243 Pages « < 209 210 211 212 213 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

shazam7
post Apr 10 2015, 01:41 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Propernormal @ Apr 10 2015, 02:28 PM)
I wish to plan ahead so that my son could migrate in the future.

We need to decide what area he needs to study for his undergraduate to ensure he will qualify to apply for PR in the future.

1. Does it matter where he studies here in Malaysia?

3. Any suggestion which area of studies that my son should pursue in order to increase his chances of getting his PR in the future?

4. Is it a good idea to meet up a Migration Agent like Auslife at Mont Kiara and ask them advice for all the above questions?

I'm sorry if this a wrong place to ask but if anyone could share their words of wisdom as to how shall I prepare for my son so that he could get PR in the future and migrate overseas?

Unfortunately even locals find it tough. Accountants are dime a dozen, engineers - lack of projects, IT - outsourced more and more.

In my personal opinion, health care, aged care, child care, trades (plumbers, electricians etc) will continue to be in demand.

Even with all the above, the qualifications will need to be local.

I don't know what Auslife can tell u. Since they also hv to follow the guidelines issued by the Immigration Dept. every year.

Words of wisdom: forget the typical accounting/business/IT/engineering route. Try nursing, childcare, physiotherapy, chiropractics, trades. Should try to aim for Oz qualification (otherwise not recognised). No need a degree, even a diploma is enough.

And learn Mandarin. It'll be an advantage. The PRCs are buying property and moving in like mad.

Get PR as early as possible. It'll make it easier 4 yr son to get his career started. Let me stress, extensive working experience in MY DOES NOT HELP.

This post has been edited by shazam7: Apr 10 2015, 01:45 PM
underGr0und_8
post Apr 10 2015, 01:45 PM

2,236 posts

Afterall, maybe your son don't like Australia life as well. Australia experience during vacation and Australia experience when you have to work here could be very different.

If your son used to the lifestyle where shops are open after 5pm, then he probably dont like the life here.
selvenz
post Apr 10 2015, 01:48 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Apr 10 2015, 01:41 PM)
Unfortunately even locals find it tough. Accountants are dime a dozen, engineers - lack of projects, IT - outsourced more and more.

In my personal opinion, health care, aged care, child care, trades (plumbers, electricians etc) will continue to be in demand.

I don't know what Auslife can tell u. Since they also hv to follow the guidelines issued by the Immigration Dept. every year.

Words of wisdom: forget the typical accounting/business/IT/engineering route. Try nursing, childcare, physiotherapy, chiropractics, trades. Should try to aim for Oz qualification (otherwise not recognised). No need a degree, even a diploma is enough.

And learn Mandarin. It'll be an advantage. The PRCs are buying property and moving in like mad.

Get PR as early as possible. It'll make it easier 4 yr son to get his career started. Let me stress, extensive working experience in MY DOES NOT HELP.
agreed MY work experiences is useless. best to do a trade qualification in australia and try to gain PR thru that
shazam7
post Apr 10 2015, 02:06 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Apr 10 2015, 04:45 PM)
Afterall, maybe your son don't like Australia life as well.

If your son used to the lifestyle where shops are open after 5pm, then he probably dont like the life here.
It will be a tough transition. Diff environment, no 24x7 mamak stalls, leaving behind friends, family, familiarity.

As a youngster he will not like it. But he has to see things long term. Don't have to explain what things r like in MY now and what the future prospects are like. We all know. If he waits and waits b4 deciding, he will find it x-tra tough to move across as time goes on.
divine061
post Apr 10 2015, 02:25 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Propernormal @ Apr 10 2015, 11:28 AM)
Hi All,

Can you pls give me some advice:-

I am not able to migrate to Australia as I lack the points for visa application. So , I wish to plan ahead so that my son could migrate in the future.

Problem is he is 18 this year and both of us are not sure what he should study for degree next year. I cant afford to send him to Australia for his degree, which means we need to decide what area he needs to study for his undergraduate to ensure he will qualify to apply for PR in the future.

2. If the university he studies does not confer any foreign university degree but just local degree of the university, would that jeorpadise his chances of it being recognized as suitable qualification in Australia?

3. Any suggestion which area of studies that my son should pursue in order to increase his chances of getting his PR in the future?

4. Is it a good idea to meet up a Migration Agent like Auslife at Mont Kiara and ask them advice for all the above questions?

I'm sorry if this a wrong place to ask but if anyone could share their words of wisdom as to how shall I prepare for my son so that he could get PR in the future and migrate overseas?

Thank you so much.
Why Australia? Study something that he likes, don't do that just to get a PR. Your questions sounds like you gave up on yourself and you are giving up your son's future too, all these just so your grand children can start a life in Australia. I promise you, you'll live to regret and your son will live to hate you if you made him do that.

