26 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

soonwai
post Feb 3 2012, 05:46 PM

11,454 posts

Hi, RB750GL noob here. I tried the "RB750G setup file for UniFi" from KLSEET.COM available at this URL http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=51&Itemid=49

but it's not working. The log shows that the PPPOE keeps dialing and terminating. Username and password are correct.

What's the best guide out these?

I'm trying on BIZ20 fixed IP and will try again tonight on VIP5 at home.

Any help appreciated.
soonwai
post Feb 3 2012, 11:10 PM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 3 2012, 05:50 PM)
can't comment about using the setup file, why dont you reset and configure it manually.. 1 by 1 following the screenshot ?
Was short on time at the office today so I thought I'd take the easy way out first. Will try the manual way tonight. Is the klseet.com guide a good place to start? Or is there another one?

EDIT: It's working! For some reason, possibly the KLSEET config file, the ethernet ports were reversed. Physical port 5 is Ether1 (where my vlan500 is attached). Earlier today I was connecting my BTU to physical port 1 which was actually Ether5-local-slave. I only noticed it just now in the logs (link up/link down messages) when I was plugging in the cables.

Going to do a reset and start everything from scratch. This time doing it manually.

Added on February 3, 2012, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 3 2012, 06:14 PM)
The Username is case sensitive. Make sure is same as per the Dlink router.
Got it. I think I have the case correct. Will double check tonight.

btw, where in winbox do I change the IP address of the RB750GL?

Added on February 4, 2012, 5:18 amAll's well now. Haven't had so much fun configuring a router.

One question, for BIZ20 fixed IP, do I just use normal PPPOE as I would for VIP5 dynamic IP? Or is there a proper way to configure fixed IP (with PPPOE authentication)?

One more, can I delete the DHCP Client that's running on ether1 (the WAN port)?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 4 2012, 05:18 AM
soonwai
post Feb 4 2012, 01:50 PM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Feb 4 2012, 09:54 AM)
just use normal pppoe,  the biz20 username is oledi linked to a fixed ip.

no matter how many times u reconnect.. it will be the same ip.
Thanks. Next is to figure out how to utilize the 2nd static IP that I have.
soonwai
post Feb 6 2012, 03:30 AM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Feb 4 2012, 06:03 PM)
Wow, this thread suddenly got lots of active users.

Good to know there are many other Mikrotik users out there.

I was wondering, I have seen a few users using "RB751U-2HnD". Where do you guys buy it from?
There's a sales thread in Garage Sales for this but I"m holding out for the RB751G-2HnD. Prefer to have GB ports.
soonwai
post Feb 9 2012, 08:40 PM

11,454 posts

Hi sifus,

What's the difference between Queue Trees and Simple Queues (from the context of traffic prioritization) ?

btw, I just found that there are a lot of tutorials for Mikrotik on 4shared.com. Just do a search for "Mikrotik". I think might be good for newbies like me. Most of them are in Bahasa Indonesia but not a prob for us.

Two more tools that I found during my Mikrotik R&D this week.

RouterOS monitoring tool in PHP: http://sourceforge.net/projects/rosinfo/
TikTool: iPhone app for monitoring RouterOS devices.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 9 2012, 08:46 PM
soonwai
post Feb 11 2012, 03:42 AM

11,454 posts

I've enabled uPNP on the RB750GL and it's working. Is there anywhere in winbox where I can see the ports that were created by uPNP?

Added on February 11, 2012, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(asellus @ Feb 10 2012, 12:45 PM)
Use simple queues to shape/limit/prioritize traffic, use queue trees to distribute bandwidth.
asellus, thanks, I still don't quite understand in what situation we should use one or the either. I've tried both the examples given on klseet.com and they both achieve the same thing so I'm happy. Currently I'm using Simple Queues. I'm under the assumption that this is faster/less CPU intensive if I only have a few Mangle rules.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 11 2012, 03:05 PM
soonwai
post Feb 12 2012, 12:55 AM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 11 2012, 10:29 PM)
How many equipments you have that need QoS?
Currently where I'm experimenting, which is in the house, there are 2 iPhones, 2 iPads, 3 computers, 2 AppleTVs and 1 Wii. I think that's all the stuff that gets on the net. The bandwidth hogs would be the 2 of the 3 computers and the 2 AppleTVs when they are in use.

