125 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread V12, 1Darkside ! 1Nikon ! D800 rumor !

Agito666
post Oct 12 2011, 12:38 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 12 2011, 12:05 AM)
lens price drop faster initially, then remain stable for longer.
body price drop slower, but will continue to drop as yrs go by.
hmm like that... now got thought about get FF lens first...then when saving for body the time passes sure drop one...hmmm... hmm.gif
hidden830726
post Oct 12 2011, 12:38 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Oct 12 2011, 12:27 AM)
Oo... FYI, I am in Australia now. The site the seller use is a public adv site where people can post their adv for free and once done deal the ad can be deleted by seller. But i guess I can keep the sms for evidence... Thanks for the advise!
Email the person for COD. Keep the email as your proof

Added on October 12, 2011, 12:40 am
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 12 2011, 12:38 AM)
hmm like that... now got thought about get FF lens first...then when saving for body the time passes sure drop one...hmmm...  hmm.gif
D800. gogogo

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Oct 12 2011, 12:40 AM
Isepunye
post Oct 12 2011, 12:40 AM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

cheapo bokeh
farah 4 by IsePunye, on Flickr
Agito666
post Oct 12 2011, 12:49 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Oct 12 2011, 12:38 AM)

D800. gogogo
need rethink liao haha...because if i get body first then i dont have FF lens to use but i can borrow friend's one but is not so good la XD... duno mount my DX 35mm will have problem or not haha...

plus just now someone might offer me tako luka for rm600... unsure.gif
i thinking sapu all... unsure.gif
hidden830726
post Oct 12 2011, 12:52 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 12 2011, 12:49 AM)
need rethink liao haha...because if i get body first then i dont have FF lens to use but i can borrow friend's one but is not so good la XD... duno mount my DX 35mm will have problem or not haha...

plus just now someone might offer me tako luka for rm600...  unsure.gif
i thinking sapu all...  unsure.gif
RM600 for howmany of them?
Isepunye
post Oct 12 2011, 12:53 AM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

remake of previous photo. which is better?
Piqi Lola 18 by IsePunye, on Flickr
Agito666
post Oct 12 2011, 12:54 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Oct 12 2011, 12:52 AM)
RM600 for howmany of them?
i think 30 whistling.gif
hidden830726
post Oct 12 2011, 12:59 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 12 2011, 12:54 AM)
i think 30  whistling.gif
D800 better buy.
Andy214
post Oct 12 2011, 01:17 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 12 2011, 12:49 AM)

plus just now someone might offer me tako luka for rm600...  unsure.gif
i thinking sapu all...  unsure.gif
50mm f/1.8G (FF prime lens) cheaper than 35mm f/1.8G DX.
The 50mm f/1.8G is sharp, better built? better bokeh? better IQ? and have distance scale.

Calvin Seak
post Oct 12 2011, 01:28 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

what happens when we purchase a stolen lens? do we need to return the lens to the rightful owner?
Isepunye
post Oct 12 2011, 01:36 AM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

seriously i kinda like my new technique
lili 1 by IsePunye, on Flickr
ikki9394
post Oct 12 2011, 06:59 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Oct 12 2011, 12:38 AM)

D800. gogogo
Yup, will keep as much evidence as i could...

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 12 2011, 01:28 AM)
what happens when we purchase a stolen lens? do we need to return the lens to the rightful owner?
It happens to my friend in Australia once. He bought a 5Dmk2 from a shop for a local retail price approximately 3k AUD(brand new price). Then 1 day police go to his house say that DSLR is a stolen unit... Luckily he still kept the receipt to prove that he bought it from a shop. Now the shop sure kantoi laugh.gif laugh.gif

Does the camera goes back to rightful owner? No idea.
What happen to my friend? He got the refund from the police.

But again, this is what happens in Australia. I have totally no idea how the system works in Malaysia.
ifer
post Oct 12 2011, 08:35 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 11 2011, 04:53 PM)
Is there any sophisticated different between Nikon's pro grade lens, those golden rings vs Canon's pro grade lens, those red rings? unsure.gif

How about Sony? For Sony is Zeiss?
some photographers go for different system because of certain lenses that is 'exclusive' only to that system.
i.e. Nikkor 14-24 lens. EF TSE 17mm lens. etc etc...

i like my nikon because of the 14-24. but then again, i like my canon because of the 17 TSE arrghhhh...
celciuz
post Oct 12 2011, 10:00 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 11 2011, 10:52 PM)
There is a guide posted in the front page if I remember correctly.
But 17-55 f/2.8 for Canon is not regarded as a pro lens biggrin.gif
20 minutes max per single recording if I'm not mistaken. File size not really sure, but depending on your settings of course. I read that many recommended at least Class 6 and above for capturing video otherwise it'll fails when the buffer filled. SanDisk has a version which is Extreme Video Class 10 30Mb/s which so-called specialized for video.
I'm asking for lenses such as 24-70.

