Awning, Lets Talk:Wooden,Metal,PC,RoofTilesGlass

TSmav_850
post Dec 5 2011, 08:47 PM, updated 13y ago

287 posts

Hi everybody.. smile.gif

I need advise for awning design.. (ideas) -will be great if you post the photo-
for my house, i build the awning myself... yes DIY..
i more into classic looking (wood awning) than modern style or steel awning..
if you have good looking awning please post it here notworthy.gif
for sharing review and improve my work skill wink.gif
your comment are appreciate.. notworthy.gif
thanks. icon_rolleyes.gif

my house.

This post has been edited by mav_850: Mar 25 2012, 12:38 PM
netcrawler
post Dec 5 2011, 09:14 PM

1,542 posts

Not bad considering you did yourself. Are you in construction line? I'm thinking of doing awning for the back of my house too. Don't know which one is suitable.

This post has been edited by netcrawler: Dec 5 2011, 09:14 PM
TSmav_850
post Dec 5 2011, 09:21 PM

287 posts

yes.. im in construction field..
i do wood work, plumbing work and anything..
i mean im the worker not boss hahaha...
netcrawler
post Dec 5 2011, 09:50 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Dec 5 2011, 09:21 PM)
yes.. im in construction field..
i do wood work, plumbing work and anything..
i mean im the worker not boss hahaha...
Are you doing part time on your own? Mind to share the price for such awning at your house?

TSmav_850
post Dec 6 2011, 10:41 AM

287 posts

roughly calculation.. (for item cost me for front awning)
for roof tiles, wood, wallplugs, paint (wood varnish & jotashield white), bla.. bla.. bla... yawn.gif ( nails, sand paper, putty piller and so on...)
cost me around RM1800-RM2000.. honestly nod.gif

cost for labour - free whistling.gif
cost for installation - free whistling.gif
(since i did it myself hahaha)

usually installation and labour wood work for single storey house around rm1600-rm2000> (may diffrent for 2storey) notworthy.gif
(yes.. cost for hacking, cement the gutter, water proofing.. paint back... bla bla bla until finish..) notworthy.gif

lololo.. any other patern for wood awning? i came here for review others member awning.. sweat.gif blush.gif

Added on December 15, 2011, 11:32 pmanyone? sad.gif

This post has been edited by mav_850: Apr 23 2012, 10:30 PM
manemaren
post Feb 21 2012, 10:57 PM

96 posts

I ask MPK... they say this is not awning... it is considered pergola... need arkitek drawing...

tecksoon
post Feb 22 2012, 04:46 AM

75 posts

i did mine , roof tiles medium grey in colour, they told me need to paint the roof tiles in the colour i requested....cost me RM 2400....to be honest its quite ok for me the price but the workmanship havent see yet...this weekend they put it up....talking bout design it was normal roof like my father had 10 years ago....kindda curious is there any modern design, pergolas yes it kinda modern, but roof tiles i think its all about the same..slanting type....if possible i will post some pic here after they finish the job....we see how the workmanship
tiensong
post Feb 22 2012, 08:52 AM

2,237 posts

i am considering doing polycarbonate awning...still donno which type of material used for frame..balau,resak or metal steel?
TSmav_850
post Feb 24 2012, 11:06 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(manemaren @ Feb 21 2012, 10:57 PM)
I ask MPK... they say this is not awning... it is considered pergola... need arkitek drawing...
bro.. this is awning.. pergola dont have roof.. pergola usually build for plant (flower) to grow and cover that pergola. err.. no need architect drawing.. hehehe... carpenter (like me) can make it... thumbup.gif

example large pergolas found from google...

QUOTE(tecksoon @ Feb 22 2012, 04:46 AM)
i did mine , roof tiles medium grey in colour, they told me need to paint the roof tiles in the colour i requested....cost me RM 2400....to be honest its quite ok for me the price but the workmanship havent see yet...this weekend they put it up....talking bout design it was normal roof like my father had 10 years ago....kindda curious is there any modern design, pergolas yes it kinda modern, but roof tiles i think its all about the same..slanting type....if possible i will post some pic here after they finish the job....we see how the workmanship
thanks please post some pic for review. smile.gif

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 22 2012, 08:52 AM)
i am considering doing polycarbonate awning...still donno which type of material used for frame..balau,resak or metal steel?
polycarbonate not so heavy... why dont use wraught iron for frame? with iron flower it will be great. smile.gif
ozak
post Feb 24 2012, 11:53 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 22 2012, 08:52 AM)
My whole house is using polycarbonate. Noisy when raining.
stevie8
post Feb 24 2012, 11:58 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 24 2012, 11:53 PM)
My whole house is using polycarbonate. Noisy when raining.
So what is the best solution other than roof tiles?
weikee
post Feb 25 2012, 12:17 AM

12,019 posts

Tempered Glass smile.gif
ozak
post Feb 25 2012, 11:48 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Feb 24 2012, 11:58 PM)
So what is the best solution other than roof tiles?
As weikee said, tempered glass.
phoenix69
post Feb 25 2012, 12:01 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 25 2012, 12:17 AM)
Tempered Glass smile.gif
Soooo Kawwww Leeee Haiiii !!! thumbup.gif
weikee
post Feb 26 2012, 10:37 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Feb 25 2012, 12:01 PM)
Soooo Kawwww Leeee Haiiii !!!  thumbup.gif
That is why till now i did not put parking porch awing yet. Wait till I save enough bullets.
tecksoon
post Feb 26 2012, 11:02 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 26 2012, 10:37 PM)
That is why till now i did not put parking porch awing yet. Wait till I save enough bullets.
if any good contractor pls recommend....im thinking to do mine as well...coz when its rain i have my autogate but miserable my car porch design from developer only cover my car ass (as i reverse park ) so why i still wet when having autogate....ermmm this is why, doh.gif
ozak
post Feb 26 2012, 11:47 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(tecksoon @ Feb 26 2012, 11:02 PM)
if any good contractor pls recommend....im thinking to do mine as well...coz when its rain i have my autogate but miserable my car porch design from developer only cover my car ass (as i reverse park ) so why i still wet when having autogate....ermmm this is why, doh.gif
Walau few rain drop won't harm you lah.

My car porch same as you. Half cover but without autogate. Rain not heavy , I just go down and open gate. After that have a hot bath.
tiensong
post Feb 27 2012, 12:02 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 26 2012, 10:37 PM)
wah...tempered glass ar...i also love to but the price is more than double of polycarbonate...i need to do 372 sq ft awning and polycarbonate already cost me RM9k++......if tempered glass, i think i need to spend more than 30k....

tecksoon
post Feb 27 2012, 03:21 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 26 2012, 11:47 PM)
Walau few rain drop won't harm you lah.

My car porch same as you. Half cover but without autogate. Rain not heavy , I just go down and open gate. After that have a hot bath.
haha.....me ok bro....but datin keep on mumbling...u know la tropic country....

Added on February 27, 2012, 3:23 am
QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 27 2012, 12:02 AM)
wah...tempered glass ar...i also love to but the price is more than double of polycarbonate...i need to do 372 sq ft awning and polycarbonate already cost me RM9k++......if tempered glass, i think i need to spend more than 30k....
biar betul dude

This post has been edited by tecksoon: Feb 27 2012, 03:23 AM
weikee
post Feb 27 2012, 09:58 AM

12,019 posts

Mine front will be 6 x 22, than my daughter and spare room maybe 4 x 4 x 2, and front first floor exit to front balcony 4 x 4, and my big master bedroom will be 12 x 4. That will sum up to about 228 Sqft yawn.gif

If RM 65 per sqft, that will be come ~ RM 15k

I need to rob a bank.
TSmav_850
post Feb 27 2012, 09:08 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 27 2012, 09:58 AM)
Mine front will be 6 x 22, than my daughter and spare room maybe 4 x 4 x 2, and front first floor exit to front balcony 4 x 4, and my big master bedroom will be 12 x 4. That will sum up to about 228 Sqft yawn.gif

If RM 65 per sqft, that will be come ~ RM 15k

I need to rob a bank.
Your bungalow will be nice using tempered glass laugh.gif rclxms.gif
hehehehe... money talks bro... using paper money also can make as roof top hehehe... sweat.gif
weikee
post Feb 27 2012, 10:04 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Feb 27 2012, 09:08 PM)
Your bungalow will be nice using tempered glass  laugh.gif  rclxms.gif
hehehehe... money talks bro... using paper money also can make as roof top hehehe...  sweat.gif
My next house will be bungalow, now terrace.
tiensong
post Feb 27 2012, 10:17 PM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 27 2012, 10:04 PM)
My next house will be bungalow, now terrace.
at that time when you wanna buy bungalow, the price should be hit 3-5 mil....

I predict current house is my last house unless I have a very success buisness...
weikee
post Feb 27 2012, 10:21 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 27 2012, 10:17 PM)
at that time when you wanna buy bungalow, the price should be hit 3-5 mil....

I predict current house is my last house unless I have a very success buisness...
must have +ve thinking smile.gif
TSmav_850
post Feb 27 2012, 11:12 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 27 2012, 10:21 PM)
must have +ve thinking smile.gif
nod.gif home sweet home.. no matter how small/big your house, as long as you happy and feel good at home that is okay... thumbup.gif
but if your house nice than your neighbour... its rclxm9.gif
weikee
post Feb 27 2012, 11:29 PM

12,019 posts

Better don't compare, comparing and compete can never end.
TSmav_850
post Feb 27 2012, 11:34 PM

287 posts

back to awning... if using solid polycarbonate (PC) i think its reduce noisy when raining compare to hollow PC...
ozak
post Feb 27 2012, 11:37 PM

17,013 posts

Same noisy.
weikee
post Feb 28 2012, 10:01 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Feb 27 2012, 11:34 PM)
back to awning... if using solid polycarbonate (PC) i think its reduce noisy when raining compare to hollow PC...
Unless you use very thick Poly, if not still very noisy.
tiensong
post Feb 28 2012, 10:23 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 28 2012, 10:01 AM)
Unless you use very thick Poly, if not still very noisy.
very thick? how thick? normally market is using 3mm thick solid poly.....

weikee
post Feb 28 2012, 10:26 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 28 2012, 10:23 AM)
I think it have to be as thick as a finger. About 12mm? 3mm is way too noisy.
tiensong
post Feb 28 2012, 10:30 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 28 2012, 10:26 AM)
I think it have to be as thick as a finger. About 12mm?  3mm is way too noisy.
haha...forget it....don't care liao...tempered glass not afford to..even afford also don't willing to pay for that.......as long as my balcony has cover and can sit under it during night...drink tea.....

my poly awning will be installed soon...2-3 more weeks later...deposit paid...

Added on February 28, 2012, 10:34 amweikee, ask your opinion...

if you, what colour of poly will you choose? and will you choose transparent or non-transparent type?

my house is white colour....

This post has been edited by tiensong: Feb 28 2012, 10:34 AM
ozak
post Feb 28 2012, 10:54 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 28 2012, 10:23 AM)
3mm? My poly thickness more than 3mm. It is green semi transparent. 1 surface smooth and another surface is rough.

Still noisy. sad.gif
TSmav_850
post Feb 28 2012, 08:25 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 28 2012, 10:30 AM)
haha...forget it....don't care liao...tempered glass not afford to..even afford also don't willing to pay for that.......as long as my balcony has cover and can sit under it during night...drink tea.....

my poly awning will be installed soon...2-3 more weeks later...deposit paid...

After installation please post pic here... thanks rclxms.gif
tiensong
post Feb 29 2012, 11:35 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 28 2012, 10:54 AM)
3mm? My poly thickness more than 3mm. It is green semi transparent. 1 surface smooth and another surface is rough.

Still noisy.  sad.gif
3mm thickness already cost around rm27/sq ft....if thicker.......mahalnya.....

weikee
post Feb 29 2012, 11:36 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 29 2012, 11:35 AM)
Yes, and it need more supporting too.
tiensong
post Feb 29 2012, 11:41 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Feb 28 2012, 08:25 PM)
After installation please post pic here... thanks  rclxms.gif
I still headache on choosing colour....i dont like green, blue and red colour.....now left brown and clear (no colour) to choose.....if use transparent, my 300++ sq ft balcony will always under hot sun....so, maybe will choose brown rough surface which can block 85% sunlight...haiz....another decision need to make is...use pergola type (balau wood) or metal frame.....metal easy to maintain....anyone give me some opinion?
ozak
post Feb 29 2012, 11:44 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 29 2012, 11:35 AM)
Last time very cheap 1. That time not that famous with this poly awning. The poly material is from taiwan. If not mistaken, cost me aroung 4-5K.

Added on February 29, 2012, 11:47 am
QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 29 2012, 11:41 AM)
I still headache on choosing colour....i dont like green, blue and red colour.....now left brown and clear (no colour) to choose.....if use transparent, my 300++ sq ft balcony will always under hot sun....so, maybe will choose brown rough surface which can block 85% sunlight...haiz....another decision need to make is...use pergola type (balau wood) or metal frame.....metal easy to maintain....anyone give me some opinion?
You got to see the color blend or match to your exterior wall color or not. I choose green cause it match my wall color. And green give brigther look and more light into my house while shading the area.

This post has been edited by ozak: Feb 29 2012, 11:47 AM
weikee
post Feb 29 2012, 11:48 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 29 2012, 11:41 AM)
Is the brown also transparent? If transparent too, it still have UV coming in and still hot. I will say wood easy to maintain. Metal can rust.
tiensong
post Feb 29 2012, 11:55 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 29 2012, 11:48 AM)
Is the brown also transparent? If transparent too, it still have UV coming in and still hot. I will say wood easy to maintain. Metal can rust.
Brown colour rough surface type is no transparent....

wood easy to maintain? hmm......

tiensong
post Feb 29 2012, 11:58 AM

2,237 posts

Should be like this...no transparent because can't see through....

By the way, I signed up with this company..

http://www.supercool.com.my

This post has been edited by tiensong: Feb 29 2012, 11:58 AM
weikee
post Feb 29 2012, 12:01 PM

12,019 posts

How about white sand blast?
tiensong
post Feb 29 2012, 12:02 PM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 29 2012, 12:01 PM)
How about white sand blast?
white sand blast? u mean colour?
weikee
post Feb 29 2012, 12:03 PM

12,019 posts

Like toilet glass door, is white but cannot see through. Forgot the term.
tiensong
post Feb 29 2012, 12:07 PM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 29 2012, 12:03 PM)
oh ya...u remind me....can consider use white rough surface too.....but I am sure the brown colour block more sunlight than white colour....

Added on February 29, 2012, 12:10 pmif use wood frame, can match with brown colour..

if use metal frame (paint white), can match with white colour..

but, wood frame match with white colour also not bad..i think..

haha...

This post has been edited by tiensong: Feb 29 2012, 12:10 PM
tehtmc
post Feb 29 2012, 02:08 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 29 2012, 12:03 PM)
Obscure glass
weikee
post Feb 29 2012, 02:25 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(tehtmc @ Feb 29 2012, 02:08 PM)
Obscure glass
Thank you.
TSmav_850
post Feb 29 2012, 07:15 PM

287 posts

my boss just finished build normal awning to cover kids swimming pool.. just normal bumbung like khemah orang kawin punya.. hahaha biggrin.gif i will post pic later.. its using hollow PC... tongue.gif
phoenix69
post Feb 29 2012, 11:37 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 29 2012, 12:07 PM)
oh ya...u remind me....can consider use white rough surface too.....but I am sure the brown colour block more sunlight than white colour....

Added on February 29, 2012, 12:10 pmif use wood frame, can match with brown colour..

if use metal frame (paint white), can match with white colour..

but, wood frame match with white colour also not bad..i think..

haha...
Good choice of colour. Brown blend naturally to house, just like wood, furthermore after long time exposed to weather gets dirty, brown will make the dirtyness look more "natural" brows.gif
omels
post Feb 29 2012, 11:53 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 29 2012, 11:58 AM)

Surely expensive this one....but very nice.....
tiensong
post Mar 1 2012, 08:16 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(omels @ Feb 29 2012, 11:53 PM)
Surely expensive this one....but very nice.....
this called timber pergola...if using balau/resak wood, market price around rm27 per sq ft

TSmav_850
post Mar 1 2012, 11:52 PM

287 posts

kids swimming pool cover.. cool2.gif

Rangka Besi.. for cover kids swimming pool

hollow polycarbonate 1.22M x 12.2M

Color: Dark Chocolate/Grey
luvimp
post Mar 2 2012, 04:54 PM

375 posts

I bought my awning at Salak South Baru, KL. Price cheapest i can find around that area.
ozak
post Mar 15 2012, 04:18 PM

17,013 posts

Where can I find this kind of awning? In other world, it call stand seam metal roof. The flat surface min is 15" width. Either flat or a bump but curve in.

TSmav_850
post Mar 19 2012, 06:29 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 15 2012, 04:18 PM)
Where can I find this kind of awning? In other world, it call stand seam metal roof. The flat surface min is 15" width. Either flat or a bump but curve in.

this type still bising when raining bro... blush.gif hehehe
ozak
post Mar 19 2012, 06:49 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Mar 19 2012, 06:29 PM)
this type still bising when raining bro...  blush.gif  hehehe
No problem bro. Actually I m not using for shading. Use for others purpose. smile.gif
TSmav_850
post Mar 25 2012, 10:53 AM

287 posts

just update the pic of swimming kids pool awning... smile.gif

ozak
post Mar 25 2012, 11:06 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Mar 25 2012, 10:53 AM)
just update the pic of swimming kids pool awning...  smile.gif

Nice design. But if this swimming for kid, look abit dangerous. As it look many sharp corner and edge. Once fall and kena head sweat.gif
TSmav_850
post Mar 25 2012, 12:35 PM

287 posts

yup.. i feel it too.. sad.gif this is existing swimming pool... for kids > 4Y.O...
my kids also here biggrin.gif laugh.gif
jtleon
post Mar 26 2012, 12:01 AM

266 posts

im looking to have one as well, currently looking at mydelux's safety glass roof & contemporary pergola http://mydelux.com.my/site/index.php?cat=40&page=51

any other option for this similar thing other than mydelux?

my awning size should be 14 ft * 8ft to cover the driveway
adrianjc
post Apr 7 2012, 02:22 PM

898 posts

Thinking of doing a timber structured awning for my house. Anyone has a good company to recommend?

