Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

crapp0
post Nov 16 2011, 03:00 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 16 2011, 02:57 PM)
Well I updated the prices for like 1 person 1 room. The hairdressing salon I went to the other day, the hair-washer lady (Malaysian) was 3 ppl sharing one master room. Didn't ask how much she was paying though.

Anyway, one of my friends here (early 30's, M'sian, SPR) got accepted a couple months ago to SIA's Cadet Pilot program, & he's in ground school right now. So even SIA hires foreigners!
My younger brother works for SIA and not only malaysians are hired, indons, koreans, japanese and indian nationals are hired as well but in limited quantities but thats gonna change since the younger generation of singaporeans are picky and generally dont like being in the service line.
crapp0
post Nov 16 2011, 04:04 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Nov 16 2011, 03:25 PM)
Then in this case, just curious, what line do they want to be in as Service line is one of Singapore's bread and butter.
They want to be the "Fat Cat" who sits behind the desk in the comfort of an air conditioned environment, ordering their subordinates while telling themselves, "Yes, i've made it".
crapp0
post Nov 17 2011, 07:49 PM

4,414 posts

Their still running the trains from singapore to malaysia? thought it was closed down or something.

Plus i heard the trains are very dirty and you can actually see cockroaches running around in the cabins.
crapp0
post Nov 19 2011, 07:47 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Nov 19 2011, 12:36 PM)
singapore driver is bad.

and the travel company just leaves the hand.

http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp111113_014.shtml

Added on November 19, 2011, 12:44 pmuser posted image
"and the travel company just leaves the hand."

Come again?
crapp0
post Nov 21 2011, 12:01 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Nov 21 2011, 11:47 AM)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Expatriate
"In its broadest sense, an expatriate is any person living in a different country from where he or she is a citizen. In common usage, the term is often used in the context of professionals sent abroad by their companies, as opposed to locally hired staff (who can also be foreigners). The differentiation found in common usage usually comes down to socio-economic factors, so skilled professionals working in another country are described as expatriates, whereas a manual labourer who has moved to another country to earn more money might be labelled an 'immigrant'."

so indon, bangla are considered 'immigrant' biggrin.gif
What if your a malaysian but you work as a kitchen helper? still consider as "immigrant status"?

Added on November 21, 2011, 12:18 pm
Actually am very interesting to join this line of work, but too bad am at a different industry, project engineer for process gas piping for semi cond industry, doesn't have the time to learn all this at all, plan to read up the ASMI B31.3 Process Piping but dunno is it useful or not.

Besides that my salary, I would say is overpaid compared to my technical knowledge, so kind of difficult to join oil and gas industry. Any advice?

So you just manage the work flow for installing, repair etc in regards to piping?

So you have no prior knowledge of ASME B31.3 process piping eventhough your in charge of that area? You even got ASME wrong, aduhai.

Like this you have it easy since i need to cover your area as well as structures.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 21 2011, 12:18 PM
crapp0
post Nov 21 2011, 04:04 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Nov 21 2011, 01:24 PM)
different ppl with different definition can call it different thing mah...

for me i dun fxxking care... laugh.gif
Merc would disagree since its all about what class your from. or what work pass you hold.

Added on November 21, 2011, 4:09 pm
QUOTE(kockroach @ Nov 21 2011, 03:15 PM)
Yeah I have an easy life actually, because we use orbital welding in gas piping for semicon industry. Nothing technical sigh.
Its very technical if your a welding inspector since you pre-approve the welding procedure required for a particular item. You guys using SAW or TIG for your orbital welds?

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 21 2011, 04:10 PM
crapp0
post Nov 22 2011, 10:21 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 21 2011, 11:44 PM)
zzz... i am always an alien immigrant... the same while i was in us, the same now... kuli's life is difficult..
You can become "Last of the meheccans". Anybody read the news about the deaths at the SEA games?

After that shiat, the sports minister of malaysia made this comment

"Why is it that they reserve such hatred for us? Why not Thailand? Why not others? It is not because of the perceived maltreatment of Indonesians locally.In my opinion, it is because opposition leaders have been making a bee line for Indonesia to bad mouth our country," said the minister.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 22 2011, 10:33 AM
crapp0
post Nov 22 2011, 11:51 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Nov 22 2011, 11:01 AM)
Viet brides hot commodities  thumbup.gif

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/M...122-311871.html

Statistics by the National Registration Department showed that between 2009 until Oct 15 this year, Vietnamese women continued to make up more than 30% of the foreign brides.Women from China and Indonesia are second and third on the list of preferred brides with an average of 26% and 15% respectively. Others are from Thailand, the Philippines, Myanmar and India.
Human trading anyone?
crapp0
post Nov 23 2011, 08:45 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(tk1025 @ Nov 23 2011, 08:19 AM)
Hi everyone, newbie reporting in smile.gif

Working as lab tech in Jurong Island.

