7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

go626201
post Jan 12 2018, 03:59 PM

1,882 posts

Soonwai,i had some question about changing the router for Mikrotik.
Is that really help with more stability of connection and better performance than normal consumer level's routers?
I am using ASUS AC66U,not the latest b1 version,but sometime the cpu usage is hitting above 90% with a bit more connection.
(Usage for home)
go626201
post Jan 13 2018, 12:29 AM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Jan 12 2018, 04:22 PM)
So how did you manage to hit 90% CPU load? I'm only able to hit like 70% when running multiple torrents on the exact same router.
Last month i just upgrade to 100mbps,and i use thunder(xunlei) download a torrent with 800++ connection and starting having connection issue,such as dns resolve failed on fb or some other page.
go626201
post Jan 13 2018, 11:30 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 13 2018, 06:42 PM)
3 things to consider in a router, the OS, RAM and CPU. Just like a PC. Mikrotik's RouterOS, is very stable. You can throw torrents, vlans, qos, filters, etc.. at it and it just keeps on going.

Next is RAM, everything uses a bit of RAM. BitTorrent, as you know, opens a lot of connections so having enough RAM is crucial, pun intended. The RB750Gr3, for example, has 256MB which doesn't seem a lot but is plenty, even for hard core home use.
Looking at my router's connection list, it says it has space for another 472000 connections.

Next is the CPU which determines how much bandwidth it can route. 100mbps is easy peasy for the RB750Gr3 with or without hardware accelerated NAT. It'll also determine what else you can do with the router like vlans, firewalls, QoS, etc...

Having said that, with a simple config, the RT-AC66U should be able to handle 100mbps with no sweat. Just make sure you have hardware NAT acceleration turned on and that you're not using any features that automatically disables HW NAT. I believe QoS may do that but I'm not very familiar with Asus. What firmware are you using with yours?
I am using hardware accelerated nat,without that the router can easily use 100% with about 200-300 connections.
And i am using the latest firmware which was updated in last month.
I just curious about if i change the mikrotik's router, is that possible getting more stability and performance than that?
go626201
post Mar 19 2018, 12:53 AM

1,882 posts

soonwai ,i had some problem with your auto refresh unifi ip scripts.
When i use it, it will terminate my connection,and getting new ip once.
And after that it will showing this in next line.
(
waiting for pppoe-server
no such item
)

Below is the terminal screen:
[admin@MikroTik] > /system script
[admin@MikroTik] /system script> run unifi_ip_range_60
Current IP: 147.158.198.82/32
Target: 60.0.0.0/8

147.158.198.82/32 is not in 60.0.0.0/8. Getting new IP. 00:00:10 delay
waiting for pppoe-server
no such item

After showing no such item,and it will stop running script.
(I am using the RB750Gr3)

This post has been edited by go626201: Mar 19 2018, 12:58 AM
go626201
post Mar 19 2018, 08:48 AM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 19 2018, 01:45 AM)
Seems I have the interface hard-coded.
CODE
Change:
    :Do {delay 2s; put "waiting for pppoe-server\a"} while=( [/interface get unifi running]=false)
to:
    :Do {delay 2s; put "waiting for pppoe-server\a"} while=( [/interface get [$if ] running]=false)

Can use already. Thanks for your helps.
go626201
post Mar 20 2018, 06:56 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 19 2018, 11:50 AM)
No problem. Just wondering what RouterOS you are on and if, in the running of the script or anywhere else, have you encountered a similar 'no such item' error but with (4) at the end. Like this "no such item (4)"
I am using Version 6.41.2.
This is the first time i use for the scripts function,since i just used it for 1month.
go626201
post Jun 13 2021, 11:07 PM

1,882 posts

Hi guys ,do you think this year will have a new generation(RB5011) to RB4011?

Currently using RB750Gr3-800Mbps Unifi,but sometimes the cpu burst to 40%,and vpn client sometimes fast sometimes slow.
I want to buy new mikrotik router but scared later the new generation one coming...And I will depressed....
go626201
post Jun 14 2021, 01:17 AM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Jun 14 2021, 12:51 AM)
Why don't consider use server / pc and install routeros 😏😏
That too high electric usage,and also need to buy license not worth i think.
go626201
post Jun 14 2021, 01:25 AM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Jun 14 2021, 01:19 AM)
But u got really high cpu performance 👍
the cost actually higher,because need to get the network card to compare with the router...
I know self-built very strong but overall not worth...
go626201
post Jun 15 2021, 05:19 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Jun 15 2021, 05:08 PM)
There is another same router called hEX S
I use this model with L2TP ipsec vpn 24/7 and the speec and processing is good, I got 100% bandwidth same as my subscription using VPN.
I use hEX,but i dont know why sometimes the ikev2/ipsec vpn will get 0 upload speed,i had try every method on the mikrotik forum...
waiting "RB5011" to try use internet without FastTrack...
go626201
post Jun 24 2021, 02:21 AM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 24 2021, 01:11 AM)
Guys, I like to replace my broken RB3011UiAS with CRS317-1G-16S+RM

My plan to connect several PC and Home Server with 10GbE Fiber for electrical shock isolation.

