127 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

seantang
post Nov 23 2011, 10:31 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Nov 23 2011, 10:23 PM)
There is this section in LTA's website saying that a work pass holder can drive in with a foreign vehicle but,

"the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday"
That means its "maintained" in Malaysia lah, just like its non Singapore resident driver/owner.

b) he resides outside Singapore;
c) the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday;
d) he has a valid insurance certificate and road tax for the use of the vehicle on Singapore roads

ivanswk
post Nov 23 2011, 10:56 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Nov 23 2011, 10:40 PM)
I am new employment under SG company and yet to get EP but already in process
so elite wat ep ? wat industry ? rolleyes.gif
seantang
post Nov 23 2011, 10:57 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Nov 23 2011, 10:40 PM)
I am new employment under SG company and yet to get EP but already in proces
OK, I see. You'll get your EP when you get your EP. There are more political and social considerations these days, but if your salary is high like you say... should not be a problem. No matter what, Singapore is still trying to attract high net worth individuals.
ivanswk
post Nov 23 2011, 11:01 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Nov 23 2011, 05:10 PM)
Since this is a Singapore thread, I was expecting a more "Singapore oriented" insights. I just arrived in Singapore 2 months ago. Able to save SGD 2800 a month excluding bonus. Single and non-PR -- HDB is still a dream  sweat.gif  Other than working hard and making sure I won't be sent back Malaysia "prematurely", I'm currently exploring Singapore investment options.
http://infopedia.nl.sg/articles/SIP_422_2005-01-25.html

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-10-28/t...10-million.html

sweat.gif imagine those who din get caught ? stay low profile thumbup.gif
ahwei83
post Nov 24 2011, 08:29 AM

53 posts

I have many friends work in Singapore don't want to come back
ivanswk
post Nov 24 2011, 08:42 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ahwei83 @ Nov 24 2011, 08:29 AM)
and?? rclxub.gif

tk1025
post Nov 24 2011, 09:40 AM

13 posts

Hey guys, i wanna know which mobile and broadband plan you are using at this moment?

My current mobile plan (S$30) and broadband plan (S$80, both starhub) just finish contract, wish to renew but the offer they give me is crap (only about 100 dollar voucher or something).

Hope you guys can share with me any good mobile and broadband plan which you are currently using. smile.gif

Best regards,
tk1025
TSdeodorant
post Nov 24 2011, 10:08 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ahwei83 @ Nov 24 2011, 08:29 AM)

most of us posting here are working in singapore too. what's your point? hmm.gif

Kindly let me know if there are any other charges which I didn't factor in. Thanks!

Time wasted crossing the border every day? Could be easily 1-2 hours daily depending on where you stay and where you work.
heavenhell
post Nov 24 2011, 10:24 AM

649 posts

Got a job offer in sg. Looking for a place to stay near boon lay mrt. Any recommendation? Roughly hw much per month for rental? Thanks
crazy25kid
post Nov 24 2011, 10:40 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(tk1025 @ Nov 24 2011, 09:40 AM)
Hey guys, i wanna know which mobile and broadband plan you are using at this moment?

My current mobile plan (S$30) and broadband plan (S$80, both starhub) just finish contract, wish to renew but the offer they give me is crap (only about 100 dollar voucher or something).

Hope you guys can share with me any good mobile and broadband plan which you are currently using. smile.gif

Best regards,
tk1025
it depends on area....and also which telco has corporate rate for u. laugh.gif laugh.gif
r1v3r
post Nov 24 2011, 10:50 AM

1,305 posts

There is this section in LTA's website saying that a work pass holder can drive in with a foreign vehicle but,

"the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday"

http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/mot...de_overview.htm
I did some rough calculation. Monthly installment for a B-seg car, say a Toyota Vios in SG could cost you around $1k (9 years tenure). But the same car in Msia will just costs RM900 (~SGD 363).

After factoring the costs for daily $20 VEP and causeway toll charges which are approximately (24 * 22 days) = $480. The total cost per month is $843. Still cheaper than getting a SG registered car. Besides the Msia car gets to save on petrol, insurance, road tax, HDB parking charges... and most importantly, you can still keep the car after 10 years  biggrin.gif

I'm planning to do so after my graduation since my house is in JB. No need to squeeze with others in MRT and bus  smile.gif

Kindly let me know if there are any other charges which I didn't factor in. Thanks!
so will you carpool with others if they offer you ~s$480/month?

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 24 2011, 10:08 AM)
most of us posting here are working in singapore too. what's your point? hmm.gif
Time wasted crossing the border every day? Could be easily 1-2 hours daily depending on where you stay and where you work.
if someone else drive me to and fro SG then I can take a nap or sipping coffee while reading news paper in the car. If the service is reliable then I can sell away my SG car or just get a backup OPC when my COE expired.

I can't imagine myself paying RM133750.00 (S$54887) just for that piece of COE. That's S$457/month, I rather pay that money for someone else to drive.

seantang
post Nov 24 2011, 11:01 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 24 2011, 10:50 AM)
so will you carpool with others if they offer you  ~s$480/month?
if someone else drive me to and fro SG then I can take a nap or sipping coffee while reading news paper in the car. If the service is reliable then I can sell away my SG car or just get a backup OPC when my COE expired.

I can't imagine myself paying RM133750.00 (S$54887) just for that piece of COE. That's S$457/month, I rather pay that money for someone else to drive.
That's why there's taxi drivers.

