comes with more feature and is a CBU car. Personally I think Rio is aiming at those people who wanna be a bit special instead of driving some uniform-like car on the road rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by caddilac: Jan 21 2012, 04:58 PM
squall_kay
post Jan 21 2012, 06:29 PM

5,726 posts

forte koup challenger...

koup fully CBU at RM115k, this one should be around that price also....

oh wait, Koup almost RM18k more than normal 2.0 forte, thus that means this Elantra Coupe will be at RM132k if ever come to malaysia?? shocking.gif hmm.gif

Source: Autoblog
ezu_din
post Jan 21 2012, 06:55 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 21 2012, 06:29 PM)
forte koup challenger...

koup fully CBU at RM115k, this one should be around that price also....

oh wait, Koup almost RM18k more than normal 2.0 forte, thus that means this Elantra Coupe will be at RM132k if ever come to malaysia??  shocking.gif  hmm.gif
Source: Autoblog
nice comparison...lol
hmm.gif
BuFung
post Jan 21 2012, 07:09 PM

8,407 posts

During my training we were able to compare several cars with the Elantra, specifically, Nissan Sylphy and Honda Civic. Out of the scale of 5, The average points difference between all 3 car was only 0.4 points, now if SD train us to bring down our competitor only, the gap would be significantly bigger. If something is better than the other and we said so, we merely brought our advantage up, not bring our competitor down.

Learn to stomach facts, don't just simply say we're bringing other people down just to compete.

The major problem comes when you undercut your competitors by too much. Take for example the Sonata, since it's priced a good 7-8k cheaper than the Camry/Accord, it now make the gap between d segment and c segment Hyundai narrower, and now everybody is sayiing Elantra being too expensive. I think I mentioned this before, if Elantra undercut the competitors too much, it'll be a problem for HSDM to price the Accent, the whole cycle continues. And I would like to remind everybody again, the cost of Elantra and Forte is different, despite being sister companies or sharing platform.

If anyone is still puzzled by why Elantra can't price the same way as Forte, assuming the Elantra is above 100k for the lowest spec, I would suggest you read back what I said before. Different business, different cost, different way of peddling their products.

I wonder how KIA is going to price their b-segment car if they launch one, at Proton killing price maybe? That is if the government approve that price. Price it too close and it'll kill the Forte, price it too low at Proton's price... wait, that is impposible.

Here's an interesting thing about CKD Hyundai. The parts came with Hyundai logo attached to it, they simply take it out and replace the Inokom badge on it, but seems like logo is a big fuss to many people here.
First u said the margin are too slim until can't cut.. Then u said if price like forte how to price the b segment.... Meaning?

Beside, if price like forte.. And the new accent can price like current accent, I don't see any conflict there... How government approve the current accent price? Some more government don't have to look after p1 ass now...
squall_kay
post Jan 21 2012, 07:33 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 21 2012, 07:09 PM)
First u said the margin are too slim until can't cut..  Then u said if price like forte how to price the b segment....  Meaning?
he mentioned it as "IF" smile.gif
ngweichoong
post Jan 22 2012, 07:29 AM

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 21 2012, 05:42 PM)

The spec definitely is higher than T or H, but it doesn't means the quality is good. A lot of previous Hyundai customer even i10 struggle with spare part, bad SC...
Although T and H occasionally also have the same problem , but the Hyundai reputation is still worse than T and H. No doubt , Hyundai design technology progress advance this few year but yet no prove the car quality is same as T and H. For me , i prefer pick the new car give me less problem rather than high technology but with fault intermittent. In fact, i'm also one of the people who waiting the new elantra as my Iswara has been used for 13 years. But since the elantra price is same/higher than H, i will chose civic. Just because the market perception for Hyundai quality is still bad, i don't want to take the higher risk to get the problematic car. Also, although Hyundai car now come with high technology, but look like the SC, Spare Part management still unable to fulfill this requirement.

sonyman
post Jan 22 2012, 11:02 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(ngweichoong @ Jan 22 2012, 07:29 AM)
The spec definitely is higher than T or H, but it doesn't means the quality is good. A lot of previous Hyundai customer even i10 struggle with spare part, bad SC...
Although T and H occasionally also have the same problem , but the Hyundai reputation is still worse than T and H. No doubt , Hyundai design technology progress advance this few year but yet no prove the car quality is same as T and H. For me , i prefer pick the new car give me less problem rather than high technology but with fault intermittent. In fact, i'm also one of the people who waiting the new elantra as my Iswara has been used for 13 years. But since the elantra price is same/higher than H, i will chose civic. Just because the market perception for Hyundai quality is still bad, i don't want to take the higher risk to get the problematic car. Also, although Hyundai car now come with high technology, but look like the SC, Spare Part management still unable to fulfill this requirement.
dont worry, you can always choose civic, those who discuss here loves the Elantra, it looks nice. modern, wait civic new one come, dont know you like the big ass shape a not? anyway market perception is important if you mr Ng believe it is important. otherwise it don't make difference. if you are afraid, always choose something you and your friends can share the problem with. at least you are not left alone when you have a problem. Otherwise you will cry in the corner alone.