I notice that, CRS317-1G-16S+RM has only 800MHz Dual Core CPU which is lower than RB3011UiAS 1.4GHz Dual Core...
such 800MHz SoC similar to stock Maxis Archer C5v in term of performance.

temporary I use Archer C5v with Wi-Fi disabled, it seem hit very hard at on 800MHz SoC with 44% usage or more. if more client connected, it can hit 100% usage until VoIP driver get killed...

or 800MHz on CRS317-1G-16S+RM much better than Archer C5v ?
CRS should be mainly for Switch usage?
Get a RB4011/ + CRS309-1G-8S+IN ?
Or directly get this beast- CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS ?
go626201
post Jun 28 2021, 06:36 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(matrism @ Jun 28 2021, 06:03 PM)
Hi sifus..

Im thinking to replace my current router dir882 with mikrotik hex.

This is my plan setup
Hex-> wired to both asus xt8 main and node

Hex will control dhcp server etc.. and xt8 act as an AP

Im using 1gbps time.. is this ok?
Better get hAP ac². A bit stronger processor then hEX. (Just disable the Wifi function and all similar to hEX.)

Edit:
Or hAP ac³ with bigger storage- nand flash(128MB) and ram . most older mikrotik router only have 16MB Flash storage.

This post has been edited by go626201: Jun 28 2021, 06:54 PM
go626201
post Jul 21 2021, 01:05 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Jul 21 2021, 08:17 AM)
This explains why prices for RB4011iGS routers drops in the last couple of weeks. Better save saving money now.
Finally, i almost want to buy the RB4011 already,thanks for your news.
If i didn't saw your post i might buy it on 25 July from shopee... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Wonderful setup. brows.gif

This post has been edited by go626201: Jul 21 2021, 01:05 PM
go626201
post Jul 22 2021, 04:49 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Jul 22 2021, 01:35 PM)
Should be available very shortly from now. If Australians prices to be taken into context, Malaysia's prices should be similar to RB4011iGS when it first appears in SubTel's shop.
I already ask SubTel on shopee,but seems like they still didn't have estimate time for RB5009.
go626201
post Aug 5 2021, 12:40 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(megablur @ Aug 5 2021, 09:50 AM)
Guys, I have checked with a Mikrotik Disty for the RB 5009. The product is ready for importation. You can contact them for booking. RSP is RM948.00. I have already indicated my intention to get one. It is not listed on their site yet.

https://ecommerce.synchroweb.com/index.php?...rmation/contact
Got estimated stock time?
I just asked Subtel too,waiting for their replies.

Edit:
I had order from Subtel, estimated times - 3-5 weeks.
Order Price : RM999 included delivery fee.

This post has been edited by go626201: Aug 5 2021, 03:27 PM
go626201
post Aug 13 2021, 03:48 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(megablur @ Aug 13 2021, 03:13 PM)
I just asked, the indication is around 2 weeks if they can consolidate a minimum order qty of 10 units. *provided the shipment process is not delayed.
So should be similar timeframe to Subtel, already one weeks past,so 2-4 weeks later will delivered.
Because I saw from mikrotik forum,seems like RouterOS 7 will be public release on 23 August 2021 Europe time. (So should be on 24 Aug 2021 in Malaysia)
go626201
post Aug 19 2021, 08:34 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(cwtien @ Aug 19 2021, 08:14 PM)
Hi all, I've been doing some speedtest on my Mikrotik Hex S.  It seems that I can only go up to ~ 160 Mbps download speed on the router.  At the router side, 1x CPU core is running at 100%.  Also, when I tried using 2 different computers to run speedtest (speedtest.tm.com.my), it is still one stream.

It seems like:
1- network packets to/fomr a website only uses 1 core.
2- 1 core limit is ~ 160 Mbps.

Has anyone successfully pushed the Hex S to beyond 160 Mbps in a single core with speedtest?
Did you enable fasttrack? i think without fasttrack run about 200+mbps is normal. (To be clear i am using hEX)
go626201
post Aug 23 2021, 12:35 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(megablur @ Aug 23 2021, 12:31 PM)
Anybody managed to get the RB5009 already? Please share review.
Still haven't reach Malaysia i think...
Some country got stock on 3 September 2021.
So should need 1-2 more week to arrive...

I waiting Subtel to inform the status.
I Pre-order from Subtel already.
(Seems like if this batch finish need wait until November to get the new batch)
go626201
post Oct 5 2021, 02:11 PM

1,882 posts

After 2 full months of waiting, finally get my RB5009 from Subtel. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by go626201: Oct 5 2021, 03:39 PM
go626201
post Oct 5 2021, 10:49 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Oct 5 2021, 10:47 PM)
thats nice dude, how its perform?
So far so good, 800mbps with below 10% CPU usage.
But currently cant connect to Unifi IPv6,still try to figure out the problem...

either Unifi not giving me the IPv6 address or ROS7 is having problem, no matter what i try it does not get prefix from unifi... bangwall.gif

Edit:
In the end,it is a mikrotik bugs on ROS7...

This post has been edited by go626201: Oct 6 2021, 11:24 AM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:45 AM