TSmav_850
post Apr 11 2012, 11:24 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Apr 7 2012, 02:22 PM)
Thinking of doing a timber structured awning for my house. Anyone has a good company to recommend?
smile.gif what type of awning you want to build? for windows or front hall?

using roof tiles or PC or metal deck? wink.gif
wheres your house bro?

i got job to sambung bumbung belakang rumah orang.. only +3roof tiles... laugh.gif
will post the pic when work in progress... (not start yet hehehe)
adrianjc
post Apr 16 2012, 12:38 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Apr 11 2012, 11:24 PM)
smile.gif what type of awning you want to build? for windows or front hall?

using roof tiles or PC or  metal deck?  wink.gif
wheres your house bro?

i got job to sambung bumbung belakang rumah orang.. only +3roof tiles...  laugh.gif
will post the pic when work in progress... (not start yet hehehe)
Building 2 actually, one for the car porch and the other one for a balcony.
Didn't see your reply earlier bro... sorry. Am located in PJ but i've just contracted Supercool to get it done.

Can be done cheaper than their normal prices, but am really strapped for time at the moment. Will keep you guys updated on their service.
xerox1234
post Apr 16 2012, 02:09 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Apr 16 2012, 12:38 PM)
Didn't see your reply earlier bro... sorry. Am located in PJ but i've just contracted Supercool to get it done.

Can be done cheaper than their normal prices, but am really strapped for time at the moment. Will keep you guys updated on their service.
What is the best price they offered you? Mind to PM me?

tiensong
post Apr 16 2012, 02:21 PM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Apr 16 2012, 12:38 PM)

I just done my timber pergola (polycarbonate) awning two weeks ago with supercool.....how you get to know them?...hehehe..Mr Jeff is so nice...

And I tot their price already very low and competitive.....I can't get any lower than supercool.....overall, satisfy with their workmanship (currently)....hope can tahan for 10 years~!

This post has been edited by tiensong: Apr 16 2012, 02:27 PM
adrianjc
post Apr 16 2012, 03:40 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Apr 16 2012, 02:21 PM)
I just done my timber pergola (polycarbonate) awning two weeks ago with supercool.....how you get to know them?...hehehe..Mr Jeff is so nice...

And I tot their price already very low and competitive.....I can't get any lower than supercool.....overall, satisfy with their workmanship (currently)....hope can tahan for 10 years~!
Cheaper meaning i get my own fellas to do it but that would mean i have to go source the wood, get the perspex sheets, stainless steel bolts, etc... plus supervising the build which i don't really have time for at the moment. Otherwise it can be cheaper, and considering that they're using Balau wood, price is considered decent.
tiensong
post Apr 16 2012, 04:48 PM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Apr 16 2012, 03:40 PM)
Cheaper meaning i get my own fellas to do it but that would mean i have to go source the wood, get the perspex sheets,  stainless steel bolts, etc... plus supervising the build which i don't really have time for at the moment. Otherwise it can be cheaper, and considering that they're using Balau wood, price is considered decent.
Agree.....their workers worked until 9pm for me.......so hardworking.....
netcrawler
post Apr 16 2012, 08:56 PM

1,542 posts

Can PM the price for timber pergola? I wanna do one with roof tiles. Thanks
TSmav_850
post Apr 17 2012, 01:07 AM

287 posts

today i build my old customer awning.. (can consider awning?) sweat.gif
belakang rumah...

open that spoiler
& feel free to comment or critics my work notworthy.gif

Added on April 17, 2012, 1:08 am
QUOTE(netcrawler @ Apr 16 2012, 08:56 PM)
Can PM the price for timber pergola? I wanna do one with roof tiles. Thanks
what size bro? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by mav_850: Apr 17 2012, 01:08 AM
tomjason
post Apr 17 2012, 11:22 AM

865 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Apr 17 2012, 01:07 AM)
today i build my old customer awning.. (can consider awning?)  sweat.gif
belakang rumah...

open that spoiler
& feel free to comment or critics my work  notworthy.gif

Added on April 17, 2012, 1:08 am

what size bro?  hmm.gif
do you doing part time job..eg roof.
Awakened_Angel
post Apr 17 2012, 11:34 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Apr 16 2012, 04:40 PM)
Cheaper meaning i get my own fellas to do it but that would mean i have to go source the wood, get the perspex sheets,  stainless steel bolts, etc... plus supervising the build which i don't really have time for at the moment. Otherwise it can be cheaper, and considering that they're using Balau wood, price is considered decent.
do this only if you have the know how, else makan sendiri
phoenix69
post Apr 17 2012, 02:03 PM

1,836 posts

Hey guys, anyone of you ever tried to source those panels they use for awning yourself.
What I mean is get the panels cut to size.
In my case want to use as table top and door cover (security door middle hole, want to cover half.
Where to get at reasonable price?
Any idea on estimated price?
adrianjc
post Apr 17 2012, 03:30 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Apr 17 2012, 11:34 AM)
do this only if you have the know how, else makan sendiri
Not a problem. Have done it before.
brows.gif

Added on April 17, 2012, 4:31 pm
QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Apr 17 2012, 02:03 PM)
Hey guys, anyone of you ever tried to source those panels they use for awning yourself.
What I mean is get the panels cut to size.
In my case want to use as table top and door cover (security door middle hole, want to cover half.
Where to get at reasonable price?
Any idea on estimated price?
You should be able to get those hardware shops to order for you.
Please ensure you don't use polycarbonate type, as it gets dirty quite quickly.

This post has been edited by adrianjc: Apr 17 2012, 04:31 PM
TSmav_850
post Apr 17 2012, 08:15 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Apr 17 2012, 11:22 AM)
do you doing part time job..eg roof.
roof... can you tell more detail what kind of roof service you want?
eg:
cuci + paint back roof tiles?
changing old roof tiles?
rebuild timber truss for roof?
leaking roof?

Part Time? if i build wooden awning like this, anyone want to order? tongue.gif
you mean, i just supply the wooden triangle or include installation? hmm.gif
or
or

This post has been edited by mav_850: Apr 17 2012, 08:16 PM
telim01
post Apr 18 2012, 10:42 AM

Can share the price, together with measurements? Thanks!!
tomjason
post Apr 18 2012, 03:35 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Apr 17 2012, 08:15 PM)
roof... can you tell more detail what kind of roof service you want?
eg:
cuci + paint back roof tiles?
changing old roof tiles?
rebuild timber truss for roof?
leaking roof?

Part Time? if i build wooden awning like this, anyone want to order? tongue.gif
you mean, i just supply the wooden triangle or include installation?  hmm.gif
or
or
leaking roof....i know the cause of leaking (at my existing house, not newly extended house) but i m afraid risk to be on roof top..so i cannot DIY...but small job do not know you want or not...
brutalsoul
post Apr 18 2012, 03:39 PM

A goal without a plan is just a wish
1,484 posts

how about the glass roof? kind look very classy
TSmav_850
post Apr 18 2012, 08:28 PM

287 posts

leaking?
what the cause of leaking? bro...
im located at melaka smile.gif
tomjason
post Apr 19 2012, 08:02 AM

865 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Apr 18 2012, 08:28 PM)
leaking?
im located at melaka  smile.gif
sorry bro..thought u in kl
scorpio80
post Apr 19 2012, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Apr 18 2012, 08:28 PM)
leaking?
im located at melaka  smile.gif
hi,

can i know where ur location at melaka?
i plan to add wooden awning at front porch like ur picture post here.
how much cost include installation?

tq
TSmav_850
post Apr 23 2012, 08:11 PM

287 posts

today work...
install the extension roof... my previous wood work sweat.gif
color: timber care, Charcoal black.. nod.gif
using roof tiles..

still not done yet... blush.gif

PiGGy ^(oo)^
post Apr 25 2012, 10:50 AM

63 posts

Can PM me the price coz m think to install awning for my car porch, size will be 22ft x 4ft ....
trinity3
post Apr 25 2012, 06:32 PM

105 posts

I found this article here. Talks about different types of awnings you can choose for your home

Instead of the usual poly ones that is common

This post has been edited by trinity3: Apr 25 2012, 06:33 PM
teq
post Apr 27 2012, 04:14 PM

353 posts

sorry tumpang topic..

i installed polycarbonate skylight at my back yard, but result is not as expected. My back yard is 5 feet and the skylight is only 6 feet.. thus rain water comes in easily..

are there any solution for this? adding something like curtain? or I have to cover my grill with some plastic/glass? icon_question.gif

here the photo:

TSmav_850
post Apr 27 2012, 08:05 PM

287 posts

unluckily you must extend around 2feet from that grill... sweat.gif
install the gutter may help? hmm.gif unsure.gif

simoncsw
post Apr 30 2012, 05:41 PM

30 posts

Guys,

Can you reccommend some good contractor supply and install roof tiles? I was quoted RM37 per sq ft.

craftsnknots
post Apr 30 2012, 10:17 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Apr 16 2012, 03:21 PM)

Hi Can PM me your supplier? I asked for a quotation recently...it is about RM27 psf and each column is RM350..so expensive
hahagang
post May 1 2012, 05:30 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Apr 23 2012, 08:11 PM)
today work...
install the extension roof... my previous wood work sweat.gif
color: timber care, Charcoal black..  nod.gif
using roof tiles..

still not done yet...  blush.gif

Wow, you hack your wall with hole. The hole is not very deep right, I could see the red brick inside the wall. Is the deep on the hole same tick as per the cement that cover the red brick ?
TSmav_850
post May 1 2012, 07:50 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(hahagang @ May 1 2012, 05:30 PM)
Wow, you hack your wall with hole. The hole is not very deep right, I could see the red brick inside the wall. Is the deep on the hole same tick as per the cement that cover the red brick ?
i hack the wall around 1.5inch deep bro.... not only the plaster.. smile.gif
trulap
post May 13 2012, 03:53 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Mar 1 2012, 11:52 PM)
kids swimming pool cover..  cool2.gif

Rangka Besi.. for cover kids swimming pool

hollow polycarbonate 1.22M x 12.2M

Color: Dark Chocolate/Grey
to all friends, i'm planing to built roof totally like this picture polycarbonate plus rangka besi, the different is i want to attached direct to wall
how much price for this hollow polycarbonate?how they quote the price? the purpose is i wanted to put the washing machine and clothes hangar outside my home .

need advice

Added on May 13, 2012, 4:01 pmdont know you guys can understand or not this drawing tongue.gif

This post has been edited by trulap: May 13 2012, 04:02 PM

TSmav_850
post May 16 2012, 12:00 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(trulap @ May 13 2012, 03:53 PM)
to all friends, i'm planing to built roof totally like this picture polycarbonate plus rangka besi, the different is i want to attached direct to wall
how much price for this hollow polycarbonate?how they quote the price? the purpose is i wanted to put the washing machine and clothes hangar outside my home .

need advice

Added on May 13, 2012, 4:01 pmdont know you guys can understand or not this drawing tongue.gif
understand that... you dont like wooden + PC awning?
eg like this but using Polycarbonate..

This post has been edited by mav_850: May 16 2012, 10:54 PM
TSmav_850
post May 16 2012, 10:55 PM

287 posts

Roof Extension... sweat.gif
wall not painted yet...

Roof Tiles wink.gif
cmp
post Oct 13 2012, 10:11 AM

22 posts

hi all,
any recommended brand for polycarbonate that is heat resistant or any good material for pergola roof for car porch. many thank
eeezal
post Nov 3 2012, 10:44 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(tecksoon @ Feb 22 2012, 04:46 AM)
waa....just for paint the roof tiles cost RM2400. It is quite expensive la bro. How big is your roof? Just make sure they use high pressure jet wash
to clean the tiles. This is important bro, coz it can make sure the paint last longer and not easily peel off. Make sure the contractor use special paint
for roof that can withstand weather and most importantly the heat.. I know about this since i've been working with roof paint company as their sales
person & engineer. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on November 3, 2012, 11:03 am[quote=trulap,May 13 2012, 03:53 PM]

need advice

From your design, i think its better that u use lightweight steel truss rather than welding coz less expensive. Just use a half truss and plug it to the wall then either use polycarbonate or roof tiles as roof covering. Roughly cost around RM15/sqft for PC roof & RM8 - RM9/sqft for trusses + roof tiles. I've been working in roof trade B4 this & thats y i know about this. brows.gif

This post has been edited by eeezal: Nov 3 2012, 11:03 AM
post Nov 3 2012, 11:11 PM

4,228 posts

I was quoted around RM18 psf for polycarbonate skylight. Is it reasonable?

Hornsen
post Nov 4 2012, 11:42 AM

131 posts

I saw this kind of Louvres (not really an awning) that help to block the sun in one of the show house, i was wondering how much is it? and did anyone install this in their house and can share their opinion?

This post has been edited by Hornsen: Nov 4 2012, 12:15 PM
eeezal
post Nov 4 2012, 12:57 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Nov 3 2012, 11:11 PM)
I was quoted around RM18 psf for polycarbonate skylight. Is it reasonable?
For RM18 psf on ploycarbonate is quite reasonable. Got some other contractor charge RM20-22 psf. Boleh lah bro but if u still cari some more U can find RM16 psf. rclxms.gif

Added on November 4, 2012, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(Hornsen @ Nov 4 2012, 11:42 AM)
I saw this kind of Louvres (not really an awning) that help to block the sun in one of the show house, i was wondering how much is it? and did anyone install this in their house and can share their opinion?

Yup bro, this type of louvers really can help block the sun & can give a good shading. But there are some disadvantage of using this :
1) U cannot get a clear view outside & sky from inside of your house.
2) If raining heavily, the raindrop can easily come in compare to using awning. Especially when it rains wt heavy wind.
3) The airflow coming in & out from your hse will not be good compare to using awning.

Hope this info can help out... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by eeezal: Nov 4 2012, 01:06 PM
post Nov 4 2012, 06:43 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(eeezal @ Nov 4 2012, 12:57 PM)
For RM18 psf on ploycarbonate is quite reasonable. Got some other contractor charge RM20-22 psf. Boleh lah bro but if u still cari  some more U can find RM16 psf.  rclxms.gif

Added on November 4, 2012, 1:06 pm

Yup bro, this type of louvers really can help block the sun & can give a good shading. But there are some disadvantage of using this :
1)  U cannot get a clear view outside & sky from inside of your house.
2)  If raining heavily, the raindrop can easily come in compare to using awning. Especially when it rains wt heavy wind.
3)  The airflow coming in & out from your hse will not be good compare to using awning.

Hope this info can help out... hmm.gif
Thanks, bro. The price is before negotiation though.

maxtulip
post Nov 10 2012, 02:23 AM

Saw it at homedec 3 weeks ago, RM40/ft.
jerryng75
post Jan 23 2013, 09:10 PM

76 posts

Hi All,

For Sky Light or Awning, use Lexan* Twin Wall, Grade Recommended is Lexan* 10mm Thickness Solar Control IR, Light Green in Color

In the 1960s, NASA used Lexan* Brand Polycarbonate for Astronaut helmet assemblies and visors which became known as "bubble helmets", including those used by the Apollo moon astronauts.

Advantages
1) 2 Wall , Better Heat Insulation
2) Lower Cost
3) Reduce 30% Heat
4) 2 Side UV Resistant Coating ( Generally, Polycarbonate is NOT Chemical Resistant. Can be printed as label, example laptop Battery uses Polycarbonate FR Film as Label)
5) Impact Resistance. Virtually Un-Breakble Youtube has many Video on the Impact Test
6) 10 year Warranty - Against Yellowing ( yellow Index Not more than 2, which naked Eyes can see)
- Against Impact ( Drilled Holes Failure not Warrant)
- Against Lost of Light Transmission
7) Light Transmission - More than 65%
8) Coated PolyCarbonate ( Lexan* Own Coating which was Developed in-house)

More Details

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lexan

http://www.sabic-ip.com/sfs/SFS/en/Product...ntrolsheet.html

Dust or Fungus will grow in the Slot but that can be eliminate if you get a Good Contractor.
Use Anti - Dust tape, which will allow the Water to Vaporize and 'Flow' out through the Special Membrane in the Anti-Dust Tape
It will prevent Water from Sipping in and Grow Fungus

Many Stadium are Built from Multi-Wall Sheet , which also uses the Anti-Dust Tape ( Do a Search for Anti-Dust tape)
Examples :

Material Cost for Lexan* 10mm Thickness Solar Control IR, Light Green in Color is approximately RM 6.80/square feet.
Note That The Structure is more Costlier that the Roofing Material.

To be Sure, Call the manufacturer for a Claim ( Some Manufacturer also claim give 10 years Warranty). Ask them to visit you. You can judge the product by their Services
Give them the Lot No ( Date of Manufacturing or Purchasing Agents for Verification).

Another Option is to use 6 mm Lexan* Solid Sheet. Same Warranty .
6mm will not be break by an Axe & and will not deform from heat ( 3 mm thick Polycarbonate will Wave on hot Days)

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jan 26 2013, 07:30 PM
~Curious~
post Jan 25 2013, 05:43 PM

1,744 posts

anyone got suggestions how to reduce noisiness of polycarbonate awning during rain ar?
ozak
post Jan 25 2013, 06:32 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jan 25 2013, 05:43 PM)
anyone got suggestions how to reduce noisiness of polycarbonate awning during rain ar?
Shut the damn door. This is what I do.
jerryng75
post Jan 25 2013, 09:37 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jan 25 2013, 05:43 PM)

Lexan Solar Control IR 10 mm thick, would have 20dB on Sound Reduction

Thicker would give you a Lower Sound.

Wall partition uses 2-Wall ( Twin Wall) or 3 Wall which reduce Sound

Solid Sheet Lexan* ( usually 15 mm) is widely use in Oversea Countries ( Europe, America, Japan) as SOUND WALL in the Highway
This give a better view for the Resident Instead of BLANK Walls in Malaysia

Info from the Web shows

Solid Sheet Lexan*, 6 mm 29dB on Sound Reduction
Solid Sheet Lexan*, 8 mm 31dB on Sound Reduction
Solid Sheet Lexan*, 12 mm 34dB on Sound Reduction

What type of Polycarbonate are you using? Solid or Multi Wall

lingkin
post Jan 25 2013, 11:59 PM

53 posts

Anybody use this type of Awning?
Seem like seldom ppl use this Membrance Awning for their house but seee quite often at outside shop or public place..
Any pro & con if use for house? Does it pratical?

~Curious~
post Jan 26 2013, 01:21 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 25 2013, 06:32 PM)
Shut the damn door. This is what I do.
LOL thumbup.gif but wanna let cool air when raining to enter d house mah

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 25 2013, 09:37 PM)

Lexan Solar Control IR 10 mm thick, would have 20dB on Sound Reduction

Thicker would give you a Lower Sound.

