i did on my own less headache and super fast from lodgement to pr is less then 3 months
from assessment to pr around 6 months
Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.
Aug 17 2015, 11:49 AM
841 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: PJ |
i did on my own less headache and super fast from lodgement to pr is less then 3 months
from assessment to pr around 6 months |
Aug 17 2015, 12:11 PM
655 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 17 2015, 11:43 AM) Well, RM34k is not small amount...maybe you're Tan Sri's sonĀ LOL. Firstly, am female.I engaged the agent for PR too but my case is very straight forward. Reason is i got really no time to source my application and phone calls. So i pay off everything and whole family at RM20k. What's your profession anyway? Secondly my agent quoted 27k, to be paid in stages. I saved every single cent I earned, and used all my bonus money for it, along with some extra funds I have in my mutual fund. Stinge here and there, do some overtime teaching, freelance design work etc. Also told my agent to take their time, so I'd have enough time to save more money for the next payments. My parents are not rich at all- we are more middle class and I bore all costs myself. My profession VETASSESS assessed as 'Vocational Teacher'. This post has been edited by daylight_dancer: Aug 17 2015, 12:12 PM |
Aug 17 2015, 01:01 PM
1,066 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Aug 17 2015, 12:11 PM) LOL. Firstly, am female. I'm on the same boat as you previously. Paid off everything. However, my case is very straight forward that i get my PR less than 6 mths. Secondly my agent quoted 27k, to be paid in stages. I saved every single cent I earned, and used all my bonus money for it, along with some extra funds I have in my mutual fund. Stinge here and there, do some overtime teaching, freelance design work etc. Also told my agent to take their time, so I'd have enough time to save more money for the next payments. My parents are not rich at all- we are more middle class and I bore all costs myself. My profession VETASSESS assessed as 'Vocational Teacher'. Please save extra money for your crossing over here as you need those for your life settledown here. I brought AUD5k, came here alone 1st, rent a room and bought a crappy car. Start looking for job, sending 10 job apps every day. Landed with job in 2 weeks. Work until today. Bought my house in 2 years, 2 cars, bringing wife and kids over here. I would say it's fully settle down now. My advise is get yourself the PR ticket 1st and I'll hint you some way on how to live smart in Oz, how to deal with tax, centrelink, medicare and housing. The playing field here is very different from back home so need some guidance. I get my info from a bunch old auntie uncle malaysian families who lived here 20+ years. One of them owned 15 houses... Anyway, stay positive. It ain't a smooth road to walk but once you go thru, you'll see the future lies here. Australia is a big massive resources land and opportunities. Just live with it |
Aug 17 2015, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 17 2015, 01:01 PM) I'm on the same boat as you previously. Paid off everything. However, my case is very straight forward that i get my PR less than 6 mths. Thanks for the valuable advice. Am only planning to make the move in 2017/2018 as I just started a great new job (dream job), and I need all the research experience I can get so doing the PHD will be a little less painful Please save extra money for your crossing over here as you need those for your life settledown here. I brought AUD5k, came here alone 1st, rent a room and bought a crappy car. Start looking for job, sending 10 job apps every day. Landed with job in 2 weeks. Work until today. Bought my house in 2 years, 2 cars, bringing wife and kids over here. I would say it's fully settle down now. My advise is get yourself the PR ticket 1st and I'll hint you some way on how to live smart in Oz, how to deal with tax, centrelink, medicare and housing. The playing field here is very different from back home so need some guidance. I get my info from a bunch old auntie uncle malaysian families who lived here 20+ years. One of them owned 15 houses... Anyway, stay positive. It ain't a smooth road to walk but once you go thru, you'll see the future lies here. Australia is a big massive resources land and opportunities. Just live with it I lived with an aunty and unlce (my parents' friends) for 2 years. They migrated in the 90s and are now citizens. You're about the good advice they give- I'm really impressed with what they've told me, and it certainly made my life as a student in Aus much easier, if compared with my friends. Still keep in touch, and they were in KL last Sept and mannnn I got some wonderful ideas and advice. Inspiring. Actually my PR case is pretty straight forward as well, I just told them to take their time as I have a bunch of things I'd like to do before I have to think about moving to fulfil the 2 yr residency req. You're in WA? This post has been edited by daylight_dancer: Aug 17 2015, 01:13 PM |
