123 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

gsc
post Jan 6 2012, 12:51 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jan 5 2012, 04:10 PM)
Just a note to those who invest in foreign currency FD, UOB no longer allows deposit & withdrawal of physical foreign currency notes.
Didnt know that UOB allowed physical currency notes. All the while use Citi and Public bank. Any other bank allow physical notes?

tq

Added on January 6, 2012, 1:02 am
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 5 2012, 06:45 PM)
(1)
Yes, you withdraw your OCBC fund and deposit it into another bank (say S Bank), then get
a banker cheque from S bank, and deposit back to OCBC.

You can top up some extra amount on S bank banker cheque so it won't look like the same
amount when your withdraw from OCBC --> this is optional

This will call fresh fund and this is the "legal" and proper way.

But this will make you lose few days of interest because of the back and forth bank transactions.
(2)
Another way is to withdraw cash from OCBC, and re-deposit back into OCBC counter on the spot,
but top-up some cash money maybe like RM 2 K more. This method you will not lose interest and
save your time and sweat. I know somebody is using this method.. Ha..ha..  thumbup.gif
On method 2 I did ask the UOB teller and she said cannot withdraw, top up and re-deposit as fresh fund.

Later that month I withdraw all my FD cash from another branch and went lunch with friend. After lunch my friend said why dont give it a try instead of coming back the next day to deposit. I was lucky, with different counter teller and she took it fresh fund

This post has been edited by gsc: Jan 6 2012, 01:02 AM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 6 2012, 01:17 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 6 2012, 12:37 AM)
Did you know that UOB revised their board rate for 12 months FD lower on 15th December 2011.
And if you see the trend, HLB is offering lower FD rates compared to November's offer.
I am not saying that there will not be any promos but we don't really know. Then again, we can always go with Affin.

Yes..agree

well, gark does

Because gark is a rich man

I will tend to agree if you are looking at 9 months FD because it is the best rate for now (for major commercial banks and foreign banks).

Yes, will go for it..Thanks Captain

Added on January 6, 2012, 1:22 am
QUOTE(gsc @ Jan 6 2012, 12:51 AM)
On method 2 I did ask the UOB teller and she said cannot withdraw, top up and re-deposit as fresh fund.

Later that month I withdraw all my FD cash from another branch and went lunch with friend. After lunch my friend said why dont give it a try instead of coming back the next day to deposit. I was lucky, with different counter teller and she took it fresh fund
Ha..ha..ha thumbup.gif biggrin.gif

You were lucky.. smart guy... notworthy.gif

But what if you see the same teller again?
When she asked you:"how may I help you?"
Did you prepare what were you going to say..?

Ha..ha.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 6 2012, 01:27 AM
desmond_fantasy
post Jan 6 2012, 08:59 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jan 5 2012, 06:20 PM)
Yes they do, you can easily do FD placement using your online account once is created
Do the online FD rate same with the rate if we do it over the counter? If not mistaken, we need to open savings account before we can do online transaction rite?
tifosi
post Jan 6 2012, 10:13 AM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,155 posts

BTW, can I deposit my FD with OCBC Al Amin for the promo 3.8%? If I am not mistaken, I can't right?

This post has been edited by tifosi: Jan 6 2012, 10:14 AM
echoesian
post Jan 6 2012, 10:48 AM

3,294 posts

I think overall UOB rate is higher because OCBC only provide max 9 months for 3.8% p.a, so the effective rate is only 2.85% p.a. I'll go to UOB later smile.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jan 6 2012, 11:00 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jan 6 2012, 10:48 AM)
I think overall UOB rate is higher because OCBC only provide max 9 months for 3.8% p.a, so the effective rate is only 2.85% p.a. I'll go to UOB later smile.gif
Yes, if you want FD for 12 months term.

lkcheng
post Jan 6 2012, 11:38 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jan 6 2012, 10:48 AM)
2.85% cannot be the effective rate for the OCBC FD. After 9 months of OCBC FD you can take out the money and put it on another promo FD. For instance, if you place FD on 1st Jan on OCBC for 9 months at 3.8% and when the OCBC FD mature on 1 Oct and you can take out the money to place in another bank for year end FD promo say at 5% for 3 months. Then the effective interest rate you get for 12 months is 4.1%.