Wall partition uses 2-Wall ( Twin Wall) or 3 Wall which reduce Sound

Solid Sheet Lexan* ( usually 15 mm) is widely use in Oversea Countries ( Europe, America, Japan) as SOUND WALL in the Highway
This give a better view for the Resident Instead of BLANK Walls in Malaysia

Info from the Web shows

Solid Sheet Lexan*, 6 mm 29dB on Sound Reduction
Solid Sheet Lexan*, 8 mm 31dB on Sound Reduction
Solid Sheet Lexan*, 12 mm 34dB on Sound Reduction
What type of Polycarbonate are you using? Solid or Multi Wall
wads solid wall n multiwall?
jerryng75
post Jan 26 2013, 09:44 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(lingkin @ Jan 25 2013, 11:59 PM)
Anybody use this type of Awning?
Seem like seldom ppl use this Membrance Awning for their house but seee quite often at outside shop or public place..
Any pro & con if use for house? Does it pratical?

It looks very nice , however, you need to design the Structure carefully
Someone once tried to use this type on the cafe beside the Condo Swimming Pool. Less than One Hour after the Installation, it was blown off .
Wind Load is a main concern for this as well.

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jan 26 2013, 09:45 AM
jerryng75
post Jan 26 2013, 09:52 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jan 26 2013, 01:21 AM)
LOL  thumbup.gif  but wanna let cool air when raining to enter d house mah
wads solid wall n multiwall?
Multi Wall Sheet is

Solid is like a Glass ( But, Virtually Un-Breakable)

weikee
post Jan 26 2013, 09:59 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 26 2013, 09:52 AM)
Multi Wall Sheet is

Solid is like a Glass ( But, Virtually Un-Breakable)

Locally, most Contractor user one thickness. And the problem will be fading and noisy.
jerryng75
post Jan 26 2013, 10:09 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 26 2013, 09:59 AM)
Locally,  most Contractor user one thickness.  And the problem will be fading and noisy.
Hi

Everyone need to Survive. More Margin . Hit and Run Business

I wanted to have a Clear Roof in my Car Porch, but Contractor told me Every 3 years need to Change
No Way I Will pay Every 3 years for a Clear Roof

So End up I waited another 2 years before I found this Lexan* Grade

Fading ? You Mean Yellowing?
From the Web site , They mention
' Lexan Thermoclear Plus offers a ten year limited written warranty against discoloration, loss of light transmission and loss of impact strength due to weathering with superior conditions compared to competitive products.'
weikee
post Jan 26 2013, 10:49 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 26 2013, 10:09 AM)
Hi

Everyone need to Survive. More Margin . Hit and Run Business

I wanted to have a Clear Roof in my Car Porch, but Contractor told me Every 3 years need to Change
No Way I Will pay Every 3 years for a Clear Roof

So End up I waited another 2 years before I found this Lexan* Grade

Fading ? You Mean Yellowing?
From the Web site , They mention
' Lexan Thermoclear Plus offers a ten year limited written warranty against discoloration, loss of light transmission and loss of impact strength due to weathering with superior conditions compared to competitive products.'
Good to know now have more option. I am looking for awning, what is the per sqft? Looking to compare with tempted glass

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 26 2013, 11:20 AM
ozak
post Jan 26 2013, 11:16 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jan 26 2013, 01:21 AM)
LOL  thumbup.gif  but wanna let cool air when raining to enter d house mah
During raining where got cool air lah. All the hot moisture raise. After raining than open the door. It damn noisy till I can't watch tv.

Another problem is, after longtime it will britter abit. Some damn cat always jump down and like to land on my poly sheet. After sometime some poly sheet brick and fall down.
jerryng75
post Jan 26 2013, 11:24 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 26 2013, 10:49 AM)
Good to know now have more option.  I am looking for awning, what is the per sqft? Looking to comoare with tempted glass
You will have a few Choice

Lower Cost - Twin Wall - Get 10 mm thick Lexan Solar Control IR , Best in this Class
6 mm Thick one doesn't look Good

Higher Cost . Solid Lexan, 6mm , Un-breakable , even by an Axes
Anything Lower than 6 mm is not advisable due to Waviness during Hot Sunny Day
Paying for Safety here

Glass ?

Get At Least - Laminated Glass ( Tempered Glass )
Glass will have Spontaneous Breaking ( Unless you willing to pay for Heat Soaked Tempered Glass, which High Rise uses)
Once they Break, The Lamination will hold it and not Drop Immediately. so You are Safe
Don't Get Float Glass. Too Dangerous

Critical Note

Polycarbonate is HALF the Weight of a Glass
12 mm Glass Can be Replace by 6mm Lexan SOLID. Which make the Weigh is A Quarter of the Weigh of Glass.
Conclusion is The Structure for Polycarbonate is much Lighter and LOWER Cost

Anyhow,
Workmanship + Structure = 70% of your Payment
Material = Only 30% of your Payment

jerryng75
post Jan 26 2013, 12:28 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 26 2013, 11:16 AM)
During raining where got cool air lah.  All the hot moisture raise. After raining than open the door. It damn noisy till I  can't watch tv.

Another problem is, after longtime it will britter abit. Some damn cat always jump down and like to land on my poly sheet. After sometime some poly sheet brick and fall down.
Hi Ozak,

I think you purchased an Un-Coated Polycarbonate ( Which is NOT Chemical Resistant)
Transparent Plastics allow Light, UV & IR to pass through ( Your Car Dash Board is NOT Transparent, therefore, with UV Retardant, it will not spoils after many years)
However, UV Retardant will not work with Transparent Plastics
UV will Damage all material, even your White Shirt will turn yellow

Your Case is like below Photos right?

Breakage?

Yellowing?

You need to replace that.
Replace with a 10mm Twin-Wall, Better Heat Insulation, More Beautiful & Less Noise compare to 6mm
Advise : 10 mm Lexan Solar Control IR ( Hollow Type)
~Curious~
post Jan 26 2013, 06:03 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 26 2013, 11:16 AM)
During raining where got cool air lah.  All the hot moisture raise. After raining than open the door. It damn noisy till I  can't watch tv.

yeah i hate when cats do tht,then shit all over hse compound.so noisy until cant watch tv?!tht's so sien sad.gif

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 26 2013, 12:28 PM)
Hi Ozak,

I think you purchased an Un-Coated Polycarbonate ( Which is NOT Chemical Resistant)
Transparent Plastics allow Light, UV & IR to pass through ( Your Car Dash Board is NOT Transparent, therefore, with UV Retardant, it will not spoils after many years)

Breakage?

Yellowing?

Replace with a 10mm Twin-Wall, Better Heat Insulation, More Beautiful & Less Noise compare to 6mm
r u a user or retailer for this lexan sheet?
jerryng75
post Jan 26 2013, 07:34 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jan 26 2013, 06:03 PM)
yeah i hate when  cats do tht,then shit all over hse compound.so noisy until cant watch tv?!tht's so sien sad.gif
r u a user or retailer for this lexan sheet?
I'm an User for Lexan* 10mm, Solar Control IR

House is Bright. Not Hot

No worries for 'Lumut' or Water

~Curious~
post Jan 26 2013, 08:20 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 26 2013, 07:34 PM)
I'm an User for Lexan* 10mm, Solar Control IR

House is Bright. Not Hot

No worries for 'Lumut' or Water
is there a showroom for this lexan ar?btw lexan is d brand's nname rite
jerryng75
post Jan 26 2013, 08:32 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jan 26 2013, 08:20 PM)
is there a showroom for this lexan ar?btw lexan is d brand's nname rite
Please refer to SABIC SFS

Petaling Street
Columbia Hospital , Kota Kamuning
Haven, Ipoh

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Apr 25 2014, 06:01 PM
ozak
post Jan 26 2013, 09:32 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 26 2013, 12:28 PM)
Hi Ozak,

Breakage?

Yellowing?

It already 14yrs. Don't expect it to last long. As long as nobody touch the sheet, it is still ok.

But the idiot cat like to land on it. That cause the sheet to crack and fall down.
~Curious~
post Jan 26 2013, 10:52 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 26 2013, 08:32 PM)
Please contact the Seller

Mr Danny, 012 5212 646

He is Involve in Selling Lexan

Petaling Street
Columbia Hospital , Kota Kamuning
Haven, Ipoh
none in pj area?ok thanks
weikee
post Jan 26 2013, 11:18 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 26 2013, 11:24 AM)
You will have a few Choice

Lower Cost - Twin Wall - Get 10 mm thick Lexan Solar Control IR , Best in this Class
6 mm Thick one doesn't look Good

Higher Cost . Solid Lexan, 6mm , Un-breakable , even by an Axes
Anything Lower than 6 mm is not advisable due to Waviness during Hot Sunny Day
Paying for Safety here

Glass ?

Get At Least - Laminated Glass ( Tempered Glass )
Glass will have Spontaneous Breaking ( Unless you willing to pay for Heat Soaked Tempered Glass, which High Rise uses)
Once they Break, The Lamination will hold it and not Drop Immediately. so You are Safe
Don't Get Float Glass. Too Dangerous
Critical Note

Polycarbonate is HALF the Weight of a Glass
12 mm Glass Can be Replace by 6mm Lexan SOLID. Which make the Weigh is A Quarter of the Weigh of Glass.
Conclusion is The Structure for Polycarbonate is much Lighter and LOWER Cost

Anyhow,
Workmanship + Structure = 70% of your Payment
Material = Only 30% of your Payment
I will prefer tempered glass over laminated. Laminated are weak, and easy break compare to tempered. I have bad experience on Laminated, even the broken glass are not falling, but still some pieces do drop and is very sharp.
ReadySteadyGo
post Jan 27 2013, 10:49 AM

72 posts

HI posted in the other topic so thought good to post here too.

Looking for contractors who can provide the following , I wanted to check whats the pricing for the following open area at the back of my house. Intend to do this after CNY.

- laying of RC concrete floor for 12 feet x 8 feet area (I will provide the tiles for installation)

- install a 9 feet high clear zinc roof (the wavy type) or roof tiles, with wooden structure on the same area with ceiling boards (I will provide the rock wool before you finish with putting up the ceiling boards. I prefer the concrete or iron pillars instead of wood but please provide costs difference for me to compare.

- extend wiring for light and ceiling fan (I will provide the light and fan)

If can provide a package inclusive of materials, eg gravel, cement, wooden (iron and concrete pillars) and rood wooden structure and zinc and labour cost would be preferred....

Please PM me your estimated prices soon as I will decide right after CNY by 17 Feb. If you can only do the pillars and roof part its still ok as I will then find someone to lay the concrete floor.
jerryng75
post Jan 27 2013, 11:05 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 26 2013, 11:18 PM)
I will prefer tempered glass over laminated. Laminated are weak, and easy break compare to tempered. I have bad experience on Laminated, even the broken glass are not falling, but still some pieces do drop and is very sharp.
Tempered Glass = 1 pieces
Laminated = 2 pieces
Laminated Tempered Glass = 2 pieces
Hybrid Laminated = 1 Pieces Float + 1 pieces Laminated

Theoretically When Tempered Glass Breaks, it's not sharp ( Maybe Process not Complete)
It should breaks nto Millions of pieces

I still think 1 pieces Laminate Glass is risky
All the above combination will have the risk of spontaneous Breaking. No Idea When.

For Safety get Laminated Tempered Glass = 2 pieces
~Curious~
post Jan 27 2013, 01:49 PM

1,744 posts

i plan to do an awning for car por ch tht allows light in...but how many types of materials are available?
wads d differen ce between laminated glass n tempered glass?
jerryng75
post Jan 27 2013, 02:11 PM

76 posts

Bro

Check out thread

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=57851972

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jan 27 2013, 02:13 PM
weikee
post Jan 27 2013, 02:12 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 27 2013, 11:05 AM)
Laminated = 2 pieces

Theoretically When Tempered Glass Breaks, it's not sharp ( Maybe Process not Complete)

All the above combination will have the risk of spontaneous Breaking. No Idea When.

How often you see glass door break? is one piece tempered. Laminated tempered, i do hear and read about it real application i have not seen before.
jerryng75
post Jan 27 2013, 05:39 PM

76 posts

Glass Door usually not Installed Directly Under the Sun, Where there is a Prolong Heat & Cold.
That's why there are less easy to break.
My Office Tempered Glass Door Broke twice due to Accidentally Knocked Hard

For Roofing it's a different case

You could go for Tempered Glass. Their Chemical Resistant is the Among Best. Mean that Unless It Break, It will last forever

Setback is It's expensive & Hot

Note that You still have to Clean if ofter & Repair the Silicone to prevent water leaking
Never Skip Maintenance, ya !!

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jan 27 2013, 05:41 PM
jerryng75
post Jan 28 2013, 11:00 AM

76 posts

Choose Lexan 10 mm Solar Control IR Twin Wall

Reason : See video below ( Yes price also Cheaper Compare to solid 3 mm)

jerryng75
post Jan 28 2013, 12:16 PM

76 posts

Now, below show why 6 mm is better than 3 mm For Roofing

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jan 28 2013, 12:18 PM
jerryng75
post Feb 20 2013, 01:49 AM

76 posts

Hi ,

Check out this Live demo of Lexan* Solar Control IR

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Feb 20 2013, 01:52 AM
malo
post Feb 21 2013, 11:30 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 27 2013, 11:05 AM)
Laminated = 2 pieces

Lets go this way:
12mm tempered glass=is in 1 piece of 12mm thick glass into a Oven
12.38 laminated glass = 6mm thick glass +0.38mm laminated film + 6mm thick glass

Therefore, laminated glass is more vulnerable than tempered purerly because of the thickness.

Safety wise, laminated glass is far more secure than tempered glass (normal temper, as they are many types of tempered glass).
Tempered glass will shatter when it breaks and will cut . Laminated glass will onli crack n still stick wont cut, unless u go touch it.
KLsooner
post Jul 12 2013, 10:37 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Feb 20 2013, 01:49 AM)
Hi ,

Check out this Live demo of Lexan* Solar Control IR

Hi Jerry,

You so gung-ho about this lexan, can you advice what is the per sqft price after adding labour, structure and material.
ericlaiys
post Jul 16 2013, 06:34 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(teq @ Apr 27 2012, 04:14 PM)
sorry tumpang topic..

i installed polycarbonate skylight at my back yard, but result is not as expected. My back yard is 5 feet and the skylight is only 6 feet.. thus rain water comes in easily..

are there any solution for this? adding something like curtain? or I have to cover my grill with some plastic/glass? icon_question.gif

here the photo:

Mind to pm me the price for awning & Grill that you installed at your yard? I planned to do the same

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Jul 16 2013, 06:42 PM
ride00
post Jul 24 2013, 03:16 PM

80 posts

At this moment I am installing a glass porch
with balau supports. They have just finished
the frame supports. Next week the contractor
will be fitting a light green tinted laminated
glass top.
Not all the front will be covered as roof access
via a ladder is needed. Glass area is 14 ft x 7 ft.
Cost for this is around RM6800.
Hope this helps in your decision. Chez!
jerryng75
post Sep 12 2013, 10:25 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(KLsooner @ Jul 12 2013, 10:37 AM)
Hi Jerry,

You so gung-ho about this lexan, can you advice what is the per sqft price after adding labour, structure and material.

I'm not a Contractor

But The Plastics is 25 ~ 30 % of the Total cost They Charged me (Maybe Lower too)
tishaban
post Sep 17 2013, 11:29 AM

3,615 posts

I was talking to my contractor to get a roof with wooden trusses and wooden pillars built. This would be attached to my back door.

At 8' x 8' with chengai wood for the pillars and balau for the trusses I was quoted RM8,500 which I think is far too expensive.

Any comments out there? Recommendations for contractors maybe? Thanks.

timelime
post Sep 25 2013, 01:11 PM

51 posts

hi, does any sifu here know anything about this type of roof? what is it name? Is it expensive(around how much per square foot)?
It seems to me slick and simple, I would like to install this for my balcony if the price is affordable for me.

Anyone here can introduce contractor who can do this?

thanks in advance, cheers.

BeeB88
post Sep 25 2013, 05:13 PM

13 posts

Can I ask, do we need to install gutter for polycarbonate awning?
Reason I'm asking is because one contractor quoted me that, while the other did not.
nitromx
post Sep 25 2013, 05:31 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(BeeB88 @ Sep 25 2013, 05:13 PM)
Reason I'm asking is because one contractor quoted me that, while the other did not.
if you are doing it for front car porch , better get with gutter (but it doesn't look nice .. imo)

jerryng75
post Sep 26 2013, 11:04 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(BeeB88 @ Sep 25 2013, 05:13 PM)
Bro,

do a Gutter.

You can do it yourself if you want to cut cost

During Rain you will know why.

Do a Hinge every 3 feet. Or they will warp and water will flow OUT !!
ken.lee1
post Sep 26 2013, 11:07 PM

316 posts

sorry, i am unsure what is gutter purpose?
jerryng75
post Sep 26 2013, 11:07 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(timelime @ Sep 25 2013, 01:11 PM)

hi, does any sifu here know anything about this type of roof? what is it name? Is it expensive(around how much per square foot)?
It seems to me slick and simple, I would like to install this for my balcony if the price is affordable for me.

Anyone here can introduce contractor who can do this?

thanks in advance, cheers.
Bro, when you do yours, go for simplicity.

The Design is more than what you need
But...Your the boss, you decide

Please refer to SABIC SFS

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Apr 25 2014, 05:59 PM
wanchenghuat
post Sep 27 2013, 02:02 AM

481 posts

i have some stupid pigeons going into my roof sad.gif
i am wondering how can get rid off them.. anyone have good contacts that dun cost a bomb?
jerryng75
post Sep 27 2013, 10:50 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(ken.lee1 @ Sep 26 2013, 11:07 PM)
sorry, i am unsure what is gutter purpose?
Gutter

The main purpose of a rain gutter is to protect a building's foundation by channeling water away from its base. The gutter also helps to reduce erosion, prevents leaks in basements and crawlspaces, protects painted or stained surfaces by reducing exposure to water and provides a means to collect rainwater for later use.

When it rains, You will have to run through Larger Drop of Water from the roof ( If no gutter)

Erosion( Holes) will appear if no gutter
jerryng75
post Sep 27 2013, 10:51 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(wanchenghuat @ Sep 27 2013, 02:02 AM)
i have some stupid pigeons going into my roof sad.gif
i am wondering how can get rid off them.. anyone have good contacts that dun cost a bomb?
Hi, Climb up the roof and block all the holes.
petlu28
post Sep 27 2013, 10:54 PM

3,936 posts

I am looking awning too which one better? Polycarbonate or normal awning?
ericlaiys
post Sep 27 2013, 11:09 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 27 2013, 10:54 PM)
I am looking awning too which one better? Polycarbonate or normal awning?
Skylight polycarbonate (modern) tongue.gif
petlu28
post Sep 27 2013, 11:12 PM

3,936 posts

Embossed or clear surface? My contractor quote me RM 20 psf. Clear surface rm24 psf.

