Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread V12, 1Darkside ! 1Nikon ! D800 rumor !

ifer
post Sep 21 2011, 04:33 PM

4,637 posts

nikon centre kuala lumpur is looking for someone to join the team that runs the nikon club malaysia. a website club that is organised by nikon centre kuala lumpur. they are looking for someone who knows a bit of design and of course have an interest in photography. plus good BM. please PM me if you are interested.

they are looking for a full timer.

thank you very much.

This post has been edited by ifer: Sep 21 2011, 04:36 PM
ifer
post Sep 22 2011, 02:42 PM

4,637 posts

i think the only way to know whether the nikon 1 are a successful system or not is to see the sales of these cameras.

well, it all boils down to sales right? no matter how good a particular camera is, if it's not selling, it's a bad camera. on the other hand, no matter how bad a camera is, if it's selling (like hot cakes) then it is a fantastic camera.

someone on nikonrumors stated that nikon is trying to create a inikon product. ipod, ipad etc nonsense. i hope he is wrong. i hate how apple are catering to the mass (i still can't forgive them for taking out the PCM slot from the macbook pro 15 inches model) and put a SD card slot.
ifer
post Sep 22 2011, 02:51 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Sep 22 2011, 02:45 PM)
dear all sifus, my D7000 just bought recently the built in flash has a yellow tint, is this normal?
zomg!

it's normal tongue.gif
ifer
post Sep 22 2011, 03:00 PM

4,637 posts

you know what, i feel like going to nikon PKNS and scream and the japanese!
ifer
post Sep 22 2011, 04:56 PM

4,637 posts

i don't see the benefit of a smaller sensor anymore lol
i thought it's supposed to be smaller sensor = smaller camera system. i guess i am wrong
ifer
post Sep 22 2011, 05:41 PM

4,637 posts

if i ever get this system, it's only the 10mm lens that i am getting...
ifer
post Sep 22 2011, 08:59 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 22 2011, 08:08 PM)
Quick Q, if order photography books from Amazon, do we get tax?
i have been buying books from them for 10 years. so far so good.
ifer
post Sep 28 2011, 10:20 AM

4,637 posts

eh the price for the 85mm 1.4G has been very consistent. i remember asking about it over at international and keycolor october last year and it was rm 4600
ifer
post Sep 29 2011, 08:41 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(coffeetea @ Sep 29 2011, 01:30 AM)
I am seriously considering to get a D7000, is there any not so "good" comments concerning this DSLR...compared to 60D?..
can't use L lenses
ifer
post Oct 3 2011, 09:39 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Oct 2 2011, 10:45 AM)
G! At only RM3600, probably the shop owner is giving me a good price since I know him well. His giving out free Hoya HD as well. Wonder should I get it or not. But my dad is against me at buying the 2nd hand lens  hmm.gif
woah that is cheap leh.
should get... don't think too much hehee
ifer
post Oct 5 2011, 10:40 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 4 2011, 12:30 PM)
i lol'ed when saw this comment in that post... laugh.gif

1. It’s so late, I’m switching to Canon!
2. I don’t need so many pixels, I’m switching to Canon!
3. Too bad high ISO, I’m switching to Canon!
4. Still a low-pass filter? I’m switching to Canon!
5. No low-pass filter? I’m switching to Canon!
6. No integrated grip? I’m switching to Canon!
7. No on-sensor phase detection focusing? I’m switching to Canon!
8. Only 4FPS? I’m switching to Canon!
9. No translucent mirror? I’m switching to SONY!
10. ……
………………
10. Didn't come in pink? I'm switching to Pentax.

QUOTE(liowyingzhuo @ Oct 4 2011, 08:28 PM)
juz wanna ask.. is fps really that important, to me, i think is not really important
I wanted to ask the same question hahaa. for sports/photojournalist/reporter photographer yes FPS is important but they don't use 36 freaking mega pixels right? 36 MP cameras are basically for studio/landscape photographers right?

btw, if the rumoured D800 image quality is as good or better than the D3x, i will get it in a heart beat. pair it with carl zeiss lenses
ifer
post Oct 5 2011, 12:42 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Oct 5 2011, 11:58 AM)
I dropped my D3100 camera from low height (from my knee level to earth)
The lense is ok but the body is defected. Open only 10%, 90% darkside already

Where is the best service outlet to go to? PJ or BTS?
BTS

Added on October 5, 2011, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(seather @ Oct 5 2011, 12:09 PM)
hiya all..

am planing to trade in my D90 soon for a D700 (if D700s/D800 come out by mid 2012 then i really doh.gif)

i need some opinion to pick my 1st FX lens... i primarily use my camera for shooting when traveling smile.gif

which do u guys think is best as a traveling lens??

1) AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

2) AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR

3) AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED

lets assume budget is not a problem ATM

thanks y'all in advance  notworthy.gif
1. D700 cost rm 5800 to 6200 now and if D800 is out, it will cost 300,000 yen according to nikonrumors.com. should be around rm 12,000. street price is cheaper so it should be like rm 10,500. there is a huge price difference here. are you prepared to pay?

2. D700 = 12MP whereas D800 = 36MP (according to nikonrumors.com again) do you need that high of resolution?

3. Please pair the D700/D700s/D800 or whatever awesome camera that you are planning to get with an equally awesome lens. is changing lenses a pain in the arse for you? if not, why don't consider prime lenses? is manual focus a pain in the arse for you? if not why don't consider carl zeiss? 24-70 lens is awesome by the way

This post has been edited by ifer: Oct 5 2011, 12:46 PM
ifer
post Oct 5 2011, 05:08 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(seather @ Oct 5 2011, 01:45 PM)
1. D700 then... 10k is definitely out of my range ....  even if it comes out now... i will have to wait for a couple of years for the price to drop.. sweat.gif

2. 12MP is enuff..  blush.gif i think the largest my pics will be displayed is on my 24" monitor as wall paper ... don plan to print posters...  tongue.gif

3. Yeap.. the D700 is an awesome body... it sud go wif the best lens... i am leaning towards 24-70 becoz of bigger aperture n better speed... since my camera is used for traveling mostly, so if can i  wanna bring along juz one lens... the D700 + 24-70 lens + bag is already around 2.5kg  sweat.gif
prime lens will be the 2nd lens to get once my wallet recovers.. the 50mm f1.4G looks good smile.gif
2. if it's for 24 inches monitor display nia hor, use your current DSLR and get some awesome lenses
ifer
post Oct 6 2011, 08:47 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 5 2011, 05:31 PM)
I would imagine that it would be better than the D3X. And the D4X would thump everybody else.
that is what i think too. if they can produce a d7000 (a d90 replacement) to be better than d300s, i don't see a reason why they can't produce a d800 (d700 replacement?) to be better than the d3s. this 36mp looks more like d800x, which is the small brother of the d3x.

celciuz, nikonrumors.com said there might be 2 version of the d800. perhaps one is 36mp another is 18mp.

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Oct 6 2011, 03:13 AM)
What did you expect from the spec? I expected faster shutter and higher ISO  unsure.gif
1/8000 second of a shutter speed is not fast enough for you?
ifer
post Oct 6 2011, 01:21 PM

4,637 posts

it was mentioned that the AA filter will be removed. means more micro details. canon will be pwned. hahaa

ifer
post Oct 6 2011, 01:26 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Oct 6 2011, 01:22 PM)
Sorry, I meant more frames per second. So it can also be a machine gun biggrin.gif
well, if you want faster FPS, you have to go for the lower MP camera.
look at the D3s and D3x cameras...

your choice of camera will not be the D800 (if 36MP is right)
you choice will be the D4 (which is for the sport photographers during the olympic 2012 and european cup 2012)
ifer
post Oct 6 2011, 01:51 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 6 2011, 01:28 PM)
Who knows if the new processor can handle 36MP at faster fps tongue.gif.

10MP, 60fps... 36MP at 8fps... maybe it is possible?
hahaa... if that's the case hor, i pity those who get this camera and use it at 8FPS. 64gb cards not enough. 10TB HDD not enough. but then again, they dont shoot it on RAW format right? so it's not a problem also
ifer
post Oct 8 2011, 10:15 AM

4,637 posts

kinda disappointed with the sales assistant in various shops.

went to sony and asked about the NEX 7. thought maybe got display set to see see or play play, they asked me back what is NEX 7? got NEX 3 and 5 nia.

went to digicolor and ask for step up rings they said they dunno what it is.

saw some stalls selling lexar and wanted to know what x200 speed is in terms of mb/s, they look at me and said it's 200 times faster than normal wan loh.

doh.gif
ifer
post Oct 12 2011, 08:35 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 11 2011, 04:53 PM)
Is there any sophisticated different between Nikon's pro grade lens, those golden rings vs Canon's pro grade lens, those red rings? unsure.gif

How about Sony? For Sony is Zeiss?
some photographers go for different system because of certain lenses that is 'exclusive' only to that system.
i.e. Nikkor 14-24 lens. EF TSE 17mm lens. etc etc...

i like my nikon because of the 14-24. but then again, i like my canon because of the 17 TSE arrghhhh...
ifer
post Oct 12 2011, 10:14 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 12 2011, 10:00 AM)
My friend uses a convertor to use the 14-24 on his 5Dmk2, maybe you can try it too then no need to keep 2 systems.
yeah i have heard of it. i am just waiting for this latest generation of camera. see what do they offer...

0.0545sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:21 AM