243 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

Nemesis1980
post Jan 4 2013, 06:44 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 4 2013, 05:01 PM)
i didn't work in malaysia before as in professional occupation but part time job in retail yes

i just say based on what i read in those bonus threads out here.

also,fresh graduate now not buying cheap car like perodua or proton. you can see fresh grad drive H&T everywhere in malaysia and that is the reason why they can't buy a property

EDIT:H&T = honda and toyota
I kinda disagree, buying a reliable car would give you low maintenance in long run. I bought 2 proton cars which give me nothing but trouble. If you buy new, the most is 3 years then all hinky panky problem would emerge. Thanks to our Proton.
Our car policy is sucking our pocket to protect the local carmakers. Guess what, you buy a proton in M'sia equivalent you own at least a Toyota corolla in Oz? Freshies have to pay instalment for 9 years?What kind of policy is that?
Car price must be lowered. More expenditure power from people, the more they spend some other things. Car makers would be more competitive and they'll invest more on R&D and more reliable and quality cars.

Yeah, some freshies do want all the stuff to be high end. Who don't want?Just that they need to be educated on the investment, how to make use of their money. I think we never learn this in school. Germany has it compulsory.

My suggestion is that if you have the opportunity, better grab it. I believe you can get a descent job out there as malaysian are not so 'char' one unless you got attitude problem.

Added on January 4, 2013, 6:44 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 4 2013, 05:01 PM)
i didn't work in malaysia before as in professional occupation but part time job in retail yes

i just say based on what i read in those bonus threads out here.

also,fresh graduate now not buying cheap car like perodua or proton. you can see fresh grad drive H&T everywhere in malaysia and that is the reason why they can't buy a property

EDIT:H&T = honda and toyota
I kinda disagree, buying a reliable car would give you low maintenance in long run. I bought 2 proton cars which give me nothing but trouble. If you buy new, the most is 3 years then all hinky panky problem would emerge. Thanks to our Proton.
Our car policy is sucking our pocket to protect the local carmakers. Guess what, you buy a proton in M'sia equivalent you own at least a Toyota corolla in Oz? Freshies have to pay instalment for 9 years?What kind of policy is that?
Car price must be lowered. More expenditure power from people, the more they spend some other things. Car makers would be more competitive and they'll invest more on R&D and more reliable and quality cars.

Yeah, some freshies do want all the stuff to be high end. Who don't want?Just that they need to be educated on the investment, how to make use of their money. I think we never learn this in school. Germany has it compulsory.

My suggestion is that if you have the opportunity, better grab it. I believe you can get a descent job out there as malaysian are not so 'char' one unless you got attitude problem.

This post has been edited by Nemesis1980: Jan 4 2013, 06:44 PM
hihihehe
post Jan 4 2013, 07:00 PM

13,791 posts

not that i'm saying every freshie have that same mind. is just that i noticed fresh grad want to have exp car(about RM100k) with RM3k salary and yet complain about not enough money to use. so i agree with you that they need to be educated on purchasing/investment or maybe future planning

i bet you see lot of people here in aussie earning more than $4k a month and don't even bother to get luxury car that like AUdi A4 for $60k. they rather buy a second hand car for $10k and put the rest of the money for property.
xtylish
post Jan 6 2013, 04:36 AM

593 posts

i have a degree in malaysia. should i enroll myself into some courses in australia then only i can consider making a living in australia?

since most of the replies here mentioned that its damn hard to get a job in australia...

sad.gif
bysquashy
post Jan 6 2013, 06:54 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

For me, I think SOL is quite important both for finding a job and getting a PR.

