Apr 24 2012, 10:57 AM
1,007 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: island up north |
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 22 2012, 08:18 AM) Don't think anyone watching Fashion TV SD when you have HD version and TM knows that. No surprise for them to drop it.Added on April 24, 2012, 11:46 am QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 24 2012, 04:13 AM) Is the AEM Xtra Link 2 the same one shown in this picture (inside spoilers)... Good and very detaild explaination but a bit inaccurate on how it operate. I've been using this device on Asto Byond for more than a year already. The device does not retransmit RF TV signals but inject additional RF signal for IR control onto the passthrough RF cable instead. On the receiving end, it detects the control signal and retransmit it via IR LED to control your Astro Byond. My connection is like this: Byond --> RF converter --> IR coupler --> IR injector --> remote TV. I use it to control from my mater bedroom both Astro Byond located in living room and CCTV DVR in family room. I use 1 injector and 2 couplers for this purpose.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « If its not the same, all my explanations below may be useless. I hope not. This is a "Made In China" product, lol ! I contacted my helpful online friends and got the above photos found somewhere... I think should be obtained from the internet. Yes... this device also transmit and relay audio+video by using co-axial cables, not network cables. The same type of cable used for the TV aerial and satellite dish. If you wish to use this device with your Astro decoder, then "maybe" you have posted correctly in this Astro Byond thread. I cannot answer if you intend to use this device for other purposes.... so I will only reply on using this device with the Astro decoder box. There are many such similar devices available in the market which basically allows us to share the same satellite TV channels on more than 2 TVs. There are many poor quality ones with low specifications such as AEM Xtra Link 2 or higher quality ones which support HD with HDMI port. Expensive ones uses wireless to transmit even HD such as the Sarowin device. This AEM Xtra Link 2 (same as others) have 2 separate units... (1) the Coupler unit which connects to primary source and sends audio+video using 75 ohms co-axial cables to (2) the Injector unit connected to the 2nd TV. Mmm... its easier to explain AEM Xtra Link 2 connections using graphics instead of words, as shown below (inside spoilers)... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « There is a problem here... if you are using Byond or Byond PVR box ! Both Byond and Byond PVR box do NOT have RF output as shown in picture below (inside spoilers)... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Therefore, you need to connect the RCA out (Red, White and Yellow) from Byond or Byond PVR box to a "Line to RF signal converter box" and then connect to this device. I am not sure but I believe there will be a problem with the IR signal when connected in this way because the "convertor box" may not relay the IR signal to the Astro DMT box so you may lose remote control use in the 2nd room ! There will be NO problem if you use the old Astro DMT box as shown in above picture because it has RF output so its a "direct" connection to the device. I don't know whether this device use a different RF frequency output from the one used in Astro DMT box RF out. If its different, you must use the 2nd TV to find and lock to the device RF frequency which is easy by using auto search on VHF and UHF wavebands. Please take note of these points when you use co-axial cables to carry RF signals from the device (inside spoilers)... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I am sure you already knew that many people have been using devices similar to the AEM xtra link 2. Usually many people refer to the device "IR transmitter/emitter" for remote control use as "Cat's Eyes". As usual, I have explained too much when you only asked "does transmit audio/video or not". I repeat, if its the same device... the answer is... Yes. Sorry for my over-explanation here. Note: If others find any mistake here, please correct me. I don't mind so that we can give better help to "turion64". This post has been edited by kimyee73: Apr 24 2012, 11:46 AM |
Apr 24 2012, 02:45 PM
