Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

gchowyh
post Oct 18 2011, 02:44 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Oct 18 2011, 12:01 PM)
The offer is valid till end of this month only and first come first serve basis (according to the bank). I advise you to open a SuperSalary account with them first and if possible dump in 3K if you have and when your FD at CIMB mature next month, move the money over there.

Btw, I like the service at SCB (DU branch). Beat the hell out of alot of banks.
I would admit SCB DU branch is good too, only issue is the parking. But if you are able to park at the houses behind SCB is ok.

Did a pretty girl service you while you were there? drool.gif She was very helpful, deposited my cheque into the machine & created the online account on the spot.
gchowyh
post Nov 4 2011, 12:01 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Nov 4 2011, 10:17 AM)
I have the SCB Supersalary 1.5% credited to my acc earlier. But now i only get around 1.29% bonus interest instead of the remaining 3.5%. Anyone here experiencing the same thing?
Not me, I am using supersalary but got the remaining 3.5% in yesterday.
Based on my own calculation also, seems like is more than 5%.
gchowyh
post Nov 4 2011, 01:05 PM

860 posts

ok, i think i got my own calculation wrong.

let's say I deposited the cheque on 10 October, I am supposed to calculate as follows:

5% X amount deposited & 22 days
----------
365 days in a year

Initially i thought to get the number of days for the interest is:
31 days in October - 10 October = 21 days
gchowyh
post Dec 3 2011, 12:45 PM

860 posts

Just wanted to check with those Standard Chartered account holders if they got their 5% interest bonus today yet or not.
gchowyh
post Dec 4 2011, 11:22 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 4 2011, 01:17 PM)
On Dec 1 I got sms from SCB stating my balance in my SA
Today Dec 4 I got another sms stating my new balance in my SA with the bonus interest credited smile.gif
Today I checked SCB online account again & confirmed got it too. rclxms.gif
gchowyh
post Dec 7 2011, 03:38 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Dec 7 2011, 12:51 PM)
I dont think so. I walked in and open e$aver account to enjoy the 5% interest, deposit money on 1 Oct and Nov. Till now no update from bank
gsc,

By right, from what I was informed when opening my e$saver account, you should be able to apply for the online banking account & get the username & password at the same time.

That is how I got my online account since I did not take the option of getting a ATM card.
If you have the ATM card, then you can create the online account at the ATM.

It would be best to visit SCB again so that you can register & ensure they have all your necessary details
Then they will give you a temporary username on the spot & a SMS will be sent to you with the temporary password for the online account.
gchowyh
post Dec 11 2011, 03:08 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Dec 8 2011, 04:43 PM)
Have you guys receive 5% interest payout from SCB supersalary account? I did received the OCT interest credit on 3-Nov, but I haven't receive the 5% interest for Nov.
The one credited on 3-Nov should be the bonus interest. On 31 October there should be a standard interest credited also
gchowyh
post Dec 15 2011, 04:37 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Dec 15 2011, 10:28 AM)
anyone got any ideas where to put money after SCB 5% promotion is over in January?

any similar products offering 5% pa ?
I am aiming for Affin Bank unless I can get a consistent higher rate elsewhere
Affin offers 3.6%
gchowyh
post Dec 16 2011, 01:09 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Dec 15 2011, 08:39 PM)
You might want to check out OUB, 12 months = 3.75%.    I think that is the highest conventional FD rate at this moment.    If any SIFU can find any higher rate, please share.

Thanks in advance.  rclxms.gif
I think some people may have mention it before, I cannot seem to find on the website or on the promo page.
Anyhow, any conditions & what is the minimum amount to earn that rate?
gchowyh
post Jan 5 2012, 12:40 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 5 2012, 11:06 AM)
I did not put my money in OCBC, I went there just wanted to
find out more information.

Yes, 5% FD promo is for OCBC Premier account only, and it requires a
minimum of RM 300K AUM.
I would like to get the facts straight for OCBC promo
So to get the 5% FD promo, we have to:
1. Deposit 300K FD
- 150K for 3 months at 5% interest
- 150K for 9 months also at promotional rate of 3.8%
Can we still quality for the 3.8% promo rate?
2. Open 2 other deposit products

So after the 3 months FD matures, we can take it all out?
gchowyh
post Jan 5 2012, 04:10 PM

860 posts

Just a note to those who invest in foreign currency FD, UOB no longer allows deposit & withdrawal of physical foreign currency notes.

gchowyh
post Jan 5 2012, 06:20 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(desmond_fantasy @ Jan 5 2012, 05:03 PM)
So Affin bank rates still best to me since i have only less than RM10k. BTW, do they accept internet online placement?
Yes they do, you can easily do FD placement using your online account once is created
gchowyh
post Jan 5 2012, 06:31 PM

860 posts

With all this confusion on OCBC, I will go for UOB's promotional FD rate.