I've been playing around with setting up the email and scripting. Just want to share this little script which I modified based on an example from the Mikrotik wiki.

All it does is email me the IP address if it's changed (along with uptime, cpu load & free mem).
It assumes the interface for UniFi is named "unifi" and that email has been setup.
I have it schedule to run at 1 min intervals.

After this I plan to integrate one of the sample dyndns.com scripts into this so that it updates my dyndns as well.

This RB750GL is so much fun. Sure beats playing with the kids. :-)

CODE
:global ddnsip
:global ddnslastip
:global strdate [/system clock get date]
:global strtime [/system clock get time]
:global strsystemname [/system identity get name]
:global strsystemuptime [/system resource get uptime]
:global strsystemfreemem [/system resource get free-memory]
:global strsystemcpuload [/system resource get cpu-load]
:if ([ :typeof $ddnslastip ] = nil ) do={ :global ddnslastip "0" }
:global ddnssystem ("Version-" . [/system package get system version] )
:global ddnsip [ /ip address get [/ip address find interface=unifi ] address ]
:if ([ :typeof $ddnsip ] = nil ) do={
  :log info ("DDNS: No ip address present on Unifi interface, please check.")
} else={
 :if ($ddnsip != $ddnslastip) do={
   /tool e-mail send to=user@example.com subject="UniFi IP $strdate $strtime $strsystemname" body="$strsystemname $strdate $strtime \rUniFi IP: $ddnsip \rUptime: $strsystemuptime \rFree memory: $strsystemfreemem kb \rCPU Load: $strsystemcpuload %" tls=yes
   :log info "DDNS: Sending UPDATE!"
   :global ddnslastip "$ddnsip"
 } else={
#    :log info "DDNS: No update required."
   }
}

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 12 2012, 01:06 AM
soonwai
post Feb 12 2012, 04:53 PM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 12 2012, 02:56 PM)
i use Mikrotik for basic connection only. Mostly use cisco for setting. Lazy to relearn another language unless required.

You don't have much machine. If it hog up, maybe you have too many torrent or p2p connection.
I only have one Mac torrenting. Just want to learn more about QoS. Not really having a problem with bandwidth hogs.

Added on February 12, 2012, 4:55 pm
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 12 2012, 04:46 PM)
go to the ip>firewall > connection and see how many connection are there...

me 1 user can have about 300 max.. and on average 150 connections

@weikee , cisco IOS , can do scripting ?
Currently, with 2 torrents downloading and 3 more seeding, I have 190 connections.

Sorry if sifus misunderstood me, I'm not having a prob with QoS but just trying to learn more about IP Mangles and when and where to use Simple Queues or Queue Trees.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 12 2012, 04:57 PM
soonwai
post Feb 12 2012, 05:08 PM

11,454 posts

Sorry, I've got another question. I'm using the QoS rules (Simple Queues) example from klseet.com which I'm still trying to understand. It prioritizes web traffic (port 80) into q1 and everything unspecified incl encrypted bittorrent traffic gets dumped into q7. All this seems to work.

My question is how do I mark FTP data connection? Port 21 is marked for q2 which works but passive FTP uses a dynamic port for the actual data connection. At the moment this gets marked into q7.

Sorry I'm so blur when it comes to this.
soonwai
post Feb 12 2012, 07:45 PM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 12 2012, 05:54 PM)
FTP is using dynamic port so is not easy to identify.  If you know specific FTP Server IP, you can than do QoS on destination IP.

BTW, putting port 80 as q1, if i use P2P HTTP tunneling it will go to your q1 smile.gif
weikee, thanks, but my FTP server and BT client is on the same Mac, same IP. I suppose I could:
1. Set the FTP server to non-passive.
2. Limit the passive FTP port range on my FTP server and mark those ports on the router.

Will connection-type=ftp catch passive FTP ports?

Will try that later and see how it's go.