1,332 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 24 2012, 04:13 AM) Is the AEM Xtra Link 2 the same one shown in this picture (inside spoilers)... Thanks so much for ur very detailed explanation! The answer is spot on!hehehe» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « If its not the same, all my explanations below may be useless. I hope not. This is a "Made In China" product, lol ! I contacted my helpful online friends and got the above photos found somewhere... I think should be obtained from the internet. Yes... this device also transmit and relay audio+video by using co-axial cables, not network cables. The same type of cable used for the TV aerial and satellite dish. If you wish to use this device with your Astro decoder, then "maybe" you have posted correctly in this Astro Byond thread. I cannot answer if you intend to use this device for other purposes.... so I will only reply on using this device with the Astro decoder box. There are many such similar devices available in the market which basically allows us to share the same satellite TV channels on more than 2 TVs. There are many poor quality ones with low specifications such as AEM Xtra Link 2 or higher quality ones which support HD with HDMI port. Expensive ones uses wireless to transmit even HD such as the Sarowin device. This AEM Xtra Link 2 (same as others) have 2 separate units... (1) the Coupler unit which connects to primary source and sends audio+video using 75 ohms co-axial cables to (2) the Injector unit connected to the 2nd TV. Mmm... its easier to explain AEM Xtra Link 2 connections using graphics instead of words, as shown below (inside spoilers)... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « There is a problem here... if you are using Byond or Byond PVR box ! Both Byond and Byond PVR box do NOT have RF output as shown in picture below (inside spoilers)... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Therefore, you need to connect the RCA out (Red, White and Yellow) from Byond or Byond PVR box to a "Line to RF signal converter box" and then connect to this device. I am not sure but I believe there will be a problem with the IR signal when connected in this way because the "convertor box" may not relay the IR signal to the Astro DMT box so you may lose remote control use in the 2nd room ! There will be NO problem if you use the old Astro DMT box as shown in above picture because it has RF output so its a "direct" connection to the device. I don't know whether this device use a different RF frequency output from the one used in Astro DMT box RF out. If its different, you must use the 2nd TV to find and lock to the device RF frequency which is easy by using auto search on VHF and UHF wavebands. Please take note of these points when you use co-axial cables to carry RF signals from the device (inside spoilers)... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I am sure you already knew that many people have been using devices similar to the AEM xtra link 2. Usually many people refer to the device "IR transmitter/emitter" for remote control use as "Cat's Eyes". As usual, I have explained too much when you only asked "does transmit audio/video or not". I repeat, if its the same device... the answer is... Yes. Sorry for my over-explanation here. Note: If others find any mistake here, please correct me. I don't mind so that we can give better help to "turion64". Indeed I am going to use it on beyond and this device seems to not very suit my requirements. Will definitely look for the sarowin device... Thanks bro! |
Apr 24 2012, 05:36 PM
213 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: Kedah |
Apr 24 2012, 05:40 PM
6,103 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Marang, Terengganu |
Apr 24 2012, 06:01 PM
1,322 posts Joined: May 2009 |
www.astromurah.blogspot.com
Apr 24 2012, 06:18 PM
684 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
http://costablancasatellite.blogspot.com/2...or-showing.html
http://www.satandpcguy.com/forum/showthread.php?66504 This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 24 2012, 06:43 PM |
Apr 24 2012, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(turion64 @ Apr 24 2012, 02:45 PM) Thanks so much for ur very detailed explanation! The answer is spot on!hehehe My pleasure. You are welcome. Mmm... I am already hooked on HD and Dolby Digital 5.1, blu-rays with 1080p picture and DTS-HD Master Audio/Dolby True-HD/DTS Hi-Resolution... so SD video and stereo audio is not my preference now. The only analog stereo audio that I will forever love is the audiophile sound of LPs from turntables when I got addicted as a teenager in the seventies !Indeed I am going to use it on beyond and this device seems to not very suit my requirements. Will definitely look for the sarowin device... Thanks bro! ╠═╬═╣░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░▒▓▒░╠═╬═╣ QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 24 2012, 10:57 AM) Good and very detaild explaination but a bit inaccurate on how it operate. I've been using this device on Asto Byond for more than a year already. The device does not retransmit RF TV signals but inject additional RF signal for IR control onto the passthrough RF cable instead. On the receiving end, it detects the control signal and retransmit it via IR LED to control your Astro Byond. My connection is like this: Byond --> RF converter --> IR coupler --> IR injector --> remote TV. I use it to control from my mater bedroom both Astro Byond located in living room