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 27 2013, 11:09 PM)
jerryng75
post Sep 28 2013, 12:24 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 27 2013, 11:09 PM)
Your The Boss.

Do you need light into your house?
Go For Lexan Solar Control IR, which reduce 30% Heat Compare to other Grade in the Market, with Warranty
Check out the Old Posting

If you need NOT Light, go for Metal Type, As thick as possible ( You may need to climb up there one day)
I'm using Metal for my Wet Kitchen.

Emboss Polycarbonate is one Layer, 2.6 mm thick only
If you choose Solid Type, better go for 6 mm, which is Un-Breakable with Axe

Twin-Wall is 2 layer ( which Insulate Heat better) and Lower Cost.
petlu28
post Sep 28 2013, 12:42 PM

3,936 posts

I just choose this type polycarbonate. Middle row from left 2nd grey color.

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Sep 28 2013, 12:24 PM)
Your The Boss.

Do you need light into your house?
Go For Lexan Solar Control IR, which reduce 30% Heat Compare to other Grade in the Market, with Warranty
Check out the Old Posting

If you need NOT Light, go for Metal Type, As thick as possible ( You may need to climb up there one day)
I'm using Metal for my Wet Kitchen.

Emboss Polycarbonate is one Layer, 2.6 mm thick only
If you choose Solid Type, better go for 6 mm, which is Un-Breakable with Axe

Twin-Wall is 2 layer ( which Insulate Heat better) and Lower Cost.
This post has been edited by petlu28: Sep 28 2013, 12:46 PM

ericlaiys
post Sep 28 2013, 02:29 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 28 2013, 12:42 PM)
I just choose this type polycarbonate. Middle row from left 2nd grey color.
my contractor advise, don't choose light color. Reason - "bird shit" will turn from beautiful to ugly. unless you so hard working to climb up every day and wash. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 28 2013, 02:30 PM
lingkin
post Sep 29 2013, 01:59 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 28 2013, 02:29 PM)
my contractor advise, don't choose light color. Reason - "bird shit" will turn from beautiful to ugly. unless you so hard working to climb up every day and wash. tongue.gif
And it will also be very2 hot during noon, dun choose light colour which plainly for aesthetic purpose, i am so regret right nw..
petlu28
post Sep 29 2013, 08:48 AM

3,936 posts

If choos dark color later color will lighter?

QUOTE(lingkin @ Sep 29 2013, 01:59 AM)
And it will also be very2 hot during noon, dun choose light colour which plainly for aesthetic purpose, i am so regret right nw..
ericlaiys
post Sep 29 2013, 09:50 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 29 2013, 08:48 AM)
that one future only think. Who's know?
by that time, all bird shit already full on top to add another layer.
I pity those that do glass. Look elegant and nice. But with bird shit...ewww.... (more cleaning)

You probably demolish and rebuild a new one. tongue.gifc

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 29 2013, 09:54 AM
weikee
post Sep 29 2013, 11:04 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 29 2013, 09:50 AM)
I pity those that do glass. Look elegant and nice. But with bird shit...ewww.... (more cleaning)

We have rain to wash away the birds drop. Furthermore how often you get birds drop?

Few of my mom neighbor put awning I hardly see them wash and is still good looking.

Concern about bird drop, you can climb up and check how many bird dropping on the roof.
jerryng75
post Sep 29 2013, 12:52 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 29 2013, 08:48 AM)
It Will,,,, But depend on the Brand you Choose

Polycarbonate is NOT Chemical Resistant..

Your Washing Machine, Microwave label are Printed on Polycarbonate.
The Color stick to it so good...

Get Coated Polycarbonate for your Outdoor Skyroof.. with Warranty Against Yellowing ( so It won't Change Color)
jerryng75
post Sep 29 2013, 01:02 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 28 2013, 02:29 PM)
We want Light to comes below, so Choose Poly Carbonate
If go for Darker Color, Better get Steel, Cheaper and no need to maintain.

Brighter House has less Mosquito and Good Feng Shui

jerryng75
post Sep 29 2013, 01:07 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 29 2013, 09:50 AM)

Bro..Having a SkyRoof is Not Cheap

For the Sake of Green, At least use for more than 10 years.
Batu Tiga Stadiums is more than 10 years before they try to Change ( Not successful I guess, They replace bit by bit)

Workmanship + Steel = 70 ~ 75%
Roof ( Polycarbonate) = 25 ~ 30%

I purposely bought my Roof separately as the Contractor Say they don't offer the one I want.
So End up I pay high price.

But, I ain't changing roof for at least 10 Years

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Sep 29 2013, 01:13 PM
petlu28
post Sep 29 2013, 04:33 PM

3,936 posts

Roughly how much coated per sf?

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Sep 29 2013, 12:52 PM)
It Will,,,, But depend on the Brand you Choose

Polycarbonate is NOT Chemical Resistant..

Your Washing Machine, Microwave label are Printed on Polycarbonate.
The Color stick to it so good...

Get Coated Polycarbonate for your Outdoor Skyroof.. with Warranty Against Yellowing ( so It won't Change Color)
jerryng75
post Sep 29 2013, 09:37 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 29 2013, 04:33 PM)
Roughly how much coated per sf?
My material price was RM 7.50 per Sq Ft ( For Coated + Reduce Heat Grade & about 60% Light Transmission). Since it's Brand is good, I'm need not Worry
You can get Cheaper Type, but Make Sure you get a Written 10 years warranty ( You can claim them when they turn yellow, break for natural cause & Blurr Out)

petlu28
post Sep 29 2013, 09:42 PM

3,936 posts

Can show me some photo?

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Sep 29 2013, 09:37 PM)
My material price was RM 7.50 per Sq Ft ( For Coated + Reduce Heat Grade & about 60% Light Transmission). Since it's Brand is good, I'm need not Worry
You can get Cheaper Type, but Make Sure you get a Written 10 years warranty ( You can claim them when they turn yellow, break for natural cause & Blurr Out)
petlu28
post Sep 30 2013, 01:46 PM

3,936 posts

I just get quotation polycarbonate base on 15 feet x 4 feet RM1200. RM60 per sf.
weikee
post Sep 30 2013, 01:52 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 30 2013, 01:46 PM)
I just get quotation polycarbonate base on 15 feet x 4 feet RM1200. RM60 per sf.
Kawan, is RM 20/sqft
petlu28
post Sep 30 2013, 02:04 PM

3,936 posts

Sorry see wrong info. You area right Rm20 per sf. thanks

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 30 2013, 01:52 PM)
Kawan, is RM 20/sqft
This post has been edited by petlu28: Sep 30 2013, 02:13 PM
ericlaiys
post Sep 30 2013, 03:22 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 30 2013, 02:04 PM)
Sorry see wrong info. You area right Rm20 per sf. thanks
RM20 psf is normal price.
petlu28
post Sep 30 2013, 03:35 PM

3,936 posts

Ok Thanks

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 30 2013, 03:22 PM)
RM20 psf is normal price.
billyboy
post Oct 1 2013, 06:49 AM

2,220 posts

Try LTC - maybe can get 16 to 18 psf. They do their own fabrication. Need to nego a bit. They are at Kota Kemuning.
zheilwane
post Oct 1 2013, 07:32 AM

4,184 posts

I notice most ppl will go for green to match their balcony or window glass color but it will make your house look green. So, do use a touch light to test when you are choosing your polycarbonate color.

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Oct 1 2013, 07:34 AM

sovietmah
post Oct 1 2013, 10:55 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Oct 1 2013, 07:32 AM)
I notice most ppl will go for green to match their balcony or window glass color but it will make your house look green. So, do use a touch light to test when you are choosing your polycarbonate color.
never get green one ar... looks so geli.
petlu28
post Oct 1 2013, 11:09 AM

3,936 posts

I plan using mild steel awning cheap.

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Oct 1 2013, 10:55 AM)
never get green one ar... looks so geli.
ericlaiys
post Oct 1 2013, 11:10 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Oct 1 2013, 11:09 AM)
I plan using mild steel awning cheap.
how much?
petlu28
post Oct 1 2013, 11:19 AM

3,936 posts

RM9 per sf.

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Oct 1 2013, 11:10 AM)
how much?
klangboy83
post Oct 1 2013, 11:38 AM

438 posts

what's the different between the flat and curved polycarbonate roofs?
which one is easier to wash away bird droppings and modern look:

ck_boon
post Oct 1 2013, 12:19 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Dec 5 2011, 09:47 PM)
Hi everybody..  smile.gif

if you have good looking awning please post it here  notworthy.gif
your comment are appreciate..  notworthy.gif
thanks.  icon_rolleyes.gif

my house.

not bad. how much u paid for the awning? 30k?
ericlaiys
post Oct 1 2013, 01:11 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Oct 1 2013, 11:19 AM)
RM9 per sf.
Consider ok. Cheaper than skylight 50%.
petlu28
post Oct 1 2013, 02:32 PM

3,936 posts

Yes. need cut cost too. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Oct 1 2013, 01:11 PM)
Consider ok. Cheaper than skylight 50%.
ericlaiys
post Oct 1 2013, 05:22 PM

7,529 posts

i just get this info from MPK (Klang). They told me, my house cannot do awning. Car porch almost reached to limit that allowed. If do, only can do 2f. So got extra 8f (that is limit). So it is pointless. If do, then it is consider illegal and can sue us.
Therefore , i advise that anyone want to do renovation , please check with your local Majlis Bandaran. This is what i have been told:
1. Yard - is empty by design. So you add grill, cement, skylight is also need permit. (No need if the kitchen door which by design. You can add grill only.
2. Car porch awning - need permit
3. Reallocate dustbin - need permit
I was shocked when i heard about it.

They will give you advise what need permit or need. They will check your floor plan and already visited the site. So i cannot say anything as he draw my whole house floor plan without i show them. Just tell them which area.

Well, now it look like i need to apply permit for my yard conversion.
cliffe
post Oct 3 2013, 03:22 PM

219 posts

How much if 20feets x 5 feets?
Include the frame and installation.

I think that is glass right?
Any experience?

Attached image(s)
ericlaiys
post Oct 3 2013, 05:32 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(klangboy83 @ Oct 1 2013, 11:38 AM)
what's the different between the flat and curved polycarbonate roofs?
which one is easier to wash away bird droppings and modern look:

This is the feedback that most people told me. Curve is better than flat coz reflect more heat. That's why most house in malaysia roof is not flat.
Not sure true or not?

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Oct 3 2013, 05:32 PM
MANSTIR
post Oct 4 2013, 10:39 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(Curtainspecialist @ Oct 4 2013, 04:15 AM)

Our Blind from Japan/Turkey/Korea - Very trendy .

May i know your quote. on roller blind?

Some company cant do wider roller blind more than 8". I mean one blind not combine with two. (exp. 13" sliding door")

Tq
TSmav_850
post Oct 4 2013, 10:55 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Oct 1 2013, 12:19 PM)
not bad. how much u paid for the awning? 30k?
DIY bro.. that house sold edi.. hahaha...
wow if 30K... i'll build all your windows also..

project now build gazebo.. 12x8.. brows.gif
stevie8
post Oct 7 2013, 04:31 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Oct 1 2013, 05:22 PM)
i just get this info from MPK (Klang). They told me, my house cannot do awning. Car porch almost reached to limit that allowed. If do, only can do 2f. So got extra 8f (that is limit). So it is pointless. If do, then it is consider illegal and can sue us.
Therefore , i advise that anyone want to do renovation , please check with your local Majlis Bandaran. This is what i have been told:
1. Yard - is empty by design. So you add grill, cement, skylight is also need permit. (No need if the kitchen door which by design. You can add grill only.

They will give you advise what need permit or need. They will check your floor plan and already visited the site. So i cannot say anything as he draw my whole house floor plan without i show them. Just tell them which area.

Aiyo, why you go and ask??? Now they know you have been told and cannot do already! Over time just do it quietly, they dont come and kacau. If they want to sue there are so many to sue and make them not popular and if the news go out almost all house owners all over the country have to be sued.

Usually worst case you just pay a small fine and they will not ask you to tear it down.
ericlaiys
post Oct 7 2013, 04:46 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Oct 7 2013, 04:31 PM)
Aiyo, why you go and ask??? Now they know you have been told and cannot do already! Over time just do it quietly, they dont come and kacau. If they want to sue there are so many to sue and make them not popular and if the news go out almost all house owners all over the country have to be sued.

Usually worst case you just pay a small fine and they will not ask you to tear it down.
well, it is better go and follow rules. (my style). My brother house(last 10 years, he did renovation and did not apply permit. Got fines RM500 (10 years ago fines) and need to go through a lot of process.

So better don't mess up. Anyway, it is up to individual preferences.

Well, i've ask my neighbour permission as well. I have managed to talk to my neighbour last sunday. Told them my plan, he is ok and signed the permission for mpk submission.

So at least now i'm know they are ok on my renovation plan. Dont want them to get angry as well

Sorry, probably i too followed according to the book. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Oct 7 2013, 04:53 PM
stevie8
post Oct 7 2013, 08:16 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Oct 7 2013, 04:46 PM)
well, it is better go and follow rules. (my style). My brother house(last 10 years, he did renovation and did not apply permit. Got fines RM500 (10 years ago fines) and need to go through a lot of process.

So better don't mess up. Anyway, it is up to individual preferences.

Well, i've ask my neighbour permission as well. I have managed to talk to my neighbour last sunday. Told them my plan, he is ok and signed the permission for mpk submission.

So at least now i'm know they are ok on my renovation plan. Dont want them to get angry as well

Sorry, probably i too followed according to the book. tongue.gif
It is all up to you like singaporean kai si. Singapore is a fine country. You break the law you pay. But here we have totally different culture. For renovation of course you go and get permit but for small matter like awning you will not get what you want if you apply. For awning our officers just close eyes, both eyes. Our officers, unlike singapore, are very human and understanding. For awning is ok one. But if you want follow rules you give them no choice and as officers meeting people like you they will follow rules.
KK.Kay
post Oct 18 2013, 12:59 PM

15 posts

We Are a company that do only awning.

We Have did lots of project and non of our customer told us they been summon by the Majlis or others.

Except if the awning size you did has exceed your house area and go to others people house, and your neighbor made a complain.

Don't worry as long as u do your awning remain inside your house area.

Proneex Awning & Gates Sdn.Bhd.

K.K
012-7109975
Admin

This post has been edited by KK.Kay: Oct 21 2013, 05:24 PM
ryansxs
post Oct 19 2013, 08:06 AM

2,376 posts

Im urgently looking for grill contractor for a condominum at old klang road.
please pm me soon. thanx
soR
post Oct 20 2013, 07:15 AM

1,140 posts

Can anyone suggest me contractor pc awning skylight? And what i need to know about pc awning skylight
pskhoo
post Oct 21 2013, 11:08 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Oct 20 2013, 07:15 AM)
Can anyone suggest me contractor pc awning skylight? And what i need to know about pc awning skylight
Please try www.3conn.com.my

or call 016-2622285
petlu28
post Oct 21 2013, 05:26 PM

3,936 posts

I would like to know is it landed install awning have standard size outer? my contractor quote me W- 18 feet x L - 4 feet.
jacquelyn2326
post Oct 21 2013, 10:56 PM

Hi, wondering how much market selling per sq ft for UV polycarbonate ?
pskhoo
post Oct 22 2013, 12:37 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Oct 21 2013, 05:26 PM)
I would like to know is it landed install awning have standard size outer? my contractor quote me W- 18 feet x L - 4 feet.
RM19/sf for solid polycarbonate sheet.
petlu28
post Oct 22 2013, 04:35 PM

3,936 posts

I just check with MPKJ. Behind house if wanna install awning just can do 1 feet only. Otherwise need apply permit.
I wonder 1 feet wanna cover what? doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Oct 1 2013, 05:22 PM)

stevie8
post Oct 22 2013, 04:54 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Oct 22 2013, 04:35 PM)
I just check with MPKJ. Behind house if wanna install awning just can do 1 feet only. Otherwise need apply permit.
I wonder 1 feet wanna cover what?  doh.gif  doh.gif
Just go out to the back of your house see anyone has awning. If not go to other row and see for yourself. If they do more than 2 feet. If noone is doing then go to other houseing estates under MPKJ and see. Sure many. Then talk to them if anyone get into troble.

Like I said just do it. You think they will go house to house to check? And then go back to office and check who the owners are and then issue summons? You think they are so free got nothing better to do ah? You think they are so hard working or care? What harm can you bring to your neighbor with your awning? You can go to jail or they like you to pay fine? And even if you got summon just dont pay and you think they will drag you to court ah? Or they go get authorization from court to tear down your awning? No la. They couldn't be bother just like millions of parking tickets people dont bother to pay and no body go to court. You can even dont bother to go to court just like all these parking ticket and the court also dont bother if you do not attend court.

Ok, Let say you are so kia si and go to court. Just tell the court there are so many awnings in their jurisdiction and they are not here in court, why?. The officer will probably tell you that you are the only one kia si and attended court!!! tongue.gif
petlu28
post Oct 22 2013, 05:02 PM

3,936 posts

Thanks your advise. I just want to know is it have standard measurement. I am 1st time staying landed so want to know more only. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

MPKJ have told me go apply permit. I wonder is it need newly yearly?

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Oct 22 2013, 04:54 PM)
Just go out to the back of your house see anyone has awning. If not go to other row and see for yourself. If they do more than 2 feet. If noone is doing then go to other houseing estates under MPKJ and see. Sure many. Then talk to them if anyone get into troble.

Like I said just do it. You think they will go house to house to check? And then go back to office and check who the owners are and then issue summons? You think they are so free got nothing better to do ah? You think they are so hard working or care? What harm can you bring to your neighbor with your awning? You can go to jail or they like you to pay fine?  And even if you got summon just dont pay and you think they will drag you to court ah? Or they go get authorization from court to tear down your awning? No la. They couldn't be bother just like millions of parking tickets people dont bother to pay and no body go to court. You can even dont bother to go to court just like all these parking ticket and the court also dont bother if you do not attend court.