Aug 17 2015, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Aug 17 2015, 01:11 PM) Thanks for the valuable advice. Am only planning to make the move in 2017/2018 as I just started a great new job (dream job), and I need all the research experience I can get so doing the PHD will be a little less painful You got a good old couple mentor there. They'll tell ya heaps of stories in the past here. I lived with an aunty and unlce (my parents' friends) for 2 years. They migrated in the 90s and are now citizens. You're about the good advice they give- I'm really impressed with what they've told me, and it certainly made my life as a student in Aus much easier, if compared with my friends. Still keep in touch, and they were in KL last Sept and mannnn I got some wonderful ideas and advice. Inspiring. Actually my PR case is pretty straight forward as well, I just told them to take their time as I have a bunch of things I'd like to do before I have to think about moving to fulfil the 2 yr residency req. You're in WA? Yeap, living up NOR. WA is totally different from eastern states. Great for outdoors and beaches. Good to raise family here and it's totally my cup of tea and coffee. Tiring of city life so picking up WA as my settlement ground eventhough my visa allows me work anywhere here. |
Aug 17 2015, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 17 2015, 01:19 PM) You got a good old couple mentor there. They'll tell ya heaps of stories in the past here. Yea I lived in Perth for a couple of years. It was a nice place, despite some silly Malaysians here complaining that i would be bored. Not like they have ever been, it was all he said she said. Yeap, living up NOR. WA is totally different from eastern states. Great for outdoors and beaches. Good to raise family here and it's totally my cup of tea and coffee. Tiring of city life so picking up WA as my settlement ground eventhough my visa allows me work anywhere here. Also warmer autumns when compared to Melbourne. So nice. Beach in April when people in Melbourne were in winter coats lol. |
Aug 17 2015, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Aug 17 2015, 02:15 PM) Yea I lived in Perth for a couple of years. It was a nice place, despite some silly Malaysians here complaining that i would be bored. Not like they have ever been, it was all he said she said. I call it luxurious able to spend time with family which once in KL i can't make it. However it never too late Also warmer autumns when compared to Melbourne. So nice. Beach in April when people in Melbourne were in winter coats lol. |
Aug 17 2015, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 17 2015, 02:26 PM) I call it luxurious able to spend time with family which once in KL i can't make it. However it never too late Yea it's not like how it was when our parents were young. Anyway the one thing i can be thankful for is that I don't have a family of my own to worry about. So that part is less of a headache. |
Aug 17 2015, 05:20 PM
920 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
The conversation above really motivates me to further my application.
Still have IELTS to go before can submit my EOI. =) To be honest, for the past few months, I kept hearing about slowing down of Aussie markets especially in the mining field, coupled with dropped oil price really demoralises me in my application abit. Thanks! This post has been edited by jianh: Aug 17 2015, 05:22 PM |
Aug 17 2015, 05:20 PM
13,791 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: stress & confuse world |
anyone took PTE-A exam before?
Aug 17 2015, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 17 2015, 05:20 PM) The conversation above really motivates me to further my application. Economy now is slowing down. China demand less iron ore and O&G slowing down. Due to gov lower down interest rate may weaken the currency as well.Still have IELTS to go before can submit my EOI. =) To be honest, for the past few months, I kept hearing about slowing down of Aussie markets especially in the mining field, coupled with dropped oil price really demoralises me in my application abit. Thanks! Construction still going on steadily. It's the best to get a property now as it's far cheaper and low interest rate with a great bargain. There's still job available but just depends on pay. Once you get your PR, apply job onshore. Any casual/part time just pick up 1st to pay off bills. There's no good or bad time to come here. Always the same. Where you land is where you start. Good luck |
Aug 17 2015, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 17 2015, 05:20 PM) The conversation above really motivates me to further my application. well you don't have to move right away. You have 5 years to make the move. Out of 5, you must spend 2 years onshore to fulfil the residency requirement.Still have IELTS to go before can submit my EOI. =) To be honest, for the past few months, I kept hearing about slowing down of Aussie markets especially in the mining field, coupled with dropped oil price really demoralises me in my application abit. Thanks! IELTS is not hard to be honest. I think you'll do fine, looking at your post Have you had your assessment (VETASSESS/ any relevant one to your skilled occupation) done yet? |
Aug 17 2015, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Aug 17 2015, 09:26 PM) well you don't have to move right away. You have 5 years to make the move. Out of 5, you must spend 2 years onshore to fulfil the residency requirement. Eh no wor, I'm actually going through my PR application on an agency, and this VETASSESS is not listed by my agent and what's left now for me is passing the IELTS with enough results.IELTS is not hard to be honest. I think you'll do fine, looking at your post Have you had your assessment (VETASSESS/ any relevant one to your skilled occupation) done yet? Honestly speaking, I've went for IELTS once already =.=" Speaking I got 6.0 only alamak, all others I got past 7.0. The PR requirement is for all 4 Bands to be 7.0 or above. FYI I'm applying for Subclass 189, my profession is engineering. So most probably I aim to be at WA once I get my PR in near future. I used to study in WA a few years back, and even travelled to Perth just last March, so I have a clear idea around the places, this and that and whatnot, and also the lifestyles over there. (Yea, no nightlife stay at home -____-) This post has been edited by jianh: Aug 17 2015, 10:41 PM |
