Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

106 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group (Enterprise Networking)

views
     
TSeric_tan
post Sep 20 2011, 05:23 PM, updated 5y ago

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
257 posts

Joined: Feb 2005


Mikrotik Routers

History (About us taken directly from Mikrotik website)

QUOTE
MikroTik is a Latvian company which was founded in 1995 to develop routers and wireless ISP systems. MikroTik now provides hardware and software for Internet connectivity in most of the countries around the world.

Our experience in using industry standard PC hardware and complete routing systems allowed us in 1997 to create the RouterOS software system that provides extensive stability, controls, and flexibility for all kinds of data interfaces and routing.

In 2002 we decided to make our own hardware, and the RouterBOARD brand was born. We have resellers in most parts of the world, and customers in probably every country on the planet.

Our company is located in Riga, the capital city of Latvia and has 80 employees.
Background
Mikrotik are famous for their RouterOS and also their RouterBoard hardware. Their products are affordable yet featured pack. In the SEA region, Indonesia ISP uses these Mikrotik routers in their backend. In fact if you Google about Mikrotik, Indonesia has a huge user base.

Over here in Malaysia, these Mikrotik routers became famous when Unifi was launched. At that time, Mikrotik routers had support VLAN tagging, and was one of the most affordable ones around. With VLAN tagging, it allowed the user to replace TM provided router with their own, while retaining both internet access and IPTV service.

RouterOS
RouterOS can be installed on a PC or on Mikrotik hardware, or better known as RouterBoard. You can read about the featuers of RouterOS with this PDF file from Mikrotik.

Their RouterOS comes in many versions from Level 0 to Level 6. Read the difference of each level here.
You may try and download the Level 0 which is a full featured RouterOS, but with a 24 hour limit.

RouterBoard
RouterBoard are special hardware platform manufactured by Mikrotik.
You can view all their hardware on their routerboard.com website.
You could also view the hardware features by viewing this PDF from Mikrotik.

You are able to interface with your RouterBoard via one of the following methods
| WinBox via IP or MAC address
| Web Interface via IP
| SSH via IP
| Telnet via IP
| Terminal via Serial connection (selected models) [This is OLD SKOOL]

Where to buy Mikrotik
Malaysia Distributor: Landasan Teknologi (M) Sdn Bhd (website)
Malaysia: Computer Zone
From Singapore: Just google Mikrotik Singapore and you'll get a few online retailers
From Lowyat Forum: Just do a forum search and you'll find some sellers

I have a Mikrotik and I need some help!
Start by visiting Mikrotik's Wiki page. For most home users, you'll find instructions with sample codes available.
Their Wiki pages also has lots of interesting articles, discussion topics as well as advance routing concepts.
If you are unable to find what you need, please try your best friend Google.
Or you could just post on this thread, and we'll hopefully someone who is expert enough to help.

Certification
There are basically 6 certification available. More info here.

MTCNA - MikroTik Certified Network Associate
MTCRE - MikroTik Certified Routing Engineer
MTCWE - MikroTik Certified Wireless Engineer
MTCTCE - MikroTik Certified Traffic Control Engineer
MTCUME - MikroTik Certified User Management Engineer
MTCINE - MikroTik Certified Inter-networking Engineer

Next Course in Malaysia
MTCNA | 3 to 6 Oct 2011 | Organised by Spectrum Indonesia

Past Course in Malaysia
MTCNA | 5 to 7 July 2011 | Organised by Landasan Teknologi

Pros / Cons of Mikrotik Routers
+ Affordable hardware
+ Full featured routerOS with enterprise features
+ Hotspot with Radius support
+ etc

- Need to have basic networking knowledge to setup
- Advance setting require someone with good RouterOS knowledge
- Not for the ordinary home user

Facebook Mikrotik User Group (MUG)
I started MUG on Facebook because a few friends/users asked me to.
However I believe that the forum format would be easier for discussion.

Interesting Facts
Did you know that KLIA's free Hotspot service is service by Mikrotik hardware?

This post has been edited by eric_tan: Oct 4 2011, 12:09 PM
TSeric_tan
post Sep 20 2011, 05:34 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
257 posts

Joined: Feb 2005


Mikrotik & RouterOS owner list

soonwai = RB750GL, RB751U-2HnD
eric_tan = RB750GL, RB751G-2HnD x2, RB433UAH +R52 wifi, RB433 + R52 wifi
DeLarafi = RB750, RB750GL, RB 951 2N
Arul = RB1100 , RB450, RB750G, RB433 and RB433AH
billytong = RB750G, RB250GS

[PM me to add to list]

This post has been edited by eric_tan: May 29 2013, 11:35 PM
yushin
post Sep 21 2011, 02:45 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
3,087 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: U5,SA,Selangor


Additional information of Microtik product availability.

I have seen Microtik price quote in C-zone in digital mall.
TSeric_tan
post Sep 21 2011, 05:48 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
257 posts

Joined: Feb 2005


Just checked and yes C-Zone has Mikrotik products under the Unifi category.

Yesterday I just asked the price from Landasan on the following product:-

| RB750GB @ RM210 + RM10 courier charges
arul_sr
post Sep 21 2011, 05:53 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
33 posts

Joined: Aug 2005



Nice group, build community for mikrotik malaysia..
i'm using mikrotik for all my networks backend.. smile.gif


TSeric_tan
post Sep 21 2011, 06:06 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
257 posts

Joined: Feb 2005


arul_sr can I ask what series of the RouterBoard do you use as backend?