With UOB, you will lock your fund for 12 months at 3.75%. You can only place your fund for another FD after 12 months. For OCBC, you can use your fund for another FD after 9 months of maturity. If there is no promo FD after 9 months, you still ca go for affin 3.6% for a year and in this case you end up getting the same effective rate of 3.75%. But most probably there will be more promo FD in year end.

TSGen-X
post Jan 6 2012, 11:52 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 6 2012, 01:17 AM)
Because gark is a rich man
No, he is freaking rich tongue.gif

I think we can categories the people here as follows

FDMCG - FD Musical Chair Gamers

FRMONBWFDP - Freaking Rich Members Or Not Bothered With FD Promotions

Anyone else want to be listed the clubs above?

QUOTE(lkcheng @ Jan 6 2012, 11:38 AM)
2.85% cannot be the effective rate for the OCBC FD. After 9 months of OCBC FD you can take out the money and put it on another promo FD. For instance, if you place FD on 1st Jan on OCBC for 9 months at 3.8% and when the OCBC FD mature on 1 Oct and you can take out the money to place in another bank for year end FD promo say at 5% for 3 months. Then the effective interest rate you get for 12 months is 4.1%.

With UOB, you will lock your fund for 12 months at 3.75%. You can only place your fund for another FD after 12 months. For OCBC, you can use your fund for another FD after 9 months of maturity. If there is no promo FD after 9 months, you still ca go for affin 3.6% for a year and in this case you end up getting the same effective rate of 3.75%. But most probably there will be more promo FD in year end.
haha, I also hoping got promotion throughout the year. But worst come to worst, we got Affin as back up smile.gif
MilesAndMore
post Jan 6 2012, 11:58 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 6 2012, 11:52 AM)
No, he is freaking rich  tongue.gif

FDMCG - FD Musical Chair Gamers
I definitely belong to this FDMCG - FD Musical Chair Gamers category too. Just that the existence of ASNB makes everything easier for me biggrin.gif
TSGen-X
post Jan 6 2012, 12:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 6 2012, 11:58 AM)
I definitely belong to this FDMCG - FD Musical Chair Gamers category too. Just that the existence of ASNB makes everything easier for me  biggrin.gif
You're the No.1 FD guru, that's why you have been given the honour as the Advisor tongue.gif
aeiou228
post Jan 6 2012, 12:13 PM

5,867 posts

Aiyo..aunty sylille so "geng", one or 2 posts only, her standard of language immediately adopted by FD thread.

Yeow Kwee,
FD musical chair,
Atas
Bawah

I like gark's " Opportunity Fund" too. biggrin.gif
gchowyh
post Jan 6 2012, 12:53 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jan 6 2012, 12:51 AM)
Didnt know that UOB allowed physical currency notes. All the while use Citi and Public bank. Any other bank allow physical notes?

tq
I chose to deposit my AUD in UOB as they seemed to be one of the few banks that accept my physical currency.
I asked Public Bank before & they do not accept, only if you transfer to/from overseas is possible.

Added on January 6, 2012, 12:57 pm
QUOTE(desmond_fantasy @ Jan 6 2012, 08:59 AM)
Do the online FD rate same with the rate if we do it over the counter? If not mistaken, we need to open savings account before we can do online transaction rite?
Yes, same rate as 3.6% p.a. for 12 months is the standard rate.
Correct, in order to qualify for online account, you need to open any deposit product besides FD.