and CCTV DVR in family room. I use 1 injector and 2 couplers for this purpose. Thanks for your feedback.Maybe I did not explain it clearly which caused some confusion. Yes... I already knew how this AEM device "carry" the IR signal (transmitted from the Astro remote control in another location) to the primary location that resides the Astro box. Just like what you mentioned but I will explain more about the AEM device signals... Under normal situation, the Astro remote control transmit IR signal wirelessly directly to the IR Receiver inside the Astro box to control its functions. IR signal means Infra Red light signal. The copper inside the co-axial cable cannot carry light signals. Co-axial cable can carry RF (Radio Frequency) wave signals. The AEM Injector (using its own IR receiver) at second location receives the IR signal from the Astro remote control... "converts" the IR signal into special RF (radio frequency) signal at a pre-set Radio Frequency (VHF or UHF)... and sends this special "converted RF signal" back to the AEM Coupler which reconvert this RF signal back to IR... and then transmits as IR using the AEM IR Emitter... so the Astro box will obey the Astro remote control commands. This is what I can call as upstream direction "special" RF signal from Injector to Coupler. The Astro box RF output sends RF signal (for audio+video) from AEM Coupler to AEM Injector so that the second TV can receive the same TV channels as the first TV. This is what I can call as downstream direction RF signal from Coupler to Injector. With both cross-streams (upstream and downstream) of RF signals... one is RF signal (audio+video) and the other is the converted RF signal (from IR signal)... both radio frequencies used different channel frequency to prevent signal destructive interference along the same co-axial cable between the Coupler and Injector. Mmm... I don't have this AEM Xtra Link 2 device with me... so that I can borrow an Oscilloscope to test which MHz frequency is used by the "converted RF signal" from IR, hehe. Just curious only. Here's a graphic illustration of using a "Line To RF Converter" with Byond Box... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « One thing that I am sure now is that the IR signal will still work when a "Line To RF Converter" is used for the Byond box. Previously, I was not sure but later I realised that the IR will still work as shown in the above graphic illustration, hehe. ╠P╬E╬A╬C╬E╣ This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 24 2012, 06:56 PM |
Apr 24 2012, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(penanghomes @ Apr 24 2012, 06:01 PM) www.astromurah.blogspot.com If you want to advertise sales of products and services for yourself or for others, please start a [WTS] sales thread in the correct section. For example... Garage Sales. Please read the guidelines of this forum. This thread is in the "Special Interest - Home Entertainment" Section which is not a sales of products and services thread. The person who started the blog as shown from the quoted link you posted, not only provided info on Openbox satellite receiver, he also intended to use his blogs to sell, as shown in this portion from that blog with mobile phone contact given (inside spoilers)... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 24 2012, 07:14 PM |
Apr 24 2012, 07:09 PM
1,332 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 24 2012, 06:42 PM) My pleasure. You are welcome. Mmm... I am already hooked on HD and Dolby Digital 5.1, blu-rays with 1080p picture and DTS-HD Master Audio/Dolby True-HD/DTS Hi-Resolution... so SD video and stereo audio is not my preference now. The only analog stereo audio that I will forever love is the audiophile sound of LPs from turntables when I got addicted as a teenager in the seventies ! Bro, u seem like very knowledgeable in the technicality of Audio/Video..Btw, have checked out the Sarowin products, although it fits my requirements flawlessly, pricewise is beyond my budget.. Gotta resort to using Ethernet(LAN) cable to wire it manually instead |
Apr 24 2012, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(turion64 @ Apr 24 2012, 07:09 PM) Bro, u seem like very knowledgeable in the technicality of Audio/Video.. Btw, have checked out the Sarowin products, although it fits my requirements flawlessly, pricewise is beyond my budget.. Gotta resort to using Ethernet(LAN) cable to wire it manually instead Thanks. Mmm... seem to be but actually only a bit knowledgeable. I did mention that Sarowin HDMI wireless device is very expensive. Yes, you are right... I forgot about the LAN option which is much cheaper. Using good quality LAN cables is important. |
Apr 24 2012, 08:49 PM
1,715 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Klang |
Apr 24 2012, 09:14 PM
957 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
RAMChYLD - MTV Asia on Astro is a delayed feed from the SEA beam (after censorship etc.)... 8-)
