Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 3 2013, 03:47 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 16 2011, 05:11 PM)
That's an excellent summary. I guess it's more of the grass is always greener on the other side? Or... ?
I believe you worked in the US for like 10 years before you came back. Then, you also applied for PR to go to Oz. What's your take/reason from migrating to Oz then ? Thanks.
BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 3 2013, 05:44 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jun 3 2013, 06:07 PM)
Good question, the trigger was sometime in 2008/9 I think me and my wife decided that we were bored of working/living in Malaysia so we decided to apply for something else and the Aussie PR was reasonably easy to get. Compared to the UK, Canada and the US, Australia was then booming in the industries I was interested in (energy) with decent weather and access to Malaysia.

But I haven't migrated (yet?) because the Aussie economy is now tanking, plus I will have to put a lot more effort into getting a higher paying job in Australia since I'm already making decent money here. I'm also a bit turned off by the kampung attitude by some Aussies but that doesn't seem to be a major issue in the major cities.
Thanks for your explanation, tishaban. Cheers.
BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 5 2013, 04:52 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jun 4 2013, 04:33 PM)
You're right! Whatever is high must come down to normal. RBA annoucing interest is a strategy as mainly due to China reduction demand on iron ores.
Of course there's chain reaction to other industries. As you said, it's just the beginning on the retrenchment. Housing prices will continue to hike up with more foreign investors coming in on lower currency and interest rate. But what i saw a phenomena is  that building industries still remain conservative. Based on current property market, the demand is extremely high than supply now, builders calling market now. Ozzie gov is controlling property value in order not to let the bubble burst. If not, will end up even worst than US.
Of course Australia will start the brain drain again like 5 years ago and heading Asia (Thailand & Indonesia). Ozzie gov will continue to bring in more highly skilled immigrants.
Does mean safely to say that it is good time for us migrant to start migrating to Oz ? Thanks.
BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 6 2013, 10:21 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 5 2013, 07:43 PM)
Before you think it is a good time, you have to consider the criteria to migrate over.

It is very tough to migrate over with the current immigration rules. I am preparing to score all 8s in IELTS to get sufficient points for PR :/
All the best to all of us. Cheers.
BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 30 2014, 11:15 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(jessie86my @ Jun 30 2014, 12:08 PM)
How's working environment in Sydney? I have got a job offer to work in Sydney and the employer will sponsor working visa for me. I am contemplating if I should take the job offer?

Anyone can advise?
Congrats ! May I ask what job you have landed ?
BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 30 2014, 03:50 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(jessie86my @ Jun 30 2014, 01:01 PM)
I have checked before, the pay is above par, however no health insurance will be covered so I have to buy my own health insurance.

I have a stable relationship here, if I go there, it might become uncertainty.
Hi, did you study in Australia ?
BravoZeroTwo
post Aug 26 2014, 10:46 PM

1,128 posts

Hello guys,
If I can a get a job in Oz after my studies, will that be possible for me to get a visa ? If yes, which category of visa will I be aiming ? Kindly advice me. Cheers.
BravoZeroTwo
post Aug 27 2014, 02:40 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 27 2014, 04:15 AM)
No, getting a job does not automatically grant you a visa. Your employer must be willing to sponsor you and pass a labour requirement test (essentially they have to prove that they can't find anyone with your skillset). Also your nominated occupation must be on the ENSOL.
Thanks Bro.
BravoZeroTwo
post Dec 17 2014, 02:45 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Dec 17 2014, 03:42 PM)
That's the secret. Don't rent, have your own place laugh.gif
I think it cuts both ways. Having your own house but if looses job, will there be any other help tp upkeep the installments ? Thanks.
BravoZeroTwo
post Dec 18 2014, 11:08 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Dec 17 2014, 03:48 PM)
Yes? Unemployment loan protection insurance?
Thanks. How does one qualify for it ? Is it akin to buying a general insurance ?
BravoZeroTwo
post Dec 18 2014, 02:08 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Dec 18 2014, 02:42 PM)
cant wait for recession and all prop goes bust.

man, they should consider removing the negative gearing thingy.
Bro, what's the real cause of the economy down turn in the Australia soil ? Please share. Thanks.
BravoZeroTwo
post Dec 18 2014, 02:09 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Dec 18 2014, 02:27 PM)
Yes, similar. But expect to pay hundreds of $ in premiums per month. And I think it only covers up to 6 months.
Thanks Bro.
BravoZeroTwo
post Dec 18 2014, 02:53 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Dec 18 2014, 03:11 PM)
Mining matured, Oil Gas down turn price and yeah, not much business creation taking shape.

govt hoarding lots cash for "dole" while individuals. investors on overpriced property laugh.gif

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/lates...23c02fbc8a9ceb6
Thanks Bro.
BravoZeroTwo
post Apr 9 2015, 12:34 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Apr 9 2015, 07:45 AM)
Gents, i have a situation and would like to seek for advice. I am going to relocate back to Malaysia and will be working from home. But my salary still issued from my Australia office.

I am currently using CurrencyFair to transfer money back to my Singapore account/Malaysia account. So it is not a problem for me to get the money.

The problem is with the tax, so to which country i should pay my tax ? Australia or Malaysia ? and if paying to ATO, what is the usual rate ?

and ya, i am holding Visa 457.
May I ask why you want to relocate back home ? Thanks.
BravoZeroTwo
post Apr 10 2015, 09:57 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Apr 9 2015, 06:31 PM)
I am going back to take care all my customer base at Asean region  laugh.gif
thanks for the reply. how long have you been into Oz ?
BravoZeroTwo
post Apr 10 2015, 02:31 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(Propernormal @ Apr 10 2015, 12:28 PM)
Hi All,

Can you pls give me some advice:-

I am not able to migrate to Australia as I lack the points for visa application. So , I wish to plan ahead so that my son could migrate in the future.

Problem is he is 18 this year and both of us are not sure what he should study for degree next year. I cant afford to send him to Australia for his degree, which means we need to decide what area he needs to study for his undergraduate to ensure he will qualify to apply for PR in the future.

1. Does it matter where he studies here in Malaysia?

2. If the university he studies does not confer any foreign university degree but just local degree of the university, would that jeorpadise his chances of it being recognized as suitable qualification in Australia?

3. Any suggestion which area of studies that my son should pursue in order to increase his chances of getting his PR in the future?

4. Is it a good idea to meet up a Migration Agent like Auslife at Mont Kiara and ask them advice for all the above questions?

I'm sorry if this a wrong place to ask but if anyone could share their words of wisdom as to how shall I prepare for my son so that he could get PR in the future and migrate overseas?

Thank you so much.
Sorry but I believe you need to check with your son's interest as well as what does he want to do with his life. Seriously to study a particular course for the sake of migration purpose it is already flawed in the first place. Why do you want your 18 year old son to migrate in the first place ? Let him strike it out here in our own country land first before one even talks about the idea of migrating.
BravoZeroTwo
post Aug 10 2015, 11:07 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 10 2015, 11:46 AM)
Good luck! smile.gif
Has your wife found a job ?
BravoZeroTwo
post Aug 10 2015, 08:51 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 10 2015, 02:02 PM)
Yeap she did. Just a casual so far. better than nothing
May I ask what's her qualifications ? Thanks.
BravoZeroTwo
post Aug 11 2015, 11:10 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 11 2015, 10:23 AM)
She got ACCA working for 13 years
Thanks bro.

0.0605sec    1.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:54 PM