Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

gark
post Jan 4 2012, 09:38 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(sylille @ Jan 4 2012, 05:22 AM)
In conclusion, I must say that if not for the fact I 'yeow-kwee' the 5%, I won't bank with OCBC after my experience with them yesterday.  I still do no know who is my RM and none of the peope in the Premier Centre even bothered to come and help out or even say 'hello' despite me banking in more than the minimum to qualify for Premier status.  I am glad that I can take out my deposits in 3 months time and I am sorry for them that the only permanent deposit they are getting from me is the one I left in their 'atas' washroom!!
Went through so much trouble for a slightly higher FD? Is it worth it? laugh.gif I don't really find all these 'Premier' status useful, with the free coffee, nice washroom and what not. rclxms.gif Lol the last time I went to priority banking (to cancel my card), with shorts and cheap slippers, the clerk look at me one kind. laugh.gif

For me, I have twice cancelled my Priority Banking, then a couple months later they send a new priority card to me. How many times must cancelled ah? doh.gif BTW I haven't even met my RM yet, maybe should go and meet him and tell him don't send me anymore Priority Banking card. rclxms.gif

For my FD I prefer to use e-FD although the interest is lower but is much more convenient to me. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 4 2012, 09:39 AM
gark
post Jan 4 2012, 07:29 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 4 2012, 06:23 PM)
Slightly higher FD? If you get to earn buta money, yes it is worth it smile.gif With just difference of 0.5% and minimum RM200K deposit, that's RM1K/year. Then again, you must be filthy rich and few thousands ringgit is nothing to you  tongue.gif

I also wear slippers and T-shirts to banks, hahaha. Actually, the older people who wears  "pagoda" t-shirt inside and an unbutton white shirt outside are rich people, and command the most respect from the banks  wink.gif

There is one benefit of having Privilege Banking with certain banks where you do get very good rates for foreign exchange. Example, RHB, HSBC and UOB. For my case, besides the exchange rate, I just "yeow-kwee" their credit cards (UOB especially for free coffee and pastries at Orchard Road but OCBC CC useless) and coffee rolleyes.gif Most PB centers have very few tellers/cashier, during peak time, I would go take a cup of coffee from there and proceed to general banking hall to do my transactions.

Maybe your location is not convenient for you to go to many banks, but for me, most of the banks are in easy reach, and maybe I got nothing better to do also, hahaha.
Erm.. extra a few % is not interesting to me. This is maybe as I treat my cash in FD is my opportunity fund which I might cash out if there are other good investment opportunities out there to be deployed. Using e-FD I can liquidate my FD and immediately I have funds in my SA to deploy elsewhere. If there are no other place to deploy it sit in a 1 month FD divided into chunks of RM 20K each. wink.gif

Chasing short term FD promotional rate and opening bank accounts all over the place is just too time wasting for me. sweat.gif

For exchange rate, changing at money changer have better rate, so far I have seen. Anyway saw their coffee machines & tea bags but never taken any before, is it nice? Bank is not a natural place for me to hang out and have coffee, and their premier service is also so-so only. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 4 2012, 07:33 PM
gark
post Jan 5 2012, 09:49 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 4 2012, 08:17 PM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif And for your case, understandable lah, 1 month FD where got promo  tongue.gif
wah, overseas transfer with money changer, not traceable yah  sweat.gif
As for coffee, I don't really care the taste, addicted to it as great combination to go with my fags biggrin.gif  Like I said, I even do my transactions at the general banking hall, haha As for service, you must get aeiou to recommend to you his pretty RMs  tongue.gif .
So far I have seen the clerks at the Priority lounge, is just like the normal tellers at the counter tongue.gif . Haven't seen or heard from my RM before, but from letter, the name sound like he is a guy. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 5 2012, 09:55 AM
gark
post Jan 5 2012, 01:26 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ultraman29 @ Jan 5 2012, 01:07 PM)
The other day i met this bunch of ppl, who are active into pledging FDs. But i also got to know these ppl have tons of loans (including housing) which are not paid off and the loans are much more than the FD sums. Wouldnt it be more prudent to park the moneys into the housing loans to enjoy the "savings"?

