2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

Madgeiser
post Jan 2 2012, 11:28 PM

433 posts

I am having a real bad feeling that the 1.8 premium spec is gonna be around RM130k. The 1.6 Hi-spec is probably more inline to RM110k....

Hopefully i am wrong.

This post has been edited by Madgeiser: Jan 2 2012, 11:29 PM
Madgeiser
post Jan 3 2012, 07:41 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(Chongkor @ Jan 2 2012, 11:39 PM)
Impossible la bro, how can the price so close to Sonata, anyway C segment car price for H & T is RM110+ k, however Kia Forte 2.0 also in same segment but price is RM 98k, so which standard to follow? I guess lower than both J car and higher than Kia
I hope you are right, else my plan of owning an Elantra will not materialize. tongue.gif
Madgeiser
post Jan 3 2012, 01:04 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(Essilor @ Jan 3 2012, 11:10 AM)
I will buy if below 100k.. which i think.impossible..
QUOTE(jai2005 @ Jan 3 2012, 11:30 AM)
me too  doh.gif
I think the 1.6 Spec should be below RM100k.
Madgeiser
post Jan 3 2012, 04:28 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ Jan 3 2012, 04:05 PM)
Judging from the feedback so far, you may have to start filling up the form already  smile.gif
Or get 1.6 standard spec. biggrin.gif
Madgeiser
post Jan 7 2012, 10:40 AM

433 posts

I can see many in this thread is willing to pay not more than 105-110k for Elantra 1.8. If the price is higher, then no matter how many extra gadget you put inside the car also will not results to a good sales figure.  biggrin.gif
I will have to agree on this also. RM110k is the max i would go for it, anything more, i am better off going for something else. The sweet spot would be around or less than RM105k.

As i said many times, they have improved by leap and bounds, but to price their car too close to a Japanese makes right now, it is a bit too early. Gregy does have some valid point. Part of the reason why Forte was so successful is thanks to it's competitive edge in pricing. It is undercutting similiar segment car about RM10k - 15k.

Reeducation does not happen overnight, for it to work, it has to be introduced slowly for the masses to accept. Bear in mind malaysian market for Korean car still have the perception of inferiority to Japanese make, but i can see this is changing slowly. Give it another year or two and you can probably see Korean and Japanese on par.

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 7 2012, 10:36 AM)
bro,stop complaining at ppl rice bowl biggrin.gif gotta understand where it comes from biggrin.gif

i must say its not easy to fight with the reputation and the fame civic and corolla (altis/camry) is enjoying, they are at 8th generation already. japs car might be cheap, but japs arent stupid. there are stuff that can be copied, and there are stuff that cant be copied smile.gif

but we as consumer has everything to benefit from, so i welcome their challenges to the jap's throne biggrin.gif

and lately, even local car makers are buckling up smile.gif
As much as i hate to admit it, yes even our dear Proton is improving. The latest batch of Saga 1.6 FLX SE is a real piece of work.

This post has been edited by Madgeiser: Jan 7 2012, 10:44 AM
Madgeiser
post Jan 7 2012, 10:54 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 7 2012, 10:47 AM)
sometimes its not just reeducation, its about proving themselves.

we have civics that is as old as 1st generation right here. which is more than 30 years.

its about long term reliability. thats why honda motorcycle is still hot selling, because the 30 years old model is still running on the street, and THAT is advertisement, not some restyling and some hard sell of sweet talkers can do.

looking at the effort japanese had put in, we must respect them, this beyond former audi designer can do.

1. continuous improvement of the car parts and lifetime.
2. investment and involvement in motorsports such as  rally, F1, super GT, which they can learn the knowhow of tuning a car chassis and handling ( thats where UK is excel at, korean i'm not sure)

in short, korean cars need time to prove themselves, but generation x and y are very willing to change, because they do not want to be seen in a car their father's would buy( same fear on iphone now, father using iphone, kids will be more willing to use android)

they need time, more time
True, but looking at the Japanese model of these past decade, i would have to say, they have stagnated somewhat. So is it a good time for other car makers to catch up. When someone has been the king for too long, innovation tends to drizzle out.

The old Hyundai Accent was involved in Rally sport. Not sure how good was the result, maybe someone else in the forum would know?

This post has been edited by Madgeiser: Jan 7 2012, 10:56 AM
Madgeiser
post Jan 7 2012, 11:47 PM

433 posts

Just my personal opinion of what i observe, black and white colored car is a big no no. Unless you have a lot of time for washing car.

