127 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

ivanswk
post Nov 25 2011, 11:42 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Nov 25 2011, 11:28 AM)
The  Singapore govt does not restrict foreigners from high paying jobs.  Where did you get that from?
maybe he targeting minister job sweat.gif

http://www.yeocheowtong.com/Salaries.html

Added on November 25, 2011, 11:54 amSINGAPORE, March 11, 2011 - Parliament has approved an increase in the President's salary which is now S$4,267,500 (US$3,355,270), an increase of S$890,700 (US$700,302).

Singapore Prime Minister's Salary $US2.47 million, or about six times more than the U.S. President, who currently takes home US$400,000.
The monthly pay for a Singapore Member of Parliament (who does virtually nothing) is S$12,000 (US$8,600 ) per month or S$144,000 (US$103,200 ) per year tax free.

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Nov 25 2011, 11:54 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 25 2011, 12:02 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Nov 25 2011, 11:42 AM)
maybe he targeting minister job  sweat.gif

http://www.yeocheowtong.com/Salaries.html

Added on November 25, 2011, 11:54 amSINGAPORE, March 11, 2011 - Parliament has approved an increase in the President's salary which is now S$4,267,500 (US$3,355,270), an increase of S$890,700 (US$700,302).

Singapore Prime Minister's Salary $US2.47 million, or about six times more than the U.S. President, who currently takes home US$400,000.
The monthly pay for a Singapore Member of Parliament (who does virtually nothing) is S$12,000 (US$8,600 ) per month or S$144,000 (US$103,200 ) per year tax free.
i think it is around there la... worth everything if corruption is no and development is there... its hedge against top executives across various industries..

compare to ceo of dbs, uob, wilmar, ... etc etc... about the same
subrok007
post Nov 25 2011, 02:01 PM

Squirtle
1,632 posts

if got exp about 4 yrs, how much basic salary shall we request in SG??
ivanswk
post Nov 25 2011, 02:04 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Nov 25 2011, 02:01 PM)
1k for 1 year, so 4 year is 4k sweat.gif
crazy25kid
post Nov 25 2011, 02:17 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Nov 25 2011, 02:04 PM)
1k for 1 year, so 4 year is 4k  sweat.gif
No exp work for free?
totti 10
post Nov 25 2011, 02:46 PM

339 posts

by that definition then i am really overpaid

This post has been edited by totti 10: Nov 25 2011, 02:48 PM
seantang
post Nov 25 2011, 03:44 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Nov 25 2011, 02:01 PM)
What kind of experience?

If you're a MP like Tin Pei Ling, 1 month experience also get paid $14K.

If you're a construction worker, 10 years experience also get paid $1.5K.

crapp0
post Nov 25 2011, 05:12 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Nov 25 2011, 12:57 AM)
my friend got $900 car allowance, i tot that was not bad.. who knows its below market rate... sweat.gif
Damn not bad, the only thing i have is the company reimbursement for taxi rides to and from my office or offsite workplace.
ivanswk
post Nov 25 2011, 05:28 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 25 2011, 05:12 PM)
Damn not bad, the only thing i have is the company reimbursement for taxi rides to and from my office or offsite workplace.
i have nothing cry.gif ...

TGIF (Black Friday) thumbup.gif
mercury8400
post Nov 25 2011, 05:51 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 25 2011, 03:44 PM)
What kind of experience?

If you're a MP like Tin Pei Ling, 1 month experience also get paid $14K.

Malaysian MP earn much, much, much more....unreported salary, of course wink.gif
seantang
post Nov 25 2011, 07:47 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 25 2011, 05:51 PM)
Malaysian MP earn much, much, much more....unreported salary, of course wink.gif
Malaysian MPs don't EARN their millions and billions. They rob, cheat and steal.

TSdeodorant
post Nov 25 2011, 09:08 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 25 2011, 05:12 PM)

i only get taxi reimbursement if i go home after 10pm, ha ha smile.gif

it's fine though cos if i know i need to work late i'll just work from home.
seantang
post Nov 25 2011, 09:40 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 25 2011, 09:08 PM)
i only get taxi reimbursement if i go home after 10pm, ha ha smile.gif

it's fine though cos if i know i need to work late i'll just work from home.
Car benefit is part of the remuneration package. If our employees with car benefit take taxis or drive on business, they still claim taxi fare and mileage.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 26 2011, 10:34 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 25 2011, 09:40 PM)
Car benefit is part of the remuneration package. If our employees with car benefit take taxis or drive on business, they still claim taxi fare and mileage.

Better than my company! Employees with car benefit aren't eligible for taxi fare.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 26 2011, 11:47 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 26 2011, 10:34 AM)
Better than my company! Employees with car benefit aren't eligible for taxi fare.
isnt that fair? then what's a company car for?

neway... mine is claimable after 9 inclusive of meals... usually if i am made to stay till 9pm, i will hantam around $45 worth of allowance... although not much but better than ntg
seantang
post Nov 26 2011, 12:05 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 26 2011, 11:47 AM)
isnt that fair? then what's a company car for?
Depends on what the car allowance is for. Whether it is part of your renumeration package, or some of reimbursement for out of pocket expenses.

For us, unless you're customer facing (salesman or tech service etc ie. tool of trade), a car allowance is level dependent. If you're senior enough, you get it as part of your overall package. Whether they pay that part of the package as salary or allowance is merely an administrative matter.

If you spend out of pocket for company business, that's a different matter which is not linked to your package.

If people who get car allowances cannot claim taxi, mileage etc, then the sales managers (who need to move around a lot) will be disadvantaged vs. say the finance managers (who stay in office) - when it comes to their package despite being the same job level. The sales managers' out of pocket expenses will eat into a lot more of their car allowance, compared to the finance managers.
chicaman
post Nov 26 2011, 04:34 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

Fresh Grad working in a china MNC in KL now. But would like to venture into Singapore. Anyone knows where is the better source to look for job in singapore?
ivanswk
post Nov 26 2011, 07:56 PM

+J
2,110 posts

What happened to Malaysia?’
http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/2011/11/2...ed-to-malaysia/

How does one measure the success of a country? To the people, it is reflected in their overall standard of living.

Not every country is lucky enough to have a team of intelligent people whose passionate objectives drive them to make their country a better place to live – for everyone.

Singapore is one such country. Today this island republic has one of the highest standard of living in Southeast Asia.
rolleyes.gif
tayhaithian
post Nov 26 2011, 10:15 PM

460 posts

^ We don't care and which is why we live and work in Singapore this moment or maybe forever migrate for some of our buddies? : )
Live life peaceful ;p
SUSMaterazzi
post Nov 27 2011, 04:35 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Nov 26 2011, 07:56 PM)
What happened to Malaysia?’
http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/2011/11/2...ed-to-malaysia/

How does one measure the success of a country? To the people, it is reflected in their overall standard of living.

Not every country is lucky enough to have a team of intelligent people whose passionate objectives drive them to make their country a better place to live – for everyone.

Singapore is one such country. Today this island republic has one of the highest standard of living in Southeast Asia.
rolleyes.gif
high standard of living but they need to work till death, people in malaysia can retire at 50 yrs old live comfortably in penang. Most Singaporean cannot do this in singapore. This is why 1 day got 1 person in average took suicide in sg

127 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0358sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:18 AM