Also, Comedy Central Asia is coming by mid or end of the year. NO updates yet whether it's SD or HD.....inside news... 8-) http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-03-07/v...bal-brands.html already launched in India....but Asia programs likely to be different.... http://www.facebook.com/comedycentralindia...210162579078220 The deal of Trace Sports HD & Trace Urban HD are actually on demand programs that Maxis has closed....the service launches next month - page 8. Page 9: brief mention of content sharing between Astro and new players. http://www.contentasia.tv/pdf/Emag/140.Con...pr-6May2012.pdf Enjoy! |
Apr 24 2012, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 24 2012, 09:14 PM) Ow. So, assteruk is playing dirty and breaking their contract behind MTV's back?I thought ours is a local MTV Malaysia feed. Again, because Disney has set up local broadcast site and assteruk is getting the feed from them instead of the the real Disney Asia now. In other words, Disney is now practically "in-house" to assteruk, and I thought they were doing that with a lot of other channels. QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 24 2012, 09:14 PM) Also, Comedy Central Asia is coming by mid or end of the year. NO updates yet whether it's SD or HD.....inside news... 8-) Comedy Central, I don't think it we can hope for it to show up in Malaysia unless SKMM (and gomen) reform. Given that the old generation are mostly one-tracked mind and will bising whenever there's mention of ganja (seriously. The Power Rangers fiasco was extremely embarrassing. Especially since the spelling is so different and "Morphing" truly has a innocent meaning. They might as well ban Matrix for having Morpheus, Morpheus P2P, Stoik Morphman and Kai's Morph), alcohol, sex, etc, the channel doesn't stand a chance. Especially with South Park which is Comedy Central's main draw. And the gomen will always listen to the old generation because those are the ones running the so-called "moral NGOs" like JAIS.This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 24 2012, 09:32 PM |
Apr 24 2012, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 24 2012, 09:14 PM) RAMChYLD - MTV Asia on Astro is a delayed feed from the SEA beam (after censorship etc.)... 8-) Most likely it'll end up on ABN channels list, rather than Estrow one. Also, Comedy Central Asia is coming by mid or end of the year. NO updates yet whether it's SD or HD.....inside news... 8-) http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-03-07/v...bal-brands.html |
Apr 24 2012, 09:40 PM
1,602 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 24 2012, 09:20 PM) Ow. So, assteruk is playing dirty and breaking their contract behind MTV's back? Hrm, don't think they breach any contract... infact mtv should be well aware of it... or else.. why would they help display malaysia show times 1 hour delayed compared to sg/hk... =pI thought ours is a local MTV Malaysia feed. Again, because Disney has set up local broadcast site and assteruk is getting the feed from them instead of the the real Disney Asia now. In other words, Disney is now practically "in-house" to assteruk, and I thought they were doing that with a lot of other channels. Comedy Central, I don't think it we can hope for it to show up in Malaysia unless SKMM (and gomen) reform. Given that the old generation are mostly one-tracked mind and will bising whenever there's mention of ganja (seriously. The Power Rangers fiasco was extremely embarrassing. Especially since the spelling is so different and "Morphing" truly has a innocent meaning. They might as well ban Matrix for having Morpheus, Morpheus P2P, Stoik Morphman and Kai's Morph), alcohol, sex, etc, the channel doesn't stand a chance. Especially with South Park which is Comedy Central's main draw. And the gomen will always listen to the old generation because those are the ones running the so-called "moral NGOs" like JAIS. Bleh.. comedy central would be severely censored, don't think a single south park would be shown... even current mtv's beavis and butthead show, all are censored and replaced with mtv hits... zzz just like the same with mtv celebrity deathmatch... all being replaced with mtv non stop hits back then... btw, to answer about CN HD, i saw some in 16:9 today =D, animated pink panther in 16:9... its nice to see something so sharp and vibrant compared to the blurry murky SD CN..., with that i think your show would be in native 16:9 too... all these while when i pass thru that tv, i only saw dragon ball and that 3 cockroach cartoon(oogy?) both in pillarboxes. |
Apr 24 2012, 09:50 PM
957 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
oh....didn't realized that Disney Channel MAL has a dedicated feed......for SIN, the Disney Channel trailers has MAL/PHIL & THAI/WIB times.....so I had the impression that Starhub was transmitting the same MAL feed.....seems like ths SIN feed had some similar programs with the MAL feed.
