QUOTE(tifosi @ Jan 5 2012, 12:46 PM)
What if I deposit more than 750K? What are my interest for my RM 750000 to the max bank limit? Or did you mean someone needs to deposit in blocks of RM 250K to enjoy the 4%?
The thing is my going to be ex-SCB RM started off by telling me I DON'T QUALIFY and she did not mention the rate after RM750K and no point I ask because I already was told I was not eligible for it.
I just check, my saving account also now ESAVER Plus, I guess that's why my RM told me to maintain RM250K with her as I will be getting 3%. But heck, with 3.8% interest from OCBC, that's equivalent to extra RM2K per year buta money if it was for a year FD. So withdrew my funds and going to surrender my SCB VI soon
QUOTE(turion64 @ Jan 5 2012, 01:50 PM)
Bro Gen-X,
Just wondering what are the differences between the below (because u stated Affin offer the best rates) :
12 months is by Affin Bank at 3.6%.
9 Months by OCBC at 3.8%
12 Months by UOB at 3.75%
thx bro.
Bro, when I mentioned Affin's rate the best, I guess I was comparing over the counter rates (for major commercial and foreign banks only) and not promotional rate.
So currently, if you have RM10K and above, UOB 12 months rate at 3.75% is the best if you do not consider Coop Banks.
If you are looking at more than RM10K deposit for 3 months and 9 months, then OCBC promotion rates at 3.6% and 3.8% respectively are currently the best, once again if you do not consider Coop Banks.
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 5 2012, 04:36 PM)
Oh sorry, I put it too briefly. It simply means instead of placing money in fd, place it in od to cover up the outstanding overdraft. OD interest is always higher than fd interest. i don't earn the OD interest actually but I save from paying the high OD interest.
Above should be the correct way instead of depositing cash into FD and end up paying more in interest when one utilize their OD. The OD facility is there when you need it anyway. And see, it is good to be kiasu, even it that means going for FD with a little bit more interest, you'll end up earning more

And I guess you benefited from reading the threads at credit cards where some use BT to save on their housing loan interest
This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 5 2012, 04:56 PM