Added on January 6, 2012, 1:21 pm
haha, I also hoping got promotion throughout the year. But worst come to worst, we got Affin as back up smile.gif
Unfortunately, I do not see the outlook as too optimistic as besides UOB, Ambank also revised the 12 months FD from 3.3% to 3.2% in September.
Also, AUD FD in UOB was also revised downwards last month from 5.2% to 4.55%
That was why I decided to put into UOB FD's 3.75%

Anyhow, let us check back after 3rd & 9th month.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gchowyh: Jan 6 2012, 01:21 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jan 6 2012, 01:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 6 2012, 12:00 PM)
You're the No.1 FD guru, that's why you have been given the honour as the Advisor  tongue.gif
No lah. You guys definitely know better. Last time i was quite active in searching for the best rates but not anymore now. I was also very fussy in looking for the best interest rate for savings account (found it > CIMB Air Asia Savers & M2U Savers). I even made a table to compare the interest rates from various banks. I don't do this anymore because there is no more money. So no point for me to search ups and downs which bank currently offers the best interest rate in town now laugh.gif Well, may be if things are good for me in the next few months, then i'll start to actively participating in searching for the banks offering the best interest rate again tongue.gif
gark
post Jan 6 2012, 01:28 PM

12,534 posts

No, he is freaking rich  tongue.gif

Walao.. I am not freaking rich leh.. laugh.gif It is just that I derive majority of my 'interest' from other source rather than FD, so my FD fund is just temporary and can change from time to time. The only difference is risk factor only as I prefer to take higher risk for higher gain, so moving around money from one bank to another is too troublesome. tongue.gif But having said that, I do keep a large portion in FD to deploy when opportunities come.

So... I don;t belong to this FD club lar hor... wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 6 2012, 01:34 PM
turion64
post Jan 6 2012, 02:10 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

Bro Gen-X,

The Bank Rakyat's Qiradth investment account is it a FD? Because it sounds too good to be true.
MGM
post Jan 6 2012, 02:22 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 6 2012, 01:21 PM)
No lah. You guys definitely know better. Last time i was quite active in searching for the best rates but not anymore now. I was also very fussy in looking for the best interest rate for savings account (found it > CIMB Air Asia Savers & M2U Savers). I even made a table to compare the interest rates from various banks. I don't do this anymore because there is no more money. So no point for me to search ups and downs which bank currently offers the best interest rate in town now  laugh.gif    Well, may be if things are good for me in the next few months, then i'll start to actively participating in searching for the banks offering the best interest rate again  tongue.gif
You lucky and privileged fella, with your funds in ASNB accounts, they are as flexible as savings account but earned double the FD's board rate.
D-Zire
post Jan 6 2012, 03:04 PM

560 posts

just a note who might not have known,

OCBC currently opens on the first weekend (saturday) of the month from 9am to 3pm innm...so whoever that thinks that FD withdrawal during maturity from home branch is a hassle..you can now go back there during weekends to do your banking...i think thats a good initiative by OCBC.
BoomChaCha
post Jan 6 2012, 03:05 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jan 6 2012, 02:10 PM)
Bro Gen-X,

The Bank Rakyat's Qiradth investment account is it a FD? Because it sounds too good to be true.
Bank Rakyat offers very good FD rates:
http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/web/guest/125

I was wondering how reliable is Bank Rakyat?
Can we trust them to put FD there?

MilesAndMore
post Jan 6 2012, 03:16 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 6 2012, 02:22 PM)
You lucky and privileged fella, with your funds in ASNB accounts, they are as flexible as savings account but earned double the FD's board rate.
Yes. I do consider myself lucky as well. Some more i have "siang" aka chinese surname tongue.gif Interest rate for ASB is dwindling though sad.gif And i heard AS1M is sold out even for Bumi portion. So even if i do have extra cash in the next few months, i will have to join all the folks here and haunt for the banks that offer the best promotional interest rate biggrin.gif

echoesian
post Jan 6 2012, 03:55 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jan 6 2012, 02:10 PM)
Bro Gen-X,

I think this is not a FD, it's kinda islamic investment account..

123 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:47 PM