Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??
Ramjade
Dec 5 2020, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(xgen123 @ Dec 4 2020, 08:09 PM) Just wondering why are most people invested into "Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity" ? Is it because it has more consistent returns over many years? Because I noticed that for example, "Public Mutual PRS Islamic Strategic Equity Fund" seems to have higher returns based on recent data. Public mutual have 3% service charge. Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity if you buy via FSM is 0% service charge.
MUM
Dec 5 2020, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(xgen123 @ Dec 4 2020, 08:09 PM) Just wondering why are most people invested into "Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity" ? Is it because it has more consistent returns over many years? Because I noticed that for example, "Public Mutual PRS Islamic Strategic Equity Fund" seems to have higher returns based on recent data. on top of what had been posted by GrumpyNooby (as below post)...i added in this (see image on Public Mutual PRS Islamic Strategic Equity Fund) QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 4 2020, 08:14 PM) Consistent or not? Here're the indicators that you can refer for your reference:  Fund link: https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/facts...c=global-search Attached thumbnail(s)
lalahehe90
Dec 5 2020, 10:07 AM

Just wanna ask, all funds with prs wording in fsmone all eligible for income tax relief?
ironman16
Dec 5 2020, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(lalahehe90 @ Dec 5 2020, 10:07 AM) Just wanna ask, all funds with prs wording in fsmone all eligible for income tax relief? Ya, only 8 fund house only got prs( if not mistaken)
memorylane
Dec 5 2020, 03:03 PM

QUOTE(xgen123 @ Dec 4 2020, 07:59 PM) Thanks for the feedback! Regarding sales charge, is it only chargeable when we deposit money into the PRS fund? all PRS fund 0% sale charge if you invest via FSM. so no need to worry.
memorylane
Dec 5 2020, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(xgen123 @ Dec 4 2020, 08:09 PM) Just wondering why are most people invested into "Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity" ? Is it because it has more consistent returns over many years? Because I noticed that for example, "Public Mutual PRS Islamic Strategic Equity Fund" seems to have higher returns based on recent data. Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity has been there for many years... have good track record compare to Public Mutual PRS Islamic Strategic Equity Fund. Also the Public mutual only limited to islamic shariah equity, whereby there choice of equity are limited, so in long term conventional fund are more flexible for fund manager to choose the best equity.... Most importantly, Principle PRS is 0% sale charge in FSM... Public Mutual 3% sale charge, which mean you lost 3% of your saving on day 1 and every time you topup you incur 3% charge of the topup also... so the comparison are obvious.
blibala
Dec 5 2020, 08:49 PM
Hi to all sifus here. I am a newbie in this prs. Planning to get prs for the first time to maximize the tax relief for ya2020.
(1) is it too late to buy prs now since almost year end? (2) i would like to open an account with fsm and buy prs from there.any recommended prs fund to get?
GrumpyNooby
Dec 5 2020, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(blibala @ Dec 5 2020, 08:49 PM) Hi to all sifus here. I am a newbie in this prs. Planning to get prs for the first time to maximize the tax relief for ya2020. (1) is it too late to buy prs now since almost year end? (2) i would like to open an account with fsm and buy prs from there.any recommended prs fund to get? (1) There's a cut-off date. Check with respective platform or PRS provider (2) Fund recommendation please read pages back. Have been asked many many times.
blibala
Dec 5 2020, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 5 2020, 08:51 PM) (1) There's a cut-off date. Check with respective platform or PRS provider (2) Fund recommendation please read pages back. Have been asked many many times. Thx
onthefly
Dec 6 2020, 12:54 AM
Been few days, i have not receive email on the promotion tng rm40. Invested 3k in a single transaction. https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...Insurance=falsehow long will fsmone provide the rm40 for funding 3k in a single transaction ? QUOTE(blibala @ Dec 5 2020, 09:21 PM) You might want to invest before 11th December to get rm40 tng promotion from fsmone This post has been edited by onthefly: Dec 6 2020, 12:57 AM
GrumpyNooby
Dec 6 2020, 06:04 AM
QUOTE(onthefly @ Dec 6 2020, 12:54 AM) Been few days, i have not receive email on the promotion tng rm40. Invested 3k in a single transaction. https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...Insurance=falsehow long will fsmone provide the rm40 for funding 3k in a single transaction ? You might want to invest before 11th December to get rm40 tng promotion from fsmone Based on last year experience, I remembered it was somewhen in January.
wyen
Dec 6 2020, 09:15 PM
Just registered fsm account and pending for verification. How long does it usually takes? If i invest rm1000 am i eligible for tng 40 and i shall top the rest rm2k for tax relief entitlement
!@#$%^
Dec 6 2020, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(wyen @ Dec 6 2020, 09:15 PM) Just registered fsm account and pending for verification. How long does it usually takes? If i invest rm1000 am i eligible for tng 40 and i shall top the rest rm2k for tax relief entitlement 3k lum sum
cklimm
Dec 7 2020, 11:07 AM
I had sent my Manulife forms to FSM 30 Nov, paid 3 Dec. And now is still pending.  Update: the girl at Manulife side says they had received the money, transaction statement will be ready in 2 weeks. Update #2: The statement is now shown, 3% was charged. This post has been edited by cklimm: Dec 7 2020, 03:49 PM
GrumpyNooby
Dec 7 2020, 05:06 PM
Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C hit ATH with NAV at 1.2540
ironman16
Dec 7 2020, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(cklimm @ Dec 7 2020, 11:07 AM) I had sent my Manulife forms to FSM 30 Nov, paid 3 Dec. And now is still pending.  Update: the girl at Manulife side says they had received the money, transaction statement will be ready in 2 weeks. Update #2: The statement is now shown, 3% was charged.  3% charged ?......mean u lum sum 3k , charge u RM 90?.....for what this RM90 for????
taiping...
Dec 7 2020, 05:19 PM
Can i switch my PRS fund from affin hwang to asia pacific ex equity fund? Haha
GrumpyNooby
Dec 7 2020, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(taiping... @ Dec 7 2020, 05:19 PM) Can i switch my PRS fund from affin hwang to asia pacific ex equity fund? Haha Can. Make a transfer and pay a transfer fee of RM 25 (I think).
taiping...
Dec 7 2020, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 7 2020, 05:21 PM) Can. Make a transfer and pay a transfer fee of RM 25 (I think). Oh wonderful Lemme try
cklimm
Dec 7 2020, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(ironman16 @ Dec 7 2020, 05:10 PM) 3% charged ?......mean u lum sum 3k , charge u RM 90?.....for what this RM90 for???? Sales charge loh