Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

ultraman29
post Jan 3 2012, 04:07 PM

130 posts

I was told this OCBC premier 5% FD is only applicable to 50% of the fresh funds. the other 50% will enjoy their normal 3.x rate.
ultraman29
post Jan 3 2012, 04:37 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 3 2012, 04:27 PM)
huh... you got the information from who?
its in their T&C when you pledge the FD. you should verify with your OCBC premier RM. No longer enticing but still one of the highest FD in the mkt now even after you average with their 3/9 mth promo rate.
ultraman29
post Jan 3 2012, 06:47 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 06:20 PM)
Now I understand the confusion, click below

http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Pr...eal%20Deal.shtm

existing PB customer are also entitled to 5% FD but with different T&C and one of them is:

The maximum placement amount for eligible Premier Banking members is 50% of member’s Asset Under Management on the date of the placement (including the FD placement amount) or RM1 million whichever is lower.

Like I said, mine is NEW account. So Bro, best you go talk to a RM.
chief, i have read the link u have provided. perhaps you can look at clause 3.1.3?

3.1.3. The minimum FD placement under this Promotion is RM10,000 and maximum FD placement is 50% of customer’s (AUM) on the date of the placement (including the FD placement amount) or RM1 million whichever lower.

the stack of docs which u have signed doesnt have this clause?
ultraman29
post Jan 3 2012, 06:56 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 06:51 PM)
Bro, below is the link to the Terms and Conditions:

http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Pr...ec2011%20V1.pdf

it is stated in Clause 2.2.2

Premier Banking upgrade refers to upgraded customer (existing mass / mass affluent customer) with top up / no top up so long as at point of upgrade, the customer meets the minimum RM 300,000 Asset Under Management (AUM).

and Clause 3.1.3

The minimum FD placement under this Promotion is RM10,000 and maximum FD placement is 50% of customer’s (AUM)

on the date of the placement (including the FD placement amount) or RM1 million whichever lower.

Therefore, it should be applicable to existing customers since the minimum deposit is RM10K.

Bro, still not too late, go withdraw tomorrow (cash if necessary) and have your wife and open new join account where she is the principal  wink.gif
go read Clause 2.2.1
2.2.1 talks about eligibility, ie for new customers like u. but u r still subj to clause 3.1.3. no?
ultraman29
post Jan 3 2012, 07:14 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 07:05 PM)
I get your point, if one was to read Clause 3.1.3. it did not specifically state that it is only applicable to existing customers.

All I can tell you is I got 5% for the full amount I deposited into FD. Like I said, go talk to a RM to confirm once and for all.
i already grilled the rm earlier, they kept saying 50% only. then they let me looked at the t&c. i donwan to put all the funds there and then later they come tel me this is what u sign so heres your reduced interest sum.

so did u get a slip with full 5% on the full sum?
ultraman29
post Jan 3 2012, 07:20 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 07:18 PM)
Yes, 5% full sum. But based on what you mentioned above, there is a possibility I might get a call from my RM soon telling me she made a mistake  sweat.gif But I doubt it since I already got my cert.
good for u chief!

now its my turn to try me luck tmr. cheers!
ultraman29
post Jan 5 2012, 01:07 PM

130 posts

The other day i met this bunch of ppl, who are active into pledging FDs. But i also got to know these ppl have tons of loans (including housing) which are not paid off and the loans are much more than the FD sums. Wouldnt it be more prudent to park the moneys into the housing loans to enjoy the "savings"?

Anyone here who does the same care to enlighten me a bit?

ultraman29
post Jan 9 2012, 03:40 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 9 2012, 08:51 AM)
Got a Million Ringgit in cash? If yes you get to enjoy 6.88% for 3 months with HSBC NEW Premier Account, but for only half of it.

To read my brief comments on HSBC CNY Promo, go to my blog (towards the end just before summary).
if i read this right, this hsbc u have to leave the total funds (the part which is not in FD) with the bank for 3 months, to enjoy up to 6.88%.

whereas for ocbc, u can enjoy 5% but the funds not in FD u can take it out and use it elsewhere.

0.0433sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:30 AM