Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group
hasmidzul_jojo
Aug 3 2022, 07:57 PM

Hopefully the price not too steep and a GHz cpu speed.Wonder which chipset they will put inside?ipq6000 series maybe?I might buying one to replace my hap ac2.Been tinkering with openwrt,but seem favour to routeros.Suite my need,on my small house.
soonwai
Aug 3 2022, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(go626201 @ Aug 3 2022, 06:38 PM) Not sure what spec for the new hAP ax2. If like ax5000+ then i might get one for second floor wifi. If good enough and acceptable coverage then i going to replace my xiaomi ax3600 for ground floor. I got a feeling it’s going to be 2x2 80Mhz width which would be AX1800 at most. Unless they go full 160Mhz channel extensions. I found this wifi6 guide from Aruba. Quite handy to figuring out the ax numbers. https://www.arubanetworks.com/assets/so/Ref...ide_80211ax.pdfThis post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 3 2022, 08:06 PM
soonwai
Aug 3 2022, 09:38 PM
Thanks to hasmidzul_jojo for pointing out the video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRPKUDvNyjMhAP ax2 (RBD52Gi-5HaxD2HaxD-TC ?) • Took nearly forever. LOL. At least he admits it. • Should be IPQ6000 • Quad Core 1Ghz • MU-MIMO • WPA3 • 802.11ax dual chain (2x2) 80Mhz • AX1800 • 4.5 dBi gain in 2.4Ghz • 4 dBi gain in 5Ghz • 1GB Ram • 5 x GBe (1 is PoE in/out) • USB 3.0 port • DC 12-28v • No more rubbery finish like hAP ac2 So basically same performance class as Deco X20, Asus XD4 or DLink M15. Of course, RouterOS will be its strength. Price wise? RM400 each? X20 is RM520-580 for 2 units. This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 3 2022, 09:41 PM
mamakap
Aug 3 2022, 10:22 PM
Wow, interesting spec, and some more WiFi 6, can't wait it arrive in Malaysia.
soonwai
Aug 3 2022, 10:48 PM
Someone posted the link to the brochure in Mikrotik forums. https://mt.lv/hap_ax2
go626201
Aug 3 2022, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 3 2022, 10:48 PM) Someone posted the link to the brochure in Mikrotik forums. https://mt.lv/hap_ax2Should be able to "overclock" to 1.2 GHz. (IPQ6010)
soonwai
Aug 3 2022, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(go626201 @ Aug 3 2022, 11:02 PM) Should be able to "overclock" to 1.2 GHz. (IPQ6010)  Now just wait pricing, sked later T20 price.  Supposedly launch next week. Current Lazada Subtel prices: hAP ac2 RM388 hAP ac3 RM515 hAP Audience RM699 Where will ax2 slot in? Also curious to see block diagram and routing speeds. This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 3 2022, 11:12 PM
go626201
Aug 3 2022, 11:24 PM
For this spec,i might just skip this one 1st. and wait for an upgrade version. AX1800 quite low now,atleast ax3000 or ax3200 for future proof should be enough for most people. Although nowadays most people still didn't need high wifi speed,but a wifi router should last for more than 3years. (Since 2.5Gbe is be mainstream within 2-3years. China is starting to distribute affordable(still a little expensive) 2.5Gbe BTU for market in this years end,so 2024 or 2025 more people will also be using better internet)
For me i think one year one set is quite unacceptable for me. I change router about every 2-3years. (Next time should be around new series that replace RB5009 level,but i might be getting CCR series for whole house 10G network)
hasmidzul_jojo
Aug 4 2022, 12:09 PM

And again LTE18 and 5G router. With 2.5Gbe I cant afford this CODE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nm9RjNbZJjc
Anime4000
Aug 4 2022, 06:59 PM
is anyone have Private BGP ?
OlgaC4
Aug 10 2022, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 3 2022, 09:38 PM) Thanks to hasmidzul_jojo for pointing out the video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRPKUDvNyjMhAP ax2 (RBD52Gi-5HaxD2HaxD-TC ?) • Took nearly forever. LOL. At least he admits it. • Should be IPQ6000 • Quad Core 1Ghz • MU-MIMO • WPA3 • 802.11ax dual chain (2x2) 80Mhz • AX1800 • 4.5 dBi gain in 2.4Ghz • 4 dBi gain in 5Ghz • 1GB Ram • 5 x GBe (1 is PoE in/out) • USB 3.0 port • DC 12-28v • No more rubbery finish like hAP ac2 So basically same performance class as Deco X20, Asus XD4 or DLink M15. Of course, RouterOS will be its strength. Price wise? RM400 each? X20 is RM520-580 for 2 units. Don't think got USB 3.0port
soonwai
Aug 10 2022, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Aug 10 2022, 11:04 AM) Don't think got USB 3.0port Ya lor, no USB3 port according to the brochure and product page. https://mikrotik.com/product/hap_ax2Price is USD99. Not bad. Should be able to get below RM500 here.
OlgaC4
Aug 16 2022, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 10 2022, 12:52 PM) Ya lor, no USB3 port according to the brochure and product page. https://mikrotik.com/product/hap_ax2Price is USD99. Not bad. Should be able to get below RM500 here. Might get it for AP mode. capsman is fun
OlgaC4
Aug 16 2022, 04:20 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JB9aYqTNwlMThis is super useful. Maxis LTE line suddenly become faster. This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Aug 16 2022, 05:21 PM
haturaya
Aug 16 2022, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Aug 16 2022, 04:20 PM) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JB9aYqTNwlMThis is super useful. Maxis LTE line suddenly become faster. Shhhs...
OlgaC4
Aug 28 2022, 09:15 PM
CCTV and tapo plug connected can really mess up your ping which you cannot detect.
soonwai
Sep 14 2022, 11:48 AM
Anyone checked with other distris about hAP ax2? Talked to Sublime. <RM500 but ETA Jan 2023. :-(
This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 14 2022, 11:48 AM
mamakap
Sep 14 2022, 05:25 PM
Saw a few raputable Taobao seller started selling the hap ax2. Wow... for Malaysia need to wait until next year!!!
mdziaf
Sep 15 2022, 05:18 PM

Hey guys.. currently i have a mikrotik RB750g3 as my main router at home. I currently have 2 WAPs serving wifi for my house. And i also have a guest network served via a seperate vlan. One of the AP broadcasts the guest wlan and dhcp is all handled by the Mikrotik.
My question is if its ok to leave as it or should just utilize the guest network feature on the AP instead and let that AP handle the dhcp assignments etc for the guest network? Any downsides to doing this?