I am the lazy type, i want it silver this time. rclxms.gif
Madgeiser
post Jan 8 2012, 12:12 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(SKINMan @ Jan 7 2012, 11:58 PM)
haha, i rajin hire people wash car for me.
hmm... 1 week 1 time enough ?
One week once should be enough for a white car. White car tend to get water dripping dirt once dried, mostly after heavy downpour.
Anyway, hardworking washing will render all these obsolete! rclxms.gif
Madgeiser
post Jan 8 2012, 12:54 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 8 2012, 12:20 AM)
Metal part is easy, wash and it comes off easily, good luck with plastic and fibre parts like bumper, the longer you leave the stain on it, the harder it is to come off later on and you can never get a perfect wash, they'll evetually leave stubborn stain that require some polishing solution.  Polishing the i10 bumpers and plastic parts to a perfect clean shine state took me a good 45 minutes. God knows how long it took my colleague to polish bigger cars laugh.gif
Now that you mention it, oh man. I am so screwed with my car now.... lol! Time to wash car for CNY.....
Madgeiser
post Jan 9 2012, 08:44 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 9 2012, 07:58 AM)
-Edited-

Oh wait, easiest thing to do with a forum troll is to ignore him than to join him in his lifeless keyboard flinging. laugh.gif Time to go to work and find out the few things some forum members asked.
Nope, no GDi engine for Malaysia spec. Original car doesn't come with bodykit, but will match the look of the car in videos I shown so far.

If you are the kind that 'go for broke' and want to get the most out of every single penny you pay, 1.8 is the way to go cause the difference between 1.6 High Spec and 1.8 Premium is very big in term of accessory trim.
Didn't get any chance to test drive the car yet, only idle start. Steering feeling light is certain because the power steering is electric motor driven, you'll have to get used to not able to 'talk to the road' on cars with motor driven power steering.
Motor driven power steering is not necessary very light feeling. It is electronically controlled, so during high speed driving, the system actually tighten the steering. It really depends on implementation of the manufacturer on how they tune the EPS....
Madgeiser
post Jan 10 2012, 09:25 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 10 2012, 09:13 PM)
The 'light' sensation is mainly due to the fact that MDPS do not have as much feedback as hydraulic or non-power steering car, drives who like to 'talk to the road' will find the steering very weird.

The test unit's steering system has close to zero feedback resistant on idle. You can literally steer it with one finger. Oh my laugh.gif
No paddle shifter, but I think Elantra can be fitted with aftermarket shifters.

Usually if you see accessories found in oversea Elantra but not on the Inokom Elantra, it is almost certain that they can be fitted with these stuff also, there will be unused mounting points and sockets all over the car for accessories we will not be getting.

I would like to see someone take up the challenge and install SPAS on the Elantra laugh.gif
From the information that I obtained, first batch will be CKD, doubt there's any CBU unit.
What colour you want and which spec? smile.gif
If got paddle shifter, i will install! LOL!
I am a fan of paddle shifter! tongue.gif
Madgeiser
post Jan 13 2012, 06:04 PM

433 posts

At 120k, they can put the car up on the showroom and let it look nice. I am not freaking buying it.

Volswagen Vento.... hmmm interesting one!
Madgeiser
post Jan 14 2012, 02:50 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 14 2012, 02:44 AM)
From the customer POV, nothing is ever right.

But looking from HSDM's POV it's a different story. If I am going to stand up for both side I'd be really busy with dilemmas. If you think Hyundai overpriced their car, I can say the profit margin is narrower than many thought it is. Hyundai's car were never cheap, just that the profit margin is lower than most car. Take for example the Sonata and Tucson never had over-trade higher than RM3,000. HSDM simply couldn't give that much.

Many like to compare the Elantra and Forte in term of pricing, that I don't want to comment much, because a certain group of fanboys will start leaping on me. If you've done enough research on this, you'll know why we're more expensive, but yet at the same time still well received.
From fluidic comment, i suppose there is no point speculating too much. We will just have to wait for pricing announcement from HSDM.
For starters, i am not expecting 1.8L Elantra to be around the price of a 2.0L Forte, i am expecting it higher, but not too high. say 5-10%. That is just my own expectation.

This post has been edited by Madgeiser: Jan 14 2012, 02:53 AM
Madgeiser
post Jan 16 2012, 05:30 PM

433 posts

At RM118k, there is no need to buy Elantra already. I may as well go buy a Mazda 3. Hey, it is Japanese made, good looking 2.0L with paddle shifter and it is reliable too!

I will give them the benefit of the doubt and wait till official announcement before saying anything. smile.gif
Madgeiser
post Jan 16 2012, 05:41 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 16 2012, 05:36 PM)
One of the salesman walk past me and mentioned in Cantonese "This guy only came in a Myvi, waste our time only"... but he though I dun understand...