Nice to meet ya all.
Glaxosmith kline?
crapp0
post Nov 23 2011, 11:20 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 23 2011, 11:14 AM)
Hehe...good advise for me.
Just curious, property prices are highest during bad economy?
During bad economy, ppl prefer to keep certain commodities which are not as volatile as cash such as gold, silver and property to mitigate the loss of value of said commodity.

Could ask those who have a finance background since im not and i barely passed my accounting subject during SPM.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 23 2011, 11:21 AM
crapp0
post Nov 25 2011, 05:12 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Nov 25 2011, 12:57 AM)
my friend got $900 car allowance, i tot that was not bad.. who knows its below market rate... sweat.gif
Damn not bad, the only thing i have is the company reimbursement for taxi rides to and from my office or offsite workplace.
crapp0
post Nov 28 2011, 08:21 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Nov 28 2011, 03:26 PM)
Did you find any good deals online?  Mind to share?
Got myself a 32" inch TV so that i can play MW3, but since im so busy lately, my younger brother would be spending more quality time on it then i am. Too bad there are no custom fabricators in singapore who can fit a ps3 and a 23 inch lcd within the frames of a pelican case, then i can just bring my gaming rig on the "rig".
crapp0
post Nov 29 2011, 09:19 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Nov 28 2011, 10:37 PM)
what is MW3 ?
Modern warfare 3

crapp0
post Nov 29 2011, 04:55 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Nov 28 2011, 09:07 PM)
I just see plasma tv as not bright as LED.
The LED monitor is better, the plasma is too soft.
Saw yesterday 51" plasma tv is only for S$1300.
But plasma has better colour representation. But i got myself a LCD monitor.
crapp0
post Nov 29 2011, 08:49 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Nov 29 2011, 06:08 PM)
Still LCD monitor?... better buy LED monitor la.
Mine is a lcd led model. But i read a few reviews which mentions that sonys lcd models arent as bad as led's.
crapp0
post Dec 2 2011, 08:30 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Dec 1 2011, 03:47 PM)
http://www.zaobao.com.sg/sp/sp111129_004.shtml

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=45063

PR Foreigner avoid NS after leeching Sg's system
This is the type of PR/converted citizens that the Singapore Govt loves - one who takes all the benefits available to citizens, but yet when it is time for him to fulfil his obligations, he will try his best to avoid. Will the Singapore Govt ever learn?

The Immigration & Checkpoint Authority (ICA) has rejected the application of Zhang Junyi to denounce his Singapore citizenship, citing that he is not yet a legal adult. In addition, the ICA also reminded Zhang of his National Service obligation when he becomes 18 year-old. In response, Zhang sought a judicial review on ICA's decision.

Zhang Junyi filed his request to the Supreme Court through his father Zhang Shaowei. Zhang Junyi was represented by lawyer Lee Jing Xiong who asked the Supreme Court to review the decision of the ICA and the Ministry of Defence on Zhang Junyi's case.

Zhang Junyi urged the Court to rule that he is eligible to renounce his Singapore citizenship, he doesn't qualify for national service, and that his notice to the ICA last year which declared his intention to renounce citizenship is valid.

Zhang Junyi is due for National Service registration soon. He is currently on an exit permit which cleared him for overseas studies. The exit permit will expire on 30 December 2011. The law requires males eligible for National Service to register with the Ministry of Defence when they turn 16.5 years old.

Zhang Junyi's parents Zhang Shaowei and Liang Jiali emigrated to Singapore in January 1996. They converted to Singapore citizenship, along with Zhang Junyi's 2 elder sisters. 2 months after gaining citizenship, they moved to Hongkong.

Zhang Junyi was borned in Hongkong 3 months after his family moved there. Subsequently, Zhang Junyi was granted Singapore citizenship the following Febraury. He lived in Hongkong until he returned to Singapore in 2005 at the age of 10 to study.

In August 2010, Zhang Junyi applied to Hongkong Department of Immigration to restore his Chinese citizenship. Although the Department accepted his application, it was conditional that he relinquishes his Singapore citizenship. 4 months later, Zhang Junyi notified the ICA of his intention to renouce his Singapore citizenship.

However. the ICA rejected his application, citing Section 1, Article 128 of the Singapore Constitution that a citizen can only give up his citizenship when he is above 21 years old and that parents may not make such a decision for the child. The ICA also added that according to Section 2, Article 128 of the Singapore Constitution, Zhang Junyi is obligated to complete his National Service as long as he remains a Singapore citizen.

