124 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

CLOSED

SouLRenderZ
post Sep 14 2011, 06:24 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 14 2011, 01:24 PM)

6) Crazy price if you know friends working in Dell

Dell has changed their policy on the Employee Purchase Programs. The new discount rates aren't that great anymore. cry.gif

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Sep 14 2011, 06:09 PM)
I want to ask more about samsung dead pixel policy. It looks like you can only ask for warranty if the samsung LCD contains more than 7 dead pixels, but some people say you can actually ask the shop that you buy from to do 1 to 1 exchange within 7 days. Does this 1 to 1 exchange really work? I'm talking about when the LCD that I buy has about 1-2 dead pixel and ask for replacement.
It all depends on the vendor u purchase it from. Always ask the vendor before hand if they will change the monitor should there be a dead pixel. Preferably inspect the monitor immediately upon purchase.
Raki
post Sep 14 2011, 06:52 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Sep 14 2011, 05:32 PM)
Ops... Sorry... I overlooked on the TN for ST2420L.

I know LED and LCD diff... I also know LED very slim. Ha! Ha! In term of outlook.
But in term of performance... I am not sure.
To answer your question (thanks...).
I am going to use it for all rounder. Some games, some movies and surely some photo editing.
I have an iMac 24" now. I also have a old AMD Antlon 939 3200+ running with a Dell 19" LCD. Can't remember the model but it is not the Wide type.

But Anyway... I am building a new rig so planning to get a new monitor to accompany it.
Expected to fork out below RM1k for the monitor but if can go around the RM600 mark, I'd be glad too.
After sales service... hmm... touch wood... I don't mind visit once or twice to solve problem but if gonna be like in and out many times... then surely...
So... that is about it.
It seems like you still getting it wrong.
LED and LCD are totally different technologies and we are not comparing that.
Instead, we are talking abt LED backlighting and CCFL backlighting. The light source for the LCD monitor.
AlamakLor
post Sep 14 2011, 07:04 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(Raki @ Sep 14 2011, 07:52 AM)
It seems like you still getting it wrong.
LED and LCD are totally different technologies and we are not comparing that.
Instead, we are talking abt LED backlighting and CCFL backlighting. The light source for the LCD monitor.
It's surprisingly how many people fall for this. ZOMGWTFBBQ@!#!@#!@#!@ LED > LCD.

I was once at Bestbuy Canada and I wanted to buy the top end LG LCD and this salesman was saying that I should get the LED version, I asked him why and he said it's better. I asked him how is it better and he couldn't answer me. I told him, "guy, it's not better." Most of the "LED" out there are just LCD with LED backlight and they have their share of issues. Edge-lit LEDs are known to have WORSE backlight evenness compared to CCFL LCD.

Even with a FULL ARRAY LED display, the display usually suffers black crush and light smearing.

LED backlight only has these advantages:

1) Lower power consumption (when is this even an issue in Malaysia?)
2) Thinner design

Period.

If anybody was given a choice between a CCFL IPS and an LED TN, and the person goes home with the LED TN, I'd seriously have to LMAO.

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Sep 14 2011, 07:06 PM
Raki
post Sep 14 2011, 07:50 PM

311 posts

Reading thru this I fell like writing an article about the difference in LCD tech. But I'm not going to, instead this website sums up all that I wanted to say
http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/speccontent.htm

@alamak
this is why I was abit sad that when I ordered and paid for a U2311H CCFL backlight but instead I received a U2314HM led backlight. but I think I'm fine now.
u also forgot to add LED backlight panels do not contain mercury compare to CCFL or CCFL panel burn out slightly faster or LED backlit can do instant on (if that matters)

@back to topic
Not all LED backlit are bad but the most LED backlit monitor are using the edge backlight with white LED (W-LED) which is what alamak is talking about.
As there are also professional level monitor that utilise LED backlighting but those are usually Red Green Blue LED (RGB LED) and those also have their pros and cons, mainly cost
-kytz-
post Sep 14 2011, 11:17 PM

12,573 posts

Which would be better to connect my laptop to a U2311H

Display port to Display port

OR HDMI to DVI?

I'm also looking at price as a factor also lol. So roughly how much for each?

Do help!
everling
post Sep 14 2011, 11:43 PM

3,591 posts

You can try the VGA cable first if your laptop has the port. If there are no problems, the VGA cable will deliver equally to DVI or DP for 1080p.
Raki
post Sep 15 2011, 12:09 AM

311 posts

if u r talking abt U2311H, DVI and VGA cable are provide by the monitor. So technically, DVI should be superior over VGA due its pure digital end to end connection btw ur gpu and monitor vs VGA's transmission of analogue signal which maybe more vulnerable to EM interference. In pratice, it depends. I would say VGA are ok if they are short. So try what ever fit best for u.

DP to DP cable and HDMI to DVI should technically provide the same quality for u since u r only using it at 1080p res and those 2 are digital output. So just pick which ever suits ur budget
EvanKeat
post Sep 15 2011, 12:57 AM

296 posts

agree with u guys! this talk of LED and LCD, are all marketing n promo talk. One should understand the primary purpose of the monitor i.e. game, photo editing or movie than choose the best display for it own use.

