Raki
post Sep 6 2011, 01:23 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 5 2011, 01:12 PM)
My monitors. 70" in total, Dell 2007FP / Dell U3011 / Dell 2007FP. 4960 x 1600
nice setup drool.gif

and owikh84 is right, its roughly 52" as it is counted based on the diagonal viewpoint of the screen

but is monitor inch size still relevant these days for pc monitor? since what we usually care about is the total pixel resolution. *my opinion*
Raki
post Sep 6 2011, 01:45 AM

311 posts

actually wat was the problem with eyefinity? curious to ask
Raki
post Sep 6 2011, 11:04 AM

311 posts

plus some more for a frame or something to hold the LCDs in the
PPP
PPP position
Raki
post Sep 6 2011, 05:58 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Sep 6 2011, 05:49 PM)
Bro, how you get the discount? from dell website?
use this code JFDLCN701KHK0S , expiring on 8 spet
Raki
post Sep 6 2011, 06:26 PM

311 posts

hmm... wondering as well. but my guess might be talking with a sales representative?
Raki
post Sep 7 2011, 12:45 PM

311 posts

i think he meant by tweaking around within the monitor's OSD (like the brightness, contract, custom RGB setting etc)
Raki
post Sep 7 2011, 02:56 PM

311 posts

hit me up if u r selling ur spyder, currently interested in taking my first steps proper color calibrations tongue.gif

true, u can getting very close to matching but never perfectly matching but never experience myself thou. at least better than nothing

i remember seeing a garage sale on deskmounts but aesthetically, ergotron wins but too expensive cry.gif than again, functionality shuld be the main focus. I bet some furniture shops that specialise in office supplies might have
Raki
post Sep 9 2011, 09:16 PM

311 posts

same reason here that I got the U2311H and not the U2312HM. I hope I won't regard getting the last batch. brows.gif
Raki
post Sep 11 2011, 01:37 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Sep 11 2011, 12:26 AM)
I heard that the LG monitor has a horrible stand biggrin.gif.

If you prefer stand functionality and the industrial sort of look then the Dell U2312HM would be the way to go. smile.gif
I won't say horrible but its just that the U2312HM is more functional

QUOTE(Wii_hunter @ Sep 11 2011, 01:20 AM)
What are good ways to test monitors? To check for dead pixels, different colour tint etc.?
try using this
http://www.vanity.dk/tft/monitorTest_scale.html

Raki
post Sep 11 2011, 03:33 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 11 2011, 02:44 AM)
Want to ask before sleep.

Wanted to buy 2312hm. But see the interface is display port.
My laptop has vga or hdmi only.
Which cable option should i choose now?
u only use the display port on the monitor when ur machine supports DP output.
since ur lappy has vga and hdmi, u can either use the VGA and cable that provided
or buy hdmi to DVI cable so u can connect it with any hdmi ouput device

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 11 2011, 03:02 AM)
LG have no adjustable stand, for me it's one of the most important features of monitor to have good ergonomics.. Not sure why most manufacturer opt for fancy but useless stand
becuz its a consumer product and its cheaper to design and produce, therefore it sells.
u have to remember most ppl are just happy with "just works" scenarios. which is just sad.

speaking of which, I'm still waiting for samsung to release its IPS alternative, PLS.
than again, desktop monitor are not where the is but TV or mobile device and samsung is just happy with TN monitor for the time being.
But still I can't wait for Samsung S24A850 n S27A850 to arrive on Malaysia shores in the later months as initial impression looks interesting
Raki
post Sep 11 2011, 01:48 PM

311 posts

3 days would the best case scenario, I would go with 1week timeframe
Raki
post Sep 11 2011, 07:51 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 11 2011, 07:14 PM)
The new Samsung PLS monitors? I don't think they're here yet hmm.gif
the PLS monitor is S24A850 or S27A850

while S27A950D is the 3D monitor
Raki
post Sep 12 2011, 08:31 AM

311 posts

Want to ask. does anyone here have ordered a U2311H but instead Dell delivered to u a U2312HM?

Added on

this is what happen to me so I guess free upgrade? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Raki: Sep 12 2011, 10:21 AM
Raki
post Sep 12 2011, 11:15 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 12 2011, 07:34 AM)
Guys, is there much different between CCFL backlight and LED type ?
hmm.gif

why my friend say the old type is better ah
I'll get back on to you with that after I receive a colorimeter to calibrate both my U2311H (CCFL backlight) and U2312HM (WLED backlight).
But initial impression with a quick manual eye calibration, looks ok but I still need to use it a bit longer to tell.

