5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

MGM
post Oct 25 2011, 12:57 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Oct 25 2011, 11:58 AM)
Thanks tifosi, I was confused by my friend and SCB T&C in calculating ADB.
If I am not mistaken, if open your account on 24oct2011 and you bank in rm3000 on 25oct2011 and keep that amount until 31oct.
Days your account is opened in oct=8 days
Your total DB= rm3000*7 = rm21000
Your ADB = 3000 * 7/8= rm2625, so u don't qualify for the 5%.
MGM
post Oct 25 2011, 01:16 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Oct 25 2011, 01:08 PM)
After Dec 2011, SCB's 5% back to what %?
Back to the respectively savings rate of btw .5 to 1.5% , i THINK.

Added on October 25, 2011, 1:19 pm
QUOTE(ubuntu @ Oct 25 2011, 01:05 PM)
Thanks for the explaination, I've deposit more than 3k.
Better calculate the ADB if the amt is closed to rm3000, just to make sure.

OCBC has taken down the promo from their website.

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 25 2011, 01:19 PM
MGM
post Nov 4 2011, 12:33 PM

18,399 posts

Opened 2 acc for this promo, SuperSalary and Saadiq$aver-I.
Got the interest at 5% exactly.
Interest calculated from the date of the transaction, NOT the date the cheque is cleared.
MGM
post Nov 4 2011, 03:29 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(ascend @ Nov 4 2011, 01:10 PM)
your flat interest calculation should be quite close to daily compound interest calculation (which i believe SCB is applying)
Using 22 days is correct if you deposited on 10th, assuming calculations starts on deposit day, which is normally the case.
Using the flat interest calculation method, my balances are correct right to the sen. So I dont think SCB is using daily compound interest calculation.
MGM
post Nov 13 2011, 05:44 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(Bryanchan7979 @ Nov 13 2011, 01:38 PM)
Standard Charted rate still 5 %?
Only for those account holders who participate in the promo in OCT2011.
MGM
post Dec 4 2011, 10:34 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 3 2011, 05:54 PM)
the SCB promo bonus FD rate will get within 5 working days after end of the previous month.
Got my bonus interests for SuperSalary and Saadiq$aver-I accounts on 3Dec, normal interest for SuperSalary and Saadiq$aver-I accounts on 30Nov and 2Dec respectively.
Come 2-Jan-2012(Mon) onwards there will be an exodus of these funds out of SCB if there are better FD rates elsewhere. People here will be busy looking for better rates.
MGM
post Dec 6 2011, 04:44 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 6 2011, 10:17 AM)
Citibank, a mega foreign bank and also one of the largest banks in the world nearly goes bankrupt. Just saying  biggrin.gif

Seriously, if you are looking into depositing say RM1M or RM2M, then i guess even a super small bank like Bank Rakyat is fine actually.
I second you. Just too lazy to comment on it.
MGM
post Dec 26 2011, 05:55 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Dec 26 2011, 12:49 AM)
promote end end of Feb 2012
Which promo ends on end of feb, ocbc, uob or affin?
MGM
post Dec 28 2011, 09:10 PM

18,399 posts

Can we clear out our deposit (but leave a token sum behind) from SCB on 30dec and still earned the 5% interest(for 29 days) as long as the ADB is > rm3000?

I think can but just want to reconfirm.

This post has been edited by MGM: Dec 28 2011, 10:13 PM
MGM
post Jan 1 2012, 11:08 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 1 2012, 07:36 PM)
so what is the effective interest rate for 8 and 10 month respectively?
8 months - 3.275%
10 months - 3.315%

Added on January 2, 2012, 11:15 amAfter enquiring at CIMB, MBB, AFFIN, UOB, HLB, OCBC in JB which is not a holiday for 2/1/2012, the best rates still come from UOB and HLB as recommended by GEN-X at :

http://ringgitwisefool.blogspot.com/2012/0...ource=BP_recent

Bank Rakyat doesn't have the indicative rates for Jan2012, but their previous months rates were rather high and being Islamic the actual rate will only be known upon maturity of FD.

And GenX, read your excellent article on Priority Banking and would like to know the conditions to keep this privilege. Do you lose the privilege once you withdrew your investment?

This post has been edited by MGM: Jan 2 2012, 11:20 AM
MGM
post Jan 2 2012, 08:33 PM

18,399 posts

Went to SCB JB this afternoon regarding my SuperSalary(PJ) and SaadiqSaver(JB) accounts, SCB rates are not competitive so have to move out the funds. Got their assurance that I can withdraw out my funds and still get all my interest on 3/1 or 4/1, only thing was to leave > rm1000 in my accounts.
After that went to HLB as they offer the best rate. Enquired about their Junior Savings Account(min-rm5000) and FD account combo to enjoy the 3.85% FD rate. Effective rate works out to be closed to 3.8% for rm160k. Only thing is the two acc are Islamic too and rates are indicative only. So finally decided to go for UOB conventional FD of 3.75% (12months).

and GenX, I receive a letter from Citi saying they will withdraw my citigold if my AUM is not raised to rm200k by 31dec2011. Actually my AUM has been under for 3year and Citi has been quite lenient but finally the time has come to bid farewell to my citigold.