For me will be photo editing, just hv to wait for dell to give special pricing on the 27'

wildwestgoh
post Sep 15 2011, 07:59 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(EvanKeat @ Sep 15 2011, 12:57 AM)
agree with u guys! this talk of LED and LCD, are all marketing n promo talk. One should understand the primary purpose of the monitor i.e. game, photo editing or movie than choose the best display for it own use.

For me will be photo editing, just hv to wait for dell to give special pricing on the 27'
wow.. 27' (feet), that's huge, where can I find it at Dell? tongue.gif
Anyway, this LCD and LED talk will have no ends unless the marketing changes its tactic and educate those n**b sales person the right way, and will finally to the end-consumer, some of my friends still asking me (after few times and already bought one) about LED vs LCD... my gosh doh.gif
WLED backlight technology still far from perfect, which is why some IPS fan or enthusiast still stick with CCFL, and high-end IPS panel still using CCFL, but RGB-LED will probably take the lead, and with cost getting lower, we might see RGB-LED mainstream on high-end IPS panel in maybe 5 years to come? flex.gif
Until then we shall train our eyes to the WLED, or use colorimeter to correct it, less Blue/Green to compensate the blue-ish colour. High-end IPS will stay with its super-weight champion for a while. whistling.gif
BeastX
post Sep 15 2011, 10:32 AM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 14 2011, 07:04 PM)
LED backlight only has these advantages:

1) Lower power consumption (when is this even an issue in Malaysia?)
2) Thinner design

Period.
3) Longer Life-Span @ more stable light.. not turning yellowish when aged.
newuserex
post Sep 15 2011, 10:50 AM

キャッハハ…キャハハッキャッ……キャハハ…
546 posts

Good thing I'm using LED, now planning to get IPS LED monitor near the end of this year, who know Dell got Christmas promotion that time.
FiragaZ
post Sep 15 2011, 11:00 AM

No Pain No Gain
1,745 posts

---Deleted---

This post has been edited by FiragaZ: Sep 15 2011, 11:00 AM
AlamakLor
post Sep 15 2011, 11:03 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Sep 14 2011, 12:43 PM)
You can try the VGA cable first if your laptop has the port. If there are no problems, the VGA cable will deliver equally to DVI or DP for 1080p.
Absolutely no freaking way that VGA would deliver equal quality to DP/DVI. DVI and DP are digital signals and always deliver much sharper and crispier image. Try it and look at the fonts. I'd never use VGA cable, use digital whenever possible. As for DP vs DVI vs HDMI, those would deliver exact quality.
post Sep 15 2011, 12:14 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 15 2011, 11:03 AM)
Absolutely no freaking way that VGA would deliver equal quality to DP/DVI. DVI and DP are digital signals and always deliver much sharper and crispier image. Try it and look at the fonts. I'd never use VGA cable, use digital whenever possible. As for DP vs DVI vs HDMI, those would deliver exact quality.
then by this weekend i should get the dvi-hdmi converter in order to use dvi cable cry.gif
H4XF4XTOR
post Sep 15 2011, 12:31 PM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

windows 8 dev coming out.. so want to know,for now.whats the price for touch screen monitor
Ken.shin-
post Sep 15 2011, 12:35 PM

475 posts

have a u2312hm, i want to utilize dvi, but my computer only has hdmi port remaining. is this( http://www.lelong.com.my/high-quality-hdmi...7-01-Sale-I.htm ) what i need to get the job done?

This post has been edited by Ken.shin-: Sep 15 2011, 12:35 PM
AlamakLor
post Sep 15 2011, 12:52 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(Ken.shin- @ Sep 15 2011, 01:35 AM)
have a u2312hm, i want to utilize dvi, but my computer only has hdmi port remaining. is this( http://www.lelong.com.my/high-quality-hdmi...7-01-Sale-I.htm ) what i need to get the job done?
That's correct.
Ken.shin-
post Sep 15 2011, 12:59 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 15 2011, 12:52 PM)
That's correct.
thanks a bunch biggrin.gif

everling
post Sep 15 2011, 01:15 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 15 2011, 11:03 AM)
Testing with a U2410 (DVI) and a U2412M (VGA), with the displays duplicated, the fonts look just as crisp, sharp and unmoving to me. I have no difficulty reading from either monitors for hours on end.

Please teach me on how to detect and identify VGA problems. notworthy.gif
SouLRenderZ
post Sep 15 2011, 01:43 PM

84 posts

Well iirc, the difference between VGA and DVI start becoming apparent at higher resolutions. DVI transfers signals in digital while VGA does so in analog. As a result, data loss is reduced when using DVI. But as far as lower resolution goes, the difference wont be visible to the naked eye. Also, from what I gather VGA seem to only be able to handle resolutions up to 2048x1536 on most monitors while DVI can go much higher but then again that might be due to certain monitor limitations.

124 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0339sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:33 AM