330 Pages « < 312 313 314 315 316 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

aurora97
post Mar 21 2024, 09:13 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 21 2024, 07:23 AM)
I average cimbPRS asia pac fund when china didnt perform well still down 15%. The only reason my portfolio recovered now is due to recent switching of funds to Principal Retire Easy 50, otherwise it wouldnt even recover this much.

Perhaps I am the only one who didnt manage by switching the funds. But let me ask who in this forum really earn GOOD returns from PRS? If the returns were so DAMN GOOD most people would not think twice just invest in PRS NOT EPF. What I am trying to say with the dismal performance on most funds, just don’t waste so much time on this. Out of 3 PRS funds i own (amPRS, affinPRS and CIMB Principal), amPRS (amtactical fund) still haven recovered, affinPRS (growth fund) probably show 3% return now and now CIMB Principal recovered due to switching to other fund.

You must be wondering why I didnt top up consistently, other than funds u bought from FSM it is so difficult to do the topping up if you buy from asset management firm directly like amprs, you probably have to fill up forms and call the company for that. I bet Government will extend the tax deduction for PRS funds so that asset management firm employees can keep the rice bowls.
But let me ask who in this forum really earn GOOD returns from PRS? If the returns were so DAMN GOOD most people would not think twice just invest in PRS NOT EPF.

Returns are a subjective topic because there are various factors that may influence it i.e. your entry (and dollar cost averaging subsequent) and the manager's ability to manage the fund. For details of the fund's performance, you may refer to publicly available information such as FSM, factsheet, prospectus etc...

You must be wondering why I didnt top up consistently, other than funds u bought from FSM it is so difficult to do the topping up if you buy from asset management firm directly like amprs, you probably have to fill up forms and call the company for that.

There are a few ways you can do this:

1. you can sign-up and top-up via PPA website (for all fund houses with PRS) - https://www.ppa.my/ ;
2. for FSM, if you are not happy or find it difficult to monitor your funds, you can opt to transfer your holdings from X fund house to FSM. Complete the "Transfer In" form - https://www.fsmone.com.my/support/forms/funds , please check with FSM on how to complete the form and what documents are required; or
3. If you have AHAM funds, you can sign-up with i-access to create account. (https://iaccess.aham.com.my/).

This post has been edited by aurora97: Mar 21 2024, 09:17 AM
Ramjade
post Mar 21 2024, 10:53 AM

24,389 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Mar 21 2024, 09:13 AM)
But let me ask who in this forum really earn GOOD returns from PRS? If the returns were so DAMN GOOD most people would not think twice just invest in PRS NOT EPF.

Returns are a subjective topic because there are various factors that may influence it i.e. your entry (and dollar cost averaging subsequent) and the manager's ability to manage the fund. For details of the fund's performance, you may refer to publicly available information such as FSM, factsheet, prospectus etc...

You must be wondering why I didnt top up consistently, other than funds u bought from FSM it is so difficult to do the topping up if you buy from asset management firm directly like amprs, you probably have to fill up forms and call the company for that.

1. you can sign-up and top-up via PPA website (for all fund houses with PRS) - https://www.ppa.my/ ;
2. for FSM, if you are not happy or find it difficult to monitor your funds, you can opt to transfer your holdings from X fund house to FSM. Complete the "Transfer In" form - https://www.fsmone.com.my/support/forms/funds  , please check with FSM on how to complete the form and what documents are required; or
3. If you have AHAM funds, you can sign-up with i-access to create account. (https://iaccess.aham.com.my/).
I am one of the few who got consistently double digit returns since prs started.
ky33li
post Mar 21 2024, 12:06 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Mar 21 2024, 09:13 AM)

2. for FSM, if you are not happy or find it difficult to monitor your funds, you can opt to transfer your holdings from X fund house to FSM. Complete the "Transfer In" form - https://www.fsmone.com.my/support/forms/funds  , please check with FSM on how to complete the form and what documents are required; or
Thanks ramjade. I will probably try to transfer amprs funds
Ramjade
post Mar 21 2024, 12:11 PM