This post has been edited by MGM: Jan 2 2012, 08:47 PM
MGM
post Jan 2 2012, 10:07 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 2 2012, 08:40 PM)
Decided over dinner to withdraw all funds from SCB instead of leaving RM250K with them just for the PPM and earn RM1250 less for nothing when comparing their rate for 12 months FD at 3.25% versus UOB 3.75%.
Bro, I don't get you, HLB Junior FD and Savings Account rates are not indicative but guaranteed nor are they Islamic accounts.

Aiyah, based on your latest info, if I had known, I would not have close my Citi Gold Account  doh.gif
The CS at the branch did show me the a promo leaflet indicating the products as Islamic called GIA-i. But after going thru HLB websites I think I was mislead by the imcompetent CS.

This post has been edited by MGM: Jan 2 2012, 10:23 PM
MGM
post Jan 2 2012, 10:17 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 2 2012, 09:58 PM)
LATEST!!  Deserve a post by itself.

OCBC Bank Fixed Deposit Promotion 1st January 2012 to 31 March 2012 - Minimum Fresh Fund RM10,000

3 Months 3.6%
9 Months 3.9%  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

I think above 9 months would be just perfect because if you study previous FD offers, best promotions in the 4th quarter.
p.s. @MGM, please read my previous edited post.
Called a personal financial consultant of OCBC Damansara Uptown this morning but was told OCBC does not have any FD promo. Where did you get the info? If it is true I might withdraw out my 1day-old FD at UOB and transfer to OCBC.
MGM
post Jan 2 2012, 10:39 PM

18,399 posts

GenX, for the HONG LEONG JUNIOR ACCOUNT which T&C should apply regarding partial withdrawal of FD?

http://www.hlb.com.my/pfs/dep/junior_fd_account_tc1.pdf
allows partial withdrawal

http://www.hlb.com.my/promo/pfs/dep_fd_CNY/tcm_en.pdf
which doesnot allow partial withdrawal
MGM
post Jan 3 2012, 11:17 AM

18,399 posts

Just check the SCB accounts, interests for both SalarySaver(31/12) & SaadiqSaver(2/1/12) are already in but not the bonus.
MGM
post Jan 3 2012, 08:13 PM

18,399 posts

Maybe need to bring a lawyer to OCBC to understand the T&C of the 5% FD Promo.
MGM
post Jan 4 2012, 06:59 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 3 2012, 11:31 AM)
Yes, they are open today..

Added on January 3, 2012, 11:39 am

I just called Standard & Chartered toll free 1 300 130 011,
they said it is advisable to withdraw all funds on this Friday,
because they will take 3 working days to credit the bonuses
into our accounts.

To withdraw a large portion of fund and to leave a small amount
of fund in the account before this Friday is not advisable either;
if we want to receive our full bonus on this Friday.

In fact, two SCB officers also told me the same thing few weeks ago...
May be they are afraid if all of us pull out our funds on the same day the bank will collapse, HAHA!!!

Yahoo!!! Just check my SCB accounts online and all my Bonuses are in, & right to the very last SEN.

One thing I learned from this episode is that most bank staffs ( or systems ? ) are imcompetent in the knowledge of their products including the managers.
And sylille welcome to the forum and what a debut.

This post has been edited by MGM: Jan 4 2012, 08:31 AM
MGM
post Jan 5 2012, 08:05 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 5 2012, 07:41 AM)
OPR goes up... mean FD rate will go up in tandem.... NICE !!!
Old news lah. Current trend in OPR is going lower.

Added on January 5, 2012, 8:11 am
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 4 2012, 10:44 PM)
I went to OCBC this afternoon, RM there told me that in order to get
5% interest rate, I can put 50% of fund into 5% FD p.a. account for
3 months term.

And the remaining 50% of funds will put into 3.8% p.a. for 9 months
term, but need to open the following accounts:
     (i)  FD account
     (ii)  Saving account (RM 20 to open)
     (iii) Current account (RM 400 to open)

According to OCBC, deposit all 100% fund straight into 5% FD account and
without opening a saving account and a current account is not allowed.
Do you need to have a premier account first and a total AUM of rm300K ?

This post has been edited by MGM: Jan 5 2012, 08:33 AM
MGM
post Jan 5 2012, 10:08 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(lkcheng @ Jan 5 2012, 10:01 AM)
You are guaranteed to get back 100% of your deposit but for the interest probably you'll lose all or receive part of it. Best to know is to call you bank.
Some banks will offer u 50% of the interest if the FD is already held for more than 3 months.
MGM
post Jan 5 2012, 05:40 PM

18,399 posts

Went to see a RM @OCBC D.Utama regarding the 5%FD promo, and according to her I need to open 3 accounts, put 150k on 5%FD, and 150k FD on board rate (can't put on another promo rate like 3.8% as the T&C 4.3 stated that the 5%FD Promotion is not valid with any other promotion or other promotions as specified by OCBC Bank from time to time). When I told her others have managed to enjoy both promo rates she said at the end of Jan when they discover the discrepencies they might do some rectification. Looks like diff RM have their own interpretation of the promo.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0379sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:21 AM