127 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

L7Awesome
post Nov 24 2011, 02:34 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Nov 24 2011, 02:17 PM)
Wow $4,500, no wonder there are damn lots of BMWs and Mercs around. Great! I'll work hard and try to get into those big companies like yours smile.gif
3 hours? Awww.. What about 2nd link? I know we have to pay extra charges though. But I expect no congestion over there?
Well, second link will have a lot less traffic. Depending on where you stay. Do take into consideration the jam within JB as well especially if you hit Jalan Tebrau or The Tun Razak Highway. From Singapore too, it depend on where you work or where you want to park your car.
Suxiest
post Nov 24 2011, 03:25 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Nov 24 2011, 02:29 PM)
No need to fill up "White Card" to enter M’sia, for now

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/artic...umentid=5574205

malaysia gov really doh.gif
2 week to get the new stock of white card...

Maybe this "promo" applicable only for 2 weeks ?
seantang
post Nov 24 2011, 03:50 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Wow $4,500, no wonder there are damn lots of BMWs and Mercs around. Great! I'll work hard and try to get into those big companies like yours smile.gif
If you were a director earning $30K or more a month, would you tolerate driving anything less?
l3iTi
post Nov 24 2011, 03:52 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Nov 24 2011, 02:34 PM)
Well, second link will have a lot less traffic.  Depending on where you stay.  Do take into consideration the jam within JB as well especially if you hit Jalan Tebrau or The Tun Razak Highway.  From Singapore too, it depend on where you work or where you want to park your car.
also depends wat time need to reach office. biggrin.gif
L7Awesome
post Nov 24 2011, 04:17 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Nov 24 2011, 02:29 PM)
No need to fill up "White Card" to enter M’sia, for now

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/artic...umentid=5574205

malaysia gov really doh.gif
Now they are working on the MACS system. Also I have a bad feeling that they will also toll us when we enter Singapore. They have setup the Touch and Go system there. So maybe now we have to pay double. Somehow I think Malaysian govt found out that it's a profitable business to tax us.
totti 10
post Nov 24 2011, 04:43 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 24 2011, 03:50 PM)
If you were a director earning $30K or more a month, would you tolerate driving anything less?
with that pay i'd consider bmw n merc as the 'less' group already
except fo some higher echelon type/model brows.gif
seantang
post Nov 24 2011, 04:53 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Nov 24 2011, 04:43 PM)
with that pay i'd consider bmw n merc as the 'less' group already
except fo some higher echelon type/model  brows.gif
Depends... imho, richer Singaporeans typically want to spend less on cars (as a % of their income) than Malaysians. So even though they might earn $350-400K a year, it doesn't mean they want a car that's also worth $350-400K. Most of them will probably buy a car around $150-200K.

Contrast that to Malaysians, where it's natural for freshies who earn RM25K a year to buy a car worth RM40K. I was one of them... I was barely earning RM50K a year in KL, and I spent RM80K on my first car. Then you get people earning RM10K a month (RM120K a year, maybe RM150K including bonus) suddenly thinking they can afford a RM300K Evo, 320i or C-Class.

Lester1987
post Nov 24 2011, 06:30 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Nov 24 2011, 02:01 PM)
It will be more than 2 hours daily.  During normal commute, expect about 1.5 hours per way so get ready for three hours quality time spending in the car.
I am not sure what time u commute, like i say, most of the time, the causeway is clear from traffic. If you stay in Taman Pelangi, you can elave your house at 8am if u start work 9am.
Unless those lorries clog the causeway, then different story. as for 2nd link, not really sure. the actual time taken to queue on the immigration is less than 15 mins. just the time taken to travel from your home to causeway and causeway to office will eat up some time. now i am taking bike daily, i spend around 20 mins on the queue. Car is faster (confirm because i drove in before). if i work in Woodlands and i stay in Taman Pelangi, i can leave my house 30 mins before work and i confirm won't be late (unless immigration system down).

3 hours? Awww.. What about 2nd link? I know we have to pay extra charges though. But I expect no congestion over there?
2nd link is freaking expensive. RM15 + $6.40 + $20 a day. that is around $35 per day on toll alone. not to mention the long 2nd link which is far from city.
SUSMaterazzi
post Nov 24 2011, 08:25 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 24 2011, 04:53 PM)
Depends... imho, richer Singaporeans typically want to spend less on cars (as a % of their income) than Malaysians. So even though they might earn $350-400K a year, it doesn't mean they want a car that's also worth $350-400K. Most of them will probably buy a car around $150-200K.

Contrast that to Malaysians, where it's natural for freshies who earn RM25K a year to buy a car worth RM40K. I was one of them... I was barely earning RM50K a year in KL, and I spent RM80K on my first car. Then you get people earning RM10K a month (RM120K a year, maybe RM150K including bonus) suddenly thinking they can afford a RM300K Evo, 320i or C-Class.
I thought once you are director, company will provide you a car. they will reimburse the fuel, erp, parking too
seantang
post Nov 24 2011, 10:24 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Nov 24 2011, 08:25 PM)
I thought once you are director, company will provide you a car. they will reimburse the fuel, erp, parking too
Are you related to the other TS who posted a thread to ask at what job level the company will provide house, gardener, car, driver and pay for utilities as well?

It's about cash. It's always only about cash. If they pay you enough, you can buy your own car, pay for your own fuel, ERP and parking too. You do realise that if they give you a car, they will take it out of your salary and bonus, right?