Ok, Let say you are so kia si and go to court. Just tell the court there are so many awnings in their jurisdiction and they are not here in court, why?. The officer will probably tell you that you are the only one kia si and attended court!!! tongue.gif
This post has been edited by petlu28: Oct 22 2013, 05:03 PM
stevie8
post Oct 22 2013, 07:08 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Oct 22 2013, 05:02 PM)
Thanks your advise. I just want to know is it have standard measurement. I am 1st time staying landed so want to know more only.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

MPKJ have told me go apply permit. I wonder is it need newly yearly?
Unless it is a commercial property, residential only once if you apply. For commercial it is advisable to apply otherwise they will kacau you doing business.
petlu28
post Oct 22 2013, 10:54 PM

3,936 posts

You are right too. Nearby my office some restaurant have extend until walkway then they will come every 1 week of month.

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Oct 22 2013, 07:08 PM)
Unless it is a commercial property, residential only once if you apply. For commercial it is advisable to apply otherwise they will kacau you doing business.
3-Conn Metal
post Oct 23 2013, 03:46 PM

69 posts

Our company do all type of Awning and Pergola. Please contact 016-2622285.TQ
3-Conn Metal
post Oct 24 2013, 05:57 PM

69 posts

Our company provide a various type of metal works. Kindly please call 016-2622285. TQ
nickl3ss
post Oct 30 2013, 10:30 PM

90 posts

Clay roof tile will steel thrust...any supplier....puchong
jerryng75
post Oct 31 2013, 09:48 AM

76 posts

ALWAYS TAKE NOTE : POLYCARBONATE " CHEMICAL RESISTANCE " is POOR . Get "Coated" Polycarbonate for Long Lasting

jagjag
post Nov 25 2013, 11:35 AM

537 posts

What is the longest span possible for a glass awning without pillar ( cantilever ). Lets say the width is 8 feet. Something like this....

weikee
post Nov 25 2013, 12:15 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Nov 25 2013, 11:35 AM)
What is the longest span possible for a glass awning without pillar ( cantilever ). Lets say the width is 8 feet. Something like this....

Last time I ask was 6ft
jagjag
post Nov 25 2013, 01:46 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 25 2013, 12:15 PM)
Last time I ask was 6ft
OK..6ft actually its my minimum requirement..
Anymore advise or opinion ???
3-Conn Metal
post Nov 27 2013, 02:40 PM

69 posts

Our company are provide metal works such as awning,pergola,gates and more.Kindly call 016-2622285 for more inquiries and for best price. TQ
jagjag
post Dec 11 2013, 01:25 PM

537 posts

My house front facade look like this. If install a 6 feet awning like this

along the facade ( 20 feet ).Do it look OK. ????
As never come across any house that have similar design ....
Any advise or comment.....

the s.crib
post Dec 11 2013, 02:26 PM

32 posts

I need someone to dismantle a retractable awning for me and install in another place. Anyone up for the job?

jbmari
post Dec 14 2013, 04:01 PM

Looking for contractors to install awning. Location is Johor.

Instaillation work required:
1) Back yard (23 ft x 14 ft)
2) Car Porch (23 ft x 5 ft)
3) Room (23 ft x 3 ft)

Please PM me best price. TQ!
mlyuki
post Feb 6 2014, 04:07 PM

44 posts

Hi, I plan to install awning behind my house (wet kitchen). Anyone can tell me what you called this type of awning?
Will it noisy when rains?

kokmengng
post Feb 9 2014, 01:31 PM

882 posts

Guys,

Do you think there is such thing as tinted polycarbonate skylight or any way i can apply tint on polycarbonate skylight? Reason being i like the sun light coming thru but not the heat. Tempered glass skylight is not an option due to budget constraint.

Thank you in advance for your comment/feedback. Cheers.
sabic.sfs
post Feb 9 2014, 03:48 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kokmengng @ Feb 9 2014, 01:31 PM)
Guys,

Do you think there is such thing as tinted polycarbonate skylight or any way i can apply tint on polycarbonate skylight? Reason being i like the sun light coming thru but not the heat. Tempered glass skylight is not an option due to budget constraint.

Yes. Light but Less Heat is the best.

This post has been edited by sabic.sfs: Feb 9 2014, 04:04 PM
jerryng75
post Feb 9 2014, 04:08 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(kokmengng @ Feb 9 2014, 01:31 PM)
Guys,

Hi Kok Meng,

yes, You can add tinted Film unto Polycarbonate.
I've seen people did that

or

Get what I use for myself.
This Lexan Solar control IR reduce 30% Heat compare to any other Grade in the market. with Warranty Longer than Tinted film.

kokmengng
post Feb 9 2014, 06:45 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Feb 9 2014, 04:08 PM)
Hi Kok Meng,

yes, You can add tinted Film unto Polycarbonate.
I've seen people did that

or

Get what I use for myself.
This Lexan Solar control IR reduce 30% Heat compare to any other Grade in the market. with Warranty Longer than Tinted film.

Hi Jerry,

Mind to share the price/sqft on this product? Also, any recommended dealer or reseller on Lexan's polycarbonate?

jerryng75
post Feb 9 2014, 06:53 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(kokmengng @ Feb 9 20146:45 PM)
Hi Jerry,

Mind to share the price/sqft on this product? Also, any recommended dealer or reseller on Lexan's polycarbonate?
You can contact Andy Tan @ 018 290 4575

He can give you more details

ReadySteadyGo
post Feb 14 2014, 03:57 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 25 2012, 11:06 AM)
Nice design. But if this swimming for kid, look abit dangerous. As it look many sharp corner and edge. Once fall and kena head  sweat.gif
Hi am interested to find out price of steel awning of 15 feet length x 10 feet width x 9 feet height with the back section of the 10 feet width fastened to car porch concrete beam, meaning only two steel poles in front only. Roof to be wire fencing or rebar steel to allow vine to creep.

Location - Subang Jaya area
MANSTIR
post Feb 17 2014, 08:00 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 23 2013, 09:10 PM)
Hi All,

For Sky Light or Awning, use Lexan* Twin Wall, Grade Recommended is Lexan* 10mm Thickness Solar Control IR, Light Green in Color

In the 1960s, NASA used Lexan* Brand Polycarbonate for Astronaut helmet assemblies and visors which became known as "bubble helmets", including those used by the Apollo moon astronauts.

Advantages
1) 2 Wall , Better Heat Insulation
2) Lower Cost
3) Reduce 30% Heat
4) 2 Side UV Resistant Coating ( Generally, Polycarbonate is NOT Chemical Resistant. Can be printed as label, example laptop Battery uses Polycarbonate FR Film as Label)
5) Impact Resistance. Virtually Un-Breakble Youtube has many Video on the Impact Test
6) 10 year Warranty - Against Yellowing ( yellow Index Not more than 2, which naked Eyes can see)
                              - Against Impact ( Drilled Holes Failure not Warrant)
                              - Against Lost of Light Transmission
7) Light Transmission - More than 65%
8) Coated PolyCarbonate ( Lexan* Own Coating which was Developed in-house)

More Details

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lexan

http://www.sabic-ip.com/sfs/SFS/en/Product...ntrolsheet.html

Dust or Fungus will grow in the Slot but that can be eliminate if you get a Good Contractor.
Use Anti - Dust tape, which will allow the Water to Vaporize and 'Flow' out through the Special Membrane in the Anti-Dust Tape
It will prevent Water from Sipping in and Grow Fungus

Many Stadium are Built from Multi-Wall Sheet , which also uses the Anti-Dust Tape ( Do a Search for Anti-Dust tape)
Examples :

Material Cost for Lexan* 10mm Thickness Solar Control IR, Light Green in Color is approximately RM 6.80/square feet.

To be Sure, Call the manufacturer for a Claim ( Some Manufacturer also claim give 10 years Warranty). Ask them to visit you. You can judge the product by their Services
Give them the Lot No ( Date of Manufacturing or Purchasing Agents for Verification).

Another Option is to use 6 mm Lexan* Solid Sheet. Same Warranty .
6mm will not be break by an Axe & and will not deform from heat ( 3 mm thick Polycarbonate will Wave on hot Days)
Some contractor wont recommend this type of roofing due to dust and fungus and some say it will break! Hmmm to hard to choose which is better.

I like skylight functions, want to plants some under..

sabic.sfs
post Feb 17 2014, 08:21 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(MANSTIR @ Feb 17 2014, 08:00 PM)
Some contractor wont recommend this type of roofing due to dust and fungus and some say it will break! Hmmm to hard to choose which is better.

I like skylight functions, want to plants some under..
Hi Manstir,

We understand that Twin-Wall was spoiled by workmanship error. We tried hard to provide a proper installation technique.

As mention by a few user here, It's lower in cost and Best Insulation compares to Solid Polycarbonate.
Furthermore, we will promote 5 wall soon in Malaysia, which reduce even more Heat in this hot weather.

I would suggest you to find an Experience Contractor to do this.
Examples of a good project is Petaling Street and Kota Kemuning, Columbia Hospital

If you need guide, Please PM me or email ( sabic.sfs@gmail.com) , and we will be happy to email you the Installation Method.

SABIC IP ( Previously known as GE Plastics), Specialty Sheet & Film Division has been selling this product since 1968.
Will many Stadiums build around the Globe, Multi-Wall sheet will be the Right Product to Choose.

MANSTIR
post Feb 18 2014, 12:44 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(sabic.sfs @ Feb 17 2014, 08:21 PM)
Hi Manstir,

We understand that Twin-Wall was spoiled by workmanship error. We tried hard to provide a proper installation technique.

As mention by a few user here, It's lower in cost and Best Insulation compares to Solid Polycarbonate.
Furthermore, we will promote 5 wall soon in Malaysia, which reduce even more Heat in this hot weather.

Examples of a good project is Petaling Street and  Kota Kemuning, Columbia Hospital

If you need guide, Please PM me or email ( sabic.sfs@gmail.com) , and we will be happy to email you the Installation Method.

SABIC IP ( Previously known as GE Plastics),  Specialty Sheet & Film Division has been selling this product since 1968.
Will many Stadiums build around the Globe, Multi-Wall sheet will be the Right Product to Choose.
Are you sure i can get RM6 psft?
CODE

please guide me to find experience contractor who know how.
CODE

Examples of a good project is Petaling Street and Kota Kemuning, Columbia Hospital

This post has been edited by MANSTIR: Feb 18 2014, 12:51 PM
sabic.sfs
post Feb 19 2014, 07:10 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(MANSTIR @ Feb 18 2014, 12:44 PM)
Are you sure i can get RM6 psft?
CODE

please guide me to find experience contractor who know how.
CODE

HI Manstir,

The price is the estimated price for Lexan* Thermoclear Solar Control IR, 10 mm TwinWall
For Clear or Bronze, The Material cost is Slightly Lower.

This is Just the Plastic Material Price Only

MANSTIR
post Feb 19 2014, 08:03 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(sabic.sfs @ Feb 19 2014, 07:10 AM)
HI Manstir,

The price is the estimated price for Lexan* Thermoclear Solar Control IR, 10 mm TwinWall
For Clear or Bronze, The Material cost is Slightly Lower.

This is Just the Plastic Material Price Only
Thanks for confirmation on price. Good to hear that. I will email u soon.
kokmengng
post Feb 19 2014, 09:19 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(sabic.sfs @ Feb 17 2014, 08:21 PM)
Hi Manstir,

Examples of a good project is Petaling Street and  Kota Kemuning, Columbia Hospital

SABIC IP ( Previously known as GE Plastics),  Specialty Sheet & Film Division has been selling this product since 1968.
Hi sabic.sfs, when exactly 5 walls will be available in Malaysia? How much per sq.ft?

I also like to know which experience contractor/dealer you'd recommend for Klang Valley area. thumbup.gif
sabic.sfs
post Feb 19 2014, 09:30 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kokmengng @ Feb 19 2014, 09:19 PM)
Hi sabic.sfs, when exactly 5 walls will be available in Malaysia? How much per sq.ft?

I also like to know which experience contractor/dealer you'd recommend for Klang Valley area.  thumbup.gif
Hi Kok Meng,

5-Wall will be available only end of May. As we have just conclude a deal with a new Local Sales Agent in Malaysia

Pricing is targeted to be 10% Higher than Twin Wall due to the Weight.

However, it all depend on the Sales Agent to Strategies the Sales.

I have send the Contacts to your inbox.

Let us know if we can provide you further help.
wa1k3r
post Feb 20 2014, 02:46 PM

96 posts

what do you call this type of 'awning'?

i'm looking at similar design for side of my house (approx 35ft-40ft length) and probably 2.5ft from the wall (e.g. 2.5ft x 40ft)

what is the rough cost estimate? i don't know what are the materials normally used, laminated glass, poly etc...

glass cheaper compared to the lexan poly?

thanks!

sabic.sfs
post Feb 20 2014, 04:07 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(wa1k3r @ Feb 20 2014, 02:46 PM)

i'm looking at similar design for side of my house (approx 35ft-40ft length) and probably 2.5ft from the wall (e.g. 2.5ft x 40ft)

what is the rough cost estimate? i don't know what are the materials normally used, laminated glass, poly etc...

thanks!
That is Steel with Glass. The Glass offered would be laminated.
You need to verify it Tempered + Tempered or Sometime they offer Tempered+Float Glass( Lower cost)
Also must get Warranty. Usually They Warrant 6 months.
Spontaneous breaking happen to Glass

You can use our Lexan* Sheet instead of Glass.
10 years Warranty Against Yellowing, Breaking( except from Screw Holes) & Loss of Light Transmission

Cost wise, we guess contractors would be the right person to advise.

With Lexan* 6 mm Exell D Solid Polycarbonate , the Weight is 25% of the Laminated Glass, therefore in theory, the cost may be par due to the structural ( steel) cost.
Available in Clear or Tinted Green(similar to glass tinted green)

This post has been edited by sabic.sfs: Feb 20 2014, 04:28 PM
limc0008
post Feb 22 2014, 01:29 AM

QUOTE(sabic.sfs @ Feb 20 2014, 04:07 PM)
That is Steel with Glass.  The Glass offered would be laminated.
You need to verify it Tempered + Tempered or Sometime they offer Tempered+Float Glass( Lower cost)

10 years Warranty Against Yellowing, Breaking( except from Screw Holes) & Loss of Light Transmission

With Lexan* 6 mm Exell D Solid Polycarbonate , the Weight is 25% of the Laminated Glass, therefore in theory, the cost may be par due to the structural ( steel) cost.
Do you have any picture of residential projects?
I suppose when deciding between Poly carbonate and tempered glass, its the weighing of aesthetic look and costs.
What is the average PSF price for 6 mm Exell D Solid Polycarbonate?

wa1k3r
post Feb 22 2014, 11:41 AM

96 posts

Thanks for the info, got a couple of Q if u dun mind:
1) When u say clear, does it mean its as clear as glass?
2) Can the poly be used to replace a glass door?
I intend to install security film on glass door, is poly better in this sense? In terms of security?
3) If clear poly can be use as glass door, can i still add s layer of window film? The kind that reflects sunlight?

sabic.sfs
post Feb 23 2014, 10:30 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(wa1k3r @ Feb 22 2014, 11:41 AM)
Thanks for the info, got a couple of Q if u dun mind:
1) When u say clear, does it mean its as clear as glass?
2) Can the poly be used to replace a glass door?
I intend to install security film on glass door, is poly better in this sense? In terms of security?
3) If clear poly can be use as glass door, can i still add s layer of window film? The kind that reflects sunlight?
Answer 1) Yes, Lexan* Solid Polycarbonate Clear is as clear as Glass. You May not see the different, Until you Hold it in your hand.
It will feel Lighter, which is 50% Lighter than Glass.

Answer 2) Yes & No. Polycarbonate is Flimsy and needed supporting Structure.
We did Doors & Windows for SEA Largest Psychiatric Hospital in Johor. Due to 'Human Right's ' Reason, All the Windows & Doors MUST NOT have Grille.
They Client Choose Lexan* Margard* Sheet, which is our Hard Coated , Polycarbonate. Margard* will not Scratch Easily when it's being Clean

Answer 3) Yes, You can add film unto Lexan* Sheet. We use this to make one Way Mirror in 'Identification room'

A video showing Hard Coated Polycarbonate

MonsterPips
post Feb 23 2014, 04:33 PM

332 posts

if i want to put awning at the backyard, want to use it as clothes drying area,but want to cover the perimeter between the awning and the wall.

i saw some houses put grillles, thats make looks like a store. need something that allows air and sunlight to go through. yet secure from break in

my idea is brick wall at the bottom and a transparent awning at the top. but missing the material in between.

any suggestion?a picture will be nice

This post has been edited by MonsterPips: Feb 23 2014, 04:35 PM
jerryng75
post Feb 23 2014, 04:53 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(MonsterPips @ Feb 23 2014, 04:33 PM)
if i want to put awning at the backyard, want to use it as clothes drying area,but want to cover the perimeter between the awning and the wall.

i saw some houses put grillles, thats make looks like a store. need something that allows air and sunlight to go through. yet secure from break in

my idea is brick wall at the bottom and a transparent awning at the top. but missing the material in between.

any suggestion?a picture will be nice
I did Wet Kitchen for my house.

Used Metal Deck( roof) with 4 feet Transparent Plastic for Sunlight( already Turned Yellow )
I had 5 feet of Brick Wall and Grille to allow Ventilation
Biggest Reason to do that is that this way, NO NEED BOMBA Approval.

1) Must used Thick & Bigger Structure Metal. Sooner or later you must climb up to do repair in the future. Must be strong for you to stand on.
2) Very hot underneath. End up use Ceiling Board which I installed myself. But It Failed as it adsorb Moisture.
3) So, Replace The Ceiling Board with the Lexan* Twin Wall( A Lot of Work). Now I have 3 Layer of Insulation.
4) That very clear Instruction on the Wall. After 3 years, the Silicone Contractor used will harden and water Sips in. I repaired it with a Grinder, Aluminum Foil & Silicone. A lot of Work, but a permanent Solution.

I think those Insulated Metal Deck material is not Environment Friendly. Over the years, they may become dust and not good for health when breath into your lung. That is why I did not choose those.

weikee
post Feb 23 2014, 05:09 PM

12,019 posts

The lexan you carry, is it the center hollow type? I seen many house using such sheet, problem I notice the end of the sheet black spots think is fungus growth.

That is Steel with Glass.  The Glass offered would be laminated.

sabic.sfs
post Feb 23 2014, 05:20 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 23 2014, 05:09 PM)
The lexan you carry, is it the center hollow type? I seen many house using such sheet, problem I notice the end of the sheet black spots think is fungus growth.
Yes, it Called Twin Wall ( 2-Walls)
We have been selling this in Malaysia for more than 30 years.
It's Low Cost and Good Insulation.