Get him to study something he likes and something he can excel in. If he is good, and he still wants to move here, it will happen. There are also plenty of opportunities elsewhere, don't just look at Australia & the migration policy now, both are subject to change even in the near future.

BravoZeroTwo
post Apr 10 2015, 02:31 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(Propernormal @ Apr 10 2015, 12:28 PM)
Hi All,

I am not able to migrate to Australia as I lack the points for visa application. So , I wish to plan ahead so that my son could migrate in the future.

Problem is he is 18 this year and both of us are not sure what he should study for degree next year. I cant afford to send him to Australia for his degree, which means we need to decide what area he needs to study for his undergraduate to ensure he will qualify to apply for PR in the future.

2. If the university he studies does not confer any foreign university degree but just local degree of the university, would that jeorpadise his chances of it being recognized as suitable qualification in Australia?

Thank you so much.
Sorry but I believe you need to check with your son's interest as well as what does he want to do with his life. Seriously to study a particular course for the sake of migration purpose it is already flawed in the first place. Why do you want your 18 year old son to migrate in the first place ? Let him strike it out here in our own country land first before one even talks about the idea of migrating.
evieta
post Apr 12 2015, 12:37 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Propernormal @ Apr 10 2015, 12:28 PM)
Hi All,

Thank you so much.
I think you are doing nothing wrong, trying to pave a way for your son to get a PR. However, you must ensure that he is okay with it. I have friends who are fresh grad here and with no support from parents, it's hard for them to start out in life. They are earning RM 2k+ and needing to pay for room rental, it's really tough for them, moreover, everything is expensive in Malaysia these days.

What he can do is to do an Australian degree in Malaysia. However, whatever he studies must be on the SOL list in the Aust Immigration site. The downside is the SOL list is updated yearly. So, there is possibility that his chosen course/ profession may be removed from the SOL in future. One way is to gauge what are the professions that will most likely to not be removed from the SOL list such as healthcare professionals or trades professionals like electrician, chef, plumbing. Learning is lifelong, if your son's choice of course now is just for a PR, he can just take the course for PR's sake and once he has obtained his PR, he can always learn a new course and pursue his area of interest after he go over to Australia. It's always depending on your will, if you have a will, you will have a way to get there.

The fastest route i'd say is , to take an australian pre-u course (1 year), then take an aust degree (3-4 years). IF he doesnt have enough points, he may need to work few years here to get more points or try to get a band 8 for ielts for each component. Then again, these rules may change from time to time and you need to yourself uptodate with the changes.

You can definitely see a migration agent to get free consultation. They normally give the 1st consultation free.

This post has been edited by evieta: Apr 12 2015, 12:49 PM
shazam7
post Apr 13 2015, 07:18 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(evieta @ Apr 12 2015, 03:37 PM)
The fastest route i'd say is , to take an australian pre-u course (1 year), then take an aust degree (3-4 years).

You can definitely see a migration agent to get free consultation. They normally give the 1st consultation free.
TS says he cannot afford a degree. A diploma maybe? There are a few institutions offering Aust TAFE courses in M'sia.

If TS is able to read & understand the info on the immi websites, I really don't know what seeing a migration agent would achieve, unless the mig agent has a crystal ball and is able to predict what the oz immi policies will be like in 3-4 years time.
yeahh
post Apr 13 2015, 07:54 AM

Not enough stars :(
1,715 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Apr 10 2015, 01:41 PM)

i think this statement is rather useful ... accountants and engineers are usually part of the 'in demand' job list .. these are the normal job routes for us malaysians anyway in general

but health care, aged care, child care, trades (plumbers, electricians etc) is not something common that we get here and i believe it is somewhat a specialty. i'm not sure about the qualifications of ... a plumber or electrician .. usually this one call the shop punya appointed person to come fix my stuff. so perhaps a bit difficult to find a recognised qualification here to start with.

having said that ... i believe singapore's work experience weighs a lot more than malaysia.
selvenz
post Apr 13 2015, 09:09 AM

841 posts

lol dont be surprised if PR migration scheme is suspended till further notice. it can change anytime

empire23
post Apr 13 2015, 12:52 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Propernormal @ Apr 10 2015, 11:28 AM)
Hi All,

Thank you so much.
1. The government doesn't really give a shit as long as it is accredited and recognized by the assessment body for the occupation your son will nominate (Read the SOL list to find out)

2. No, see answer number 1.

3. I'd say medicine to be honest but even with a medical degree and 2 years worth of housemanship you still need to score 8s on your IELTS in all bands. You're better off being an electrician/instrumentation techie or plumber.