While on a technical white LED backlight LCDs are more towards to blue side, but a user can compensate it by calibrating the monitor.
in fact, my U2312HM factory setting is more towards the reddish side than the CCFL, u2311h)

For general use and aesthetic purpose, LED backlight can last longer, lighter, thinner, cheaper and less power consumption.
becuz rarely we have setup that can take advantage of CCFL benefits that can justify in using it over LED
but still not saying CCFL is bad, but just that manufacturers are more likely to build more and more LED backlit LCD and phasing out CCFL at the casual consumer market. So becomes less and less of a choice
Raki
post Sep 12 2011, 02:44 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 12 2011, 11:43 AM)
So if im able to buy u2311h , shold i go for it? smile.gif
u can find it anymore. Dell has discontinue selling it.
I order a u2311h 3 days b4 dell removed u2311h from their site and yet they didnt inform me beforehand that they replace my order with u2312hm (while only paying the price of u2311h tongue.gif )
Raki
post Sep 12 2011, 03:05 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Sep 12 2011, 02:44 PM)
May I know is Dell 2412M a new product? I have never seen this model before. Somemore got display port and the price does seems right.
yes U2412M was just release a few weeks back. Its a cheaper variant 24 inch e-IPS WLED backlit LCD monitor.
Its not the direct successor to the U2410, unlike the u2211h and u2311h which was replaced by the U2212HM and U2312HM.
Since the U2410 is a higher grade H-IPS monitor and dell will continue this product for sometime until a worthy successor appears.
I believe Dell release the U2412M as a complement with its 22 and 23 inch variant (note: Dell Malaysia does not have U2212HM for sale)
Raki
post Sep 13 2011, 09:47 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(okboy @ Sep 13 2011, 07:27 AM)
1080 screen solution no posible to eyefinity??
1080 can eyefinity. alamak is talking about mix and match different monitor types

QUOTE(timothyy @ Sep 13 2011, 09:19 AM)
Wanna ask u guys... Why Dell's 27" so bloody expensive compared to what available in the market?
Dell 27 inch is a H-IPS running at native 2560x1440 res compare other 27 on display 27 which are just TN monitors and only up to 1920x1200 res.
Theres also the amount of accepted input ports or its support beyond truecolors or Adobe RGB and sRGB modes
Raki
post Sep 14 2011, 12:44 PM

311 posts

the reviewer is literally judging the monitor by its cover. nothing wrong about it. but its not very informative for ppl that want hard facts and number to prove the merits of the monitor.

Maybe for casual user or even normal gamers, beyond Full HD monitors are not important to them. Certainly for normal gamers, beyond FullHD monitor means that u need a very beefy gaming rig just to support 2560x1440 res and for casual user, the price for those monitors can easier go beyond the cost of the CPU itself.

Opinion vary btw ppl and for me 23/24 are just the sweet spot for fullHD monitors

This post has been edited by Raki: Sep 14 2011, 12:52 PM
Raki
post Sep 14 2011, 06:52 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Sep 14 2011, 05:32 PM)
Ops... Sorry... I overlooked on the TN for ST2420L.

I know LED and LCD diff... I also know LED very slim. Ha! Ha! In term of outlook.
But in term of performance... I am not sure.
To answer your question (thanks...).
I am going to use it for all rounder. Some games, some movies and surely some photo editing.
I have an iMac 24" now. I also have a old AMD Antlon 939 3200+ running with a Dell 19" LCD. Can't remember the model but it is not the Wide type.

But Anyway... I am building a new rig so planning to get a new monitor to accompany it.
Expected to fork out below RM1k for the monitor but if can go around the RM600 mark, I'd be glad too.
After sales service... hmm... touch wood... I don't mind visit once or twice to solve problem but if gonna be like in and out many times... then surely...
So... that is about it.
It seems like you still getting it wrong.
LED and LCD are totally different technologies and we are not comparing that.
Instead, we are talking abt LED backlighting and CCFL backlighting. The light source for the LCD monitor.
Raki
post Sep 14 2011, 07:50 PM

311 posts

Reading thru this I fell like writing an article about the difference in LCD tech. But I'm not going to, instead this website sums up all that I wanted to say
http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/speccontent.htm

@alamak
this is why I was abit sad that when I ordered and paid for a U2311H CCFL backlight but instead I received a U2314HM led backlight. but I think I'm fine now.
u also forgot to add LED backlight panels do not contain mercury compare to CCFL or CCFL panel burn out slightly faster or LED backlit can do instant on (if that matters)

@back to topic
Not all LED backlit are bad but the most LED backlit monitor are using the edge backlight with white LED (W-LED) which is what alamak is talking about.
As there are also professional level monitor that utilise LED backlighting but those are usually Red Green Blue LED (RGB LED) and those also have their pros and cons, mainly cost

0.0472sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:39 AM