Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

aurora97
post Aug 12 2018, 08:15 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

Please contact your respective fund house and ask for explanation. Waiting for money to be credited is not the right way to go.
aurora97
post Dec 9 2018, 01:42 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 9 2018, 10:40 AM)

btw,...where did you get the RM100 info?
can share the link so that I can learn more?...thanks
https://www.ppa.my/enrolment-treats/
aurora97
post Dec 9 2018, 01:49 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 9 2018, 01:43 PM)
This comes from PPA not government.
Does skim belia i.e. rm 1k comes directly from gomen as well?

aurora97
post Dec 9 2018, 01:52 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 5 2018, 01:38 PM)
Which PRS provider accepts credit card?  hmm.gif
Affinhwang. See jompay. Ask agent for drtails. Done it.

Details below:

Online Transfer for PRS:

1. After login into online banking, select "bill payment"
2. Select "Jom Pay"
3. Key in your particular
4. PRS biller code: 9563
5. Beneficiary name: Affin Hwang Asset Management Berhad- PRS
6. Reference 1: your ic number
7. Reference 2: your mobile number
8. Email to me the online receipt: ...

This post has been edited by aurora97: Dec 9 2018, 01:58 PM
aurora97
post Dec 9 2018, 01:53 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(addylee @ Dec 5 2018, 01:25 PM)
which prs provider can pay by credit card and perhaps with free gift (after top up of 3k)?
Do tell, i wan free gift. 😍
aurora97
post Dec 9 2018, 01:55 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 9 2018, 01:51 PM)
that is just a bonus if you do what they (PPA) asked as per that link....
it is not the youth incentive .....
I know skim belia is like for certain age and 1 off. The amt is 1k.

For the rm 100, u means this is from gomen as well?

Need to be specific, so i can catch my agent. I rike freebies.
aurora97
post Dec 9 2018, 02:01 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 9 2018, 01:58 PM)
aurora97 Dude, can you use multi-quote?
Apologies folks. Yes, noob me. I didnt see the multi-quote button on mobile. Will change to desktop fcn.
aurora97
post Dec 10 2018, 07:03 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 9 2018, 09:24 PM)
If PRS fund is not bought directly from Affin Hwang, can use this method?
What is the SC charged by Affin Hwang for its PRS funds?

Currently I'm buying through FSM and it's 0% service charge.
refer to @mum.

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 9 2018, 09:39 PM)
according to AH website on PRS fund
Low Cost
0% sales charge
RM 0 switching fees
Reasonable annual management fees
Low initial investment & additional investment levels at RM 100 and RM 50 respectively
https://affinhwangam.com/private-retirement-scheme/
aurora97
post Oct 26 2022, 09:28 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

ah shit here we go again, time for that year end thingy.
aurora97
post Mar 18 2024, 10:43 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 16 2024, 02:00 PM)
If got pure US fund I will buy that vs whatever nonsense Malaysia/china focus fund. Too bad no fund house doesn't want to come out with good prs or prevented from doing so by BNM. My insurance agent said they are not making lots of money via PRS that's why PRS have lots of lousy funds.
For context, we are talking about PRS and not ILPs. PRS is a licensed activity regulated by SC and not BNM.

The only player in the market that is an insurer that offers PRS is AIA.

When PRS was first introduced to the market, the question was how to convince investors to invest in the fund (aside from tax exemption), since there are various existing funds that had established track record and at the lowest cost to replicate.

To meet the above criteria, you would see various fund houses adopt a fund of fund or feeder fund structure. Essentially, they are leveraging on their existing funds and generally Malaysian fund managers only have expertise (at most), the Asia Pacific (ex Japan) region.

Which explains why you don't see any PRS funds with exposure to countries such as US, Europe, LATAM etc...
aurora97
post Mar 20 2024, 09:59 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 20 2024, 08:05 AM)
The fees are fixed at 1.5%p.a (management fees).

If you see the pros, all are feeder funds. So you need to see how the original fund is performing.

For me, once they remove income tax relief, I will stop buying prs and divert my money overseas (like what I am doing for my EPF portion)
Earlier you mention that there are funds with service charge. The common term is Sales Charge or upfront fee, not all funds in the market charge that fee. Like AHAM, the sales charge is 0%.