My friend's 7D also can take 1080p video on just a Sandisk Ultra II. Not really a big issue for video writting, IMO shooting burst with RAW is the one that is testing the buffer and also memory card write rate.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 12 2011, 01:17 AM)
The 50mm f/1.8G is sharp, better built? better bokeh? better IQ? and have distance scale.
Wrong comparison. 50mm focal length lenses are easier to manufacture which explains the lower pricing. You should compare the 35mm f/1.8G (DX) against the old 35mm f/2D (FX). FX lens are generally more pricey than DX, and you must be comparing the same focal length since different focal length have different manufacturing cost.

QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 12 2011, 08:35 AM)
some photographers go for different system because of certain lenses that is 'exclusive' only to that system.
i.e. Nikkor 14-24 lens. EF TSE 17mm lens. etc etc...

i like my nikon because of the 14-24. but then again, i like my canon because of the 17 TSE arrghhhh...
My friend uses a convertor to use the 14-24 on his 5Dmk2, maybe you can try it too then no need to keep 2 systems.
ifer
post Oct 12 2011, 10:14 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 12 2011, 10:00 AM)
My friend uses a convertor to use the 14-24 on his 5Dmk2, maybe you can try it too then no need to keep 2 systems.
yeah i have heard of it. i am just waiting for this latest generation of camera. see what do they offer...
ikki9394
post Oct 12 2011, 10:20 AM

NexT
582 posts

Does it give as good quality as using it on the same system? Does that mean I can use canon 24-70 on a nikon since it is cheaper lol? But i guess it will look kinda weird tho... Haha sry for the noob question here...
Agito666
post Oct 12 2011, 10:27 AM

11,861 posts

see how is the price of new up coming replacement first...if the body price is exceed the FF lens i wanted to get next then i rather get lens first and saving up for body next while waiting the price drop XD
under some condition:
- if the camera shop got bundle FF lens, then i might thinking get body first while using cheapo lens / the bundle lens if the price is acceptable in my budget XD
- if body is too expensive i think get 24-70 better XD

if got spare money just repair my D70s XD

This post has been edited by Agito666: Oct 12 2011, 10:57 AM
ifer
post Oct 12 2011, 10:54 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Oct 12 2011, 10:20 AM)
Does it give as good quality as using it on the same system? Does that mean I can use canon 24-70 on a nikon since it is cheaper lol? But i guess it will look kinda weird tho... Haha sry for the noob question here...
the mount is not cheap. plus, you lost autofocus. i don't see the trouble. unless is canon don't have type of lens. or nikon don't have type of lens. and you really need that lens to save your life. if not, don't bother lah. get the nikkor 24-70 lah. (besides, nikkor 24-70 is nicer)
jchue73
post Oct 12 2011, 11:13 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 11 2011, 06:37 PM)
I like Vivid  wub.gif even for my portraits  laugh.gif
QUOTE(geekster129 @ Oct 11 2011, 06:39 PM)
So do I!
Errr... That's because Vivid does not do a single thing when you open your NEF under Lightroom. So whatever set is just placebo effect in your mind. It's the same effect like using Standard or Neutral picture style.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 11 2011, 06:47 PM)
Therefore, anyone care to share the knowledge for lens comparison?
I think it all boils down to surface coating / treatment. Where I work in a different industry, we do a lot of surface treatment on metals that we consider company secret / proprietary information. So chances of getting more info is close to non existent.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 11 2011, 08:47 PM)
Does it mean that the more elements in a lens construction, the sharper the image will be? Apple added another element into their camera phone and claim it will enhance the sharpness of the photo.
There is a point of diminishing returns. More elements can give a lot of rise to flare.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 11 2011, 10:18 PM)
24-70 f/2.8 non L or non gold ring?  laugh.gif
Got... Lens mug.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 11 2011, 10:52 PM)
But 17-55 f/2.8 for Canon is not regarded as a pro lens biggrin.gif
The prices screams of pro price.