Aug 17 2015, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 17 2015, 10:27 PM) Eh no wor, I'm actually going through my PR application on an agency, and this VETASSESS is not listed by my agent and what's left now for me is passing the IELTS with enough results. Oh yea that means engineers come under a different assessment body- I can't remember but the sifus above should be able to tag the correct one.Honestly speaking, I've went for IELTS once already =.=" Speaking I got 6.0 only alamak, all others I got past 7.0. The PR requirement is for all 4 Bands to be 7.0 or above. FYI I'm applying for Subclass 189, my profession is engineering. So most probably I aim to be at WA once I get my PR in near future. I used to study in WA a few years back, and even travelled to Perth just last March, so I have a clear idea around the places, this and that and whatnot, and also the lifestyles over there. (Yea, no nightlife stay at home -____-) That IELTS you took was for academic? This will be General. Easy lah, don't worry. Not hard to score 8. Unless you're lazy like me during the reading (tired already 'cause it was a WHOLE day affair) and just schemed through without reading. Damn tedious la the paragraphs haha. Speaking just don't fumble la. Go practice vocabulary and use big words correctly. |
Aug 17 2015, 11:29 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
5,753 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
Aug 17 2015, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Aug 17 2015, 11:14 PM) Oh yea that means engineers come under a different assessment body- I can't remember but the sifus above should be able to tag the correct one. I took the General Training ones. Yeah it was tiring, takes whole day. That IELTS you took was for academic? This will be General. Easy lah, don't worry. Not hard to score 8. Unless you're lazy like me during the reading (tired already 'cause it was a WHOLE day affair) and just schemed through without reading. Damn tedious la the paragraphs haha. Speaking just don't fumble la. Go practice vocabulary and use big words correctly. Booked for upcoming test at 24 Oct, and the fee raised to RM750 now dei |
Aug 17 2015, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 17 2015, 10:27 PM) Eh no wor, I'm actually going through my PR application on an agency, and this VETASSESS is not listed by my agent and what's left now for me is passing the IELTS with enough results. Nightlife or IELTS are the least of your concerns. Getting a job is. Engineering esp if you are in oil and gas is notoriously hard to get in this kind of environmentHonestly speaking, I've went for IELTS once already =.=" Speaking I got 6.0 only alamak, all others I got past 7.0. The PR requirement is for all 4 Bands to be 7.0 or above. FYI I'm applying for Subclass 189, my profession is engineering. So most probably I aim to be at WA once I get my PR in near future. I used to study in WA a few years back, and even travelled to Perth just last March, so I have a clear idea around the places, this and that and whatnot, and also the lifestyles over there. (Yea, no nightlife stay at home -____-) |
Aug 17 2015, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 17 2015, 11:32 PM) Nightlife or IELTS are the least of your concerns. Getting a job is. Engineering esp if you are in oil and gas is notoriously hard to get in this kind of environment So damn true, I got this concern as well, with the shitty commodity prices nowadays. Retrenchments are also happening here and there in WA these days. Well, the life of O&G in KL isn't any better. Slump in oil price affects globally. But still I don't wanna give too much hoohaa about it, just take some risk and hope that by a few years ahead things will get better. Nobody knows. This post has been edited by jianh: Aug 17 2015, 11:43 PM |
Aug 17 2015, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 17 2015, 11:42 PM) So damn true, I got this concern as well, with the shitty commodity prices nowadays. The question is how deep are your pockets?Retrenchments are also happening here and there in WA these days. Well, the life of O&G in KL isn't any better. Slump in oil price affects globally. But still I don't wanna give too much hoohaa about it, just take some risk and hope that by a few years ahead things will get better. Nobody knows. Are you able to go on without a job for 6 months? 1 year? 2 years? Even part time/lower end jobs are hard to come by as many Australians and PR are retrenched and turn to these jobs to tide them through |
Aug 17 2015, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 17 2015, 11:45 PM) The question is how deep are your pockets? Wow really that bad over there now?Are you able to go on without a job for 6 months? 1 year? 2 years? Even part time/lower end jobs are hard to come by as many Australians and PR are retrenched and turn to these jobs to tide them through I believe I could tahan a couple months without income, though best is to find a job soonest lah. I'm single now, no family to feed and have no commitments in Malaysia. |
| Change to: | 0.0226sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:22 PM |