The Central Manpower Base (CPMB) also suggested that Zhang Junyi should postpone his application for change of citizenship until he has turned 21 years old and that he has completed his National Service. CMPB will consider his application.

In response, Zhang Junyi described the constitutional interpretation of the ICA and the CMPB as "illogical and unfair", citing 3 points. Firstly, the Singapore citizenship was imposed on him because his parents emigrated to Singapore.

Secondly, he is not a 100% citizen because he will only be accorded with full citizenship rights as soon as he relinquished other citizenships within a year after he turned 21 years old. As such, the aforementioned constitutional provisions are irrelevant.

Thirdly, the Enlistment Act does not apply on him because he was less than 16 years old when he first declared his intention to ICA to renounce his Singapore citizenship.

The Attorney General's Chamber (AGC) was notified of the application for judicial review in the middle of November by Zhang Junyi's lawyer Mr Lee Jing Xiong. The pre-conference trial starts today.

Expert: "Interesting" Judicial Review

Constitutional law expert Dr Kevin Tan told Zaobao this would be an "interesting" judicial review. He also pointed out that the Courts rarely take on cases which involve citizenship rights because very few people would submit such issues to the Courts.

He also added that Zhang Junyi may not succeed in securing a judicial review because both the ICA and the CMPB did not act wilfully or irregularly, and as well as exceed their jurisdictions.

Dr Kevin Tan said that Article 128 of the Singapore Constitution appears absolute and that only Singaporeans above the age of 21 are eligible to renounce their citizenship.

Few days ago, Minster of Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen revealed in Parliament 8800 sons of new immigrants had been enlisted for National Service over the last five years. Among them, 6100 (70%) opted to become Singapore citizens.

However, among second-generation permanent residents, 4200 gave up their permanent residency over the same period. In another words, for every three sons of permanent residents, two would enlist while one would give up his permanent residency status in order to forgo national service.
This china fella has become a true blue singaporean. Will do pretty much anything to excape NS, just like one guy who faked a mental illness to escape reservist duty.

His medical report is hilarious and even more so that the doctor actually diagnosed him as such.

Added on December 2, 2011, 8:32 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 1 2011, 09:58 PM)
all those PRCs, ang neh neh, pinoys and banglas giving FTs a bad  name  sweat.gif
Malaysians are usually in a sub-category of the FT's as compared to the PRC's, indian, bangla etc.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 2 2011, 08:32 AM
crapp0
post Dec 2 2011, 09:51 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Dec 2 2011, 09:42 AM)
Say NO to AIRPORT TAX INCREASE  shakehead.gif

Malaysia Airports Holdings Berhad (MAHB) has increased the airport tax* for all international outgoing flights starting 1st December 2011.

AirAsia views that this increase is not justified as the current airport facilities are not up to par.

http://www.airasia.com/my/en/latestnews/ai...x-increase.page

http://www.eglobaltravelmedia.com.au/airli...n-airports.html

Beginning 1 December 2011, all AirAsia guests flying to international destinations from Malaysia will be subjected to new Passenger Service Charge (PSC) rates, as Malaysia Airports Holdings Berhad (MAHB) implemented an increase of the PSC for all international flights departing from airports throughout Malaysia.
The PSC, commonly referred to as ‘airport tax’, is paid by guests and collected by AirAsia on behalf of MAHB. All amount collected are channeled to the airport operator, with none of the sum shared by AirAsia.

The airport tax raise will be effective starting 00:01hrs (GMT +8) on 1 December 2011, and all international flights purchased on 1 December onwards will include the revised airport tax rate.
Im not so concerned about this since i usually take the bus back to malaysia and even if i do fly there, its for business and the company covers that.
crapp0
post Dec 2 2011, 10:17 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Dec 2 2011, 10:06 AM)
i also need to switch to bus already, just that i din see the reason of the increase
lately AA quite strict on the 7kg hand carry, web check in and service is not exactly is there 

there was a mornin i reach lcct to do the web check in using my phone, all machine was down, i went to the counter and bang table to resolve it.  but problem is not everybody so thick skin, i saw this gal searching high and low for other available machine and none is exist, almost departing time already and morning q is quite heavy  sweat.gif
Kesian most people stay in KL or further up north.
crapp0
post Dec 4 2011, 08:51 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Dec 4 2011, 08:39 PM)
Guess the fella pushed himself too much or he may have an underlining heart condition.
crapp0
post Dec 10 2011, 09:20 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 9 2011, 11:50 PM)
Then many people will become top 10%, however I saw lots of average joe are well with others.
I saw in my manager, they have the same common thing, Straight to the point and have the sense of arrogance!
They are the most difficult people to deal with

Do you expect anything less from a typical singaporean? I dont. I would change the "straight to the point" part into, endless recording loop since they love to repeat themselves.

0.0322sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:05 PM