Your is PC or RouterBoard?
arul_sr
post Sep 21 2011, 08:09 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
33 posts

Joined: Aug 2005



i'm using Rb1100 , rb450, rb750g also rb433 and rb433ah
before this use x86 too..
TSeric_tan
post Sep 21 2011, 08:25 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
257 posts

Joined: Feb 2005


Wow, all the TOP end stuff..... nice...

I actually have question, is the RB750G any good?

I actually have the RB433 but is wondering how does the RB750GL compare to it?

Because the RB750GL is very cheap, want to help friend setup hotspot service at his place.
arul_sr
post Sep 21 2011, 09:32 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
33 posts

Joined: Aug 2005



rb750g also ok, better than 750..huhu..try handle 1000-3000connection still proc below 50%, but at 750 1000 connection hang....

rb433 and rb433AH i using for wireless..insert radio card inside rb for point to point and multipoint bridging..

rb750gl not tested..but sure ok..


Added on September 23, 2011, 9:41 pmif any user or forumer from lowyat.net want a local training mikrotik just tell me.. min 10 user.. but certificate local only..not proper certificate.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by arul_sr: Sep 23 2011, 09:41 PM
TSeric_tan
post Sep 25 2011, 09:00 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
257 posts

Joined: Feb 2005


Arul: bro you do much scripting with Mikrotik?

billytong
post Sep 25 2011, 12:19 PM

Lord Sauron
*******
Senior Member
4,522 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Mordor, Middle Earth.


hmm both my RB750G, RB250GS collecting dust now. :>

my old router still havent spoil. been trying to fully use it till spoil...

This post has been edited by billytong: Sep 25 2011, 12:20 PM
arul_sr
post Sep 25 2011, 10:33 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
33 posts

Joined: Aug 2005



QUOTE(eric_tan @ Sep 25 2011, 09:00 AM)
Arul: bro you do much scripting with Mikrotik?
*
what script do you want to know bro?
MX510
post Sep 26 2011, 05:35 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
*******
Senior Member
3,848 posts

Joined: Aug 2005
From: Earth



Great we have a group here also selling mikrotik stuff :-) partner with arul_sr

Centralized Mikrotik WiFi Radius server will be up this week


TSeric_tan
post Sep 26 2011, 08:12 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
257 posts

Joined: Feb 2005


QUOTE(arul_sr @ Sep 25 2011, 10:33 PM)
what script do you want to know bro?
*
I completed my sript.

Because RouterOS only takes IP, but I want to have a script that resolves the domain name and then updates the IP address accordingly.
raptar_eric
post Sep 26 2011, 05:33 PM

Live life to the fullest!
******
Senior Member
1,271 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: Kuala Lumpur



sifus for the Mikrotik RB750GL, is it possible to create a IP v6 network with it, rather than running on a v4 network? ppl recommend me the 750GL cause some said it can have a full IP v6 network running on it smile.gif plz advise fellow sifus.. need it for research purposes

This post has been edited by raptar_eric: Sep 26 2011, 05:34 PM
arul_sr
post Sep 27 2011, 05:11 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
33 posts

Joined: Aug 2005



QUOTE(eric_tan @ Sep 26 2011, 08:12 AM)
I completed my sript.

Because RouterOS only takes IP, but I want to have a script that resolves the domain name and then updates the IP address accordingly.
*
for dyndns bro?
can you paste your script here smile.gif
JinXXX
post Sep 27 2011, 08:51 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,483 posts

Joined: Feb 2007
From: Uarla Umpur



QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Sep 26 2011, 05:33 PM)
sifus for the Mikrotik RB750GL, is it possible to create a IP v6 network with it, rather than running on a v4 network? ppl recommend me the 750GL cause some said it can have a full IP v6 network running on it smile.gif plz advise fellow sifus.. need it for research purposes
*
did you even try looking at the mikrotik wiki ?

check here http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IPv6
TSeric_tan
post Sep 27 2011, 09:58 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
257 posts

Joined: Feb 2005


QUOTE(arul_sr @ Sep 27 2011, 05:11 AM)
for dyndns bro?
can you paste your script here  smile.gif
*
yes sort of.

Scripts I taken from the following link and modify. Not that hard, just need to use the "resolve" function only

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Scripting-examples

QUOTE
And here is a script that will resolve ip address, compare resolved ip with configured one and replace if not equal:

/system script add name="resolver" source= {

:local resolvedIP [:resolve "server.example.com"];
:local radiusID [/radius find comment="myRad"];
:local currentIP [/radius get $radiusID address];

:if ($resolvedIP != $currentIP) do={
   /radius set $radiusID address=$resolvedIP;
   /log info "radius ip updated";
}

}


This post has been edited by eric_tan: Sep 27 2011, 09:59 AM
arul_sr
post Sep 27 2011, 11:11 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
33 posts

Joined: Aug 2005



QUOTE(eric_tan @ Sep 27 2011, 09:58 AM)
yes sort of.

Scripts I taken from the following link and modify. Not that hard, just need to use the "resolve" function only

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Scripting-examples
*
after create the script, you must add scheduler to run
at your script i think no problem..
did you see the log bro?
TSeric_tan
post Sep 27 2011, 02:31 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
257 posts

Joined: Feb 2005


QUOTE(arul_sr @ Sep 27 2011, 11:11 AM)
after create the script, you must add scheduler to run
at your script i think no problem..
did you see the log bro?
*
Yes you need to add to scheduler to run (I assume you already know)

Yah, I use the log to do debugging. No problem.

*I didnt use that script, I modified that script to use for my purpose

106 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0512sec    1.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th November 2019 - 12:38 PM