24,389 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 21 2024, 12:06 PM)
Thanks ramjade. I will probably try to transfer amprs funds
Amprs fund sucks. Avoid. Only good fund is principal retire easy or AIA Pam growth or ironically public mutual (if you want to pay them 3% service charge per transaction)
ky33li
post Mar 21 2024, 12:29 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 21 2024, 12:11 PM)
Amprs fund sucks. Avoid. Only good fund is principal retire easy or AIA Pam growth or ironically public mutual (if you want to pay them 3% service charge per transaction)
I have no choice on amprs funds because i was formerly a staff and 4% is to be contributed to amfunds…worst still the 4% not entitled for tax deduction under employee because it has already been claimed by employer.

This post has been edited by ky33li: Mar 21 2024, 12:30 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 21 2024, 12:52 PM

24,389 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 21 2024, 12:29 PM)
I have no choice on amprs funds because i was formerly a staff and 4% is to be contributed to amfunds…worst still the 4% not entitled for tax deduction under employee because it has already been claimed by employer.
You can move fund house. You are not fixed to one fund house. Just lots of paperwork to do. Your choice. Make a one time move to make sure at least your PRS is matching EPF returns over long term.

At least that is what I did. By me moving to principal Asia Pacific to principal retire easy, at least still have exposure to principal Asia Pacific dynamic but reduce exposure and increase US exposure.

Do everything via FSM. Ask their customer service how to go about it.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 21 2024, 02:52 PM
guy3288
post Mar 21 2024, 02:41 PM

5,902 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 20 2024, 11:10 AM)
I think it all depends on your tax rate. Let's say your tax rate is 25%, you already saved RM750 in taxes by investing 3k. Can compounding interest in FD beat that? I don't think so.
it seems not everyone knows how to benefit from that...
or may be they dont know to calculate ....

I average cimbPRS asia pac fund when china didnt perform well still down 15%. The only reason my portfolio recovered now is due to recent switching of funds to Principal Retire Easy 50, otherwise it wouldnt even recover this much.

that means you did not buy it 8 years ago. the price then was only RM0.80
then it went up and up to above RM1.25 end of 2021

If you have bought it only 3 yrs ago patutlah you rugi.
Prices dropped down to 90 sen you sell kena lah..
but it has picked up to RM1.14 now

I never sell or switch still ok also.

Perhaps I am the only one who didnt manage by switching the funds. But let me ask who in this forum really earn GOOD returns from PRS? If the returns were so DAMN GOOD most people would not think twice just invest in PRS NOT EPF. What I am trying to say with the dismal performance on most funds, just don’t waste so much time on this. Out of 3 PRS funds i own (amPRS, affinPRS and CIMB Principal), amPRS (amtactical fund) still haven recovered, affinPRS (growth fund) probably show 3% return now and now CIMB Principal recovered due to switching to other fund.

You must be wondering why I didnt top up consistently, other than funds u bought from FSM it is so difficult to do the topping up if you buy from asset management firm directly like amprs, you probably have to fill up forms and call the company for that. I bet Government will extend the tax deduction for PRS funds so that asset management firm employees can keep the rice bowls.
PRS has its own purpose
People already told you tax relief more than enough
unless you no need pay tax or tax too low.

EPF is another basket, tax relief another RM4k also.
And dont forget many in here EPF sudah max Rm100k x2
PRS is very useful to them you know...

if you had bought wrong PRS or
started at the wrong platform
you only have your self to blame

you dont come make a big PRS is a waste of time.
and gave misleading info said you also have that good PRS
and you bought 8 years ago..

it just doesnt match what we know of that PRS

ky33li
post Mar 21 2024, 04:41 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 21 2024, 02:41 PM)
it seems not everyone knows how to benefit from that...
or may be they dont know to calculate ....
that means  you did not buy it 8 years ago. the price then was only RM0.80
then it went up and up to above RM1.25 end of 2021

If you have  bought it only 3 yrs ago patutlah you rugi.
Prices dropped down to 90 sen you sell kena lah..
but it has picked up to RM1.14 now

I never sell or switch still ok also.
PRS has its own purpose
People already told you tax relief more than enough
unless you no need pay tax or tax too low.