And for more than 3 Decade, We builded Stadium with Multi Walls. ( 2, 3, 5, 7 & 9 Walls)

We work Close with a Company in Netherlands who made a Tape , which Covers the holes.
It allow Condensation water to flows out and prevent Dust from entering.
Dust and Water will allow the Fungus to Growth.
We even included this in the Technical Manual , which we share our Technical Experience.

Petaling Street is using this Tapes and many other major projects too.

weikee
post Feb 23 2014, 05:36 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sabic.sfs @ Feb 23 2014, 05:20 PM)
Yes, it Called Twin Wall ( 2-Walls)
We have been selling this in Malaysia for more than 30 years.
It's Low Cost and Good Insulation.

And for more than 3 Decade, We builded Stadium with Multi Walls. ( 2, 3, 5, 7 & 9 Walls)

We work Close with a Company in Netherlands who made a Tape , which Covers the holes.
It allow Condensation water to flows out and prevent Dust from entering.
Dust and Water will allow the Fungus to Growth.
We even included this in the Technical Manual , which we share our Technical Experience.

Petaling Street is using this Tapes and many other major projects too.
If you can share some contacts will be good. A good product need to go with good installation and workmanship, I don't like to get a good product spoils by bad and cheap installation.
pskhoo
post Feb 24 2014, 11:25 AM

41 posts

www.staircasemalaysia.com.my is my fren..
can check and see... haha..
jagjag
post Feb 26 2014, 09:52 AM

537 posts

Finally i have done my awning..just to share since i ask a few question here...
Now thinking of tinting it..anyone done this b4...

This post has been edited by jagjag: Feb 26 2014, 09:53 AM
jerryng75
post Feb 26 2014, 05:20 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Feb 26 2014, 09:52 AM)
Yes, I believe you can add tinted film.
However, Noted that tinted film are not made for outdoor
They will come off after a couple of years. 3M warranty 7 years, therefore, I guess, Outdoor, 3 years plus/minus they will come off.
jagjag
post Feb 27 2014, 09:31 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Feb 26 2014, 05:20 PM)
Yes, I believe you can add tinted film.
However, Noted that tinted film are not made for outdoor
They will come off after a couple of years. 3M warranty 7 years, therefore, I guess, Outdoor, 3 years plus/minus they will come off.
The layer of tint should be below the glass so it sud not much expose to weather,hence not so 'outdoor'..i guess..
For my case which is ard 150 sqft..i guess it will cost me ard 3-4K for the tint and i will only last 3 yrs....do you think it is not so worth it??????? sad.gif
capix
post Feb 27 2014, 05:28 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Feb 26 2014, 09:52 AM)
how much it cost u?
erronous
post Feb 28 2014, 04:58 AM

65 posts

How much for this awning, and what is the size. Thanks
jagjag
post Feb 28 2014, 08:51 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(erronous @ Feb 28 2014, 04:58 AM)
How much for this awning, and what is the size. Thanks
its almost 160 sqft and price less than 10K for this. I get the frame ie the steel works and the glass separately. Think my rate is a bit lower than what normally quoted by those awning contractor..i guess

jerryng75
post Feb 28 2014, 10:01 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Feb 27 2014, 09:31 AM)
The layer of tint should be below the glass so it sud not much expose to weather,hence not so 'outdoor'..i guess..
For my case which is ard 150 sqft..i guess it will cost me ard 3-4K for the tint and i will only last 3 yrs....do you think it is not so worth it??????? sad.gif

More than 4 years ago, I wanted to cover the main entrance with Transparent Plastics.
I wanted LIGHTS on my living rooms, ( preferable without the heat, but I was not aware of the heat at that time)
I always enjoy Daylight , especially when reading, while enjoy energy saving. Furthermore, Sun Lights is Good for Kids

The Contractor Came, gave me a price
I asked " What is the Warranty or how long it will Last?"
Contractor " 3 years "

And I AM THINKING " I am not going to change roof every 3 years". So I did NOT proceed

June 2011, I found Lexan Solar Control IR, which Reduce Heat and allow much Lights coming into the House.
Price is Higher, but Workmanship is even more.

I agree with Laminated double Tempered Glass. It's the best choice if one can afford the cost.
Eventually, Glass will last a long time unless due to physical damage.

drdeepy
post Jun 8 2014, 08:24 PM

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 23 2014, 05:36 PM)
If you can share some contacts will be good. A good product need to go with good installation and workmanship, I don't like to get a good product spoils by bad and cheap installation.
U have any installers in Perak?
vjeyamahla
post Jul 8 2014, 11:27 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(drdeepy @ Jun 8 2014, 08:24 PM)
I too need installers in Ipoh?
vjeyamahla
post Jul 8 2014, 11:27 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(drdeepy @ Jun 8 2014, 08:24 PM)
I too need installers in Ipoh...

This post has been edited by vjeyamahla: Jul 8 2014, 11:29 AM
y00ng
post Jul 8 2014, 11:41 AM

74 posts

Maybe you can try doing a pergolas with my ceiling wood composite. This ceiling wood composite is fiber, pvc, resin and others. My products are produced by Dayham. Dayham is associated with green building index which are GreenTag, MARDI, SIRIM and TUV.

Or you can add ceiling on your awning

This post has been edited by y00ng: Jul 8 2014, 11:47 AM

Attached image(s)
lionelchia1986
post Aug 28 2014, 04:34 PM

172 posts

Any Lexan installer in ipoh? Thank you.
Computerfreak
post Sep 29 2014, 10:33 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Dec 5 2011, 09:47 PM)
Hi everybody..  smile.gif

if you have good looking awning please post it here  notworthy.gif
your comment are appreciate..  notworthy.gif
thanks.  icon_rolleyes.gif

my house.

My website got some awning samples to show

http://www.khteh.com/service/amning/
nagaraputra
post Oct 8 2014, 01:09 PM

51 posts

hi,

is there contractor carry lexan product in klang valley (kajang area)?
i wanted to cover the porch and to renovate the balcony.

Alex_jenova
post Oct 28 2014, 07:43 PM

Who are looking Lexan Polycarbonate can contact 016-9569569
MatthewJet
post Jan 7 2015, 11:57 AM

37 posts

Retractable Awning

Tel - 603-51213822

L.T.C
epul
post Apr 23 2015, 07:51 PM

397 posts

Guys. Im planning to install awning For my front car porch . Dimension 22 ft x 15.5 ft. Material mild steel and 3mm polycarbonate.
The contractor quoted me rm 8500. is it ok the price .?
Lexan polycarbonate
post Apr 23 2015, 11:10 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(epul @ Apr 23 2015, 07:51 PM)
Guys. Im planning  to install awning For my front car porch .  Dimension 22 ft x 15.5 ft. Material mild steel and 3mm polycarbonate.
That price is ok.
epul
post Apr 24 2015, 07:17 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Lexan polycarbonate @ Apr 23 2015, 11:10 PM)
That price is ok.
lionelchia1986
post Apr 24 2015, 08:46 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(epul @ Apr 23 2015, 07:51 PM)
Guys. Im planning  to install awning For my front car porch .  Dimension 22 ft x 15.5 ft. Material mild steel and 3mm polycarbonate.
Rm25/sqft price ok.
K4iz3n
post Apr 30 2015, 10:21 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(wa1k3r @ Feb 20 2014, 02:46 PM)

thanks!
Did you manage to get this type of awning installed?
Lexan polycarbonate
post May 1 2015, 02:32 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(K4iz3n @ Apr 30 2015, 10:21 PM)
Did you manage to get this type of awning installed?
U wan use glass or poly?
sabic.sfs
post Aug 4 2015, 08:56 AM

36 posts

JUBAIL: SULTAN AL-SUGHAIR - Published — Tuesday 9 December 2014

SABIC to help build 11 new stadiums with Lexan

Muhammad Al-Mady, CEO of SABIC and deputy chairman of its board, said recently that his organization has agreed with Saudi Aramco to provide them with SABIC products to build 11 new state-of-the-art stadiums in January.

Al-Mady said that SABIC products are renowned internationally for their world-class standards and have been used in about 50 stadiums globally including South Africa in the 2010 World Cup as well as stadiums in Germany and Brazil.
“Our products have also been used in the Olympic Stadium in Sydney, Australia, Barcelona, Spain, and China’s Chongqing, as well as the UEFA European Championship in Portugal in 2004, Switzerland, Austria in 2008, Poland and Ukraine in 2012,” he said.

He added that he hoped that the coordination between SABIC and Aramco would result in the petroleum company’s contractors using their products to build the 11 new stadiums.

Explaining further, Al-Mady said: “SABIC’s products are made of engineered plastic materials, known as polycarbonate, which is a tough and durable plastic popularly used in many of the world’s sport stadiums and golf clubs. The products are transparent, useful for lighting and obscuring dust and often installed in ceilings and walls of stadiums.”

Light-weight with a high rigidity which is 250 times harder than glass, they are less prone to breakage and are shock-resistant. Due to their ability to withstand high temperatures, they provide thermal insulation which reduces the need for cooling systems and also cuts down energy consumption.

“They are efficient, allow natural light, are easy to install in addition to great aesthetic features,” Al-Mady said. He noted that a cooperation between Saudi Aramco and SABIC would be in the interest of the country.

Click Here for the Original Post

SABIC SFS
sabic.sfs@gmail.com

This post has been edited by sabic.sfs: Aug 14 2015, 10:13 AM
pigrabbit
post Nov 20 2015, 09:51 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 29 2012, 11:58 AM)

How much does this company quote to you?

trinity3
post Nov 24 2015, 08:13 PM

105 posts

Here are some awnings design for anyone who is looking to install awnings.
telur
post Nov 25 2015, 08:02 PM

335 posts

Anyone heard foam type of awning ? Finishing product looks like concrete but thinner. Very nice but not sure of the durability.
sabic.sfs
post Nov 25 2015, 09:57 PM

36 posts

Hi Telur,

We think what you meant is a Composite Panel. They called it ACM

Many Years ago, more than 15 years ago, ACM was imported and use as a skin for Highrise
KLCC is an example in which the wall look like metal and the Quality is very Good
The Outer layer is a Layer of Coating + Pure Aluminium, laminated unto PP (plastic, Good chemical resistance) and unto the walls
This should last very long

Today many local manufacturers are producing it.

The product Blocks 100% Light Transmission, very thin , extremely light.
The U value is very high which mean it transfer Heat easily.

However, note that the tensile strength is very low and if a brick drop into it, it would dented

Hope this help in Your Questions. Do ask about the warranties on
1) Discoloration, coating Failure ( in which it stains Heavily and you can notice many Building has this defect after 1 or 2 years) ,
2)Rusting ( to lower the cost of Aluminium, lately, alloys are added to it, no longer Pure Aluminium)
3)The strength

We are sure as this is consider added value to your home, the asset should last for many many years ahead

Thank you

SABIC SFS

This post has been edited by sabic.sfs: Nov 25 2015, 10:04 PM
utraben
post Dec 3 2015, 09:05 PM

117 posts

Did my polycarbonate Pegola awning with Supercool and two thumbs up for them.

Dimension is 31x12 ft and cost me 10k .The beam material used is thicker than normal due to the width of my car porch.

Experience workers and toke them 3 days + to complete . Can be complete faster ,due to rainy days lately.

Have quoted from one of the Lexan contractor and the damage is 14+k. Besides pricing the other downside from Lexan is the design is not as good as Supercool can provide. Also 1 of the limitations from Lexan contractor is that more beams will be used thereofore affected the overall design.

Supercool provides many choices on polycarbonate (10 years warranty) and most importantly the advice they gave is really good.

Satisfied customr and recommended awning contractor biggrin.gif

Contact number for reference: www.supercool2u.com.my / Kenny - 0124288990

siauann
post Dec 14 2015, 10:53 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

can a wooden pergola be made with a width of 24ft? without column support in the middle?
EDI_85
post Mar 8 2016, 01:18 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(y00ng @ Jul 8 2014, 11:41 AM)
Maybe you can try doing a pergolas with my ceiling wood composite. This ceiling wood composite is fiber, pvc, resin and others. My products are produced by Dayham. Dayham is associated with green building index which are GreenTag, MARDI, SIRIM and TUV.

Or you can add ceiling on your awning
How much does this type cost ?

Mine is 15*22.

Looking for good contractor to do Poly.
With Sun Stop ( Marklon )

echoesian
post Jul 16 2016, 07:10 PM

3,294 posts

24ft by 7ft for polycarbonate with T-beam, how much roughly its cost?
ar188
post Nov 17 2016, 11:17 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 19 2012, 06:49 PM)
No problem bro. Actually I m not using for shading. Use for others purpose.  smile.gif
did you find the standing metal seam roof supplier to supply in small qty?
ozak
post Nov 18 2016, 09:48 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 17 2016, 11:17 PM)
did you find the standing metal seam roof supplier to supply in small qty?
Cannot find.

But didn't really go and find. tongue.gif
ar188
post Nov 18 2016, 09:58 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 18 2016, 09:48 AM)
Cannot find.

But didn't really go and find. tongue.gif
biggrin.gif found a few but all want project basis and at a offce building size order qty.. sweat.gif
ozak
post Nov 18 2016, 10:13 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 18 2016, 09:58 AM)
biggrin.gif  found a few but all want project basis and at a offce building size order qty.. sweat.gif
Ya. those rare wan very difficult to get. Only project basis will buy it. So the factory produce qty/ cost.

Can get online ?

ar188
post Nov 18 2016, 12:41 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 18 2016, 10:13 AM)
Ya. those rare wan very difficult to get. Only project basis will buy it. So the factory produce qty/ cost.

Can get online ?
online ? haha, i think shipping would be a killer.
didnt consider even if online china shop has it for sale. biggrin.gif
Pucca&Garu
post Nov 21 2016, 09:20 AM

177 posts

Metal Roofing with PU metal

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Metal Ceiling with woodgrain finishing

loui
post Jan 16 2017, 02:42 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Nov 21 2016, 09:20 AM)

nice

look costly thou

how much you spend
Pucca&Garu
post Jan 18 2017, 11:48 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jan 16 2017, 02:42 PM)
nice

look costly thou

how much you spend
firstly done the Structure will the PU metal with white ceiling underneath, price about RM17.00/ft2

After that install the woodgrain ceiling panel, about RM13.00/ft2
cclay
post Jan 19 2017, 06:46 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Jan 18 2017, 11:48 PM)
firstly done the Structure will the PU metal with white ceiling underneath, price about RM17.00/ft2

From who? Any contact?
loui
post Jan 19 2017, 08:40 AM

789 posts

wao

around 30 /ft2

pricey but look damn nice with it
Pucca&Garu
post Jan 20 2017, 11:26 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(cclay @ Jan 19 2017, 06:46 AM)
From who? Any contact?
I Pmed you later
Pucca&Garu
post Jan 20 2017, 11:30 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jan 19 2017, 08:40 AM)
wao

around 30 /ft2

pricey but look damn nice with it
Yes. The finishing very nice like wooden ceiling. The price still ok if compare to polycarbonate and glass. We choice this type of roof as we think of long term usage and less maintenance. Surprising the metal roof with insulation is very quiet during rainny day.
cclay
post Jan 21 2017, 07:44 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Jan 20 2017, 11:26 PM)
I Pmed you later
Thanks 👍
van_dyke
post Jan 22 2017, 02:27 PM

132 posts

I Pmed you later
Bro can you please PM me as well.

Thanks!

sorethroat
post Jan 28 2017, 09:18 AM

153 posts

pls pm me to..
vseries
post Jan 31 2017, 12:01 AM

127 posts

I Pmed you later
Pls pm me too. Thanks
da_slave
post Feb 13 2017, 01:44 PM

27 posts

Nice! Pm contact to me as well..
justins
post Mar 4 2017, 11:15 PM

172 posts

I Pmed you later
hey can you also pm me the contact for the awning?
dude06
post Apr 29 2017, 11:05 PM

257 posts

Hi All,

Guys..anyone can share some infor here:

What is the current price for Mild steel/ Timber structure with PC/ACP etc etc?

Thanks smile.gif
ar188
post May 1 2017, 10:13 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 18 2016, 10:13 AM)

Can get online ?
looking at this older thread... i found adi.. biggrin.gif i think such products finally coming in..slowly.
ozak
post May 1 2017, 10:18 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ May 1 2017, 10:13 PM)
looking at this older thread... i found adi..  biggrin.gif  i think such products finally coming in..slowly.
Where ? drool.gif
ar188
post May 1 2017, 10:20 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 1 2017, 10:18 PM)
Where ?  drool.gif
wait, i survey more when i go visit them when free...

currently, new trend here seems to be supplying foam insulated zinc roof panels. maybe no need use those polycarbonates to make awning. so noisy n not. biggrin.gif
ozak
post May 1 2017, 10:24 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ May 1 2017, 10:20 PM)
wait, i survey more when i go visit them when free...

currently, new trend here seems to be supplying foam insulated zinc roof panels. maybe no need use those polycarbonates to make awning. so noisy n not. biggrin.gif
Been sometime here wor this zinc insulated foam.

ar188
post May 1 2017, 10:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 1 2017, 10:24 PM)
Been sometime here wor this zinc insulated foam.
yeah i know its old tech.. but dealer seems to be carrying it more. last time hard to check this product for availability for casual buyers.

ozak
post May 1 2017, 10:28 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ May 1 2017, 10:25 PM)
yeah i know its old tech.. but dealer seems to be carrying it more. last time hard to check this product for availability for casual buyers.
Let us know here.
ar188
post May 1 2017, 10:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 1 2017, 10:28 PM)
Let us know here.
from google.. biggrin.gif but its malaysian website hehe

quite nice wei..when make into awning

This post has been edited by ar188: May 1 2017, 10:33 PM
ozak
post May 1 2017, 10:38 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ May 1 2017, 10:32 PM)
from google..  biggrin.gif
Already found this awning supplier here.

This is what I m looking at

ar188
post May 1 2017, 10:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 1 2017, 10:38 PM)
Already found this awning supplier here.

This is what I m looking at

ooo.. nice.
u already buy to make your awning/roof?
ozak
post May 1 2017, 10:46 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ May 1 2017, 10:40 PM)
ooo.. nice.
u already buy to make your awning/roof?
This type cannot find here.

The only way is special manufacturing. (they have the die) Than sure require project qty la. Factory in shah alam.

I want to use for solar panel ontop the tile roof.

Not like it to use as awning. Sunlight can't go through. Create more dark in the house.

timetokill
post May 5 2017, 01:29 PM

71 posts

I am planning to construct a window out of an empty wall to get more natural light into the house and to get a view to the outside. The window is at the first floor. I don't need to open the window as there are other opening for ventilation.