Certain cable networks has dedicated MAL feed due to various reasons like copyrights of programs, viewing habits, censorship etc. So far looks like Disney, beTV, ONE (Malay) and HBO MAL are dedicated feed..... Will update again once I have more news. Enjoy! |
Apr 24 2012, 10:02 PM
1,602 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Apr 24 2012, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Apr 24 2012, 09:40 PM) Bleh.. comedy central would be severely censored, don't think a single south park would be shown... even current mtv's beavis and butthead show, all are censored and replaced with mtv hits... zzz just like the same with mtv celebrity deathmatch... all being replaced with mtv non stop hits back then... Well, I think there's no chance this channel will ever show up in Malaysia unless miracles happen. Heck, their competition Adult Swim is already available in Asia for a few years (notably, The Philippines has it). But is Malaysia getting it?QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 24 2012, 09:50 PM) oh....didn't realized that Disney Channel MAL has a dedicated feed......for SIN, the Disney Channel trailers has MAL/PHIL & THAI/WIB times.....so I had the impression that Starhub was transmitting the same MAL feed.....seems like ths SIN feed had some similar programs with the MAL feed. Well, that's according to Wikipedia lah. Apparently they switched to a local feed since 2008. Though the other entries in the page are blatant lies (TM does NOT have Disney, and it's not available in HD on assteruk), I'm inclined to believe that part about Malaysia's dedicated feed because Disney now has all sort of local crap, and the live action segments between shows is hosted by Malaysians.Certain cable networks has dedicated MAL feed due to various reasons like copyrights of programs, viewing habits, censorship etc. So far looks like Disney, beTV, ONE (Malay) and HBO MAL are dedicated feed..... QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Apr 24 2012, 10:02 PM) I want to know too. I scanned the spectrum manually (took 10-15 minutes) and can't find it. Is it even DVB-T1? Since T1 receivers cannot pick up T2 signal (but all T2 tuners are mandated to have T1 BC and thus can receive T1 signal).This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 24 2012, 11:32 PM |
Apr 25 2012, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 24 2012, 11:24 PM) I want to know too. I scanned the spectrum manually (took 10-15 minutes) and can't find it. Is it even DVB-T1? Since T1 receivers cannot pick up T2 signal (but all T2 tuners are mandated to have T1 BC and thus can receive T1 signal). QUOTE Documents for digital terrestrial TV broadcasting available till end-April PETALING JAYA: The request for proposal for the digital terrestrial TV broadcasting (DTTB) infrastructure and facilities build-up is out and the regulator is giving interested parties up to April 30 to collect the documents. Yesterday, the Malaysian Communications & Multimedia Commission (MCMC) in an advertisement said that the applicant information package for “apparatus assignment in parts for the frequency bands in 470Mhz to 742Mhz” to build and operate the infrastructure and network facilities for digital terrestrial TV services was now available. Interested parties need to buy the documents for RM100 from the regulator and they have three months, or till July 24, to submit their business plan to the commission. This is a tender many companies have been waiting for since last year. The idea of the DTTB, or DTT (digital terrestrial TV) as MCMC calls it, will pave the way for better quality in TV programming as operators will be on a digital instead of an analogue platform. The winner of the tender will build and operate the infrastructure and network facilities for DTT services so all broadcasters can ride on the infrastructure to transmit their TV programmes. The entire infrastructure, including the set top boxes which are needed for digital TV, is estimated to cost RM1bil. The parties that have indicated interest to bid for DTTB earlier include Telekom Malaysia Bhd, Axiata Group Bhd via Celcom Axiata, Puncak Semangat Sdn Bhd and KUB Malaysia Bhd. But other parties like Maxis Bhd and YTL Communications Sdn Bhd are also said to be interested. Some local players have made some arrangement with foreign players and they include Celcom with Broadcast Australia, Puncak with New Zealand's Kordia, KUB with Germany's Media Broadcast Systems and YTL with US Sezmi and American technical consultant Peter Douglas. |
| Change to: | 0.0338sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:09 PM |