As for HTTP tunneling, it's ok lah. I'm not trying to block my p2p, just want to queue them up so that web browsing & FTP has priority. FTP is only used occasionally by my mum to transfer stuff from my house to hers.
soonwai
post Feb 13 2012, 01:19 AM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 12 2012, 09:13 PM)
Wow, your mom very "in" woh. Know how to use FTP.
Not really lah. Now got plenty of easy to use dragndrop ftp clients. She just use it to copy over the TVB shows I download for her. Since I started mucking around with the QoS on the RB750GL, she's complaining it's slower than before. Anyway temporarily I've got her to sftp in to my server. That works OK since it's on port 22 and that's marked properly. Problem now is she can see all the folders on my HD. Have to go and chroot her login.

Added on February 13, 2012, 3:05 am
QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 12 2012, 07:45 PM)
Will connection-type=ftp catch passive FTP ports?

Will try that later and see how it's go.
Just tried it and it seems to work. FTP data transfer are now going into correct queue. Relevent parts of /IP Firewall Mangle below.

CODE

chain=prerouting action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=q2 passthrough=yes protocol=tcp in-interface=unifi port="" connection-type=ftp

chain=postrouting action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=q2 passthrough=yes protocol=tcp out-interface=unifi port="" connection-type=ftp

chain=prerouting action=mark-packet new-packet-mark=QoS_2 passthrough=no protocol=tcp in-interface=unifi connection-mark=q2

chain=postrouting action=mark-packet new-packet-mark=QoS_2 passthrough=no protocol=tcp out-interface=unifi connection-mark=q2

NB: You don't have to mark-connection and mark-packet. I was just doing that so I can see the results in my Connections table.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 13 2012, 03:12 AM
soonwai
post Feb 14 2012, 01:08 AM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 13 2012, 06:35 PM)
This is the code for ddns update
Thanks, I don't have have my own BIND server. I'm using dyn.com for my dyndns. Luckily there're plenty of examples on the wiki.

Added on February 14, 2012, 1:44 am
QUOTE(akmis @ Feb 13 2012, 05:44 PM)
Any one has experience setting up mikrotik for unifi biz with 5 fixed ip? how can i use the 5 ip?

Currently our RB750GL can only see 1 ip.
This is next on my todo list. I"m using BiZ20 with 2 fixed IPs. At the moment just using one of them. Hope we can share and learn.

Currently, how is your RB750GL set up to connect to UniFi? I'm using the usual PPPOE client to "dial" UniFi and letting it assign my fixed IP. I've always wondered if there's another way to do it.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 14 2012, 01:44 AM
soonwai
post Feb 14 2012, 04:32 PM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 14 2012, 11:37 AM)
When you got the IP after successful dial in PPPoE, what subnet did you get? 255.255.255.252? or 255.255.255.255  (/32 or /30) ?
Mine's 255.255.255.252 or /30
soonwai
post Feb 14 2012, 05:30 PM

11,454 posts

This is odd. I think I'm wrong about the subnet mask.

My fixed IP & mask as given by TM is x.x.x.65 & 66, mask 255.255.255.252.

x.x.x.65 is assigned by PPPOE. I added 66 in /ip address. Now traceroute completes for 66 and I can telnet to both IPs.

Just for the heck of it, I added 64 & 67 as well. These work as well. Seems like I have 4 fixed IPs. Hmmm. (63 & 68 doesn't)

From where on the RB750GL do you see the subnet mask given by PPPOE?

OK, I did a /ip address print and the PPPOE assigned IP is x.x.x.65/32.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 14 2012, 05:53 PM
soonwai
post Feb 15 2012, 01:45 AM

11,454 posts

For Mac users (& Linux too), I just found out today that winbox.exe works just fine with WineBottler. No need to boot-up Parallels or VMWare just to run it. Only thing that doesn't work is device discovery.

Added on February 16, 2012, 2:19 pmmfa333 plans to bring in the RB751G-HnD! Anybody planning to get one?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 16 2012, 02:19 PM
soonwai
post Feb 17 2012, 12:47 AM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 16 2012, 11:00 PM)
How much is the RB751G? Same price as the RB751U?