My contractor suggests to use tempered glass for the window, then build awning with roof tiles and metal frame outside to reduce glare from the sun (window is facing north) and cover it from rainwater. Please give opinion for this type of design. The materials suggested is OK? I wonder if wooden frame is better. What if it is without awning.
echoesian
post May 21 2017, 12:26 AM

3,294 posts

For hollow metal support awning, can we conceal fan and light wiring into the hollow metal to install the fan/light? If possible, drill the metal, how can we patch the hole back?
dude06
post May 21 2017, 01:15 PM

257 posts

Hi All,

Any contacts for Pergola made by timber and then with clay tiles?

Nowadays mostly go with PC, ACP or glass but not many will do timber and clay tiles.

Comments?

Thanks smile.gif
spreeeee
post May 22 2017, 05:48 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(utraben @ Dec 3 2015, 09:05 PM)
Did my polycarbonate Pegola awning with Supercool and two thumbs up for them.

Dimension is 31x12 ft and cost me 10k .The beam material used is thicker than normal due to the width of my car porch.

Experience workers and toke them 3 days + to complete . Can be complete faster ,due to rainy days lately.

Have quoted from one of the Lexan contractor and the damage is 14+k. Besides pricing the other downside from Lexan is the design is not as good as Supercool can provide. Also 1 of the limitations from Lexan contractor is that more beams will be used thereofore affected the overall design.
Supercool provides many choices on polycarbonate (10 years warranty) and most importantly the advice they gave is really good.

Satisfied customr and recommended awning contractor  biggrin.gif

Contact number for reference: www.supercool2u.com.my / Kenny - 0124288990

hi, how is your awning on today? i was engaged with the same supplier as well.. wondering to take them or not
andro-r
post Jun 2 2017, 08:18 PM

This is very nice. Mind PMing the contractor's contact number?
favpearl
post Jun 29 2017, 10:44 PM

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Oct 1 2013, 07:32 AM)
Hi! Do you mind recommend your contractor for polycarbonate roofing? Thanks.
jerryng75
post Jun 30 2017, 09:43 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(favpearl @ Jun 29 2017, 10:44 PM)
Hi

You can try https://www.polytechdesign.biz/

Otherwise , there are many Installer out there
Keep the Invoice. Any issue as consumer you can use the invoices to demand your right

Don't choose hit and run installer.

A good Polycarbonate Roof should last more than 15 years

Cheerio

ozak
post Jun 30 2017, 09:51 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(favpearl @ Jun 29 2017, 10:44 PM)
Poly is the last material you want to use. Try look for better.
ar188
post Jul 1 2017, 01:57 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 30 2017, 09:51 AM)
Poly is the last material you want to use. Try look for better.
like what leh? nowadays got alot of thick 20-25mm walled poly roof
ozak
post Jul 1 2017, 08:24 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 1 2017, 01:57 AM)
like what leh? nowadays got alot of thick 20-25mm walled poly roof
Awning where got so thick wan.

Such a big area when raining, can make you deaf. Farking noisy.
jerryng75
post Jul 1 2017, 11:12 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 1 2017, 08:24 AM)

Dear Boss Ozak,

I total respect you and your comment
8 Star Leader & Senior member.

Am Guessing that you had a bad experience with Polycarbonate, in which may happen to other people too

Unlike you, I dislike the Contractor more than the material.
Material I can do my own research and select the Best in the market.
Contractor aim is to sweet talk you and close the " Hit n Run " Business.

I replace my old Water Heater with Panasonic Top of the Range & Expensive Model.
After my research, I found out that Panasonic use PA66, which is High Temperature Resistant Plastic anf would never break for the Heating Chamber.
Therefore, I probably won't die of Electrical Execution during my naked shower.
We heard many case where people die in the shower.

Manufacturers and Contractors are very similar . They find you the Cheapest Material and lower the price every single year. But They Never lower their Salary Every Single Year.
However, Japanese MNC , until today never ignore safety in their products they are making
In my Opinion, they still make the safest appliances and energy Saving.

I use Lexan 2 Walls for my awning and it's been 6 years. There is no problem, no yellowing, no algae, no water and no dust in the awning.
I paid high price for the material but unfortunately, the Contractor that Installed it sucks.

There is also 7 Walls and 9 Walls Polycarbonate for awning too. Not sure if Malaysia have this
There is 15 mm Solid Polycarbonate too costly for me

Cheers Bro

ar188
post Jul 1 2017, 11:33 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 1 2017, 08:24 AM)

got le.. go update with new products.

just some examples below

LEXAN™ THERMOCLEAR™ Sheet 5X Structure 16-32 mm Sheet Datasheet Americas, Asia Pacific, EMEA
LEXAN™ THERMOCLEAR™ Sheet 9X Structure 16-25 mm Sheet Datasheet Americas, Asia Pacific, EMEA
LEXAN™ THERMOCLEAR™ Sheet 9X Structure 40-55 mm Sheet Datasheet Americas, Asia Pacific, EMEA

This post has been edited by ar188: Jul 1 2017, 11:36 AM
ozak
post Jul 1 2017, 12:42 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jul 1 2017, 11:12 AM)
Dear Boss Ozak,

I total respect you and your comment
8 Star Leader & Senior member.

Am Guessing that you had a bad experience with Polycarbonate, in which may happen to other people too

Unlike you, I dislike the Contractor more than the material.
Material I can do my own research and select the Best in the market.
Contractor aim is to sweet talk you and close the " Hit n Run " Business.

I replace my old Water Heater with Panasonic Top of the Range & Expensive Model.
After my research, I found out that Panasonic use PA66, which is High Temperature Resistant Plastic anf would never break for the Heating Chamber.
Therefore, I probably won't die of Electrical Execution during my naked shower.
We heard many case where people die in the shower.

Manufacturers and Contractors are very similar . They find you the Cheapest Material and lower the price every single year. But They Never lower their Salary Every Single Year.
However, Japanese MNC , until today never ignore safety in their products they are making
In my Opinion, they still make the safest appliances and energy Saving.

I use Lexan 2 Walls for my awning and it's been 6 years. There is no problem, no yellowing, no algae, no water and no dust in the awning.
I paid high price for the material but unfortunately, the Contractor that Installed it sucks.

There is also 7 Walls and 9 Walls Polycarbonate for awning too. Not sure if Malaysia have this
There is 15 mm Solid Polycarbonate too costly for me

Cheers Bro
Just try to share my experience. That hope people here can save their money and time not to go through the same bad experience. Also share a good product and good experience. But I do need update from people here as I don't no some product have improve already.

I using polycarbonate for 20yrs. I like it because it allow the sunlight in while provide shade to rain.

But it also bad when rain. The noise. I m not like blocking you guys from using it. But proceed with caution the bad point.

The polycarbonate material that I use is solid type. With 6mm thick if not mistaken. I didn't use the hollow type because of mold grow inside. That is the technology at that time which probably still new and yet to improve. Like ar188 said, now come with more thicker material.
ozak
post Jul 1 2017, 12:44 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 1 2017, 11:33 AM)

just some examples below

LEXAN™ THERMOCLEAR™ Sheet 5X Structure 16-32 mm Sheet Datasheet Americas, Asia Pacific, EMEA
LEXAN™ THERMOCLEAR™ Sheet 9X Structure 16-25 mm Sheet Datasheet Americas, Asia Pacific, EMEA
LEXAN™ THERMOCLEAR™ Sheet 9X Structure 40-55 mm Sheet Datasheet Americas, Asia Pacific, EMEA
The wan I mention is not this type. It is a solid polycarbonate sheet. Solid type don't have that thick.

But this hollow type so thick, can bend or not?

How is the noise level?
ar188
post Jul 1 2017, 04:36 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 1 2017, 12:44 PM)
The wan I mention is not this type. It is a solid polycarbonate sheet. Solid type don't have that thick.

How is the noise level?
why need to bend? so 90s era curve curve lol

just youtube this topic, should get many ideas for awning/carport usages
Multiwall Polycarbonate Sheet
Pucca&Garu
post Jul 1 2017, 05:30 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 1 2017, 11:33 AM)

just some examples below

This type polycarbonate exist in the market years back. The problems with connections between polycarbonate in Tropicana country still remaining unsolved due to the contraction and expansion of joints and the polycarbonate sheets.
ar188
post Jul 1 2017, 05:47 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Jul 1 2017, 05:30 PM)
This type polycarbonate exist in the market years back. The problems with connections between polycarbonate in Tropicana country still remaining unsolved due to the contraction and expansion of joints and the polycarbonate sheets.
perhaps wrong installation technique including end tape seals and gasket, aluminium channels or not using the latest materials that is in the market in 2017.
doesnt mean whole world which is selling this product is facing this issue as what u mention.
Pucca&Garu
post Jul 1 2017, 07:00 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 1 2017, 05:47 PM)
perhaps wrong installation technique including end tape seals and gasket, aluminium channels or not using the latest materials that is in the market in 2017.
doesnt mean whole world which is selling this product is facing this issue as what u mention.
As far I know that connection still using self driven fastener at the aluminium channel then seal with the gasket. Probably with your knowledge with polycarbonate material, what is the expansion on daytime and contraction during nighttime in our country.
ar188
post Jul 1 2017, 08:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Jul 1 2017, 07:00 PM)
As far I know that connection still using self driven fastener at the aluminium channel then seal with the gasket. Probably with your knowledge with polycarbonate material, what is the expansion on daytime and contraction during nighttime in our country.
with so many brands out there, you probably have to do some trial and error and refer to manufacturer's guide line. even the extrusion profile is different between manufacturers.

for example, delux with its own polyroof X25 uses it quite successfully from the examples i saw. no reason to see why such similar products are having quality issue in this era if precautions and install techniques are taken correctly.
http://www.mydelux.com.my/index.php/polyroof-x25-1
ozak
post Jul 1 2017, 10:41 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 1 2017, 04:36 PM)
why need to bend? so 90s era curve curve lol

just youtube this topic, should get many ideas for awning/carport usages
Multiwall Polycarbonate Sheet
Some small awning bend provide nicer look rather straight type. Example like awning ontop window. Straight type is pretty boring look.
ar188
post Jul 1 2017, 10:45 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 1 2017, 10:41 PM)
Some small awning bend provide nicer look rather straight type. Example like awning ontop window. Straight type is pretty boring look.
thats because they use thin ugly purlins/rafters as the frame with no sense of proportions

even if curve awning use ugly frame which they often do here, will look super dated and ugly like local bus stop design. laugh.gif
jerryng75
post Jul 2 2017, 10:13 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Jul 1 2017, 05:30 PM)
When I was playing Golf in Tropicana many months back, I notice the Buggy Area is using the Same Lexan Sheet as I am.

Same Case like me, The Lousy and Failed Contractor did not do a good job.
Algae, Water, Dust & Dirt are inside the Twin wall.

I have to think that the Tropicana Purchaser also play a role on the Failure of the Roof. You pay peanuts, you get monkeys

Mr Pucca&Garu, if you know the management, ask them to contact me. Maybe I', still able to repair it and earn some income

My House same product as Tropicana but No Algae, No Water, No Dust & No Dirt inside the Twin wall.
I purchased some accessories myself, Repaired and Solve it long long time ago.

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jul 2 2017, 02:32 PM
jerryng75
post Jul 2 2017, 10:23 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Jul 1 2017, 07:00 PM)
I read from Internet, Europe and USA site, you are not recommended to Drill holes through the Sheet.

This Happen to me. That's why I mention many many time I Dislike Contractor ( There are less that 7 Good Contractors, electrical, tiles, pipe,etc in my list, Honest, Reliable, Integrity, etc)
My House has many creaking sound as the bottom has nothing whatsoever to allow Contraction and Expansion.
So I conclude that the contractor who did my house is Idiotic " Hit n Run " Type

You need to clamp with Rubber top & Bottom
or new technology like double sided tapes ( expensive).

Europe weather has higher temperature in the summer and lower temperature than us in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jul 2 2017, 02:28 PM
jerryng75
post Jul 2 2017, 10:38 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 1 2017, 12:42 PM)
Just try to share my experience. That hope people here can save their money and time not to go through the same bad experience. Also share a good product and good experience. But I do need update from people here as I don't no some product have improve already.

I using polycarbonate for 20yrs. I like it because it allow the sunlight in while provide shade to rain.

But it also bad when rain. The noise. I m not like blocking you guys from using it. But proceed with caution the bad point.

The polycarbonate material that I use is solid type. With 6mm thick if not mistaken. I didn't use the hollow type because of mold grow inside. That is the technology at that time which probably still new and yet to improve. Like ar188 said, now come with more thicker material.
Ozak,

We should make a check list

Manufacturer

1) Warranty the Roof Don't Change Color or Yellowing
2) Warranty the Roof Does not Break
3) Warranty the Roof Does not become Blurr
4) Safe Plastics, not cheap, recycle or Toxic plastics, they Called it ROHS Compliance
5) Low Heat Transfer type

Contractor

6) Warranty on their Workmanship ( The Longer the Better)
7) Guaranty No Creaking Sound
8) Guaranty No Waviness
9) Guaranty No Algae, No Water, No Dirt and No Dust
10) Guaranty No Water Leaking in Long Period of Time
11 Recommend a Bright one, Dark Type Hides all the Defects.
12) Do you Job Slowly and Neatly. Workmanship is an Art. Respect your own Workmanship.

End User

13) Keep the Formal Receipt, It can be use against the contractor or the manufacturer in a court of Consumer Law
14) Google for more info
15) You Buying Asset, which add value to you home.

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jul 2 2017, 02:30 PM
ozak
post Jul 2 2017, 12:30 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jul 2 2017, 10:38 AM)
Ozak,

Manufacturer

4) Safe Plastics, not cheap, recycle or toxic plastics, they Called is ROHS Compliance

Contractor

1) Warranty on their Workmanship ( The Longer the Better)
2) Guaranty No Creaking Sound
3) Guaranty No Waviness
4) Guaranty No Algae, No Water, No Dirt and No Dust
5) Guaranty No Water Leaking in Long Period of Time
6) Recommend a Bright one, Dark Type Hides all the defect.
7) Do you Job Slowly and Neatly. Workmanship is an Art. Respect your own Workmanship.

End User

1) Keep the Formal Receipt, It can be use against the contractor or the manufacturer in a court of Consumer Law
2) Google for more info
3) You Buying Asset, which add value to you home.
So serious meh. sweat.gif

For warranty, they will give a yrs most.

Like my wan, the leaking start after more than 10yrs. Seal aging I guess. Workmanship is good. Material will blur abit but color no change.

jerryng75
post Jul 2 2017, 02:46 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 2 2017, 12:30 PM)
So serious meh. sweat.gif

For warranty, they will give a yrs most.

Like my wan, the leaking start after more than 10yrs. Seal aging I guess. Workmanship is good. Material will blur abit but color no change.
Ozak,

Serious, I took 'DE**' Computers to Consumer courts in 2007 as they do not replace my Laptop Motherboard. The Motherboard was recalled and globally replaced. They think we Malaysian are Stupid

There is one rubber that last more than 10 years and maybe up to 20 years.

You and I see that particulars rubbers gasket everyday. Take a moment to Guess now before continue below. The Answer is at the Bottom

The Cinaman make products using " never" the best material. They will find the Cheapest, Recycle, 2nd, maybe 3rd Grade, Rejected or Discarded Grade Material to make the goods to sell to You.
That why after 10 years you said it would leak. I suggest you use Expensive Double Sided Tape. They can last super long.

They will never use good grade material to make a product for you. Same as A Contractor.

At the End of the day , the loser is still the End User, me and you.
We need to find the Best , maybe pay more , to get the Top Grade Products.

The answer is

Your Car Door Rubber , Especially Non Local Made
BTW, My Nissan Sunny Rubber lasted 17 years.

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jul 2 2017, 02:48 PM
halcyon27
post Jul 2 2017, 05:13 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jul 2 2017, 10:13 AM)
When I was playing Golf in Tropicana many months back, I notice the Buggy Area is using the Same Lexan Sheet as I am.

Same Case like me, The Lousy and Failed Contractor did not do a good job.
Algae, Water, Dust & Dirt are inside the Twin wall.

I have to think that the Tropicana Purchaser also play a role on the Failure of the Roof. You pay peanuts, you get monkeys

Mr Pucca&Garu, if you know the management, ask them to contact me. Maybe I', still able to repair it and earn some income

My House same product as Tropicana but No Algae, No Water, No Dust & No Dirt inside the Twin wall.
I purchased some accessories myself, Repaired and Solve it long long time ago.
QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jul 2 2017, 10:23 AM)
I read from Internet, Europe and USA site, you are not recommended to Drill holes through the Sheet.

This Happen to me. That's why I mention many many time I Dislike Contractor ( There are less that 7 Good Contractors, electrical, tiles, pipe,etc in my list, Honest, Reliable, Integrity, etc)
My House has many creaking sound as the bottom has nothing whatsoever to allow Contraction and Expansion.
So I conclude that the contractor who did my house is Idiotic " Hit n Run " Type

You need to clamp with Rubber top & Bottom
or new technology like double sided tapes ( expensive).

Europe weather has higher temperature in the summer and lower temperature than us in Malaysia.
QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jul 2 2017, 10:38 AM)
Ozak,

Manufacturer

4) Safe Plastics, not cheap, recycle or Toxic plastics, they Called it ROHS Compliance

Contractor

8) Guaranty No Waviness
12) Do you Job Slowly and Neatly. Workmanship is an Art. Respect your own Workmanship.

End User

13) Keep the Formal Receipt, It can be use against the contractor or the manufacturer in a court of Consumer Law
14) Google for more info
QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jul 2 2017, 02:46 PM)
Ozak,

Serious, I took 'DE**' Computers to Consumer courts in 2007 as they do not replace my Laptop Motherboard. The Motherboard was recalled and globally replaced. They think we Malaysian are Stupid

There is one rubber that last more than 10 years and maybe up to 20 years.

You and I see that particulars rubbers gasket everyday. Take a moment to Guess now before continue below. The Answer is at the Bottom

The Cinaman make products using " never" the best material. They will find the Cheapest, Recycle, 2nd, maybe 3rd Grade, Rejected or Discarded Grade Material to make the goods to sell to You.
That why after 10 years you said it would leak. I suggest you use Expensive Double Sided Tape. They can last super long.

They will never use good grade material to make a product for you. Same as A Contractor.