If you op to try something different, well then Elantra will be something to think of. maybe to even take a look.
lunchtime
post Jan 22 2012, 01:49 PM

487 posts

No one is putting a gun to your head on the Hyundai.
Madgeiser
post Jan 22 2012, 03:11 PM

433 posts

Good for you. Go Civic then. smile.gif
xVince
post Jan 22 2012, 03:45 PM

87 posts

About quality, you're really one to talk when the car haven't even launch yet. Just go for the Civic then, you won't go wrong.
kekura
post Jan 22 2012, 08:00 PM

322 posts

Car sales up as many rush to buy before CNY

"PETALING JAYA: It's old wheels for new as the Chinese usher in the Year of the Dragon. This is the time when many trade in their cars for new models, while first-time buyers among the Chinese also target their purchases in time for Chinese New Year. Several car companies reported brisk sales, with some salesmen running out of stock due to overwhelming demand.
Sales pick up: Sales adviser Ahmad Shahrul Nazmi attending a customer at a car showroom in Bangsar Saturday.

Ecstatic car owner Kingston Chua, 34, who just inked a deal for his new Kia Forte, said it would be the “perfect Chinese New Year present”. “I wanted it for Christmas but the timing worked out better this way. I figured 2012 is the time for me to upgrade to a new car,” said the interior designer. Naza Group joint group executive chairman SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin said sales were up and there was an increase in showroom traffic due to the introduction of new models. “Customers have been booking in advance to get their cars out in time for Chinese New Year,” he said.

He said customers were showing marked interest in the new Optima, Sportage and Sorento for Kia models while the Peugeot 308 was also a strong seller. Proton Holdings Bhd reported that sales were up by 10%. “The new Exora is fast becoming a preferred choice for consumers in the multi-purpose vehicle (MPV) segment while the Proton Saga has always been the best selling model due to its price and package,” a company official said. Proton assured customers that it has sufficient stock to meet demand over the festive period. Honda Malaysia also reported an increase in sales.

“Customers want to own a brand new car and enjoy it with their family members during the festive season,” an official said, adding that customers also preferred cars registered in 2012 as the resale value would be better. It said its Insight Hybrid model was a best-seller among “green- minded” customers. A UMW Toyota salesman at the SS19 showroom said there was no more stock for the Camry, Altis, Vios and Hilux models."

Hyundai missed the boat probably because of its 'too-many-demand-but-too-little-supply' issue, and they also find it cool to delay indefinitely biggrin.gif. My bad, i dont know the reason behind it, so i should just keep quiet.
- L e O -
post Jan 22 2012, 08:39 PM

No Music No Life
1,995 posts

No point fighting the raging elentra fans here cause of the estimated price will be higher than what they expected. I can see SD's strategy here, hyundai is a worldwide top car manufacturer as of this era, SD has tasted success through the high demand sales of the sonata, so now they are quite sure that they are able to close the gap between jap and korean cars in malaysia mindset, by pricing it higher, and with the success of sonata, they are trying to change malaysian mindset that korean (atleast for hyundai) are no longer the cheap cars we used to have in our mindset.

For elentra buyers, they will get the good looks/design, a modern engine for the 1.8, and enjoy a slightly lower price than the JAP cars, but the risk is, as like all other korean cars at the moment, is the resale value few years down the road, and the spare parts cost and availability, but that is a risk the buyers must take if they love this elentra so much.

Nough said, just wait for the launch, no use debating here when nothing has been finalized yet. test drive the car and see if its worth your money, else just buzz off and get another alternative car, i'm pretty sure we have alot of choices for cars as compared to 3-5 years ago. Proton Tuah looks promising too, with 1.6 CFE turbo and 7 speed CVT, its getting interesting here for year 2012. smile.gif
TSFluidicSculpture
post Jan 22 2012, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 21 2012, 07:09 PM)
First u said the margin are too slim until can't cut..  Then u said if price like forte how to price the b segment....  Meaning?

Beside, if price like forte.. And the new accent can price like current accent, I don't see any conflict there... How government approve the current accent price?  Some more government don't have to look after p1 ass now...
I am giving several possibility as we do not know the official pricing yet. As I was saying, if Elantra is priced sub-100k, it'll create an headache when the Accent is being priced.

If the current assumption that the Elantra is going to be priced close to the Sonata, that's the obvious example the Accent will face in the future.

Government still has it's hand on Proton, Khazanah has stakes in DRB-Hicom, albeit a smaller one. Khazanah has stakes in a lot of foreign car brand so why are they still trying to keep Proton afloat? In an ordinary sense it doesn't make sense at all right? Your guess is as good as mine. BTW Sime Darby is a GLC as well.

QUOTE(kekura @ Jan 22 2012, 08:00 PM)
Hyundai missed the boat probably because of its 'too-many-demand-but-too-little-supply' issue, and they also find it cool to delay indefinitely biggrin.gif. My bad, i dont know the reason behind it, so i should just keep quiet.
They have a good reason to launch it after CNY.

- Car can be endorsed as 2012 manufacturing date car.
- Chinese new year rush can cause delay in delivery, causing a lot of customer not able to get their car for Chinese New Year.