For Principal fund, only Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity is a feeder fund. (non-core)
For Manulife, only Manulife PRS Asia-Pacific REIT Fund is a feeder fund. (non-core)

A feeder fund is a fund that feeds into a single fund, whereas a fund-of-fund feed into multiple funds (this is adopted by AHAM).
aurora97
post Mar 20 2024, 10:21 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 19 2024, 07:44 PM)
I have calculated, just by putting your money into FD with average 4% rate, your returns would hv surpassed PRS returns including the tax deduction. So dont waste time putting money into the PRS. How can you tell whether the asset management firm will still be there by the time you retired? Especially those asset management firm (Affinhwang, Kenanga) without banking assets as backing. Nobody ever thought about asset management firms collapsing once musical chair stop (fresh funds come in). Correct me if I am wrong but i think all PRS funds are not PIDM protected.
Your comment is incorrect (especially portion highlighted in bold).

First and foremost, you need to understand how unit trust fund is structured. The Manager (AHAM, Principal Kenanga) is remunerated by the fund to manage the fund. The legal owner and the custodization of the assets are done by the Trustee of the fund. Even if the Manager is subject to liquidation due to default, the assets are not registered or held in the name of the Manager.

Also, whether an asset manager is bank backed or otherwise, does not make any difference because they are separate legal entities (their liabilities are separate) and each have different capitalization requirements imposed by their regulators.

aurora97
post Mar 20 2024, 02:30 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Mar 20 2024, 12:31 PM)
in a Fund-of-Fund like AHAM PRS there is a 1.5% Annual Management Fee p.a.
does the multiple fund they feed into also charge annual management fees?
This is imposed by law.

They can only charge once either fund level or the target fund (i.e. a feeder fund [Principal Global Tech] that is feeding into a target fund [Franklin Templeton Global Tech Fund]). Also, the target fund is not allowed to charge sales charge/upfront fee.

aurora97
post Mar 20 2024, 10:54 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 20 2024, 10:06 PM)
Bro are you sure?
You said I also own the CIMB Asia Pacific Fund
meaning you also bought this Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C ?

And you bought it 8 years ago?
I also  bought it  8 years ago
Dec 2016  price was only RM0.80
Now is RM1.14, mana boleh rugi like this?

how can that PRS be bad in your portfolio?

highlight the bad one you bought
so others can learn

must  give some convincing information to back up
what you said , dont waste time putting money into the PRS.

It all depends on person's entry point price. He may have entered when it was a peak and did not average down (i.e. lump sum investment).
aurora97
post Mar 21 2024, 12:04 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 20 2024, 10:57 PM)
did you read what he said?

he said he bought 8 yrs ago
what did i say the price 8 yrs ago?
the price now?
If 8 years and its a lost, the only explanation is that he invested lump sum at a high price or he did average down but gave up or he did average down but in those circumstances, he bought at peak and it did not lower the average cost of acquisition.

I have seen statistic for EPF approved funds, same situation. People buy when its high, withdraw when NAV is low. Doing lump sum investment and did not average down.

What so difficult to understand?
aurora97
post Mar 21 2024, 09:13 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 21 2024, 07:23 AM)
I average cimbPRS asia pac fund when china didnt perform well still down 15%. The only reason my portfolio recovered now is due to recent switching of funds to Principal Retire Easy 50, otherwise it wouldnt even recover this much.

Perhaps I am the only one who didnt manage by switching the funds. But let me ask who in this forum really earn GOOD returns from PRS? If the returns were so DAMN GOOD most people would not think twice just invest in PRS NOT EPF. What I am trying to say with the dismal performance on most funds, just don’t waste so much time on this. Out of 3 PRS funds i own (amPRS, affinPRS and CIMB Principal), amPRS (amtactical fund) still haven recovered, affinPRS (growth fund) probably show 3% return now and now CIMB Principal recovered due to switching to other fund.

You must be wondering why I didnt top up consistently, other than funds u bought from FSM it is so difficult to do the topping up if you buy from asset management firm directly like amprs, you probably have to fill up forms and call the company for that. I bet Government will extend the tax deduction for PRS funds so that asset management firm employees can keep the rice bowls.
But let me ask who in this forum really earn GOOD returns from PRS? If the returns were so DAMN GOOD most people would not think twice just invest in PRS NOT EPF.