Incidently I drove my wife's Myvi to the showroom...they wanna treat their potential customers like this, why should I give them my money?? shakehead.gif

Btw, I got treated really really well when i followed my fren to Glenmarie BMW showroom...somemore I'm looking only.
These salesman will always be eating dirt. There is no need to be bothered by them. It is nice enough to know that they will never amount to anything worthy.
Madgeiser
post Jan 17 2012, 02:43 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 17 2012, 02:33 PM)
can u give a summary? not convenient to open it.
In summary, basically a mail asking for EPA to retest Hyundai Elantra 40 MPG claims, since a lot of buyer has reported significantly lower figures than what was advertised.

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 17 2012, 02:38 PM)
Basically the letter states that Hyundai overstated the fuel economy of the Elantra. Many independant car tests & owner reports revealed that the fuel economy is no where close to what Hyundai claims. They now requesting an official enquiry into this and if proven, they asking for Hyundai to be given stiff penalties.
I think Hyundai should at least publish the testing done at the very least, to answer these allegations. I have a hunch these test was done in ECO mode.

This post has been edited by Madgeiser: Jan 17 2012, 02:46 PM
Madgeiser
post Jan 18 2012, 04:46 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(JoLee @ Jan 18 2012, 04:40 PM)
A lot of us are not criticising. We are giving you feedback to your organisation that what we think will help you sell the car.

I always believe that the free market is an efficient market and if SD believe that they can sell the car at their price so be it. In no where in our replies did we expect any charity from SD. It is rather insulting to suggest that potential buyers here are seeking any charity from your organisation in fact it is the other way round.

So if you want to use the internet to promote something be prepared to receive criticism also. I think a lot of members here have posted positive reply to the car and defending the reputation of Korean mades and have been eagerly anticipating this car. Internet is a powerful tool for knowledge sharing and feedback.

It is up to you what you want to do with our feedback.
Very well worded and very true.
Madgeiser
post Jan 21 2012, 12:52 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 20 2012, 11:50 PM)
For those who are curious about pricing and launch date, I'll say anything concrete will only be revealed after Chinese New Year, not immediately, maybe 1-2 weeks after.
It's been a sticking point for long and I think I've answered this before, but kindly explain why you think INOKOM is different from Hyundai?
Normal human nature, rebranding from original is inferior. Especially rebranding down, Inokom is considered inferior by majority of car buyer. Same argument cropped up when they did the Inokom Getz and Hyundai Getz. The mentality was Inokom is local assembled and rebranding of Hyundai. Local assembled, more problematic.

If you take a Toyota or Honda and rebrand it into a local brand, you will get the same general consensus from prospective car buyer.

QUOTE(caddilac @ Jan 21 2012, 12:44 AM)
Actually people are thinking that the car should be cheaper when using Inokom badge instead of Hyundai. Personally i also don't understand why they want to put Inokom badge if they are not going to price it lower. Just like last time Oriental assembled Avante and Sonata are wearing Hyundai badges also. The reason they use Inokom badge is to solve the AP problem or to increase their profit margin? Because last time Hyundai's car will drop 20-30k when they were changed from CBU to CKD. Now the base Sonata is CBU and the price is only 136k. While the Elantra is CKD and if the top spec is priced at 120k it is quite unreasonable to many because the price gap is so narrow... biggrin.gif
For comparison Altis 1.8G 123k vs Camry 2.0E 145k, price difference is 22k and both of them are having the same status. If Elantra is 118k vs Sonata 136k, price difference is only 18k yet Elantra is CKD vs CBU of Sonata.
Yes, this one too. People is expecting this also. I wouldn't say increase of profit margin, i think it is more in the aspect of competitively pricing of the car. If you have a good car, but it is killed by price, it is pretty much useless.

This post has been edited by Madgeiser: Jan 21 2012, 12:56 AM
Madgeiser
post Jan 22 2012, 03:11 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(ngweichoong @ Jan 22 2012, 07:29 AM)
The spec definitely is higher than T or H, but it doesn't means the quality is good. A lot of previous Hyundai customer even i10 struggle with spare part, bad SC...
Although T and H occasionally also have the same problem , but the Hyundai reputation is still worse than T and H. No doubt , Hyundai design technology progress advance this few year but yet no prove the car quality is same as T and H. For me , i prefer pick the new car give me less problem rather than high technology but with fault intermittent. In fact, i'm also one of the people who waiting the new elantra as my Iswara has been used for 13 years. But since the elantra price is same/higher than H, i will chose civic. Just because the market perception for Hyundai quality is still bad, i don't want to take the higher risk to get the problematic car. Also, although Hyundai car now come with high technology, but look like the SC, Spare Part management still unable to fulfill this requirement.
Good for you. Go Civic then. smile.gif
Madgeiser
post Jan 27 2012, 10:05 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(Chongkor @ Jan 27 2012, 08:44 AM)
Just call the num and they will give u surprise
Share share? biggrin.gif