The government wants to attract talent to fill in the resource shortage; based on the SOL, you'll know whether your skills/occupation is in demand in the market.
Nemesis1980
post Jan 7 2013, 12:09 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Jan 6 2013, 04:36 AM)
i have a degree in malaysia. should i enroll myself into some courses in australia then only i can consider making a living in australia?

since most of the replies here mentioned that its damn hard to get a job in australia...

sad.gif
To be honest, it's very subjective. I've yet to get my PR approved. But i do heard some people telling me very hard to find jobs or so. I do heard some people can easily find jobs within 1 month. I do interview people and hopefully the OZ has the same perception as ours.
Following are the factor you're gonna be recruited or not:-

1) Punctuality
2) Confident
3) Communication
4) Skills/Education background
5) Attitude
6) Working experience
7) Reason leaving previous company
8) FAQ
9) Salary?!?Working hours??
10) Scope of work
divine061
post Jan 7 2013, 01:20 PM

256 posts

People here are lazy. They would try to look for the easy solution where they will look into the experience and criteria that ticks their box. So if you have exact same skill set, then it will be very easy. But that is really hard for anyone, so you need good written and communication skill to convince them match the skills one to one.

Being Malaysian, I think a lot will fail to do that and someone else who have less skill would crawl ahead of you, but the HR or recruiter doesn't understand that.

Nemesis1980
post Jan 7 2013, 03:45 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(divine061 @ Jan 7 2013, 01:20 PM)
People here are lazy. They would try to look for the easy solution where they will look into the experience and criteria that ticks their box. So if you have exact same skill set, then it will be very easy. But that is really hard for anyone, so you need good written and communication skill to convince them match the skills one to one.

Being Malaysian, I think a lot will fail to do that and someone else who have less skill would crawl ahead of you, but the HR or recruiter doesn't understand that.
Yeah, this is what i heard from my friend who worked in sydney for many years.
He told me that most of the hard work would be taken by highly skilled worker, while themselves monitoring where else they themselves know nothing.
However, my friend turn out to be very competitive which end up alot of company would like him to jump ship with higher pay and more allowance. That's why he earns more.
I think malaysian is not so poor in whatever skills. It's just whether the job is it suitable or not
xtylish
post Jan 7 2013, 09:24 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jan 7 2013, 12:09 PM)
To be honest, it's very subjective. I've yet to get my PR approved. But i do heard some people telling me very hard to find jobs or so. I do heard some people can easily find jobs within 1 month. I do interview people and hopefully the OZ has the same perception as ours.

1) Punctuality
2) Confident
3) Communication
5) Attitude
6) Working experience
8) FAQ
10) Scope of work
I am just a freshgrad with advertising degree from malaysia.

please advice.

I am thinking of getting a part time job there and then go for interviews (any job).

if I really can't get a job, then i'll enroll myself into some short term course.

then I will look for a job again. what do you think?

so far i only get bad and negative feedback in kopitiam.
bysquashy
post Jan 8 2013, 06:06 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jan 7 2013, 12:09 PM)

1) Punctuality
2) Confident
3) Communication
5) Attitude
6) Working experience
8) FAQ
10) Scope of work
As we can see in the thread, there's a lot of interest to work in Australia. The first task for HR/Job agency is to find candidates who can legally work in Australia.

Although not full-proof, it can be really done by looking for 3 things: Aussie phone number, Aussie address and Aussie work experience.

I've heard that with a job listing in Seek, typically they'll get more than 1000 applications. The resume must be easy to read. A cover letter will be an added advantage to tell more about the applicant and also to gauge the command of English.

After you've got the interview, other than the things that was mentioned above, the candidates reputation in the industry is important. This is done through reference check and LinkedIn.

This post has been edited by bysquashy: Jan 8 2013, 07:34 AM
hihihehe
post Jan 8 2013, 08:44 AM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Jan 8 2013, 09:06 AM)
As we can see in the thread, there's a lot of interest to work in Australia. The first task for HR/Job agency is to find candidates who can legally work in Australia.

Although not full-proof, it can be really done by looking for 3 things: Aussie phone number, Aussie address and Aussie work experience.

I've heard that with a job listing in Seek, typically they'll get more than 1000 applications. The resume must be easy to read. A cover letter will be an added advantage to tell more about the applicant and also to gauge the command of English.