EPF is another basket, tax relief another RM4k also.
And dont forget many in here EPF sudah max Rm100k x2
PRS is very useful  to them you know...

if you had bought wrong PRS or
started at the wrong platform
you only have your self to blame

you dont come make a big PRS is a waste of time.
and gave misleading info said you also  have that good PRS
and you bought 8 years ago..

it just doesnt match what we know of that PRS
This is purely my view. everyone has the right to agree and disagree. but most people wouldnt have the time to monitor and switch funds all the time. I am sharing based on my experience buying 3 PRS funds the returns arent that good. even as ex bank employee you buy every month u incur 21% losses on bond funds. To keep your funds in PRS until retirement age and it cant even beat EPF returns in my opinion. You probably achieve better returns due to you entering better returns. Just go through another market crash and see.
Ramjade
post Mar 21 2024, 05:43 PM

24,389 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 21 2024, 04:41 PM)
This is purely my view. everyone has the right to agree and disagree. but most people wouldnt have the time to monitor and switch funds all the time. I am sharing based on my experience buying 3 PRS funds the returns arent that good. even as ex bank employee you buy every month u incur 21% losses on bond funds. To keep your funds in PRS until retirement age and it cant even beat EPF returns in my opinion. You probably achieve better returns due to you entering better returns. Just go through another market crash and see.
Bro, I dont check it often. I usually check once a year. The only time it didn't match EPF return was like last 1-2 years. I only buy 1 fund.

Majority of prs is lousy. Need to find fund which is good. Then stick with it.

There are only 2 good fund on FSM now.
Principal retire easy series
AIA Pam growth

Have your pick. Ignore everything else. You can take action now or don't take action and continue to have subpar returns.

The choice is yours.
guy3288
post Mar 21 2024, 06:08 PM

5,902 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 21 2024, 04:41 PM)
Yes, you have a right to say what you want.
but in public forumn what you said is open to querry.

i tried to clarify at first
but you have no attempt to correct your misinformation.

How can you say you also have that CIMB PRS
and you bought 8 years ago
and it is now causing you to lose money in PRS.

that is what irks me.
i hate misleading information
as if no one else would find out or go check it out

ky33li
post Mar 21 2024, 07:44 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 21 2024, 06:08 PM)
Yes, you have a right to say what you want.
but in public forumn what you said is open to querry.

i tried to clarify at first
but  you have no attempt to correct your  misinformation.
How can you  say you also have that CIMB PRS
and you bought  8 years ago
and it is now causing  you to lose money in PRS.

that is what irks me.
i hate misleading information
as if no one else would find out or go check it out
I have already told you i didnt DCA when price came down and entered when it is peak. BTW how sure are you the returns projected by fund houses are accurate? Many times i saw the funds YTD return at 10% but return shown at my fund is probably 5-6%. Hv you ever disputed fund houses on their returns? How sure are you they never window dressed? If the PRS funds are so well performed why does it need this yax deduction to entice people to buy?
Ramjade
post Mar 21 2024, 08:31 PM

24,389 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 21 2024, 07:44 PM)
I have already told you i didnt DCA when price came down and entered when it is peak. BTW how sure are you the returns projected by fund houses are accurate? Many times i saw the funds YTD return at 10% but return shown at my fund is probably 5-6%. Hv you ever disputed fund houses on their returns? How sure are you they never window dressed? If the PRS funds are so well performed why does it need this yax deduction to entice people to buy?
You can check your fund performance via
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/chart-centre

You can screen for good fund to buy via the screener
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/fund-selector

The 2 link above shows previous performance. Not fund protection. Fund projection is never accurate. Of course past performance does not guarantee future performance but at least it's a track record.

Good example is the comb principal Asia Pacific dynamic fund. It's a good fund but because it focus in china, can't do anything about it's performance.