Car pooling in my opinion is never reliable. That's because people get sick, get emergencies, get lazy, get late, get forgetful and at some point, they have something better to do. If anyone in the car pool is late, everybody is late. If the driver doesn't want to drive that day... everybody has to scramble for alternative transport.

Mackiddo
post Nov 24 2011, 11:16 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

Just tasted Kong Kee famous KL Hokkien met @ Geylang yesterday. My 'virgin' trip there.

Taste & texture is comparable to KL, it was really that good ! Reasonable price (by Sg standard) i would say. SGD5/SGD10/SGD15 . The only downside is the 'samba belacan' not like those we eat in KL.

signboard;

the menu;

all good things must wait !

the mee;

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 24 2011, 11:23 AM
ivanswk
post Nov 24 2011, 11:50 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 24 2011, 11:16 AM)
Just tasted Kong Kee famous KL Hokkien met @ Geylang yesterday. My 'virgin' trip there.

was there yesterday nite, just opposite having my happy crab sweat.gif
icycokes
post Nov 24 2011, 01:27 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 24 2011, 10:08 AM)
Yea it can be very time consuming to cross the border even though the distance is near. For me I think it's still ok to spend 2 hours daily in traveling. 1 hour go, 1 hour back. Not too bad la.. Many of our fellow country peole in KL travel like that also smile.gif

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 24 2011, 10:50 AM)
so will you carpool with others if they offer you  ~s$480/month?

SG is really one of the richest country in the world by looking at how the price of the COE gone up in recent years. Singaporeans are getting richer and richer, the demand for COE seems to be rising forever.

As long as I can afford, I won't be considering a car pool. Seantang has stated all the reasons well why car pooling is troublesome ohmy.gif

Keen on getting a job with car allowance after my graduation from NUS later. Anyone knows what is the car allowance rate like for sales/marketing personnel in SG? My sis's company, an MNC in healthcare industry is offering SGD1200/month for their fresh grad sales staff.

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 24 2011, 11:01 AM)
That's why there's taxi drivers.

Car pooling in my opinion is never reliable. That's because people get sick, get emergencies, get lazy, get late, get forgetful and at some point, they have something better to do. If anyone in the car pool is late, everybody is late. If the driver doesn't want to drive that day... everybody has to scramble for alternative transport.
Good points.

This post has been edited by icycokes: Nov 24 2011, 01:43 PM
seantang
post Nov 24 2011, 01:58 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Nov 24 2011, 01:27 PM)
Keen on getting a job with car allowance after my graduation from NUS later. Anyone knows what is the car allowance rate like for sales/marketing personnel in SG? My sis's company, an MNC in healthcare industry is offering SGD1200/month for their fresh grad sales staff.
We pay S$1500 for non-managerial staff as long as they need the car to work (tool of trade allowance). For managers, the car benefit perk starts at S$2000 for junior managers to $4500 for senior directors.

Our HR tells us that this is competitive vs the rest of the market and is based on the cost to buy, run and maintain a car in Singapore. But this scale was last revised when the COE was still S$20K, about 2 years ago. I expect it to be revised again soon, now that the COE has become $50K with no possibility of going back down, due to step-by-step decreases in COE supply. Over the car's lifetime of 5 years, the $30K difference in COE is worth approximately $500 a month extra.

L7Awesome
post Nov 24 2011, 02:01 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Nov 24 2011, 01:27 PM)
Yea it can be very time consuming to cross the border even though the distance is near. For me I think it's still ok to spend 2 hours daily in traveling. 1 hour go, 1 hour back. Not too bad la.. Many of our fellow country peole in KL travel like that also  smile.gif
SG is really one of the richest country in the world by looking at how the price of the COE gone up in recent years. Singaporeans are getting richer and richer, the demand for COE seems to be rising forever.

As long as I can afford, I won't be considering a car pool. Seantang has stated all the reasons well why car pooling is troublesome  ohmy.gif

Good points.
It will be more than 2 hours daily. During normal commute, expect about 1.5 hours per way so get ready for three hours quality time spending in the car.
icycokes
post Nov 24 2011, 02:17 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 24 2011, 01:58 PM)
We pay S$1500 for non-managerial staff as long as they need the car to work (tool of trade allowance). For managers, the car benefit perk starts at S$2000 for junior managers to $4500 for senior directors.

Our HR tells us that this is competitive vs the rest of the market and is based on the cost to buy, run and maintain a car in Singapore. But this scale was last revised when the COE was still S$20K, about 2 years ago. I expect it to be revised again soon, now that the COE has become $50K with no possibility of going back down, due to step-by-step decreases in COE supply. Over the car's lifetime of 5 years, the $30K difference in COE is worth approximately $500 a month extra.
Wow $4,500, no wonder there are damn lots of BMWs and Mercs around. Great! I'll work hard and try to get into those big companies like yours smile.gif

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Nov 24 2011, 02:01 PM)
It will be more than 2 hours daily.  During normal commute, expect about 1.5 hours per way so get ready for three hours quality time spending in the car.
3 hours? Awww.. What about 2nd link? I know we have to pay extra charges though. But I expect no congestion over there?
ivanswk
post Nov 24 2011, 02:29 PM

+J
2,110 posts

No need to fill up "White Card" to enter M’sia, for now

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/artic...umentid=5574205

malaysia gov really doh.gif
totti 10
post Nov 24 2011, 02:33 PM

339 posts

damn