I rather have non pro price on a no pro or pro grade lens. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 11 2011, 11:15 PM)
I also saw SriComp selling the 16GB at RM165 at Low Yat Plaza.
Very envious seeing SD cards selling much cheaper than CF. cry.gif

QUOTE(razuryza @ Oct 11 2011, 11:41 PM)
SD card so cheap... if CF.. rm165 also cant get 8GB... for the same model and speed
Usually CF is faster. I think fastest SD is only 30MB/s.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 12 2011, 12:11 AM)
but if ur lens is stolen, there are search sites that can trawl thru the exif data of phots online and see which pics contain ur lens serial number.
Really? Can you share which website is this? I never knew serial numbers of lenses and camera bodies are embedded in the EXIF?

Then when you put the 50mm on a DX body, some people will find that it becomes too "long". There goes the money spent on the 50mm...

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Oct 12 2011, 10:20 AM)
Good quality as using it on the same system? No idea but people are using Nikon's 14-24mm f/2.8 on their FF Canon bodies and getting better results than from their own Canon wide angle lenses. Does that not answer your question partially? biggrin.gif

You can use Nikon lenses on Canon bodies. Not the other way around unfortunately since Canon have bigger mount.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 12 2011, 10:27 AM)
The 24-70mm f/2.8 can be a little long on the D70s. Better test it out first before the 24-70mm f/2.8 becomes a white elephant investment.

QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 12 2011, 10:54 AM)
the mount is not cheap. plus, you lost autofocus. i don't see the trouble. unless is canon don't have type of lens. or nikon don't have type of lens. and you really need that lens to save your life. if not, don't bother lah. get the nikkor 24-70 lah. (besides, nikkor 24-70 is nicer)
The trend that I usually see is using Nikon wide angles on Canon FF bodies where you can afford to have manual focus only using hyperfocal technique. Metering works fine. On something like the 24-70mm, AF becomes more crucial.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Oct 12 2011, 11:15 AM
Andy214
post Oct 12 2011, 11:15 AM

3,308 posts

Wrong comparison. 50mm focal length lenses are easier to manufacture which explains the lower pricing. You should compare the 35mm f/1.8G (DX) against the old 35mm f/2D (FX). FX lens are generally more pricey than DX, and you must be comparing the same focal length since different focal length have different manufacturing cost.
Of course I know lor...

I think you miss the previous posting.

Agito want to upgrade to FF, D800, but worry lens price, so maybe should get lens first.

As current, he's using D70 with 35mm f/1.8G.
Seems he doesn't need zoom lens, so I suppose the one prime lens is enough for him?

So, if he move on to D800, he was asking if he can use the 35mm f/1.8G DX.

Hence, if he upgrade to FF, he can sell off his 35mm f/1.8G DX, and get the 50mm f/1.8G, which is similar as 35mm on DX body.... plus, it's cheaper and offers more...

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 12 2011, 10:27 AM)
see how is the price of new up coming replacement first...if the body price is exceed the FF lens i wanted to get next then i rather get lens first and saving up for body next while waiting the price drop XD
under some condition:
- if the camera shop got bundle FF lens, then i might thinking get body first while using cheapo lens / the bundle lens if the price is acceptable in my budget XD

if got spare money just repair my D70s XD
If you want 24-70, you'll be like paying for another D700.
I thought you use mostly the 35mm f/1.8G on your D70 now?
So, if you move to FF, you get the 50mm f/1.8G, is just like what you're using now, and it's not cheapo lens.

Added on October 12, 2011, 11:22 am
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 12 2011, 11:13 AM)
Usually CF is faster. I think fastest SD is only 30MB/s.
Malaysia got UHS-I already, 45mb/s.

In US, the Panasonic UHS-I offers up to 90mb/s but cost a bomb.

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 12 2011, 11:13 AM)
Then when you put the 50mm on a DX body, some people will find that it becomes too "long". There goes the money spent on the 50mm...
Urm... no... 50mm is put of FF body. Didn't ask him to buy 50mm now.
I said, when he upgrade FF, he can get the 50mm, which will work like his 35mm on DX.
So, he can stick to his DX and 35mm right now.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 12 2011, 11:22 AM

125 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.4712sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:15 AM