Yes majority of prs is a waste of time and money. That's why choose carefully.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 22 2024, 11:49 AM
guy3288
post Mar 21 2024, 10:11 PM

5,902 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 21 2024, 07:44 PM)
i dont know you pretend stupid or
you really are like that..

u failed to follow the points in contention!

if you follow
you could just admit it, and said NO, you did not buy it 8 years ago
You bought it only recently at high price eg...RM1.20 in 2021
case close

that chart there is past 10yrs TRACK RECORD ,
NOT returns projected by fund house
you dont trust it? takpa .

i have that PRS, i keep record

Dec 2016 RM0.80 i bought
2017 RM0.98 i bought
2018 RM0.95 i bought
2019 RM1.05 i skip
2020 RM1.15 i bought again
30.9.2021 RM1.26
2022 RM0.95 - RM1.00
2023 RM0.99 -RM1.04
2024 RM1.14 now

you still think that is window dressing chart?
a fake chart by fund house to cheat you?

i give up.

is like a guy who overestimated his own muscle power
entered a Gym to tell others dont waste your time guys
i have broken my back working out here

add: If Gym is so good then why gomen must gip you RM2500 tax relief? ha ha .

This post has been edited by guy3288: Mar 21 2024, 11:05 PM
Barricade
post Mar 21 2024, 10:45 PM

4,154 posts

Question. Let’s say I buy PRS from two different fund house. Annual fee I have to pay RM8x2?
MUM
post Mar 21 2024, 11:05 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 21 2024, 10:45 PM)
Question. Let’s say I buy PRS from two different fund house. Annual fee I have to pay RM8x2?
if you had already bought PRS funds from that 2 providers before, I think this time buy you will kena 2x

Barricade
post Mar 21 2024, 11:09 PM

4,154 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 21 2024, 11:05 PM)
if you had already bought PRS funds from that 2 providers before,  I think this time buy you will kena 2x
Thanks for the info. Going to buy AIA PAM - Growth Funds instead. Principle Claas C put to hibernate
MUM
post Mar 22 2024, 12:27 AM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 21 2024, 11:09 PM)
Thanks for the info. Going to buy AIA PAM - Growth Funds instead. Principle Claas C put to hibernate
Jfi, Latest compiled PRS funds performance

https://www.ppa.my/wp-content/uploads/2024/...-Funds-2024.pdf
onthefly
post Mar 22 2024, 01:41 AM

1,315 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 21 2024, 10:11 PM)
i dont know you pretend stupid or
you really are like that..

u failed to follow the points in contention!

if you follow
you could just admit it, and said NO, you did not buy it 8 years ago
You bought it only recently at high price eg...RM1.20  in 2021
case close

that chart there is past 10yrs TRACK RECORD ,
NOT returns projected by fund house
you dont trust it? takpa .

i have that PRS, i keep record

Dec 2016 RM0.80  i bought
2017 RM0.98 i bought
2018 RM0.95 i bought
2019 RM1.05 i skip
2020  RM1.15 i bought again
30.9.2021 RM1.26
2022 RM0.95 - RM1.00
2023 RM0.99  -RM1.04
2024  RM1.14 now

you still think that is window dressing chart?
a fake chart by fund house to cheat you?

i give up.

is like a guy who overestimated his own muscle power
entered  a Gym to tell others dont waste your time guys
i have broken my back working out here

add: If Gym is so good then why gomen must gip you RM2500 tax relief? ha ha .
dont waste your breath/text
The picture you provided already shows the truth

ronnie
post Mar 22 2024, 09:23 AM

Not enough stars
21,315 posts

ky33 bought the peak of the time.... so sure lose money now logically.

The person who gets burnt will always remember the bad incidents.
All investors should be forward thinking. learn from the past and become better investor.

If you don't learn, you'll be burnt again and again until you get burned literally (ie. die in cremation)
Cubalagi
post Mar 22 2024, 09:53 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 22 2024, 09:23 AM)
ky33 bought the peak of the time.... so sure lose money now logically.

The person who gets burnt will always remember the bad incidents.
All investors should be forward thinking. learn from the past and become better investor.

If you don't learn, you'll be burnt again and again until you get burned literally (ie. die in cremation)
And I saw there was withdrawal. From Account 2? Buy high sell low case?

And kena pay tax 8% or not?

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 20 2024, 12:39 AM)

330 Pages « < 312 313 314 315 316 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:37 PM