After you've got the interview, other than the things that was mentioned above, the candidates reputation in the industry is important. This is done through reference check and LinkedIn.
agree. not to mention, your name as well(Asian such as chinese name will have a bit of disadvantages). Many people suggest to create an English name. Is best if you can include residency status in resume if you are holding Pr so that they won't filter you out.
Nemesis1980
post Jan 8 2013, 09:07 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 8 2013, 08:44 AM)
agree. not to mention, your name as well(Asian such as chinese name will have a bit of disadvantages). Many people suggest to create an English name. Is best if you can include residency status in resume if you are holding Pr so that they won't filter you out.
Yeah, you're right. I watched SBS channel on youtube on the topic of immigrants searching for jobs. There's this african lady who was born in Oz. She has the african name given by parents. When she graduated in food medicine, she applied for job. None of the employers would appoint her. So she changed her front name by adding english name. Soon after she was appointed in less than 2 weeks.
I think the moment they saw your resume with asian or whatever name that was unfamiliar will be in the rubbish bin. I know this sounds racial but it's really happen.
darkhorse_86
post Jan 8 2013, 09:32 AM

152 posts

Including it into your resume can be regarded as a double edged sword. Yes, its good to include it in so that you will not be filtered out, but think about it this way. If there are 4 other aussie resumes without the pr status and yours with the pr status, guess which resumes the hr personnel will look at first.

Best indication suggested to me is to look at the job ad if they said that applicants must hold valid visa etc then include it and address it on the cover letter.

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jan 8 2013, 09:07 AM)
Yeah, you're right. I watched SBS channel on youtube on the topic of immigrants searching for jobs. There's this african lady who was born in Oz. She has the african name given by parents. When she graduated in food medicine, she applied for job. None of the employers would appoint her. So she changed her front name by adding english name. Soon after she was appointed in less than 2 weeks.
I think the moment they saw your resume with asian or whatever name that was unfamiliar will be in the rubbish bin. I know this sounds racial but it's really happen.
Besides that, they're also looking for good english. Try to minimize grammatical errors on cv and cover letter
tishaban
post Jan 8 2013, 05:41 PM

3,615 posts

Sorry I don't agree on the english name part. Someone looking for a job goes through several stages

1. resume filtering
2. interview
3. get hired

Getting a western name will possibly get you past #1 but if the people truly want an Aussie looking/sounding fella then you'll fail #2 no matter what. I've had this discussion with my eastern european friends about racism in the UK and the best way to get around the racism bit is networking, not changing your name to look western.

Networking will skip #1 (most of the time) and put you in a better light for #2 (because you were recommended by someone the hiring manager knows). Unfortunately networking will also mean that you have to be physically in Australia biggrin.gif

mercury8400
post Jan 8 2013, 06:04 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jan 7 2013, 03:45 PM)
Yeah, this is what i heard from my friend who worked in sydney for many years.
He told me that most of the hard work would be taken by highly skilled worker, while themselves monitoring where else they themselves know nothing.
However, my friend turn out to be very competitive which end up alot of company would like him to jump ship with higher pay and more allowance. That's why he earns more.
I think malaysian is not so poor in whatever skills. It's just whether the job is it suitable or not
Unfortunately most malaysian failed big time in communicating in english and lack the confidence to stand toe to toe with the ang mohs. In short malaysians are too timid and humble and don't know how to smoke
hihihehe
post Jan 8 2013, 06:18 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 8 2013, 08:41 PM)
Sorry I don't agree on the english name part. Someone looking for a job goes through several stages

1. resume filtering
2. interview
3. get hired

Getting a western name will possibly get you past #1 but if the people truly want an Aussie looking/sounding fella then you'll fail #2 no matter what. I've had this discussion with my eastern european friends about racism in the UK and the best way to get around the racism bit is networking, not changing your name to look western.

Networking will skip #1 (most of the time) and put you in a better light for #2 (because you were recommended by someone the hiring manager knows). Unfortunately networking will also mean that you have to be physically in Australia biggrin.gif
Face it,it does in low chance especially when your name similar to the Chinese name from China or Hindi name from India. They won't even invite you for an interview based on your name(applies on your first step). They also will think you are a bit "professional" with English name as well. Happened to one of my friend and heard it from my colleagues as well. It mostly happen in big finance companies like bank.

