127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

ivanswk
post Nov 17 2011, 11:37 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(morgana_jara @ Nov 17 2011, 11:31 AM)
Kong Kee is kinda expensive though, so never went there.
yes expensive compare to kl sweat.gif
mainly for those who dun frequent back to kl rolleyes.gif

darkages
post Nov 17 2011, 01:07 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(jewellyjew @ Nov 17 2011, 11:36 AM)
anyone here ever experienced taking train from KL to Singapore or vise versa? I ve checked the price it's much more cheaper than the prices for air tickets...not too sure y most  ppl prefer to travel by bus..
Its slow and noisy. That's the reason.
seantang
post Nov 17 2011, 01:07 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

anyone here ever experienced taking train from KL to Singapore or vise versa? I ve checked the price it's much more cheaper than the prices for air tickets...not too sure y most  ppl prefer to travel by bus..
Because the train is slow... quite a few stops. And the frequency of buses and flexibility of pick up/drop off points is much higher.

Besides, KTM now stops in JB. Tg Pagar has been returned to the SG govt.
jewellyjew
post Nov 17 2011, 02:28 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 17 2011, 01:07 PM)
Because the train is slow... quite a few stops. And the frequency of buses and flexibility of pick up/drop off points is much higher.

Besides, KTM now stops in JB. Tg Pagar has been returned to the SG govt.
thanks for your info.. But I heard that there is a new station called Woodland CIQ somewhere nearby the boundary of Sg?

SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 17 2011, 02:37 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(jewellyjew @ Nov 17 2011, 02:28 PM)
thanks for your info.. But I heard that there is a new station called Woodland CIQ somewhere nearby the boundary of Sg?
its a hub... there's the customs check point for cars, bikes and buses as well as for trains... there's a mrt station too... and starbucks, northern area of singapore...
crazy25kid
post Nov 17 2011, 02:42 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 17 2011, 02:37 PM)
its a hub... there's the customs check point for cars, bikes and buses as well as for trains... there's a mrt station too... and starbucks, northern area of singapore...
Erm...the train hub does not have an MRT station yet.
You can take buses to mrt, I suppose the nearest is Marsiling (not sure about the other direction) laugh.gif laugh.gif .
I heard that it will be moved to near Causeway Point (woodlands MRT) which is has ongoing renovation.

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Nov 17 2011, 02:42 PM
r1v3r
post Nov 17 2011, 06:22 PM

1,305 posts

you need to have the TIME.

I love to take train when I have the time. I went the the old tanjung pagar mamak for supper then took the mid night train to KL, 7am reach KL just nice for breakfast. Now you have to board from Woodland (pay SGD) or JB (~ same number but in RM).

You pass the SG and MY custom check in woodland, once on the train you can sleep will KL.

train is safer than bus.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Nov 17 2011, 06:26 PM
jewellyjew
post Nov 17 2011, 06:58 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 17 2011, 06:22 PM)
you need to have the TIME.

I love to take train when I have the time. I went the the old tanjung pagar mamak for supper then took the mid night train to KL, 7am reach KL just nice for breakfast. Now you have to board from Woodland (pay SGD) or JB (~ same number but in RM).

You pass the SG and MY custom check in woodland, once on the train you can sleep will KL.

train is safer than bus.
Icic..thanks for ur info..

Will there be any taxis available to go to the city area after passing through the Sg and MY custom check in Woodland CIQ? As I have scheduled for an interview at 830am in the city..I m afraid that I might not be able to reach on time if I were to travel by MRT or bus....thankss
Mackiddo
post Nov 17 2011, 07:34 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jewellyjew @ Nov 17 2011, 06:58 PM)
Icic..thanks for ur info..

Will there be any taxis available to go to the city area after passing through the Sg and MY custom check in Woodland CIQ? As I have scheduled for an interview at 830am in the city..I m afraid that I might not be able to reach on time if I were to travel by MRT or bus....thankss
there is a taxi stand just as you come out from the CIQ building.

Added on November 17, 2011, 7:35 pm
QUOTE(darkages @ Nov 17 2011, 01:07 PM)
Its slow and noisy. That's the reason.
and the vibrations too sad.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 17 2011, 07:35 PM
crapp0
post Nov 17 2011, 07:49 PM

4,414 posts

Their still running the trains from singapore to malaysia? thought it was closed down or something.

Plus i heard the trains are very dirty and you can actually see cockroaches running around in the cabins.
seantang
post Nov 17 2011, 07:49 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

The last train I took was the ETS from KL Sentral to Ipoh. Actually not too bad. Spacious, comfy seat, new and clean (get it while it's hot, cos after a few years, it'll be dirty and decayed like every racially and politically managed service in Malaysia), fast (top speed was 141kmh on that day) and good NV suppression (noise, vibration). Also don't have the irritating "kang-kang" every xx meters due to the expansion joints.
elvenchou1987
post Nov 17 2011, 11:38 PM

327 posts

Hie guys, anyone know how is the work environment as network controller like in AT&T??
calvint78
post Nov 18 2011, 05:03 PM

110 posts

i never took train from m'sia to s'pore so i dont have the experience. but from kl to haadyai i did before, fyi...time will be longer and always stop stop stop along the destination. some ppl still prefer bus because the place they stay might not have the same route with ktm which they might need to take taxi or bus for the de-tour. if air-plane ticket is cheap and affordable, why not take plane to save the time, right?
ky_khor
post Nov 18 2011, 05:17 PM

No.22
894 posts

I always take sleeping couch when travelling in train - at night (KL-SG, KL-PG) Never take intercity train in the broad day light before. Have not taken KL-SG train since the closure of Tanjung Pagar.
cha-cha
post Nov 18 2011, 09:44 PM

anyone know if there is a job in SG hiring graphic designer?
please inform me by PM because 1 of my friend looking for this job>.<

thanks so so much!
ivanswk
post Nov 18 2011, 10:55 PM

+J
2,110 posts

sienz, last flight again out of sg, worst is, row 30 doh.gif
Mackiddo
post Nov 19 2011, 12:00 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Nov 18 2011, 10:55 PM)
sienz, last flight again out of sg, worst is,  row 30  doh.gif
i think that's the 'safest' row ... in term of ....
elvenchou1987
post Nov 19 2011, 08:41 AM

327 posts

I got offered a job situated in Science Park Drive. Now looking for a room to rent somewhere nearby that area. Any recommendations> My budget is till $500 only
Candy Cat
post Nov 19 2011, 09:41 AM

Pros - safe, better values, convenient & strong currency. Cons - no life, non-citizen, high expenses, stay in pigeon hole, public transport.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 19 2011, 11:15 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(elvenchou1987 @ Nov 19 2011, 08:41 AM)
I got offered a job situated in Science Park Drive. Now looking for a room to rent somewhere nearby that area. Any recommendations> My budget is till $500 only
nearest would be ghim moh or queenstown.. no matter what you cant walk to work.. its in the middle of commercial area

QUOTE(Candy Cat @ Nov 19 2011, 09:41 AM)
Pros - safe, better values, convenient & strong currency. Cons - no life, non-citizen, high expenses, stay in pigeon hole, public transport.
why no life?

why non citizen?

why high expenses?

why stay pigeon hole?

why public transport?

if you make enough... all those on top is not a problem...

127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:01 AM