At the End of the day , the loser is still the End User, me and you.
We need to find the Best , maybe pay more , to get the Top Grade Products.
The answer is
Your Car Door Rubber , Especially Non Local Made
BTW, My Nissan Sunny Rubber lasted 17 years.
Seriously, there needs to be a feature to tag and pin the nuggets of gold quality opinion and advice here. Thanks for sharing your experience jerryng75. Your postings goes a long way to help noobies like me in this area to be circumspect as to what to look out for. A helpful / star advice ribbon to you sir! *Thumbsup*

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Jul 2 2017, 05:16 PM
favpearl
post Jul 3 2017, 11:06 PM

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jun 30 2017, 09:43 AM)
Hi

You can try https://www.polytechdesign.biz/

Otherwise , there are many Installer out there
Keep the Invoice. Any issue as consumer you can use the invoices to demand your right

Don't choose hit and run installer.

A good Polycarbonate Roof should last more than 15 years

Cheerio
tks Jerry. U used them before?
jerryng75
post Jul 4 2017, 09:54 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(favpearl @ Jul 3 2017, 11:06 PM)
tks Jerry. U used them before?
Hi favpearl,

No, I never use them. But My Neighbor used them. I think Already 2 years. All OK. No Defect

My contractor is those "tepi jalan" Contractor which I try hard to forget . They say they know everything, Metal Roof, Polycarbonate Roof, Auto Gate, ACP and many other Skills they acquire ( like the movie Taken)

Use the Checklist below .

Manufacturer ( Get Official Letter)

4) Safe Plastics , not cheap, recycle or Toxic plastics, they Called it ROHS Compliance
5) Low Heat Transfer Type is better

Contractor

8) Guaranty No Waviness

End User

14) Google for more info
16) Burn the Samples Vertically ( Polycarbonate, ACP, Metal Roof with Insulation) to see if it will burn. A Safe products will stop burning in less than 60 seconds

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jul 4 2017, 10:46 PM
coolkwc
post Jul 4 2017, 08:59 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

Just to share the glass awning of my house, frame with louver installed, left glass to be installed this week...can't wait to see the final.outcome.

etan26
post Jul 5 2017, 10:37 AM

317 posts

It's gonna be very hot since all glasses.
Zot
post Jul 5 2017, 10:42 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jul 4 2017, 08:59 PM)
Just to share the glass awning of my house, frame with louver installed, left glass to be installed this week...can't wait to see the final.outcome.

I was thinking glass but if tiles from upper roof slid off and hit the glass sad.gif

I saw glass stained after a while and it is hard to maintain it dry.gif
ozak
post Jul 5 2017, 11:16 AM

17,013 posts

How much per sqft ? What type of glass use?
ozak
post Jul 5 2017, 11:21 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 5 2017, 10:42 AM)
[/spoiler]

I was thinking glass but if tiles from upper roof slid off and hit the glass  sad.gif

I saw glass stained after a while and it is hard to maintain it  dry.gif
Very rare case. Use tempered glass.

Just once or twice a yrs, jet spray clean will do.
coolkwc
post Jul 5 2017, 01:47 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 5 2017, 11:16 AM)
How much per sqft ? What type of glass use?
Just using 10mm laminated glass only, becos thats fit my budget for that. They quote 58/square ft without louver, additional 11/sqft for louver. I add 50% louver coverage, total price 23.5k after 5% discount when i give full payment at once. Anyway, i stay in JB which i believe the price is higher than KL, but this is by far the cheapest i found here.
coolkwc
post Jul 5 2017, 01:50 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jul 5 2017, 10:37 AM)
It's gonna be very hot since all glasses.
The main reason i insist on glass is becos i hate noise during rain (poly) and indoor.too dark (non poly or glass). My main purpose just for rain shade, not care about hot issue.

Anyway, the 50% louver coverage can reduce the sun heat considerably.
ozak
post Jul 5 2017, 04:43 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jul 5 2017, 01:47 PM)
Just using 10mm laminated glass only, becos thats fit my budget for that. They quote 58/square ft without louver, additional 11/sqft for louver. I add 50% louver coverage, total price 23.5k after 5% discount when i give full payment at once. Anyway, i stay in JB which i believe the price is higher than KL, but this is by far the cheapest i found here.
Price a bit high side.

Base on the picture, the frame installation is quite nice. Additional secure by the steel rope.

You can use green tinted glass to shade abit. Quite nice when your whole car posh look green when sun shine down.
sabic.sfs
post Jul 5 2017, 04:52 PM

36 posts

Thank you for the statement on the Thickness.

We like to inform that only have Lexan Multiwall Sheet at 10 mm in Malaysia
New 10 mm 5 Walls with Easy Clean will be available Early of 2018

For the Future, we may explore 16 mm 9 Walls, for the Benefits of Lower Heat.

The Maximum Thickness in Lexan Multiwall sheet is 55 mm 9 Walls

Thank you

SABIC SFS

This post has been edited by sabic.sfs: Jul 5 2017, 05:05 PM
coolkwc
post Jul 5 2017, 08:45 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 5 2017, 04:43 PM)
Price a bit high side.

Base on the picture, the frame installation is quite nice. Additional secure by the steel rope.

You can use green tinted glass to shade abit. Quite nice when your whole car posh look green when sun shine down.
Yes, i had been quoted by othes for 50k+ with.aluminium i beam plain design and 70k+ with louver. You can see how bad in JB. The things here like electrical appliances and renovation are higher than KL due to adjacent singapore. I surveyed for almost a year before i found this.

The laminated glass i used is light green in colour, which is similar to the glass on my SS gate (you can see in the picture)
jerryng75
post Jul 5 2017, 08:50 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 5 2017, 04:43 PM)
Price a bit high side.

Ozak Sifu,

You cannot say like that.

If I offer you Double Laminated Tempered Glass, with U Value at 0.6 W/m2 K price at RM 350/sq ft, would that be expensive too?
This is currently the Best Glass in the World that Reduce Heat .
Many Other Material Cannot beat That U Value

Do force the contractor to write 2 years or 4 years or many many years Workmanship warranty.
If not, when leaking on the Silicone, they want to charge you few hundreds ringgit to repair the job( that they didn't do it right in the beginning)
Pucca&Garu
post Jul 5 2017, 09:58 PM

177 posts

U value also come out.. later R value.. seem like LYN become more interesting.
coolkwc
post Jul 8 2017, 03:13 PM

3,112 posts

Installation in progress...

BatDragon
post Jul 21 2017, 04:29 PM

This owning need architect drawing before install??
coolkwc
post Jul 23 2017, 12:51 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(BatDragon @ Jul 21 2017, 04:29 PM)
This owning need architect drawing before install??
I don't know need or not, but i don't have. After all is just awning, why need architect drawing? hmm.gif
amenlo9
post Jul 26 2017, 12:17 PM

2,627 posts

anybody know how to call this type of roof? Please recommend the good vendor if know it. Many thanks

crusher
post Jul 31 2017, 08:22 PM

1,345 posts

Anyone heard of GB Bond PC?
Pucca&Garu
post Jul 31 2017, 11:06 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(amenlo9 @ Jul 26 2017, 12:17 PM)
anybody know how to call this type of roof? Please recommend the good vendor if know it. Many thanks

This is PU metal roof
exkay
post Jul 31 2017, 11:13 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 1 2017, 12:44 PM)

How is the noise level?
How thick do you need? 10mm solid sheet can be done.
EneriW
post Aug 16 2017, 11:54 AM

83 posts

Can send me the contact details? Thanks
clickNsnap
post Aug 20 2017, 08:44 PM

540 posts

Hi all,

Any ideal the cost of having the basic metal awning (normal metal, zinc with form or Alumbond) as the drawing attached? It is for my laundry area and my location is PJ.

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Aug 20 2017, 10:04 PM

amenlo9
post Oct 2 2017, 10:20 PM

2,627 posts

Anyone installed their awning with manhole? I need a manhole to let user access for aircond and water tank service.
mini orchard
post Oct 3 2017, 06:29 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(amenlo9 @ Oct 2 2017, 10:20 PM)
Anyone installed their awning with manhole? I need a manhole to let user access for aircond and water tank service.
'Manhole' is an opening in a street usually covered by a heavy, metal lid, for allowing workers to reach underground pipes and wires.

Are you refering to 'Airwell' inside your house?

amenlo9
post Oct 3 2017, 09:54 PM

2,627 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 3 2017, 06:29 AM)
'Manhole' is an opening in a street usually covered by a heavy, metal lid, for allowing workers to reach underground pipes and wires.

Are you refering to 'Airwell' inside your house?
Should be airwell then. Possible?
danielmy118
post Nov 16 2017, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Jan 21 2017, 12:30 AM)
Yes. The finishing very nice like wooden ceiling. The price still ok if compare to polycarbonate and glass. We choice this type of roof as we think of long term usage and less maintenance. Surprising the metal roof with insulation is very quiet during rainny day.
Hi Pucca&Garu,

Possible to PM me the PU Metal contractor contact. Thanks in advance.

cheers
Skylinestar
post Nov 20 2017, 10:11 AM

Mega Duck
10,466 posts

How much does it cost to build such awning (as shown in photo below)?
Kindly recommend reliable contractor in Selangor state for this job.
Amoy11
post Nov 23 2017, 11:55 PM

Hi...please pm me the contract no for this contractor....or if don mine share in this forumm....
ar188
post Nov 24 2017, 12:16 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 20 2017, 10:11 AM)
How much does it cost to build such awning (as shown in photo below)?
Kindly recommend reliable contractor in Selangor state for this job.
usually the people who make this, the wood cincai prepare wan. dunno what paint they paint over the wood also. sweat.gif
Skylinestar
post Nov 24 2017, 12:58 PM

Mega Duck
10,466 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 24 2017, 12:16 AM)
usually the people who make this, the wood cincai prepare wan. dunno what paint they paint over the wood also. sweat.gif
That's metal, not wood
ar188
post Nov 24 2017, 01:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 24 2017, 12:58 PM)
That's metal, not wood
lol ya hor..
why make it look like wood frame design? rclxub.gif metal awning no need make like this kind of frame lo
Skylinestar
post Nov 24 2017, 01:01 PM

Mega Duck
10,466 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 24 2017, 01:00 PM)
lol ya hor..
why make it look like wood frame design? rclxub.gif  metal awning no need make like this kind of frame lo
For the look actually.
ar188
post Nov 24 2017, 01:03 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 24 2017, 01:01 PM)
For the look actually.
get a properly made wood frame nicer lo. if really want to go for look.
just dun simply use sampah wood and cincai painting. biggrin.gif
alijoe
post Mar 20 2018, 06:08 PM

376 posts

spolytech embossed solid sheet poly is it good?
billy08
post Mar 20 2018, 06:12 PM

225 posts

Yes lo. Glass is expensive. When new ok la .. looks nice. But after few years with dirt and stains .. it will not look so nice unless you clean it up lo ..
billy08
post Mar 20 2018, 06:15 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(amenlo9 @ Jul 26 2017, 12:17 PM)

I think it is aluminum composite material.
afoka
post Mar 20 2018, 06:19 PM

313 posts

steel frame and poly awning...only last 6 years... recently heavy rain and strong wind took this awning down...

billy08
post Mar 20 2018, 06:20 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 1 2017, 08:19 PM)
with so many brands out there, you probably have to do some trial and error and refer to manufacturer's guide line. even the extrusion profile is different between manufacturers.

for example, delux with its own polyroof X25 uses it quite successfully from the examples i saw. no reason to see why such similar products are having quality issue in this era if precautions and install techniques are taken correctly.
http://www.mydelux.com.my/index.php/polyroof-x25-1
anyone here installed this X25? does it cost a lot? More expensive than glass?
BaRT
post Mar 21 2018, 12:09 AM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(afoka @ Mar 20 2018, 06:19 PM)
steel frame and poly awning...only last 6 years... recently heavy rain and strong wind took this awning down...

this is serious shit.
How come can collapsed?

How that steel trusses fixed with your porch beam before?
ozak
post Mar 21 2018, 08:40 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(afoka @ Mar 20 2018, 06:19 PM)

Sunday ?

The shoddy work of the joint and the attachment to the concrete.

Your house surrounding wall do play apart for the wind to dissipate out fast.
Iceman74
post Apr 19 2018, 07:36 PM

1,407 posts

Anyone can introduce supplier doing polycarbonate awning around klang valley with nice price?

car porch space to be cover around 100sf
chichichi
post Apr 20 2018, 05:33 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jul 5 2017, 01:47 PM)
May i know how many square feet was this awning?
chichichi
post Apr 20 2018, 05:37 PM

403 posts

Dear all,

Need some comments- i've been quoted for supplying and building tempered glass (thickness 9mm) with steel frame and 2 supporting pillars, with aluminium lourve at a total of RM9550, roughly about RM119 per sq ft. Is the price quoted reasonable?

Thanks in advance for your feedback
Pucca&Garu
post Apr 21 2018, 02:58 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(chichichi @ Apr 20 2018, 05:37 PM)
Dear all,

Need some comments- i've been quoted for supplying and building tempered glass (thickness 9mm) with steel frame and 2 supporting pillars, with aluminium lourve at a total of RM9550, roughly about RM119 per sq ft. Is the price quoted reasonable?

Thanks in advance for your feedback
Depend on your glass roof size. The louvres cover the whole roof?
chichichi
post May 3 2018, 03:48 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Apr 21 2018, 02:58 PM)
Depend on your glass roof size. The louvres cover the whole roof?
Yes, about 80% will be covered by the louvers

henryj8
post May 3 2018, 03:59 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(chichichi @ May 3 2018, 03:48 PM)
Yes, about 80% will be covered by the louvers
Then the louvers will block the sunlight? Then why go for the glass roof?

This post has been edited by henryj8: May 3 2018, 03:59 PM
chichichi
post May 4 2018, 09:25 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(henryj8 @ May 3 2018, 03:59 PM)
Then the louvers will block the sunlight? Then why go for the glass roof?
i kind of liked the glass roof for asthetic look but i do want the area to be shady. so thats why im combining glass roof with louvers.

so the whole roof would be around 136 ft square.. is the price quoted reasonable?
eelza
post May 5 2018, 10:31 AM

34 posts

Hi, what is the normal price for 3 panel window awning? I need an estimate if possible. Thanks.
chichichi
post Aug 31 2018, 12:51 AM

403 posts

Just wanted to share pictures of my sky roof, laminated glass 12 mm green tint with steel structure and steel hinge support (no pillars) and 50% aluminium louvers.

This post has been edited by chichichi: Aug 31 2018, 12:55 AM

chichichi
post Sep 30 2018, 09:05 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Jacobsoon7928 @ Sep 30 2018, 01:22 PM)
What is the size and price for total?
Mind to share?😊
It was less than 9k
Twins10
post Oct 30 2019, 12:28 AM

919 posts

Is this thread still active? Anyone has good installers of aluminum or polycarbonate awnings?
dudester
post Feb 18 2021, 05:09 PM

1,222 posts

Anyone have contractors who can extend about L 24ft x W 5ft wood and tiles for my existing front porch?
Roughly how much should i budget?
funnymoney P
post Feb 21 2021, 07:46 PM

Probation
22 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Feb 18 2021, 05:09 PM)
Anyone have contractors who can extend about L  24ft x  W 5ft wood and tiles for my existing front porch?
Roughly how much should i budget?
hi bro, what do you mean by wood and tiles?
dudester
post Feb 22 2021, 10:11 AM

1,222 posts

QUOTE(funnymoney @ Feb 21 2021, 07:46 PM)
hi bro, what do you mean by wood and tiles?
exactly like TS house in 1st post
Ollie77
post Mar 12 2021, 10:40 AM

25 posts

Hi, I am going to renovate my house and plan to install awnings above the car porch and master bedroom.

Can suggest any good contractor / installer of aluminium or polycarbonate awnings?
TheRedDevil
post Mar 20 2021, 10:40 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(chichichi @ Aug 31 2018, 12:51 AM)
Just wanted to share pictures of my sky roof, laminated glass 12 mm green tint with steel structure and steel hinge support (no pillars) and 50% aluminium louvers.
May I know the total SQF?
VeeJay
post Oct 12 2023, 06:53 PM

3,844 posts

I know Im opening up an old thread, since I couldnt find any new discussion on Awnings.

Since its a new venture for me, would like to seek advise on things for consideration.

The location is front porch which is 24X20ft.
Im thinking of of going one foot longer for both front and rear length and maybe 6in wide at both left/right of the width, so that water wont fall on wall pillars and reduce the rain drizzles.

I do have a half garden that is around 12X20ft, hence thinking of having ACP 16X20 and 8X20 on Poly Carbonate (PC) with white frosted(so its not clear plank)

Many had said the ACP is 4mm and PC is 3mm
Also thinking of having either 10 or 11ft in height sitting of the roof tiles and front either 9 or 10ft above the gate

Those are the rough Ideas I have. Need to call in the vendors to ask for info, but b4 that would like to get some ideas for the folks here. Thanks

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Oct 12 2023, 06:58 PM
WhiteFlag
post Nov 24 2024, 12:24 PM

539 posts

hi sir, how does your pu metal awning hold up so far?

can i get the contact of the contractor? since im also planning to do pu metal anwing rclxms.gif
overfloe
post Jan 27 2025, 10:25 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,203 posts

what is the Laminated Glass awning rate for 2025?
looking for 21x9sqf
dude06
post Feb 9 2025, 05:33 PM

257 posts

Anyone do those C roof awning with acp or pu metal foam on top and aluminium strip below ...?

Care to share any pros and cons..

Contractor to recommend and to Avoid..?

Thanks 👍
Thrust
post Aug 27 2025, 03:24 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,759 posts

Is it illegal to install these type of cage grille behind the house?

mini orchard
post Aug 28 2025, 05:36 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 27 2025, 03:24 PM)
Is it illegal to install these type of cage grille behind the house?

Illegal as in ....
1. No LA approval, or

2. Safety reason ?
Thrust
post Aug 28 2025, 07:10 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,759 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Aug 28 2025, 05:36 AM)
Illegal as in  ....
1. No LA approval, or

2. Safety reason ?
As in no approval from local council?

From bomba perspective, it is also another safety issue as there's grille and locked gate which prevents quick fire exit. I short, more obstacles from the original building plan permitted and approved.
mini orchard
post Aug 28 2025, 08:04 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 28 2025, 07:10 AM)
As in no approval from local council?

From bomba perspective, it is also another safety issue as there's grille and locked gate which prevents quick fire exit. I short, more obstacles from the original building plan permitted and approved.
All approved extension which is normally boxed up will only have a locked door and grille. For safety, the keys must be place for easy access in the event of an emergency.

In the photo, the emergency exit is the gate. If is not locked, then it defeat the purpose of boxing it, albeit it may be illegal.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 28 2025, 08:05 AM

0.1804sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:17 AM