Returns are a subjective topic because there are various factors that may influence it i.e. your entry (and dollar cost averaging subsequent) and the manager's ability to manage the fund. For details of the fund's performance, you may refer to publicly available information such as FSM, factsheet, prospectus etc...

You must be wondering why I didnt top up consistently, other than funds u bought from FSM it is so difficult to do the topping up if you buy from asset management firm directly like amprs, you probably have to fill up forms and call the company for that.

There are a few ways you can do this:

1. you can sign-up and top-up via PPA website (for all fund houses with PRS) - https://www.ppa.my/ ;
2. for FSM, if you are not happy or find it difficult to monitor your funds, you can opt to transfer your holdings from X fund house to FSM. Complete the "Transfer In" form - https://www.fsmone.com.my/support/forms/funds , please check with FSM on how to complete the form and what documents are required; or
3. If you have AHAM funds, you can sign-up with i-access to create account. (https://iaccess.aham.com.my/).

This post has been edited by aurora97: Mar 21 2024, 09:17 AM
aurora97
post Mar 22 2024, 03:19 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Mar 22 2024, 10:34 AM)
during covid time can withdraw account b without penalty via email. i cleared all my account b during that time.
Yes, i think this also coincided with the EPF withdrawal scheme.

Just to add. Aside from death, retirement or leaving the country, you can also withdraw without penalty for housing (building, reduce loan etc...) or health reasons. ( https://www.ppa.my/prs-and-you/prs-faq/ )
aurora97
post Oct 28 2024, 04:25 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Oct 28 2024, 03:18 PM)
Are PPA admin fees of 0.04% charged to the fund or you have to pay separately?
Paid by Fund.
aurora97
post Oct 29 2024, 11:15 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Oct 28 2024, 11:20 PM)
I tried to sign up for PPA account but it forces me to buy a PRS fund to complete the registration!!!

I went through the whole process, but my account is not created unless I select a fund. This is nonsense!

FSM says it is all paperless now. https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...e-details/11419
Not many firms offer PRS online sign-up because certain forms, PPA require original with customer signature. Therefore, unlike unit trust, which has end to end pure online interface, you may encounter PRS being partially online only.

To get around this problem, just go to ppa website and look for Online Enrolment (Participating houses includes: AHAM, AM,AIA, Kenanga, Principal and RHB).
aurora97
post Oct 29 2024, 11:20 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 28 2024, 11:59 PM)
There are few ways to go about it.
1. Just buy any fund and be done with it. That is what most people does.
2. For me, I want to have my cake and eat it too. That's means I want income tax relief and maximise my gains.

If you see majority of the funds sold by prs all focus on Malaysia market only (maybe ? directive from SEC/BMM behind close doors) I choose the fund which have the most overseas exposure (US). Remember, I am always negative towards ringgit and Malaysin market. Before this I was a principal prs Asia Pacific dynamic investor. I switch for more US exposure after emperor Xi fiasco and when principal intro fund with exposure to US.

It's not actively managed per se but I do monitor the performance and any new fund which is intro to FSM like once a year. If and when they have a fund that track the S&P500 or the US market like 40-50% of it, I will move my money into the fund. Remember it's a long term fund. So if you can get say 10%p.a why not over a measly 2-4%p.a. The difference over long term is significant.
If you see majority of the funds sold by prs all focus on Malaysia market only (maybe ? directive from SEC/BMM behind close doors) I choose the fund which have the most overseas exposure (US). Remember, I am always negative towards ringgit and Malaysin market. Before this I was a principal prs Asia Pacific dynamic investor. I switch for more US exposure after emperor Xi fiasco and when principal intro fund with exposure to US.

When PRS first entered the market, there were concerns that because it was a new fund, it may not be able to scale to a certain size. As such, most fund house either do via feeder (like principal) or fund of fund (AHAM) structure, this is to reduce cost and build track record.

Those funds that focus mainly on Malaysia, most likely invest directly in securities/stocks, therefore would likely mean they went for the cheapest path and easiest to build track record because that is where most of their expertise lies.

Therefore, it is not a directive by SC or BNM but rather fund houses considered the fact that its a slow product and difficult to scale to size.

This post has been edited by aurora97: Oct 29 2024, 04:50 PM

0.1488sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:50 AM