Anyone here who does the same care to enlighten me a bit?
No... if your property have tenancy, it is better to have outstanding loan, you can offset your interest paid from rental income in your Income tax returns.

Either that these people is pledging more FD to have more loan margin since they are not able to liquidate their positions and/or their positions is at net loss. brows.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 5 2012, 01:28 PM
gark
post Jan 6 2012, 01:28 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 6 2012, 11:52 AM)
No, he is freaking rich  tongue.gif

I think we can categories the people here as follows

Walao.. I am not freaking rich leh.. laugh.gif It is just that I derive majority of my 'interest' from other source rather than FD, so my FD fund is just temporary and can change from time to time. The only difference is risk factor only as I prefer to take higher risk for higher gain, so moving around money from one bank to another is too troublesome. tongue.gif But having said that, I do keep a large portion in FD to deploy when opportunities come.

So... I don;t belong to this FD club lar hor... wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 6 2012, 01:34 PM
gark
post Jan 6 2012, 07:22 PM

12,534 posts

Talk about FDs.... only just now a bank officer call me to offer me to place minimum RM 400K equivalent in 12 month FD and give me preferential rate of 8% p.a. I just told the person I am not interested in the offer cause got no money. laugh.gif

BTW this bank is not in Malaysia, so no need to speculate which one. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 6 2012, 07:27 PM
gark
post Jan 16 2012, 01:39 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 16 2012, 01:34 PM)
No CIMB Preffered and Public Bank Red Carpet (Got ah?) ang pows?.. must go get so can complete your collection. brows.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 16 2012, 01:42 PM
gark
post Feb 20 2012, 12:28 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 20 2012, 12:08 PM)
When do you think BNM is going to lower down the OPR?
Most probably maintain or lower the OPR next meeting, the regional banks has all lowered their rates except for Malaysia... but it is coming. rclxms.gif
gark
post Jul 17 2012, 10:11 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 17 2012, 06:44 AM)
I google and it seems our Deputy FM said it may by extended but there will be a transition period (whatever that's means).
Extended to those who are above 50 but below 60.

Now : 50 can take half, >55 can take all
Transition 50-55 can take half, 55->60 can take all
Future : 55 can take half, >60 can take all sweat.gif

BTW, I know of a number of retiree >60 yo, rather put into EPF than FD.... higher interest... I wonder if there are any drawbacks...?

This post has been edited by gark: Jul 17 2012, 10:14 AM
gark
post Jul 17 2012, 10:54 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 17 2012, 10:39 AM)
Thanks Bro for the info. But now only can withdraw in full account 2 and not half at 50. Means they changing to half half?

Well, I guess if the retiree don't need the money, yah EFP dividends better anytime compared to FD rates. Also another plus point (can be a con too) if one dies, the money 100% goes to the nominated person(s).
that is what I am most worried, when I attain the age to withdraw my EPF savings, government impose this stupid policy, cannot burn my money to enjoy life.
Emm sorry wrong info, you are right, not half, but account 2 at 50. Later change to account 2 only at 55. The nominated person is great too, no need to set up will. laugh.gif Got relatives, every year after declare dividend go to KWSP and take out money for 1 year living expenses... sweat.gif they say better than FD, but they can withdraw anytime (>60) but choose not to do so.
gark
post Aug 1 2012, 12:13 PM

12,534 posts

New promo from CIMB.. not very exciting... yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif

STEP UP FIXED DEPOSIT OFFER (UNTIL 31 DECEMBER 2012)
Up to 5.00% p.a. on a 6-month Step Up Fixed Deposit** with a minimum placement of RM50,000 for new and existing CIMB Preferred members.

Month 1-5 = 3.10%, Month 6 =5%

Average ... 3.42% p.a... for 6 months.

This post has been edited by gark: Aug 1 2012, 12:14 PM

0.1114sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:26 AM