Some recruiters are concern about your background and they will filter based on their own "criteria'. Anyway, there are many companies interested with Asian as well as they are hardworking, less politics and hardly say no to boss. The issue is they can't communicate fluently(Aussie slang), hard to interpret the Aussie jokes(like me) and not open enough(less "How are you" greeting every morning)

So filtering based on the name is highly unlikely but it still will happen
tishaban
post Jan 8 2013, 06:46 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 8 2013, 06:18 PM)
Face it,it does in low chance especially when your name similar to the Chinese name from China or Hindi name from India. They won't even invite you for an interview based on your name(applies on your first step). They also will think you are a bit "professional" with English name as well. Happened to one of my friend and heard it from my colleagues as well. It mostly happen in big finance companies like bank.

Some recruiters are concern about your background and they will filter based on their own "criteria'. Anyway, there are many companies interested with Asian as well as they are hardworking, less politics and hardly say no to boss. The issue is they can't communicate fluently(Aussie slang), hard to interpret the Aussie jokes(like me) and not open enough(less "How are you" greeting every morning)

So filtering based on the name is highly unlikely but it still will happen
I'm not saying that racism/name filtering won't happen, I'm saying that putting a different name won't help you in these cases. As you mentioned you'll be filtered out if the company doesn't want you anyway. I don't want to work for a company if they're already being racist enough to reject me based on my name.

There are other ways to differentiate yourself. Putting a local Aussie number will help, it makes it easier for recruiters to call you. I've actually received calls even if to tell me I've been rejected eg. most recently from Macquarie Telecom.

Correct grammar, good communications and targeted resume + cover letters will help too. How many people actually do these things?

hihihehe
post Jan 8 2013, 07:03 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 8 2013, 09:46 PM)
I'm not saying that racism/name filtering won't happen, I'm saying that putting a different name won't help you in these cases. As you mentioned you'll be filtered out if the company doesn't want you anyway. I don't want to work for a company if they're already being racist enough to reject me based on my name.

There are other ways to differentiate yourself. Putting a local Aussie number will help, it makes it easier for recruiters to call you. I've actually received calls even if to tell me I've been rejected eg. most recently from Macquarie Telecom.

Correct grammar, good communications and targeted resume + cover letters will help too. How many people actually do these things?
Nah,it's not really racism. Believe it or not, some even trash your CV if you have 3 or more pages of CV without even looking at your experience.

Anyway, although targeted resume + cover letter is the best practice but it is not working for me when i was first graduated. Lack of experience is the main issue and I not patient enough to spend more time in writing targeted resume. Fortunately I got a job so a bit of luck play some role here as well.

tishaban
post Jan 8 2013, 07:12 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 8 2013, 07:03 PM)
Nah,it's not really racism. Believe it or not, some even trash your CV if you have 3 or more pages of CV without even looking at your experience.

Anyway, although targeted resume + cover letter is the best practice but it is not working for me when i was first graduated. Lack of experience is the main issue and I not patient enough to spend more time in writing targeted resume. Fortunately I got a job so a bit of luck play some role here as well.
Can't do much when you first graduate, at that point you need to network either through your seniors or by taking internships/summer jobs. My first job was through my summer internship.

I do agree with trashing CVs longer than 2 pages as well, I do that and I've been a hiring manager for years. You either need to impress me with a concise resume or if you have a sparkling personality biggrin.gif Again it's part of a targeted CV + cover, it's what makes you stand out among the sea of 3-10 page CVs.

And no question about it, luck plays a huge part in most job searches.

darkhorse_86
post Jan 8 2013, 07:13 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 8 2013, 06:46 PM)

Having a nice ''name'' gets you somewhere. After that, you've gotta prove yourself at the interview stage. However, if the cover letter and resume is written using bad grammar and incorrect punctuation, then I guess the name wouldn't help much.
Mr.Blank
post Jan 9 2013, 06:03 PM

29 posts

Any civil engineer working in Australia here? Need some advice about which field offers a better chance of employment in Aussie? Structural or geotechnical. Have two options currently, either work as geotech engineer with the MRT project or structural engineer for industrial real estate across the causeway.. Planning to do my postgrad study there after gaining some work exposure.

243 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:16 PM