4. Don't bother, immi.gov.au has all the answers and they won't sugar coat it.

QUOTE(yeahh @ Apr 13 2015, 07:54 AM)
i think this statement is rather useful ...  accountants and engineers are usually part of the  'in demand' job list .. these are the normal job routes for us malaysians anyway in general

but health care, aged care, child care, trades (plumbers, electricians etc) is not something common that we get here and i believe it is somewhat a specialty. i'm not sure about the qualifications of ... a plumber or electrician .. usually this one call the shop punya appointed person to come fix my stuff. so perhaps a bit difficult to find a recognised qualification here to start with.

having said that ... i believe singapore's work experience weighs a lot more than malaysia.
I think they've recently mooted removing accountants, and that engineers might be next on the list.

Remember that trade qualifications are assessed by the TRA which will take into context work experience, certificates, skills and licenses. They aren't as rigid as a professional body.

Singaporean experience is not viewed any differently than Malaysian exp to be honest with you.
thoyol
post Apr 13 2015, 12:55 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Apr 13 2015, 12:52 PM)
1. The government doesn't really give a shit as long as it is accredited and recognized by the assessment body for the occupation your son will nominate (Read the SOL list to find out)

2. No, see answer number 1.

3. I'd say medicine to be honest but even with a medical degree and 2 years worth of housemanship you still need to score 8s on your IELTS in all bands. You're better off being an electrician/instrumentation techie or plumber.

I think they've recently mooted removing accountants, and that engineers might be next on the list.

Remember that trade qualifications are assessed by the TRA which will take into context work experience, certificates, skills and licenses. They aren't as rigid as a professional body.

Singaporean experience is not viewed any differently than Malaysian exp to be honest with you.
A very good answers..
yeahh
post Apr 13 2015, 02:51 PM

Not enough stars :(
1,715 posts

haven't updated myself on the list but was lucky enough to have gotten PR based on accountant job skill. possibly my malaysian experience isnt widely recognised as my industry experience has mostly been palm oil sad.gif

It is pretty hard to predict what will be on the SOL because the requirements will evolve and change by the time our kids graduate. by that time probably just hope what he studies can get him on that SOL
evieta
post Apr 13 2015, 03:05 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Apr 13 2015, 01:52 PM)

Where did you get the info that accountants may be removed? Reliable source anot? What I know is, this has been an ongoing rumour for years…

Propernormal
post Apr 13 2015, 11:56 PM

127 posts

Dear All,

Thank you for your kind input. I will take your advise and decide carefully. Just wish to give my son a good future , that's all. Thanks again.
empire23
post Apr 14 2015, 04:30 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(yeahh @ Apr 13 2015, 02:51 PM)
haven't updated myself on the list but was lucky enough to have gotten PR based on accountant job skill. possibly my malaysian experience isnt widely recognised as my industry experience has mostly been palm oil sad.gif
It is pretty hard to predict what will be on the SOL because the requirements will evolve and change by the time our kids graduate. by that time probably just hope what he studies can get him on that SOL
Who knows the SOL might not even exist soon due to the lagging economy these days.

QUOTE(evieta @ Apr 13 2015, 03:05 PM)
Where did you get the info that accountants may be removed? Reliable source anot? What I know is, this has been an ongoing rumour for years…
Usually the AWPA announces the occupations they're assessing as "borderline" by asking for extra submissions from interest/professional groups before they finalize the list every year.
shazam7
post Apr 14 2015, 06:55 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Apr 14 2015, 07:30 AM)
Who knows the SOL might not even exist soon due to the lagging economy these days.
The SOL doesn't really reflect reality anyways., but as a PR applicant that is what you need to abide by.

Either that or have a couple of mil AUD to invest in Oz. That'll buy u a PR (like a lot of our friends from the North.)

I way I see it more and more professional jobs are being outsourced to cheaper countries. IT, call centre, back of house etc.

Nemesis1980
post Apr 24 2015, 08:34 AM

1,066 posts

Hi guys, market pretty tough here. Very quiet too. If you're having good source of income back home better don't come here....yet.
Job opportunity is scarce yet the gov dun give a shit bother as long you guys bringing in $$. Sounds like scam aye?Engineers & accountant everywhere.

Progressive
post Apr 24 2015, 12:45 PM

20 posts

Yeah...times are bad... engineers from the Mining & Manufacturing Sector is flooding the job market now... they had been laid off quite badly.

But as for the ppl that need to come over to fulfill their residence requirement in order to continue their PR have to brave on with a positive mindset.

Sometimes, being successful is a matter of timing.

JustcallmeLarry
post Apr 27 2015, 07:45 PM

1,363 posts

Guys hope it is ok i ask this here bcs i cannot find any working in England thread.

Anyone working in England or work there b4? Wta every time you come back to renew your visa how long will it take???

243 Pages « < 209 210 211 212 213 > » Top

0.2559sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:03 AM