300k is alot to commit too.
gchowyh
post Jan 6 2012, 12:53 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jan 6 2012, 12:51 AM)
Didnt know that UOB allowed physical currency notes. All the while use Citi and Public bank. Any other bank allow physical notes?

tq
I chose to deposit my AUD in UOB as they seemed to be one of the few banks that accept my physical currency.
I asked Public Bank before & they do not accept, only if you transfer to/from overseas is possible.

Added on January 6, 2012, 12:57 pm
QUOTE(desmond_fantasy @ Jan 6 2012, 08:59 AM)
Do the online FD rate same with the rate if we do it over the counter? If not mistaken, we need to open savings account before we can do online transaction rite?
Yes, same rate as 3.6% p.a. for 12 months is the standard rate.
Correct, in order to qualify for online account, you need to open any deposit product besides FD.

Added on January 6, 2012, 1:21 pm
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 6 2012, 11:52 AM)
haha, I also hoping got promotion throughout the year. But worst come to worst, we got Affin as back up smile.gif
Unfortunately, I do not see the outlook as too optimistic as besides UOB, Ambank also revised the 12 months FD from 3.3% to 3.2% in September.
Also, AUD FD in UOB was also revised downwards last month from 5.2% to 4.55%
That was why I decided to put into UOB FD's 3.75%

Anyhow, let us check back after 3rd & 9th month.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gchowyh: Jan 6 2012, 01:21 PM
gchowyh
post Jan 6 2012, 06:42 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jan 6 2012, 05:43 PM)
The pdf is only 2 page mah... tongue.gif
In fact the focus is at the top of page 1 that says:
3-month 3.6%
9-month 3.8%
12-month 4.00%.
Damn, now I'm tempted to move from UOB to OCBC pulak.. tongue.gif
gchowyh
post Jan 10 2012, 01:53 PM

860 posts

Just went to OCBC earlier.
Apparently, the difference between Islamic FD & conventional FD is that Islamic FD follows the current board rate. So now the board rate is 3.2% & OCBC tops up 0.8% to make it 4% for 12 months FD. If during the 12 months, Bank Negara revises the interest rates, the FD rate will also be revised but with extra 0.8%.

Can anyone confirm this?
gchowyh
post Jan 10 2012, 06:12 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jan 10 2012, 03:31 PM)
Just back from OCBC the Islamic FD rate is indeed indicative and not fixed therefore I did not pursue further
Did you go to the DU uptown branch?

Anyhow, I went with the 9 months promo at 3.8% hoping by then there will be other promos to ride on.
gchowyh
post Jan 11 2012, 11:13 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(desmond_fantasy @ Jan 11 2012, 09:20 AM)
I just confused, if the FD profit rate is 4.0% p.a. and they say profit sharing ratio is 80:20, is that we get 80% profit out of 4% interest they pay?? TQVM.  biggrin.gif
80:20 is just an explanation of the profit sharing, but they will still pay 4%.

The customer service guy was very confident about the islamic FD interest rate not being fixed.
I wonder how can we confirm this since OCBC's officers ALWAYS seem to have different versions of the same product!
gchowyh
post Jan 11 2012, 03:45 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 11 2012, 01:12 PM)
Again, we are very confident with our answers because we opened this kind of Islamic FD before. And it happened between late 2008 - 2009 where the OPR was cut a few times yet i still got the 3.70% interest. 3.70% is the interest shown to me when i opened the account in 2008 and by the time it matures, the interest rate was down to 2.00% but the profit i received was still based on 3.70%.

Seriously, there seems to be no way to convince you what we said is true. So why don't you just open the account for 12-month tenure and hopefully there will be change in OPR in the next 12-month and see if your OCBC Islamic FD is affected.
Thank you for your detailed explanation.
Is not about being convinced or not but now with your explanation I can now confidently debate with the customer service guy on your facts.

I have been reading about the many versions those OCBC officers give even for the Premier banking promotion so I was very confused. Because of that, I initially ignored OCBC & went ahead with UOB's 3.75% 12 months FD.
gchowyh
post Jan 17 2012, 11:52 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(stanny @ Jan 17 2012, 11:50 AM)
To transfer money from 1 bank to another bank which I don't have an account yet, just go over the counter from initial bank and make a bank draft then give to other bank?
Yes that's right

I think in PJ, there is only 1 KFH branch in Kota Damansara right?
Kinda jam to go in there sometimes.

0.0422sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:01 PM