SUSMaterazzi
post Nov 24 2011, 10:29 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 22 2011, 10:50 PM)
Waiting patiently is not the answer. All you have to do is save 2800 a month in the bank and at the end of 3 years, you will have 100800. The answer is work harder, work smarter and earn enough to save 2800 a month. Waiting patiently for the answer to fall onto your lap is...  blink.gif
how to save 2.8k if you have gf?How to get a decent job if you only have bachelor degree? how to get high paid job if gov restrict the foreigners?

Added on November 24, 2011, 11:13 pmbreaking dawn movie good?

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Nov 24 2011, 11:13 PM
icycokes
post Nov 24 2011, 11:26 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 24 2011, 03:50 PM)
I won't know unless I get to feel how is it like to take home $30k per month blush.gif Thanks for sharing! If not I'll never imagine a company will pay so much for their employees' car. This tiny island is simply amazing.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 24 2011, 06:30 PM)
I am not sure what time u commute, like i say, most of the time, the causeway is clear from traffic. If you stay in Taman Pelangi, you can elave your house at 8am if u start work 9am.
Unless those lorries clog the causeway, then different story. as for 2nd link, not really sure. the actual time taken to queue on the immigration is less than 15 mins. just the time taken to travel from your home to causeway and causeway to office will eat up some time. now i am taking bike daily, i spend around 20 mins on the queue. Car is faster (confirm because i drove in before). if i work in Woodlands and i stay in Taman Pelangi, i can leave my house 30 mins before work and i confirm won't be late (unless immigration system down).
2nd link is freaking expensive. RM15 + $6.40 + $20 a day. that is around $35 per day on toll alone. not to mention the long 2nd link which is far from city.
Taman Pelangi sounds nice. Rental there are cheap but with high crime rates ohmy.gif Thanks for sharing! My home is at Kulai which they have built 1 highway to link to 2nd-link. The road has not opened yet, but I expect it will take around 30 mins to travel to 2nd-link if the traffic is smooth. Houses here used to be cheap but recently went up damn quite lot with the Iskandar Region developments smile.gif

Well traveling by Causeway will costs around $25 as well. So it is $10 more to travel by 2nd-link. I'll pay if it can save time.

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Nov 24 2011, 10:29 PM)
how to save 2.8k if you have gf?How to get a decent job if you only have bachelor degree? how to get high paid job if gov restrict the foreigners?
How do you define a decent job?
Walaoeh!
post Nov 25 2011, 12:57 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 24 2011, 01:58 PM)
We pay S$1500 for non-managerial staff as long as they need the car to work (tool of trade allowance). For managers, the car benefit perk starts at S$2000 for junior managers to $4500 for senior directors.

Our HR tells us that this is competitive vs the rest of the market and is based on the cost to buy, run and maintain a car in Singapore. But this scale was last revised when the COE was still S$20K, about 2 years ago. I expect it to be revised again soon, now that the COE has become $50K with no possibility of going back down, due to step-by-step decreases in COE supply. Over the car's lifetime of 5 years, the $30K difference in COE is worth approximately $500 a month extra.
my friend got $900 car allowance, i tot that was not bad.. who knows its below market rate... sweat.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 25 2011, 08:28 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Nov 25 2011, 12:57 AM)
my friend got $900 car allowance, i tot that was not bad.. who knows its below market rate... sweat.gif
$900.. around 10k+ a year... thats a lot leh... enough to buy a car with depreciation of 6k a year and the rest for maintenance and insurance
ivanswk
post Nov 25 2011, 09:33 AM

+J
2,110 posts

Added on November 24, 2011, 11:13 pmbreaking dawn movie good?
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/enterta...ow/10857917.cms

1st half of the film does charm you. However once the wedding and honeymoon ends, Breaking Dawn ceases to be the beautiful fantasy Twilight film you so thoroughly fancy. It changes track and ends up as a spooky tragic dull drama. sweat.gif

mercury8400
post Nov 25 2011, 10:53 AM

2,703 posts

Who ask you to get a high maintenance gf with a 2.8k salary? more to the point, HOW do you maange to get a gf with a 2.8k pay knowing well Singaporean (and Malaysian) girls would NOT want a bf who is only earning 2.8k a month..... hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 25 2011, 11:01 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 25 2011, 10:53 AM)
Who ask you to get a high maintenance gf with a 2.8k salary? more to the point, HOW do you maange to get a gf with a 2.8k pay knowing well Singaporean (and Malaysian) girls would NOT want a bf who is only earning 2.8k a month..... hmm.gif
its savings la... not income la... read properly... hayar, total income around sgd 2k should be enough already
calvint78
post Nov 25 2011, 11:18 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(ahwei83 @ Nov 24 2011, 08:29 AM)
I have many friends work in Singapore don't want to come back
frankly speaking, am 1 of them. if i come back m'sia to work, i wont get the pay same as in sg.
bellion
post Nov 25 2011, 11:28 AM

3,168 posts

how to get high paid job if gov restrict the foreigners?

The Singapore govt does not restrict foreigners from high paying jobs. Where did you get that from?
calvint78
post Nov 25 2011, 11:38 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Nov 25 2011, 11:28 AM)
The  Singapore govt does not restrict foreigners from high paying jobs.  Where did you get that from?
i second you.
for a m'sia auto SA, u get basic+OT+laundry allowance+outstation allowance :all add in around RM2800-3200.
for s'pore auto SA, u get basic+OT+laundry allowance+incentive(comm ) : all add in around sgd2800-4000. Frankly speaking, the comm alone will be more than you basic pay if you are workaholic.

127 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:02 PM