The CPU and FPS about the same, not worth to pay too much difference. Maybe RM 50 to 70 extra is ok.
It's listed in mfa333's thread already at RM380 so that's +100. But in his reply to my question, he said 350-380. Might be in by next week.

I called Landasan also, they say they're going to bring in at the end of Feb. But these guys cannot depend one. Last month I ask for RB750GL also say end of the month. Nothing in stock for now. I think they prefer doing training than selling hardware. Better margins.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 17 2012, 12:51 AM
soonwai
post Feb 17 2012, 10:02 AM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 17 2012, 09:44 AM)
Paying another RM 100 for all the same with just Giga port. To me not worth it. Maybe you have specific use for Gigaport but I don't see the use on my equipment.
I'm waiting to see if Landasan can bring in cheaper. Last time they were selling the RB750GL for RM210. 40 bucks less than the LYN.

You're using RB751U-HnD already right? Did you manage to solve the problem with the network throughput dropouts caused by high CPU usage by the Flash process?
soonwai
post Feb 17 2012, 11:28 AM

11,454 posts

I wanted a quick & simple way to monitor Tx & Rx rates for my local devices. There's Traffic Flow & Accounting in the RB750GL but I had no idea what they're for nor how to use them. I was going to ask here but thought I'd give it a try first. I checked the Mikrotik forums and found an example using Simple Queues to achieve that but it seems to interfere with my existing queues and only shows Rx rates. In the end I realize that I can do this by using IP Mangle. Maybe this will be useful to someone. My apologies if it's already common knowledge.

CODE
/ip firewall mangle print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
0  ;;; iMac
    chain=postrouting action=passthrough dst-address=10.0.1.7

1   chain=prerouting action=passthrough src-address=10.0.1.7

2  ;;; MBP
    chain=postrouting action=passthrough dst-address=10.0.1.8

3   chain=prerouting action=passthrough src-address=10.0.1.8

4  ;;; MacPro
    chain=postrouting action=passthrough dst-address=10.0.1.9

5   chain=prerouting action=passthrough src-address=10.0.1.9

Basically I just add 2 Mangle rules with a passthrough action for each IP address that I want to monitor. The result in winbox is this, which is exactly what I need.

I'm sure this has been done before. Am I doing it the right way? Or is there a better way to do this.

Added on February 17, 2012, 11:32 am
QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 17 2012, 11:11 AM)
I don't have dropping issue, Even using torrent for few hours did not have this problem. But I don't leave the equipments on 24x7, I usually off before leaving to work.
My mistake, it was JinXXX, post #130 in this thread. I remember he posted on the Mikrotik forums too.

@JinXXX did you manage to find out what cause the dropouts and solve it?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 17 2012, 11:32 AM
soonwai
post Feb 17 2012, 07:48 PM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 17 2012, 02:35 PM)
maybe u can help bump the thread in mk forum see if anybody tested out the 5.13 and is still having the problem or not

ps : i malas wan to test and swap back n forth.. just need my network to run and work.. smile.gif
Sure, I'll go bump it after this.

Added on February 17, 2012, 8:16 pmJinXXX: Have you read this thread? Something about RB751U first batch production problem and flashing LEDs. Might be related to your prob too.
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=58741&p=300632

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 17 2012, 08:16 PM
soonwai
post Feb 18 2012, 03:01 PM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 18 2012, 09:44 AM)
nope check already..

those batches are in the very early stages of the release way back in oct/nov...
I see, I suppose you've emailed MT support about this already? Did they reply?

Added on February 18, 2012, 5:10 pm
QUOTE(akmis @ Feb 13 2012, 05:44 PM)
Any one has experience setting up mikrotik for unifi biz with 5 fixed ip? how can i use the 5 ip?

Currently our RB750GL can only see 1 ip.
Hi akmis,
Have you found a solution to this yet?

I haven't had much time at the office where the BIZ20 is so I couldn't try this week but I've been reading up and maybe 2 possible solutions.

1. New routes
2. SRC-NAT

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 18 2012, 05:10 PM

26 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0293sec    1.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:28 AM