Chinese new year rush is a real thing, as you can see in the reports, and many bank officer worked on the 21st as well.

QUOTE(- L e O - @ Jan 22 2012, 08:39 PM)
No point fighting the raging elentra fans here cause of the estimated price will be higher than what they expected. I can see SD's strategy here, hyundai is a worldwide top car manufacturer as of this era, SD has tasted success through the high demand sales of the sonata, so now they are quite sure that they are able to close the gap between jap and korean cars in malaysia mindset, by pricing it higher, and with the success of sonata, they are trying to change malaysian mindset that korean (atleast for hyundai) are no longer the cheap cars we used to have in our mindset.
There are people saying the 'high supply-low demand = low sales' as a 'failure' because it doesn't reflect in actual sales. whistling.gif

Last post for this week, gonna enjoy my CNY without all the 'professional' stress. Gong Xi Fa Cai LYN'ers

This post has been edited by FluidicSculpture: Jan 22 2012, 11:03 PM
kienu
post Jan 22 2012, 11:19 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Jan 21 2012, 05:48 PM)
Yup the VTi is also from prince family and same as Mini Cooper

Added on January 21, 2012, 4:58 pm
If Elantra can maintain the 7-8k gap with the Jap should be all right but then I think many people will compare the gap with another CKD Jap car which is the Mazda 3, especially the 2.0 is sold at only 120k while the 1.6 only 99k.
By the way I don't think Accent will have the pricing power as Elantra and Sonata because the powertrain of Accent is not ground-breaking at all compared to the two. 1.4 and 1.6 single CVVT with 4 speed automatic seems very common. So I don't think the Accent will be a big seller if it were selling at the same price as Vios and City.
Naza mentioned before that the Rio will be priced at the range of Forte EX between RM70-80k but comes with more feature and is a CBU car. Personally I think Rio is aiming at those people who wanna be a bit special instead of driving some uniform-like car on the road rclxms.gif
bro,

u think the Mazda 3 2.0 is a good car? any feedbacks/input?

gong xi fa chai!
Chongkor
post Jan 23 2012, 02:20 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 22 2012, 10:58 PM)
I am giving several possibility as we do not know the official pricing yet. As I was saying, if Elantra is priced sub-100k, it'll create an headache when the Accent is being priced.

If the current assumption that the Elantra is going to be priced close to the Sonata, that's the obvious example the Accent will face in the future.

Government still has it's hand on Proton, Khazanah has stakes in DRB-Hicom, albeit a smaller one. Khazanah has stakes in a lot of foreign car brand so why are they still trying to keep Proton afloat? In an ordinary sense it doesn't make sense at all right? Your guess is as good as mine. BTW Sime Darby is a GLC as well.
They have a good reason to launch it after CNY.

Why it's related to Accent? By the way no point to kill Elantra's sales just bcoz of Accent, it's not a hot model btw. Anyway from customer point of view this is not a good reason to markup Elantra price.
knight88
post Jan 23 2012, 03:13 AM

QUOTE(Chongkor @ Jan 23 2012, 02:20 AM)
Why it's related to Accent? By the way no point to kill Elantra's sales just bcoz of Accent, it's not a hot model btw. Anyway from customer point of view this is not a good reason to markup Elantra price.
Agree. Sound's like they gonna place an unreasonable price..it gives me 2nd thought to buy the car that I've dreamt for half yr.. maybe go for current civic before the 'big ass' launced.. In customer POV, no much ppl willing to take the risk to afford an Inokom with CBU's price.. their strategy might kill a lot of dreams.. sad.gif
Chongkor
post Jan 23 2012, 10:17 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(knight88 @ Jan 23 2012, 03:13 AM)
Agree. Sound's like they gonna place an unreasonable price..it gives me 2nd thought to buy the car that I've dreamt for half yr.. maybe go for current civic before the 'big ass' launced.. In customer POV, no much ppl willing to take the risk to afford an Inokom with CBU's price.. their strategy might kill a lot of dreams.. sad.gif
The price is reasonable for RM110-RM115 for 1.8 Elantra, but Malaysian mindset when they made comparison there will be higher possibility for them to go for J car for the similar price. Btw i am not the business minded person, so maybe SD got their good strategy and marketing plan. biggrin.gif
kyle_kl
post Jan 23 2012, 10:37 AM

1,057 posts

If the price for 1.8 >110k, i will give up with the bad SD marketing and refund my pre-book then choose forte 2.0 instead...
ericmaxman
post Jan 23 2012, 11:25 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 16 2012, 05:36 PM)
One of the salesman walk past me and mentioned in Cantonese "This guy only came in a Myvi, waste our time only"... but he though I dun understand...

Incidently I drove my wife's Myvi to the showroom...they wanna treat their potential customers like this, why should I give them my money?? shakehead.gif

Btw, I got treated really really well when i followed my fren to Glenmarie BMW showroom...somemore I'm looking only.
hmm.gif

if that's how they treat potential customers, then sorry lah, your money should be spent elsewhere tongue.gif

127 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:20 AM